Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fancy a challenge - New all terrain race!!

• 26-06-2009 8:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭

Are you ready for this?!
    If you thought the NSRT run last December was something different, then you are going to love this custom made course. Not too challenging but with some welcome obstacles. If you managed the bales in the NCF races then this wont be daunting. No need for spikes - runners will be fine.

It's the inaugral Defence Forces all terrain combined 6k next Tuesday evening at 8pm at the magazine fort in the phoenix park. Registration, changing, showers, presentations & refreshments all at the Defence Forces athletic grounds, just opposite Dublin zoo. All the usual BHAA prizes and entry is €10 for member & €15 for non members.
    For further details contact 8046808, info@bhaa.ie or leave a message on the forum on www.bhaa.ie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭plodder

I like the sound of that ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭rdunne

hi all
    just an update, dinner will be provided for all thanks to the Army lads and a free gift for the first 200 finishers:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,503 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Any suggestions of what a potential competitor might expect? Uphill/downhill/cross country/climbing walls/it's a knockout?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 297 ✭✭Orobhsa

Where is the Defence Forces athletic grounds?

Is this around the Civil Service AC clubhouse / cricket grounds or over by McKee Barracks?

Orobhsa wrote: »
    Where is the Defence Forces athletic grounds?

Is this around the Civil Service AC clubhouse / cricket grounds or over by McKee Barracks?

its right opposite Dublin zoo, past the cricket ground. I was at it yesterday. its no more then 5 mins off the main road.

Any suggestions of what a potential competitor might expect? Uphill/downhill/cross country/climbing walls/it's a knockout?

Its a 2k lap
    It's mostly cross county. some hard hill with a lot of high grass. i was told that will all be pushed down. There will be a set of jumps , very low its meant to just slow you down. a few other bits , but nothing too bad. the hills will be the bit that will get you by the 3rd lap

• Closed Accounts Posts: 726 ✭✭✭abi2007

I like the sound of this!

How do you register? I couldn't find it on the link

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,369 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

I assume you register on the day abi.
    I like the sound of this, might pop along.

I'm just wondering if anyone would like to meet on the night before hand or after? If i do it I'll be doing it on my own and don't really fancy having refreshments afterwards on my own. Would be nice to meet some fellow boards members

abi2007 wrote: »
    I'm just wondering if anyone would like to meet on the night before hand or after? If i do it I'll be doing it on my own and don't really fancy having refreshments afterwards on my own. Would be nice to meet some fellow boards members

you can sign up for the year here that way you pay €10 per race and can win team prizes or sign up on the day as a day member for €15

• Subscribers Posts: 16,714 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

sounds like a great idea, something a bit different. unfortunately been out for a month with ruptured ankle ligaments otherwise would definitely give this a shot..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,503 ✭✭✭jlang

Why (rhetorical) did I pick to do my swimming lesson on Tuesday? I'm missing all these fun races.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,369 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

I'm seriously considering doing this, sounds like fun and it's always nice to mix your training up a bit...and refreshments would be nice before my run home. PM me if you want. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

I'm in Dublin Wednesday night not Tuesday night, I don't suppose they'd move IMDE forward a day so I could take part?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

I'm in Dublin Wednesday night not Tuesday night, I don't suppose they'd move IMDE forward a day so I could take part?
    Thats a good idea, i'd love to race this one but have something planned on tuesday too ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭smcgui

I'd like to give this a go. Not long back running but can manage 6k, however I'm not sure if I'm able for the hills and jumps as I am super unfit! :(

Rdunne, when you say jumps...is it like over high hurdles or smalls gaps or something?

smcgui wrote: »
    I'd like to give this a go. Not long back running but can manage 6k, however I'm not sure if I'm able for the hills and jumps as I am super unfit! :(

Rdunne, when you say jumps...is it like over high hurdles or smalls gaps or something?

The army dude said they were baby jumps.
    they have logs as well to jump over. Also if you dont want to do them you can run around them, but this will take longer then doing the jump .
    Im not fit at all, but ill do for the crack . They are going for a real friendly feel to it.

Cool sounds good to me! I'm going to bite the bullet and do it tomorrow so! See all you folks there!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

Cool sounds good to me! I'm going to bite the bullet and do it tomorrow so! See all you folks there!:D
    I might try and sneek out to this race but better not let the OH find out or i'm dead.

shels4ever wrote: »
    I might try and sneek out to this race but better not let the OH find out or i'm dead.

best post in ages that one!:D

just off the phone.
    they have a tiny section that you need to crawl under. its a just a light net.
    mats are being put down so any one that does not want to get dirty, but please don't use them if you have spikes on

good luck every one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Poncherello

gonna head over to this for the craic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭woundedknee

What a Race! Well done to all involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭AJCOT

Loved this race, I've never done cross country or hill running but this was quite a challenge. Well organised & plenty of encouraging stewards (some were even scary!).

