Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ROK train update [guards van MAY NOT be added]

• 24-06-2009 8:23am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,926 ✭✭✭

I dropped in to Heuston station customers services desk this morning to check about bringing the bike to Killarney on the train, they told there was no problem as a guards van is been added to the trains Dublin/Cork, Mallow/Killarney due to the demand for bike spaces for the w/e 3rd to 6th of July. Needless to say I was delighted but I would add a warning to this, check with irishrail to confirm this, they can be notoriously fickle.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Well done vektarman. I think a lot of people are going to be very relieved to hear that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,565 ✭✭✭thebouldwhacker

Thats great news for ye, well done, I reckon the decision is in no small part due to the actions of a few boardies:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,038 ✭✭✭penexpers

Careful though, this doesn't cover the direct Dublin-Killarney train at 1830.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,926 ✭✭✭vektarman

penexpers wrote: »
    Careful though, this doesn't cover the direct Dublin-Killarney train at 1830.

+1, I didn't ask about the direct train.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

Thanks for looking into that. I made a few enquiries about the cost of a train ticket. 84euro return! Don't know about the rest of you, but stuff that..I'm driving!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,439 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

84 euro return. is this for the journey on the friday evening?

billyhead wrote: »
    84 euro return. is this for the journey on the friday evening?

I logged onto Irishrail.ie and requested a fare leaving Dublin on Friday July 3rd and returning Sunday July 5th. I didn't specify a particular train and it came back with 84 return per adult(Premier Seat). I also rang customer service and checked to see if there was a charge for the bike and I was told there was a charge of 8 euro per bike. I don't think that would apply if they had a baggage car on the train though. Mind you there is a 6 euro charge if you want to reserve a seat.

There's no direct train on July 3rd to Killarney, which means you have to change at Mallow.

I've just logged on again and the price is 72euro (standard seat) + 6euro if you want to reserve a seat. A bit cheaper, but i still think this is very expensive.

I don't travel by train very often..is this a "normal" fare? please tell me this is not a reduced fare to cater for all the cyclists doing the ROK cycle.

07Lapierre wrote: »
    There's no direct train on July 3rd to Killarney, which means you have to change at Mallow.

There is a direct train - depart Hesuton 1830 arrive Killarney 2156.

oh and 72 is the standard return fare. You can get tickets for 20 euro each way off peak, but Friday evening/Sunday are peak times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,045 ✭✭✭Húrin

CIE responding to customer demand? Unprecedented!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,509 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

oh and 72 is the standard return fare. You can get tickets for 20 euro each way off peak, but Friday evening/Sunday are peak times.

Wow that's expensive.

@Tonto: I can only get a car from friday till sunday unfortunately. I might also have had financial issues with going down a day early. Should have my little blue car for the weekend anyway if you and the Claw need a lift?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭trek climber

Thanks for looking into that. I made a few enquiries about the cost of a train ticket. 84euro return! Don't know about the rest of you, but stuff that..I'm driving!

Have to agree with that plus the scramble of changing over trains at Mallow. Going to take Friday off and drive down at my leisure.

Well spotted..So a return ticket is 72euro and 6 euro if you want to reserve a seat. I still think this is a steep charge for a train journey. I assume the trains have improved since the last time i took the train to Killarney? It was about 6 years ago in December and the train left Killarney at about 6pm. We were only out of the station and the lights went out on the train and there was no heating. Spent 3 hours in a cold and dark carraige! not a good experience. So much for "let the train take the strain"!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

vektarman wrote: »
    I dropped in to Heuston station customers services desk this morning to check about bringing the bike to Killarney on the train, they told there was no problem as a guards van is been added to the trains Dublin/Cork, Mallow/Killarney due to the demand for bike spaces for the w/e 3rd to 6th of July. Needless to say I was delighted but I would add a warning to this, check with irishrail to confirm this, they can be notoriously fickle.

