Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gaelic Tag

• 25-06-2009 1:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,641 ✭✭✭✭

Hi guys,
    I'm in the process of setting up a Gaelic Tag league in the Iveagh Grounds in Crumlin. Its due to begin when the Tag Rugby finishes.

The idea is the same as tag rugby, mixed team, tags instead of tackling, no contact, we've taken out kick passing for lads, and goals and points are worth more for girls.

We're hoping to make a big deal of the social side of it as well, table quiz, bands, BBQ, speed dating etc.
    We're launching it next week, fingers corssed the website is up and running, and we'll be having 1 or 2 open nights so people can see whats involved and try it out before signing up.

I'll post again with details of the website and of the open night.

G&R

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭mdu

sounds like a good idea. is it played on a full side pitch with 15 players?

i hope it works out, id be keen to give it a go .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,641 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

It'll be 7-a-side, 4 lads, 3 girls, played on the width of the pitch, 20 minutes a half. Girls only scoring goals, worth 5 points, girl points worth 2, lad points worth 1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭abakan

sounds good - get rid of that foreign rugby crack and play our own sport.

If you send an email to mail.administrator@gaelictag.ie
    we'll send you on details when it is up and running.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

why cannot men kick the ball? surely that makes it tag basketball?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

abakan wrote: »
    sounds good - get rid of that foreign rugby crack and play our own sport.

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    why cannot men kick the ball? surely that makes it tag basketball?

Because we wouldn;t have many girls playing it if lads were leathering the ball at them!

Its gaelic because of the passing and the soloing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 rexel1

Have to agree. I dont think its football if you cant play the ball with your foot. Also guys should be allowed score more than one point. Hope it goes well for you though. Have many people signed up?

We're opening for registration this week, looking for 16 teams.
    The idea of having girl scores much more heavily weighted is to get them involved, otherwise u could just have 4 really good lads and they would run riot.

So the website is up and running, www.gaelictag.ie
    You'll find a full copy of the rules there and a good FAQ page

wht about using a size 4 football to give girls the lighter ball??

kicking should of course be allowed. But maybe only for the lads to pass with the boot otherwise they'd be shooting from every angle and out the field?

or set up an area outside th goals which you cannot shoot with your foot - a large circle like in hockey?

Yes size 4 balls.

We tried allowing lads kick pass it but once its competitive there are 2 problems. One is lads leathering the ball and girls being afraid to go near them, we're trying to get girls who haven't played Gaelic before to play also. And then theres the problem of lads just one pass up the field and score, it takes all skill out of the game

kicking is more a skill than handpassing, soloing, running along or bouncing the ball

whats wrong with two kick passes up the field? it means less running = less fit people will be able to play!!

I wouldn't want to play it unless there's kicking involved.

no wonder Mayo will never win anything

We'll agree to disagree on that, glad to see you bring Mayo into it, Gaelic Tag's and Mayo's fortunes are completed related, well spotted :rolleyes:

Having opened for registration on Wednesday we have 9 teams signed up already and it was picked up by 2FM's Jackie Hurley on Thursday mornings sports news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 568 ✭✭✭phil

I heard it yesterday on 2fm, fair play, hope you get a good few involved, sounds like a great idea

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Euro_Kraut

Interesting. Can the lads kick the ball over the bar or has that to by hand too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Stealdo

Fair play Green&Red it take a fair bit of get up and go to get something like this up and running. The website looks great and best of luck with the leagues. I wouldn't mind the few mild criticisms, over time you'll be able to refine the rules as you see them working in practice.

One question - any reason for the 3 steps carrying the ball rather than 4? Would be difficult for people who've played a lot to de-programme themselves from taking 4 (not that it's greatly enforced anyway)

Points by lads are hand passes only, and the steps was an over sight, its up to 4, a few more rule chanegs have come in as well to make the game run smoother.

