Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dan Martin Confirmed.

• 24-06-2009 12:26pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭

Garmin have confirmed that Dan martin will ride the 2009 Tour de France.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,724 ✭✭✭kennyb3

great news, now all i have to do is somehow get 3 weeks off so i can watch it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

kennyb3 wrote: »
    great news, now all i have to do is somehow get 3 weeks off so i can watch it.

Harddisk recorder. Buy one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭deeno1975

Garmin have confirmed that Dan martin will ride the 2009 Tour de France.

Excellent, hopefully a good chance of a stage... Now for Sky Plus to earn it's salt...

Raam wrote: »
    Harddisk recorder. Buy one
    true. really must invest in sky+. will anybody be showing highlights between 6 and 11 in the evening?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭lukester

true. really must invest in sky+. will anybody be showing highlights between 6 and 11 in the evening?

Eurosport

lukester wrote: »
    Eurosport
    any idea of the time it will be on?

You don't need sky+, just a regular recorder. Unless of course, you really want sky+

any idea of the time it will be on?

Jesus man, use the internet!

http://yahoo.eurosport.co.uk/tvschedule_clng2_day10.shtml

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭lukester

You don't need sky+, just a regular recorder. Unless of course, you really want sky+

Or get a UPC DVR box. Cheaper than Sky+, both for the installation and the monthly fee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

I read a third-hand report via another forum that Vaughters tweeted that he could see Martin winning the white jersey. Can't get any more definite than that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭paddy's hill

blorg wrote: »
    I read a third-hand report via another forum that Vaughters tweeted that he could see Martin winning the white jersey. Can't get any more definite than that!

Have read a number of ex pros saying he may win a mountain stage.
    Jackie Durand “He’s a pure climber. He can win a major mountain stage. But his main weakness is time-trials. He can lose up to a minute every 20 kilometres. He really is a feather weight”.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

It's fantastic news. I think he's proven already with his results that he's ready to step up to this level. Very excited about the Tour now. It'll be great to have someone Irish to cheer on. Hopefully Nicolas Roche will be selected by AG2R as well. Anyone remember the last time two Irish riders rode the Tour? Must have been early nineties?

I think Vaughters actually tipped him for a mountain stage. Andy Schleck is still eligible for the white jersey this year, so it would be a big ask for Martin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭rflynnr

Isn't this the internet?

rflynnr wrote: »
    Isn't this the internet?

Touché

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭jimbo32123

surely deignan will ride it as well after performing well in the girop before all the crashes!!

that would be three irish should roche be selected...

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

jimbo32123 wrote: »
    surely deignan will ride it ...

He wasn't selected by his team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Funkyzeit

Great news alright and a stage win certainly not out of the question. Can't see him contending for the Maillot Blanc - Schleck aside he'd be up against Nibali, Di gregorio etc. Also he'll probably be sacrificing himself for Vd Velde. Best thing about him - easy to spot with the irish colours...!

The full list of Irish riders in Le Tour.
    2004: Mark Scanlon
    1993: Stephen Roche
    1992: Stephen Roche, Martin Earley, Sean Kelly
    1991: Sean Kelly, Lawrence Roche, Stephen Roche, Martin Earley
    1990: Stephen Roche Martin Earley, Sean Kelly
    1989: Stephen Roche Martin Earley, Sean Kelly, Paul Kimmage
    1988: Martin Earley, Sean Kelly
    1987: Stephen Roche, Martin Earley, Sean Kelly, Paul Kimmage
    1986: Stephen Roche, Martin Earley, Paul Kimmage
    1985: Stephen Roche, Martin Earley, Sean Kelly
    1984: Stephen Roche, Sean Kelly
    1983: Stephen Roche, Sean Kelly
    1982: Sean Kelly
    1981: Sean Kelly
    1980: Sean Kelly
    1979: Sean Kelly
    1978: Sean Kelly
    1964: Seamus Elliott
    1963: Seamus Elliott
    1961: Seamus Elliott
    1959: Seamus Elliott
    1958: Seamus Elliott
    1956: Seamus Elliott

Funkyzeit wrote: »
    Best thing about him - easy to spot with the irish colours...!

There'll be a new National Champion before the Tour starts.

Best thing about him - easy to spot with the irish colours...!

Not riding champs so no Irish jersey for him. Maybe Nicholas will have it.
    No Irish rider has ever worn the mountains jersey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭Funkyzeit

jimbo32123 wrote: »
    should roche be selected...

From cycling news:

Four [additional] riders to be selected from [6]: Hubert Dupont, John Gadret, Sébastien Hinault, Rinaldo Nocentini, Nicolas Roche and Ludovic Turpin

Surely in with a great chance of going..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭L'Enfer du Nord

From cycling news:

Four [additional] riders to be selected from [6]: Hubert Dupont, John Gadret, Sébastien Hinault, Rinaldo Nocentini, Nicolas Roche and Ludovic Turpin

Surely in with a great chance of going..

