Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clare 10k review

• 29-06-2009 5:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 918 ✭✭✭

This took place around Ennis on Saturday morning. Only in its 4th year but decent enough numbers, I suspect they may have been slightly down on last year.. Anyway the race kicked off at 10a.m. The route hasn't changed from past years so there were no surprises there. A nice flat route with the only incline of significance is when you come back in to the activity centre where it kicks off from.

The start was v.congested and even though this year they introduced race chips Im guessing these were pointless as there were only mats at the finish and not at the start.

Water station at the half way mark. I heard 1 or 2 complaint about this but it was the same every other year and it was only a 10k run.

The morning was extremely humid and for that reason a shocking amount of people passed out along the route. Im guessing a lot of people who didnt hydrate before the run or during it and thought they'd be grand. First Aid was a tad slow with getting to people who needed them. Myself and a marshall stayed with a girl 200m from the finish line for a good 15min before 1st aid came along.

As for my own personal run, I thoroughly enjoyed it. I didnt go crazy at the start, just plodded along. The water station were giving out cups of water but I stole a bottle so that was great as used half it to cool myself down and drank the other half. I was able to give it a nice kick in the last 2k and caught a girl that had been ahead of me since the start line. Id say my best 10k to date, prior to this was about 56:20 so I was hoping definitely for sub 55 and I was thrilled to come in at a time of 51:21! Made me somewhat skeptical as to the actual route length but it has been a confirmed 10k exactly.

Personally, my disappointment was the fact that there were no medals! It may sound trivial but I love having my medal as a momento from the day. Every other year the medals from this race have been particularly nice so I was looking forward to it but alas the Re
    has hit even fun-runs.

Would I recommend this run? Definitely! A great event with a lovely friendly atmosphere. Nice flat route so ideal for getting that PB. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

Disappointed this run was on on the same day as the Hell of the West in Kilkee, was hoping to do it. Still though, great to see more races getting established in the North munster area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭gilmore

This was my first race of any distance and i have to say that i really enjoyed the experience. I thought it was very well organised although i was also a little dissapointed that there were no medals as it would have been nice to have a momento of my first ever race.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭ManFromAtlantis

i found the race tough going, but that was just me as i had a knock on the knee for the 10 days prior to it. maybe i shouldnt have ran but dont think it made the knee any worse. just resting it for a few days now.

after a fast 6.37 first mile, i had just about given up any hope of a good time by the half way stage as i felt spent. anyways plodded on but didnt enjoy the last few miles. i was more than surprised to see that i finished sub 44.30 as this was a pb by a long way. my garmin measured the course short but i cant believe a race of this size would be wrong so i guess it was my garmin that seemed to go a bit crazy after mile 3?

can some please confirm that it is a certified 10km :confused:

yeah, the chips were not really useful as there were no mats at the start? a bit strange that. but there ya go.
    the medal issue not a prob for me. but dam i find it hard to drink out of cups on the run!

overall enjoyed the race event esp my time. i feel if i was on form god knows i might even go sub 43 soon (gan injuries !) which is a big goal for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

Course is certified as far as I know, maybe flat course plus sunshine = PB?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

MarieC wrote: »
    this year they introduced race chips Im guessing these were pointless as there were only mats at the finish and not at the start.

It completely mystifies me when they do that. They get the added costs of the chip timing system without the real benefit for the runners, i.e. accurate chip timing.

Personally, my disappointment was the fact that there were no medals! It may sound trivial but I love having my medal as a momento from the day.
    That would not bother me personally, but it's a surprise nevertheless. Last year's medal was bigger than any of the marathon medals I've ever got.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭aburke

It completely mystifies me when they do that. They get the added costs of the chip timing system without the real benefit for the runners, i.e. accurate chip timing.
    Have chip mats at the finish only, still means you don't need manual recoding at the finish line, and can produce a result instantly [in theory!]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

aburke wrote: »
    Have chip mats at the finish only, still means you don't need manual recoding at the finish line, and can produce a result instantly [in theory!]

Yes, but to me that does not justify the added cost involved. Of course, if the organisers think otherwise, that's entirely up to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 918 ✭✭✭MarieC

aburke wrote: »
    means you can produce a result instantly [in theory!]

A result that is in accurate though.......unless you were right at the start line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭aburke

MarieC wrote: »
    A result that is in accurate though.......unless you were right at the start line.
    /Puts pedantic hat on...
    No.
    The official time is always gun to finish - as per IAAF rules.
    Where chip time is provided, it is for competitors information.
    Both of them should be 'accurate' but only one is official.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭mrak

The times in that race were amazing - if it's accurate (not doubting it) then it's a super flat course as everyone that used to run with me before I got injured have suddenly come on by a minute or more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,724 ✭✭✭kennyb3

mrak wrote: »
    The times in that race were amazing - if it's accurate (not doubting it) then it's a super flat course as everyone that used to run with me before I got injured have suddenly come on by a minute or more.
    how is the injury? is it still your achilles tahts bothering you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭mrak

kennyb3 wrote: »
    how is the injury? is it still your achilles tahts bothering you?

Hi Kenny- no it's an odd one - did something to my stomach about 3 months ago in or around the ballinasloe 10-ish k which I ignored but it just got worse and worse. The doc is meant to be good on sports injuries but is not sure what it is. Initially thought hernia, then a torn muscle and now he's considering OP (osteitis pubis). In all cases the first line of treatment seems the same: total rest.. so I haven't ran a step in a month+ - still feels the same but I'll hang in there. Symptoms are sore stomach where it joins with the groin, an inability to run and increased moping about house with glum expression. I know it'll clear in time and in a weird way am actually looking forward to starting from scratch again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭ManFromAtlantis

in or around the ballinasloe 10-ish k.

ha ha, youre not one to hold a grudge or forget :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,724 ✭✭✭kennyb3

Hi Kenny- no it's an odd one - did something to my stomach about 3 months ago in or around the ballinasloe 10-ish k which I ignored but it just got worse and worse. The doc is meant to be good on sports injuries but is not sure what it is. Initially thought hernia, then a torn muscle and now he's considering OP (osteitis pubis). In all cases the first line of treatment seems the same: total rest.. so I haven't ran a step in a month+ - still feels the same but I'll hang in there. Symptoms are sore stomach where it joins with the groin, an inability to run and increased moping about house with glum expression. I know it'll clear in time and in a weird way am actually looking forward to starting from scratch again.

sounds like a right nuisance nothing worse than not knowing exactly what is wrong, hope you get it sorted soon and are back soon

Brian