Holy mother of God that was a tough race!!!:eek: Thought I'd never get across that finish line! I only made it because of the great banter from the organisers and the goodwill from all the supporters so big thanks to them for keeping me going :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭bewleys berry

really glad i travelled for this race....great fun and something really different.... stewarding was great and just a well organised run all in all.....congrats to BHAA and particularly the Army for putting it on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭Caprica

Jesus, that was one tough race. Apart from the downhill stretch on the road you working all the time. The last time up the hill after the water jump was a killer, I was barely moving.

Well supported and organised race with plenty of encouragement. It felt a good bit longer than 6k though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 SOH32

race looked really impressive but tough! didn't manage to take part but went down for a look. are there plans for another similar type race over the summer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭liamo

I fully intended to enter but was quite disappointed to be unable to make it.

The pics are great and it looks like I missed a great race.

Well done to the organisers and everyone who took part. I hope there's another one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Poncherello

Savage race, very tough I got me a new MHR !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭plodder

Couldn't make it unfortunately. I'm glad to hear it went well though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭Stupid_Private

Damn these 3 lap races - I've got waaaaay too many photos to sort through!

Looked like great fun, never have I seen so many people laughing, smiling, chatting and cursing over the final few hundred metres of a race.

Bit by bit my pictures are appearing here . More will be up throughout the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭messed_up

Savage race, very tough I got me a new MHR !

Me too! Had a quick look just shortly after the first rope climb and had to re-adjust my pacing strategy very quickly!

Really tough race but great fun too. Pretty shattered crossing the line but looking forward to next year already!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭A P

One word - exhilarating! I've run over 100 races and none were as exciting as that. No opportunity to switch off, always on the alert for the next hazard. Are mountain races like that? I've always been a bit apprehensive about doing one, but might give one a lash if that's what they are like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,717 ✭✭✭rovers_runner

A P wrote: »
    One word - exhilarating! I've run over 100 races and none were as exciting as that. No opportunity to switch off, always on the alert for the next hazard. Are mountain races like that? I've always been a bit apprehensive about doing one, but might give one a lash if that's what they are like.

A P, yeah mountain races from my limited experience are capable of throwing anything at you, aside from the ascent and decent you have:

Bog
    Fallen woodland
    Rocky patches
    Dark forests
    Streams, which I haven't come across yet thankfully :)

A sample of photos from the race...

3676629416_533fa418f2.jpg
    3676121887_76282b0055.jpg
    3676001327_642973aa0d.jpg
    3678412972_d8a1662116.jpg

then there was some hills, ropes and a water jump for good measure... this girls face on the last lap sums it up!
    3677353845_4860c50776.jpg

That girls face totally explains the emotions of the race, love it!!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 930 ✭✭✭jeffontour

Look like I missed a great bit of craic. Was considering it but then decided not to, I'll know better next time!

Just looking at the pics ... knee high in muck! yuck!

Still on a high after this race, not sure how anything can top this. The FCA was never such fun.

Just looking at the pics ... knee high in muck! yuck!

Thigh high for some of us!! Shorter people like me definitely had a disadvantage!:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭messed_up

Thigh high for some of us!! Shorter people like me definitely had a disadvantage!:p

I was advised approaching the water second time round by a runner behind me that the left side was much shallower. Think he might have been trying to get past me cos I lept in and landed thigh deep in murky water and gunk and soaked my shorts lol

Stuck to the right hand side for the last lap though by that stage had barely was so tired that it made little or no difference!

love that last pic of that girl.
    This is my pic from http://racepic365.ieRacePix365.ie. Hope you dont mind me using it here
    3677321741_76c7ce54f5_m.jpg

It says on the BHAA site that there were 122 finishers. Were there a lot of dropouts? I thought there were a hell of a lot more than 122 people at the start.

I'm sure not everyone finished the race. I did spot a few feicers who didn't dip in that plunge pool, hope they were the casualties!

It says on the BHAA site that there were 122 finishers. Were there a lot of dropouts? I thought there were a hell of a lot more than 122 people at the start.

well spotted. i had a brain fart . the number was 228. with a few pulling out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 theFinishLine

What happens if a runner who was in the prizes did not actually go through the water jump? question.gif But rather - went around - the water jump? redface.gif 2nd Place overall did not go through the water - to protect his shiny red runners - he climbed around the barriers instead. While this probably did not affect the times of the runners behind him - fair is fair - everyone else - O60s included went through the water. Shall the results be ammended? There are plenty of photographs to prove this. Also - why was there no BHAA official at this spot - to check for this? Obviously a mark of the sheer class of the guys in 3rd and 4th who were willing to let this go unchecked.