Read somewhere that this would be based on performance in the French national championships! Obviously Roche and Nocentini will be in their own national championships. Is this good or bad for Roche, I wonder. He could win our nationals, but he doesn't have the chance to finish ahead of the other guys in the Fench nationals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭Dura Ace

The full list of Irish riders in Le Tour.
    2004: Mark Scanlon
    1993: Stephen Roche
    1992: Stephen Roche, Martin Earley, Sean Kelly
    1991: Sean Kelly, Lawrence Roche, Stephen Roche, Martin Earley
    1990: Stephen Roche Martin Earley, Sean Kelly
    1989: Stephen Roche Martin Earley, Sean Kelly, Paul Kimmage
    1988: Martin Earley, Sean Kelly
    1987: Stephen Roche, Martin Earley, Sean Kelly, Paul Kimmage
    1986: Stephen Roche, Martin Earley, Paul Kimmage
    1985: Stephen Roche, Martin Earley, Sean Kelly
    1984: Stephen Roche, Sean Kelly
    1983: Stephen Roche, Sean Kelly
    1982: Sean Kelly
    1981: Sean Kelly
    1980: Sean Kelly
    1979: Sean Kelly
    1978: Sean Kelly
    1964: Seamus Elliott
    1963: Seamus Elliott
    1961: Seamus Elliott
    1959: Seamus Elliott
    1958: Seamus Elliott
    1956: Seamus Elliott

You omitted Ian Moore who was in the Tour in 1961

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭Zipp101

Can't see him contending for the Maillot Blanc - Schleck aside he'd be up against Nibali, Di gregorio etc.

Dan Martin is a far better climber than Di Gregorio.
    I think this jersey will be between Schleck and Kreuziger.

Dura Ace wrote: »
    You omitted Ian Moore who was in the Tour in 1961

As far as I am aware Ian Moore never raced for Ireland but always for Great Britain. I stand to be corrected. The A.S.O. database has him listed as British where as Elliott is listed as Irish, even though the team was Great Britain.

I'm basing it on the fact that he was from Belfast, rather than the fact that he was on the Great Britain team, but that's a different can of worms I'm opening.

Dura Ace wrote: »
    I'm basing it on the fact that he was from Belfast, rather than the fact that he was on the Great Britain team, but that's a different can of worms I'm opening.

He was born in Belfast but that does not make him an Irish cyclist. He was a British cyclist. There are only 7 Irish riders who ridden the tour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭jefferson73

So excited, really cannot wait for the Tour..

Please Dan a bit of this,

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DcAs0s1IVvw

including the music and i'll be forever grateful...

Who is it?

He was born in Belfast but that does not make him an Irish cyclist. He was a British cyclist. There are only 7 Irish riders who ridden the tour.
    People from Northern Ireland are still "Irish"... it is possible to be both Irish and British. Is Graham Obree not Scottish now? Last time I checked cycling was organised on an all-island basis. Was George Bernard Shaw an Irish writer?

EDIT: Sorry, meant to include this

asmilieStirPotChef.gif

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

People from Northern Ireland are still "Irish"... it is possible to be both Irish and British. Is Graham Obree not Scottish now? Last time I checked cycling was organised on an all-island basis. Was George Bernard Shaw an Irish writer?

EDIT: Sorry, meant to include this

asmilieStirPotChef.gif
    Interesting one. People from Norn Iron have the choice , they can be either british or irish but when registering with the UCI must designate a nationality. Without naming anyone there was a rider who rode the worlds espoir for GB but changed to Irish nationality and is AFAIK still designated Irish.
    Designation is more a logistical thing than a statement of fact. Irish runners have changed to GB to avail of the superior funding, An english triathlete with Irish ancestry got and Irish passport and competed for Ireland.
    I have no strong views one way or the other . Mrs Fowl is from NI and has a GB passport but considers herself Irish and British. Her father is the same while her mother and brother feel british and ulster/scots and not irish. My kids ahve irish and GB passports but that was more a pragmatic choice to give them more options in the future. I am entitled toa GB passport but am and feel Irish so will not take it up.

I may be wrong but did Peter Crinion not start the TDF ???

Ps Blorg your right this stuff stirs emotions and opinions but no one ever changes their or takes others on board !!!

The Good Friday Agreement states that anyone born in Northern Ireland has the right to be Irish, British or both, and I'm all in favor of that, whatever makes you happy.

