Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

08/09 Registration Fee?

• 25-06-2009 3:41am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 583 ✭✭✭

After just hearing I passed my exams, has anyone any idea how much theyre going to take from us this year? Heard it was supposed to double, €1600 is being mentioned also. No mention on the NUIG site as of yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭Carsinian Thau

I haven't heard anything either.

Maybe you could email the Admissions Office?

I hope it doesn't go up too much though. I thought it was excessive last year.

Well done on passing your exams btw.

Well done (I didnt) . . Im nearly sure the fee's are supposed to go up 40% since last year. . So nearly double. Fun fun eh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭the-island-man

Ya i think i heard it was going to be increased by 500 which would make it approximately 1600(thats with the student levy included i presume)!
    To think when i was in first year the registration fee was about 800!!
    Big clap for the useless SU!
    they've let the college roll over them time and time again!
    Students suffer while college staff get typical inflated public sector wages and the best car spaces!!

Well done (I didnt) . . Im nearly sure the fee's are supposed to go up 40% since last year. . So nearly double. Fun fun eh!

Feck. I don't want to give them more money. :(

Don't worry about the exams btw. I'm sure you'll do fine in the repeats. :)

I'm just after getting a reply to an E-mail i sent to the N.U.I.G Fees office there.
    They told me the total registration fee for the 09/10 academic year which includes the student levy of €222 will be €1,724 :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,568 ✭✭✭ethernet

I'm just after getting a reply to an E-mail i sent to the N.U.I.G Fees office there.
    They told me the total registration fee for the 09/10 academic year which includes the student levy of €222 will be €1,724 :eek:
    Glad I was sitting down :eek:

I have also E-mailed the Students union's welfare officer asking them if there are any plans to protest!
    I'm not holding out much hope as i have little faith in the students union but who knows if they get enough of a mandate from the student body they'll have to act right!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭Fionn MacCool

.... except that's nowhere near double (100%), is it?

You must be an Arts student eh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 665 ✭✭✭english4490

why is the cao website not working!!!!!!!!!:mad:

Sweet Jebus! I actually rubbed my eyes in shock and had to look again. This is most certainly of the bad.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 583 ✭✭✭xp90

What a shower of bastards, €1700? Should have went to GMIT instead at this rate :D. Thats an extra few hundred quid I could have spent in the GPO. And thered be a far more significant rerturn I think :)

My idea to protest this would be to march from the entrance of corrib village right through the campus while making plenty of noise and into the quad and start protesting right outside James Brownes office for a few hours!
    We could do it one of the first days when college returns!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 MuireannO

The registration fee increase of 600 was announced in the budget last November, and all Universities and Institutes of Technology have agreed to implement it.
    The SU spent a lot of the year fighting it, but when the entire sector is agreeing to it, and the University is strapped for cash these efforts failed. There are some ideas in the pipeline for protests next year regarding the reg fee, so hopefully some of you will get involved in it!

also, if you feel you can't afford the increased fee there is a student loans and fees committee you can appeal to, feel free to email me at su.president@nuigalway.ie (it'll be me for the rest of today and tomorrow, then it will be new president Donna Cummins)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 monkles

That is the most insane amount of money!! I too remember it only being 800 when I first started college. I almost fell off my chair when I read that. I'm 100% up for a protest!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭gary82

MuireannO wrote: »
    There are some ideas in the pipeline for protests next year regarding the reg fee

Sorry but I really don't think that's good enough. We need to protest before the year starts and they have all the cash collected.

What is the registration fee for? And why such the large increase?

We pay increased fees for an "improved" health unit - just redecorated but still the same shoddy service and improved sports facilities - I can no longer afford gym membership as it went way up instead of down and so I've been playing tennis on the 1 and only tennis court left on campus. Now they've gone and dug that up too!!!

:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 583 ✭✭✭xp90

I must say i agree with gary, it's fine come the academic year but during the summer we're not such a gathered/organised body what with everyone gone home for summer, Keefe can do whatever and say whatever he wants with little opposition and protest from the student body, surely the students union foresaw this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 Cathal Kelly

i have a great idea,
    "Nobody pay the fees"
    i reckon if even 10% of people refused o pay them it could generate a break
    muireann what do u think of this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,563 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

muireann what do u think of this
    Muireann has moved on. Donna is now queen of the Ivory Tower. ;)
    gary82 wrote: »
    What is the registration fee for? And why such the large increase?
    Rather than continue to subsidise third level fully as it used to the Dept. of Education allows the Universities to charge a registration fee to cover non-tuition costs. It's effectively fees by the back door.
    gary82 wrote: »
    I can no longer afford gym membership as it went way up instead of down and so I've been playing tennis on the 1 and only tennis court left on campus. Now they've gone and dug that up too!!!
    I'm not 100% sure of the details, but I think that in exchange for putting a visitor car park there College will be providing (doing up) a replacement facility at the other end of campus. The Union should have details of whatever alternate arrangement was reached.
    That's the most they could realistically ask for. AFAIK they're now free to ask for whatever they want but I think that there's a maximum amount of approximately €1500 beyond which the HEA will refuse to cover it for grant recipients.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Could someone clarify that if you're on the maintenance grant, how much of the registration fee do you have to pay yourself?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,563 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

snubbleste wrote: »
    Could someone clarify that if you're on the maintenance grant, how much of the registration fee do you have to pay yourself?
    If you receive a maintenance grant you only have to pay the €222 student levy. The €1500 registration fee is paid for you too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 killman

People have got to be serious now!!
    Look the country is broke, money cant be spent on something which isnt important.We are getting a free education,in future ppl will have 2 pay!

Now some ppl will take college more seriously, This is aimed at arts students mainly an rightly so cos they are nearly all wasters,seriously wats the point of doin arts!!!

I already have to pay full registration fee,i dont complain i have to go find job 4 summer for myself..i know lads who were gettin full grant an got last installment just before summer exams,thats why the country is broke ffs...there will be alot more problems in next few years then havin to pay for college like in every other country!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 Cathal Kelly

killman wrote:
    money cant be spent on something which isnt important....
    ....This is aimed at arts students mainly an rightly so cos they are nearly all wasters,seriously wats the point of doin arts!!!
    how is it aimed at arts students when every1 has 2 pay?
    there are plenty of wealthy arts students out there
    them arty fartys are da problem tho
    most of 'em are gonna end up in supermax anyway :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 killman

will reduce the amount of arts students!!

MOST of grls doin arts aint gr8,so dnt bother me too much but some of them were fairly easy aswell:D:pac: