Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Article about Summer Edition 09 in the Tribune Magazine

• 28-06-2009 6:50pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭

There`s an article about the "Summer Edition 09" event in the Tribune Magazine today.
    Phil Barret,Paddy Lynch and Katie Blackwood all throw in a few words.

I`m sorry I couldn`t find a link for it,but if you happen to come across a copy,it`s a great little article.

Well,apart from the title which is something like "Beano for Comic Fans"
    What the feck does that even MEAN?!

But it`s still a nice little article.I can see it enticing a few more people to drop in on the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭ztoical

Good on them, they said they were going to give it a really good push leading up to the event. Hope everyone can pop in to filmbase at some point next saturday as it's looking like a really good show.

Any boards folks up for some curry after? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 333 ✭✭Ger_Hankey

Here's the article from the Tribune

I have a table, so I'll try to say hello to people & put faces to usernames. Cant go for a curry unfortunately as I have to head off to a christening party afterwards. Its a hard old life, eh?

Summer Edition Rocked.....big hugs and claps to Phil, Paddy, and Katie for putting on a great show. I'll try for better in depth comments on the day after I've had some sleep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 FUGGER

I found the behaviour in the public house after the event to be appalling. I have forwarded a list of names and contact details to the gardai in an envelope marked 'worth keeping an eye out for'.

I might have met the event itself with some degree of satisfaction had it not been for the fact that I was sat next a remarkably disagreeable gent. This 'gent' occupied himself with the manufacture of images concerning domestic pets being mutilated and consumed by deformed beasts. He seemed to find this funny and attempted to present said images to a small child, who incidentally did not seem impressed. It was most disconcerting and I will be contacting the gardai about this matter also.

Yours etc.

G. Shanley (Fine Gael)

I thought it was very nice that all the Waterford and Cork people sat together in the pub, made it easier for the rest of us to avoid them. Though for next time we should aim not to have any Waterford or Cork people at all :p
    FUGGER wrote: »
    He seemed to find this funny and attempted to present said images to a small child, who incidentally did not seem impressed.

It's not healthy to talk about yourself in the third person Gar.

ztoical wrote: »
    I thought it was very nice that all the Waterford and Cork people sat together in the pub, made it easier for the rest of us to avoid them. Though for next time we should aim not to have any Waterford or Cork people at all :p

It's not healthy to talk about yourself in the third person Gar.

You see, it's this type of attitude I'm talking about. There should be some sort of register for you comic types. I'm beginning to regret embarking on this endeavour. I'm going back to crochet.

G. Shanley (Fianna Fail)

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,107 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

Personally my favourite moment was the christening of The Artist Formerly Known As LeninDeclan to Drunken Chavéz!, south american freedom fighter and cartoonist. Presumably he'll be off to Honduras presently...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭Hoovers

He seemed to find this funny and attempted to present said images to a small child, who incidentally did not seem impressed.

I beg to differ... She was laughing her head off!!

Hoovers wrote: »
    I beg to differ... She was laughing her head off!!

She wept bitter tears. We all saw it. The organisers had to arrange for the child to be sedated. And you laughed, laughed no less, and you were lit from below by a red lamp and there was scary music. That's how I remember it anyway.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,107 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

She wept bitter tears. We all saw it. The organisers had to arrange for the child to be sedated. And you laughed, laughed no less, and you were lit from below by a red lamp and there was scary music. That's how I remember it anyway.

Not only that, but as I recall he was handing out copies of Jack Chick tracts and poking people with a comically-oversized red trident too*.

G. Shanley (Libertas)**

* May be a complete fabrication.

** May be an attempt at character assassination.

Libertas are a very trustworthy party. Regardless of where one stands on Lisbon, you would have to admit that Declan Ganley is a trustworthy and dynamic young man who is well presented and definitely not the anti-christ or in the covert employ of the U.S. arms lobby or anything. We could've done with his like at the Summer edition, sat at his stall, handing out his literature, making up all kinds of stories.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 333 ✭✭Ger_Hankey

Wow, I didn't think that just by having a table upstairs I was missing out on so much horror and politics. I did get to see some very pretty books though...

Yeah, it was a good day, got to put some more names to faces, one or two sales & commissions etc. I don't know what it was like downstairs (I only got to go down & have a brief look) but upstairs it was pretty different to the usual con vibe. With just me & Tommie Kelly (Road Crew) doing comics & everyone else doing the self-printed books we had a very different crowd in. A few people were turning up their noses at our stuff, but overall it was pretty good. Hopefully they will do one again soon.