Acording to the A.S.O. the people who own and run the Tour de France there have been 7 Irish riders who have ridden the tour.

http://www.letour.fr/HISTO/TDF/countries/years/IRL/us/participations.html?Nationality=IRL&RaceYear=years&resultWanted=participations&x=54&y=9

EARLEY Martin 1985 (60th) , 1986 (46th) , 1987 (65th) , 1988 (nc) , 1989 (44th) , 1990 (nc) , 1991 (nc) , 1992 (80th)
    ELLIOTT Seamus 1956 (nc) , 1958 (48th) , 1959 (nc) , 1961 (47th) , 1963 (61th) , 1964 (nc)
    KELLY Sean 1978 (34th) , 1979 (38th) , 1980 (29th) , 1981 (48th) , 1982 (15th) , 1983 (7th) , 1984 (5th) , 1985 (4th) , 1987 (nc) , 1988 (46th) , 1989 (9th) , 1990 (30th) , 1991 (nc) , 1992 (43th)
    KIMMAGE Paul 1986 (131th) , 1987 (nc) , 1989 (nc)
    ROCHE Stephen 1983 (13th) , 1984 (25th) , 1985 (3rd) , 1986 (48th) , 1987 (1st) , 1989 (nc) , 1990 (44th) , 1991 (nc) , 1992 (9th) , 1993 (13th)
    ROCHE Laurence 1991 (153th)
    SCANLON Mark 2004 (89th)

That is 7 riders with Irish racing licences. Ian Moore may be now or may have been in 1961 an Irish citizen or Irish British, but he presented himself at the start with a British licence so he was a British cyclist.

That is clear enough then, there are seven riders who have ridden the Tour under Irish racing licenses. There are eight Irish riders who have ridden the Tour. There are seven riders from the Republic of Ireland that have ridden the Tour. One from Northern Ireland.

I think we need a Venn diagram of the British Isles Islands of the North Atlantic these islands :)

uk.gif

asmilieStirPotChef.gif

There are eight Irish riders who have ridden the Tour.

No, only 7 Irish riders have ridden the tour.
    If you compiled a list of English soccer players who played in world cups, would you include Andy Townsend or Mick McCarthy, no they are Irish players.

Also, when Dan Martin starts the tour on the 4th would that be 8 Irish riders or is that another English rider? I presume Dan will present himself with an Irish licence so he will be the 8th Irish man to ride the tour.

No, only 7 Irish riders have ridden the tour.
    If you compiled a list of English soccer players who played in world cups, would you include Andy Townsend or Mick McCarthy, no they are Irish players.

Also, when Dan Martin starts the tour on the 4th would that be 8 Irish riders or is that another English rider? I presume Dan will present himself with an Irish licence so he will be the 8th Irish man to ride the tour.
    By your logic no English rider has ever ridden the Tour.

I give up.

RobFowl wrote: »

I may be wrong but did Peter Crinion not start the TDF ???

Peter Crinnion was on his team's shortlist for selection for the Tour in 1963, but unfortunately wasn't selected. This was at a time when there was a limit of 3 foreigners a team could choose, and Peter missed out.

It was the same reason why Shay Elliott missed out on the '62 Tour, despite having finished 3rd in the Vuelta.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

If you compiled a list of English soccer players who played in world cups, would you include Andy Townsend or Mick McCarthy?

Yes, I would. They are English. They are soccer players. They played in the world cup. ---> They are "English soccer players who played in world cups".

If you asked me to compile a list of soccer players who had played for England in world cups I wouldn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

Can we make two lists and get on with our lives?

OK, but who gets to say who goes on which list?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

list 1: Mick McCarthy, you, Stephen Roche.
    list 2: Dan Martin, Andy Townsend, me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,397 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

Ignoring the NI debate, Martin will become only the 5th Irish cyclist to ride a Grand Tour since Roche and Kelly retired.

Ciaran Power rode the 2000 Giro
    Scanlon rode the tour in 2004 and the Giro in 2006
    Roche roode the Giro in 2007 and Vuelta in 2008
    Deignan rode the Vuelta in 2007 and Giro in 2008 and 2009

Nicolas Roche came closest to winning a stage with his 2nd place in stage 18 in last year's Vuelta. He had 2 other top ten stage placings in that race. Power finsihed 5th and 6th in 2 stages. Deignan was 5th earlier this year in the Giro, and finsihed 10th on a stage in the 2007 Vuelta

Scanlon in the 2006 Giro is the only one not to finish.

Hopefully Roche is selescted and make it 2 Irishmen in it this year...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,397 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

Confirmed now. First time since 1992 we've had more than one rider

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,046 ✭✭✭✭titan18

http://uk.eurosport.yahoo.com/29062009/58/tour-de-france-white-jersey-preview.html

Eurosport article about the white jersey.Some strong riders in there and will be tough for Dan Martin