Our open night is tonight, from 7.30 in the Iveagh Grounds in Crumlin, we're hoping for a big crowd, it'll be a chance to try out the game and see what you think. Anyone thats interested should come, a map is available at www.gaelictag.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

the idea is great but taking the kick out of it is ridiculous, its football for a reason. the standard of todays kick passing is due to coaches totally neglecting it in favour of "holding possession":rolleyes:

And what happens when a girl gets the ball in the head from some lad?

when does that ever happen in a game? have never, ever seen it

rarely does anyone get clobbered with the ball from a kick.

now, as for the famous 'hospital hand pass' - far more dangerous

These are people that have never played before, of course they are going to get hit with the ball, not just in the head but all over, we wouldn;t have too many gilrs lining up for the sport if lads were allowed kick pass.
    The problem with hospital passes is removed, if there is going to be a 50-50 ball the whistle is blown and its given as a tag to the team attacking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 277 ✭✭Harpie

Are you looking for pure newbies? Because as a girl who has played football for most of my life, I personally wouldn't consider getting involved in something that has such a 'mind the little cailiní there now' approach. Any girl who has played football certainly wouldn't mind the odd belt of a ball or challenge. My 2 cents I suppose, but I doubt you will get many girls who actually play football involved.

Its mainly girls that have played football. Its not mind the little cailin at all but theres a big difference between getting a belt of a ball off one of your piers and off a 15 stone lad, thats the reason that girls are allowed kick and lads are not. Its a social sport with no contact. We've tried it out and it works brilliantly. Anyone who has trained for football is used to the format, 2 touches handpass only, its a typical training game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 718 ✭✭✭thirdmantackle

fair play for organising it

but like the posters above, i wouldn't play unless you can kick the ball - its why its called gaelic football.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

what happens if someone fists the ball hard at someones head?:rolleyes:
    i think your basic idea of a tag gaelic is great but taking the kick out of it means really you should be taking the "gaelic" out of gaelic tag.
    tiny girls play u12 football and nothing has ever gone wrong and there a plenty of big strong gossons at that age group

aDeener wrote: »
    what happens if someone fists the ball hard at someones head?:rolleyes:
    We had our open night last night and that actually happened and the girl it happened to wasn;t too happy.

The game works brilliantly and I dont think anyone there last night (about 100 people) had any complaints, everyone enjoyed the game and the speed to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,289 ✭✭✭gucci

Fair play for the organisation and innovation behind this game!
    This is the sort of new thinking that the Gaelic sports need to help rejuvenate and attract new people and also people who may have given up playing for whatever reason.
    Best of luck with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭baztard

Great idea, fair play. Like a lot of people on here, I'd have reservations about lads not being allowed to kick the ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 288 ✭✭yoursaviour1989

but why would you rule out kick-passing, thats basically changed the game to rugby with teams running up the field in a line passing to each other. any player who's main strenghts are kick-passing or shootingwon't be interested in a game if they can't use their main assets

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Hay Wrap

Went to the open day last Thursday and thought it was excellent.
    Well done lads! I would recommend it to everyone, it's pure craic. Just like being in school again!:)

Hay Wrap wrote: »
    Went to the open day last Thursday and thought it was excellent.
    Well done lads! I would recommend it to everyone, it's pure craic. Just like being in school again!:)

Good stuff, glad you enjoyed it, hope you've signed up :)
    As you could see the game worked really well

We have the full compliment of 16 teams so the league is good to go this Thursday, band in the clubhouse afterwards so leave the car at home

Hi guys,
    so the first gaelic tag league went off without a hitch, we had a great turn out, 16 teams, split into two leagues of 8. We had a wide range of player from inter county men & women to english, aussies, kiwis and 3 hungarians.
    Everyone seemed to enjoy it, we've had plenty of calls for a winter league.
    So we've decided to do a 1-day blitz instead, October 17th in the Iveagh Grounds in Crumlin again. €150 per team, so about €12.50 a player which is great value, with each team guaranteed 4 games before the top 2 from each group go through to the knockouts. There is free entry into Dicey's of Harcourt street that nite for all players.

If your interested or want to know more about the rules check out www.gaelictag.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Hay Wrap

Delighted to hear about the one day blitz!! Had hoped to join the league but couldn't commit so this is perfect :D.
    Is it ok for brand new teams to take part??

Hay Wrap wrote: »
    Delighted to hear about the one day blitz!! Had hoped to join the league but couldn't commit so this is perfect :D.
    Is it ok for brand new teams to take part??

