Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

rename this whole area

• 28-06-2009 12:01am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 340 ✭✭

i'm sorry but the majority of all subjects here are all garda related, and i'm sick of it,
    really the mods should be looking at setting up an individual area for gardai and the rest of the emergency services cos all that;s discucced is really garda jargon and work related activities :mad:and they have the manopoly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

ivabiggon wrote: »
    i'm sorry but the majority of all subjects here are all garda related, and i'm sick of it,
    really the mods should be looking at setting up an individual area for gardai and the rest of the emergency services cos all that;s discucced is really garda jargon and work related activities :mad:and they have the manopoly.

Hold on now, the reason that most post here are Garda related is because people post looking for answers or advice from members of AGS. Also the vast majority of emergency service boards members are Gardaí....hence why garda related activities are discussed

Not trying to be smart but if your looking for cooking you try the food section of REC. When you click into ES forum your going to see Garda related posts (lets not forget it is the biggest emergency service in the state). If your not happy with the threads.....then create new ones.

If Gardaí stopped posting here.....then who would be left??? Maybe 5-10 paras.......20 or less from voluntary organisations??? Look at the threads started.....most are asking/commenting on Garda operations.......thats the boards community not some secret Garda plan to take over boards!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

Really I think a lot of things must bug you...? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭wicklaman83

guards aren't an emergency service as such.ambulance,fire,coast guard etc are

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Paulzx

darren254 wrote: »
    guards aren't an emergency service as such

On what crazy logic do you base that mad idea on?

Please let us know your thoughts on how the hell Gardai are not emergency services workers. I await your answer with great interest:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Paulzx

A discussion was had on this issue before and the overwhelming feeling was that if other services were split off from AGS there would be very little traffic on it.

People want to talk about the Gardai for waht ever reason, be it they hate them or have been helped by them or are just curious. We can't exactly force them to talk about ambulance or Fire services etc. if they have no interest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭wicklaman83

Paulzx wrote: »
    On what crazy logic do you base that mad idea on?

Please let us know your thoughts on how the hell Gardai are not emergency services workers. I await your answer with great interest:D

not my opinionwell it is in a way but did you never hear of an incident and its reported as emergency services and gardai were at scene

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

not my opinionwell it is in a way but did you never hear of an incident and its reported as emergency services and gardai were at scene

Suppose Gardaí better stop answering emergency calls. Since that is what an emergency service is.....one that answers an emergency call.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭cushtac

Surely if people want more discussion about the non-GS emergency services they should try to provoke it?

Ask a question, start a discussion, post a pic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

Did you never hear of a comma?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭pingu2008

the gardai are as professional in there approach to emergency situations as the fire ambulance and others, in all my dealings with the gardai at emergencies the are always there to help and they dont get enough thanks for the job the do in the daily routine the could come up against gun and knife crime and all the have to protect them is a batton and a vest, lads and lassies u guys truely are heroes so keep up the good work

so your telling us if your house is being broken into in the middle of the night and you wake up who u gonna call a fire appliance or an ambulance or maybe the coastguard because its not really an emergency situation for an garda siochana

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

pingu2008 wrote: »
    so your telling us if your house is being broken into in the middle of the night and you wake up who u gonna call a fire appliance or an ambulance or maybe the coastguard because its not really an emergency situation for an garda siochana

Waiting for the "well, it's not a matter of life and death emergency if someone robs your car/tv etc., is it",

then the, "well, what if the burglar killed somebody or knocked someone down in your stolen car (quote random news clip of burglar who killed somebody or knocked someone down in a stolen car) " reply.

then....ah, write yer own thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭FGR

Not to be nitpicking or anything but.

Aren't you being a little -too- helpful, Deadwood? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭maglite

8/19 threads on the front page are non garda related.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 gdamedic

Darren, how can that make sence to you??? What do you think an emergency service is? you can be guaranteed if you were in an emergency situation where you required Garda assistance you would deem the Gardai to be an emergency service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

Right so, when you ring 999/112 and ask for the Gardaí (god forbid) they might as well not bother coming out to you for whatever reason they're needed, by that logic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,700 ✭✭✭tricky D

The problem stems from the kind of relationship the Gardai have with the public. They're not just an emergency service, they also enforce law. These are two different animals. When any service is dealing with an emergency the public tend to ask a lot fewer questions. I want off this cliff, out of the water, to get to hospital asap, out of this robbery situation, protection from the crim, etc. It's a lot more black 'n' white, so there's less discussion, debate and argument. The Gardai with their law enforcement role have more confrontation potential. They're also in the public eye more, so poor policing is more often perceived, rightly or wrongly. It's much easier to perceive a Garda doing a bad job than the other services. This means there's more to talk about, hence more threads.

There is nothing stopping you from starting non AGS threads.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,808 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

Allow me:

This is Emergency Services.

Us moderators put a lot of work into this forum, we're very proud of the forum and it won't be renamed unless an admin decides to do so.

If you're "sick of it", then don't click into the forum, read, or post, and you'll be feeling better in no time.

Next time, please post your feedback in Feedback.

Thread closed.