Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Researching Airsoft for a short film

• 25-06-2009 7:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭

I'm a film student from Cork and I'm doing research for a short film I may be writing and directing next year. The film itself is going to be based around Airsoft which I know virtually nothing about, which is why I'm here.

I guess the main questions I have are simple: what, where, how, who and why.

The script is still in very early development but I'm approaching the story from the perspective of a guy who (like me) is new to the whole thing and pretty much doesn't have a clue what he's doing.

Now this is a college film, which means I have no budget. I pretty much have to buy every weapon and piece of gear myself (which is tough since I'm broke) so I may need some help with that in terms of what I should be looking to get (it doesn't need to shoot straight, just function and look good basically) which is compounded by the fact that I don't actually know if my film will actually be made (nature of the business)

So basically I need the basics of everything. If there is any video online (youtube or something) showing actual skirmishes, that would also be very helpful.

I'm also hoping to shoot a documentary so if anyone living in or around Cork might be interested in participating then shoot me a PM.

Thanks in advance for feedback.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭SenDog

search scoutthedoggie on youtube loads of vids

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,261 ✭✭✭Puding

if your based around cork you should say hello over at corkairsoft.ie at the forum, maybe come down to the site, where a friendly lot how will help if we can :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭Vadakin

Puding wrote: »
    if your based around cork you should say hello over at corkairsoft.ie at the forum, maybe come down to the site, where a friendly lot how will help if we can :)

Will do...be warned though I may be looking for extras so I hope you can all act :P

i would not worry about that, take a look thought are media, some of the guys are not really camera shy :)

http://www.corkairsoft.ie/forum/viewforum.php?f=6&sid=6afefe0bdc6769056003b5967c390568

i would not worry about that, take a look thought are media, some of the guys are not really camera shy :)

http://www.corkairsoft.ie/forum/viewforum.php?f=6&sid=6afefe0bdc6769056003b5967c390568

AWesome. I've registered so I'm just waiting on Admin confirmation and then I can reveal my evil plans :P

By the way, where in Cork are ye based?

cork kerry mountains , you might have to wait for account to be activated, admin is away in berget untill sunday

That's fine.

So um, I'm guessing a lot of this takes place in heavily wooded areas. Woods would provide a lot of cover I assume. I'm just thinking about logistics for cameras and lights etc as well as safety issues.

It will be September at the earliest before I shoot the documentary and early next year before I shoot the short film, so I have time to research and get the ball rolling. Right now I need to pretty much learn everything I can about the sport and the social interaction involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭lochdara

take a trip to www.sea-c.net/forum and say hello. The guys are planning a big event on july 12th. Main web addy is www.sea-c.net

Register there and ask your questions. Registration is automatic.

Currently fundraising for Irish Motor Neurone Disease Association

In Memory of my fab Wife www.sinsin.ie

we have both light and dense woodland, open area, also power supply on site

That is bloody handy.... :cool:

We dont yet.. but we do got lots of woodland and a toilet

Cool. I may also be looking to pick up some cheap weapons...used is fine. They don't even need to shoot straight. There is no way in hell the insurance would let me actually shoot my actors :(

But again, the film probably won't be shot until next March, if at all so there's a lot of planning still to do. In fact, pre-production doesn't officially begin until December, but I want to be as ready as I can be now. Heck, I'm not even in college right now, not until September.

I'm hoping to have a treatment (which is a basic rundown of the film) ready in the next week which will give me a clearer idea of what I'm going to need to achieve.

As for the documentary, that one is much simpler. Essentially chronicling one day at a skirmish with interviews etc.

arrange with the guys as seac to come and play on july 12th. It cost 25 for a full days fun. There will be a whole storyline done for you oo that date.we done a story called operation summer breeze a few weeks ago. Check out the thread in the retailers section.

i must also point out on a different note airsofter dont use weapons as that wording puts them in the same category as real guns. Instead the broad name is devices or aeg for the electric version. Insurance should not be a problem because you can only play on licenced land which will or should be insured anyway. Ours is. And the reason we play is to shoot at people why else would you make a film if you dont shoot at someone in a proper licenced site..

Well one thing that is a bit of a concern is the legal situation with regards to hauling AEGs to the locations etc as well as filming on non-Air soft sites. There is one scene in particular where the main character makes use of either a gas or spring loaded pistol in an urban area. It's just a single shot that's fired and in the end no pellets would probably be used for that particular scene, but it's a pivotal scene in the film and if I can't make it work for legal reasons I'm pretty screwed.

Vadakin wrote: »
    Well one thing that is a bit of a concern is the legal situation with regards to hauling AEGs to the locations etc as well as filming on non-Air soft sites. There is one scene in particular where the main character makes use of either a gas or spring loaded pistol in an urban area. It's just a single shot that's fired and in the end no pellets would probably be used for that particular scene, but it's a pivotal scene in the film and if I can't make it work for legal reasons I'm pretty screwed.

better get permission from the superintendant of the area for that one as its illegal to have the devices in public.. As regards hauling the gear, its no problem once your going to a legal site. Get futher details from www.irishairsoft.ie These are the IAA our main representitive body.

You could of course pay a visit to a dublin site where there is buildings etc, but i cant tell you any of them as i dont know then.. but most guys here can help.

Do you think it would be worth my while getting in touch with the IAA and talking to them about the project?

certaintly wont hurt to ask them. they are very helpful. For €10 you can join up and for that you get a photo id. I have it to show the gardai that i am an airsofter if i am stopped and checked.
    you can join online. Students may be €5 if i remember.

But it may be possible if you register on our forum to arrange to call up to the site on a game day and have a walk through with a marshall. You will need to have protective head and face gear but you can rent that cheaply.

That would be cool though getting to Wexford at the moment isn't viable for me but I'll definitely give it some thought.

It just occurred to me, I essentially have to pitch the movie to the tutors and my fellow classmates and I had intended to have a KWA G17 with me for the pitch. That probably wouldn't be legal though. :o

That would be cool though getting to Wexford at the moment isn't viable for me but I'll definitely give it some thought.

It just occurred to me, I essentially have to pitch the movie to the tutors and my fellow classmates and I had intended to have a KWA G17 with me for the pitch. That probably wouldn't be legal though.

i persume you can get permission from the college to have it onsite., keep the magazine out and dont gas it up. Ask the IAA though.

That's good. The mag wouldn't be loaded any. It's just for show.

I should probably mention that the film will be a comedy. It's basically about this guy who is full of himself, thinks he's the main man. He gets introduced to Airsoft, isnt a team player, pays no attention to the Honour system and thinks he can win any skirmish single-handedly with nothing but a sidearm and no spare mag.

Obviously, he gets schooled :D

It's also an excuse for me to shoot an action film without having to worry about creating explosions :P

dont insert the mag until you really really have to.. even if its not loaded.
    and get written permission to have it.. but as said check with someone more up on the law i.e IAA or your super if filiming in the open

Right, thanks for the heads up

no problem,

when u transport them keep the main parts as seperate as possible. Aeg,s should have battery removed, mags out and even empty if possible. Just in case your stopped by the gardai. there will be no risk of being accussed of using it for unjust reason