Absolutely the more the merrier, we're hoping for a big turn out

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2009/1006/1224255981550.html

GAA all set to pilot recreational versions of games
    • SEÁN MORAN Reports

GAELIC GAMES NEWS ROUND-UP: A MAJOR new games initiative is to be piloted by the GAA in the new year. Two new versions of hurling and football, aimed at those primarily interested in recreational sport, are expected to be rolled out in 2011. The concept, at present under the working title Scilabú, represents a couple of years’ work and research into giving Gaelic games a non-competitive outlet.
    It’s nearly a year since the launch of The GAA Strategic Vision and Action Plan 2009-2015 , which undertook to “develop and implement a programme of recreational games for youth and adult players”. Part of the motivation was to provide different outlets for those wishing to play Gaelic games but also to provide an option for those interested in recreational sport, a constituency with whom five-a-side soccer and tag rugby have proved very popular.
    “We’re a long way down the road at this stage,” according to Croke Park’s head of games Pat Daly. “There’s a research committee established under Seán Donnelly as chair and it’s taken responsibility for different realms of research.
    “There’s technical research, largely to do with equipment, research related to participation and also to the social and recreational side of things. We have settled on a working title of Scilabú, both football and hurling and we’ll be piloting that next year with a roll-out pencilled in for 2011.
    “There are a couple of issues. Who’s it aimed at? It’s aimed at people who aren’t interested in the normal competitive stuff but who want to be involved in some shape or form. The biggest difficulty is in trying to get people to accept this is a recreational pursuit and explain what constitutes recreation.
    “There is always a temptation in hurling, for instance, to go back to catching and using the shoulder and hooking. But if you want to play hurling, play hurling. The recreational format has to be one that anyone can play. There is a difficulty getting some people to get their heads around that.”
    In one way the project reflects the experience of the GAA in Europe where tournaments are organised as part of social weekends in different cities. It has been found the games attract expatriates from a broad background, not just those having a familiarity with Gaelic games.
    The activities of the European Board units have also been successful in attracting the interest of citizens in various countries.
    “What you’re also looking at is a game that can be played on all-weather surfaces or indoors, basketball courts or hockey pitches,” says Daly. “There is a potential to come up with a format that we will be able to internationalise. For instance there is possible outreach in countries like Germany and the Netherlands where they are used to hockey and can identify more easily with hurling.
    “Whereas predominantly recreation, it would be a way of introducing people to our games and doing it in a manner that they could adapt to.”
    Even at home within the clubs there is a realisation that more could be done to involve those for whom the traditional club activities are both too competitive and consequently demanding in terms of training and preparation.
    “I was talking to Michael Cleary (Tipperary All-Ireland winner) down in Nenagh recently and they (the local Éire Óg club) had a very successful recreational event during the summer as part of the 125 celebrations. They were effectively walk-up games, organised from scratch.
    “The model we have in mind would facilitate that but it’s important that people see this for what it is, not competitive but social, mixed and recreational.”
    Heavy hitters in the coaching world, Paudie Butler and Joey Carton in hurling and Adrian McGuckin in football, have been working on the games’ actual formats. Equipment will be different with the hurley made from synthetic material and the sliotar replaced with a bigger, softer ball and the football smaller and also softer than in the standard game.

The news comes at the same time as a related concept, which didn’t originate in Croke Park, Gaelic Tag (described as a cross between tag rugby and Gaelic football) has announced details of a one-day blitz in the Iveagh Grounds, Crumlin in Dublin on Saturday, October 17th (further information on www.gaelictag.ie).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,351 ✭✭✭Orando Broom

Green&Red wrote: »
    Because we wouldn;t have many girls playing it if lads were leathering the ball at them!

Its gaelic because of the passing and the soloing

Why is there this compulsion to have women playing it? I have to say I looked at the website and I think it is frankly ridiculous.

It would be more in your line organising games along the lines of the Crokes Sevens than this garbage. It is just parroting a silly idea that helps fat women get married to people from the rubby fraternity. Why don't the GAA try to display a bit of originality?

You have basically taken the good bits of gaelic football and discarded them in favour of trying to entice those fashionistas who think tag rubby is the new black.

Obviously you're entitled to your opinion but you seem to think this is to replace football, or 7's, it is not. It is a new mixed game, that is part of the appeal to most people, the rules are devised to make sure neither sex can dominate the game.

As for the site being ridiculous I presume you mean the rules, and they are what they are, its not going to be everybodies cup of tea, its lots for lads who want to be trainign 4 nites a week and playing senior football, its a pass time, like playing 5-a-side soccer or.............oh ya tag rugby, nothing too serious but something to get you out, exercising and meeting people.

One of things that illustrated this was at the end of each set of matches, tehre were 3 on at any one time, all teams met in the middle of the pitch and the refs from the 3 matches gave a bottle of wine to the player of the match, they gave a bit of a speech and it was a laugh.