Vektarman - I spoke with a politician contact of mine today. He has been lobbying Irish rail to add bike storage/guards vans for the w/e of the ROK.

His last response was from the CEO of Irish Rail yesterday. They have said that they will take 6 bikes on each Dublin Cork/Mallow train, and 3 bikes on each Mallow Killarney train.
    They are aware that the ROK cycle is on, but as they have changed the rolling stock, the old style guards van cannot be added.
    According to him, your source in Hueston was incorrect. Any more than 3 bikes on the Kerry train will be refused.
    Sorry to be the bearer of bad news. But I would advise all getting the train to ROK, to
    (1) get to station early to get on the train.
    or
    (2) seek another way of transporting the bike. There are NO guarantees that irish Rail will allow the bike to travel.

the reality is, it is up to the Station Master in Mallow as to whether bikes get on on Mallow Kerry train. The assurances of customer service in Hueston will cut no ice with them.

The head of Irish Rail is aware that the ROK is on, but claims that while they would like to accomodate 100's of cyclists, the reality is that they cannot due to the new rolling stock.

He claims that the old guards van have been scrapped on that line - ie they dont have them to put them on, even if they wanted to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭CheGuedara

Hey ROK ON, fair play for chasing that up - at least now people can try to plan getting down accordingly.

In fairness it's disappointing to hear that Irish Rail are now even less able to accomplish the simple task of transporting a number of bicycles greater than 3 at a time on the Kerry line (whilst leaving 3 more bike transporting passengers stranded in Mallow) than they relucantly were before.

An integrated transport service in Ireland, like that'll ever happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,926 ✭✭✭vektarman

Thanks for the info ROK ON, that's disappointing news especially when Heuston customers services were adamant that a guards van was being added, another case of the tail not knowing what the head is doing as far as IE are concerned yet again.

vektarman wrote: »
    Thanks for the info ROK ON, that's disappointing news especially when Heuston customers services were adamant that a guards van was being added, another case of the tail not knowing what the head is doing as far as IE are concerned yet again.

Hopefully the guys in Hueston are right, but I thought after hearing what I did today, that it may be a respnse simply to avoid them having to argue with irate cyclists.

CheGuedara wrote: »
    Hey ROK ON, fair play for chasing that up - at least now people can try to plan getting down accordingly.

In fairness it's disappointing to hear that Irish Rail

In fairness to Irish Rail, I looked at trying to get my bike on the train over in England and I was coming up against the same problem - two bikes per train, none during peak times etc..

They do have good reasons from moving away from the guards vans style trains. The new diesel multiple units are more efficent and less likely to break down, as well as being more comfortable. For 99.9% of the time, the bike storage capacity is plentiful.

The new diesel multiple units are more efficent and less likely to break down, as well as being more comfortable...

... and cannot or do not consist of a guard (or analagous) carriage. Two steps forward and four back. I love progess like that.

I think the IR slogan sums things up nicely as regards their general attitude to the cyclist passenger, certainly on the Kerry line (ending abruptly at Mallow Junction for many)

"We’re not there yet but we're getting there and have no intention of getting there any time soon…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

... and cannot or do not consist of a guard (or analagous) carriage. Two steps forward and four back. I love progess like that.

I hate to say it, but what would the point normally be of a guard carrage with the new trains? it would be a waste of space/energy to move about?

it would be nice if they could lob one of the commuter desel ones in there with lots of open floor space in the middle for an event like this and just fill one of those with bikes, but it does sound awkard...

The purpose of the guards van wasn't to carry bikes or freight (as used on fast track). It was used to generate power, the fact that there was enough room to carry other stuff was just a happy coincidence. With the new trains, they don't need a generator van anymore, because there is a small generator with each engine.

It is progress in the grand scheme of things.

Meh. Still wish the capacity was better and the BS in Mallow was absent.

Would I be correct in thinking that if you take your baike apart and put it in a Bike bag or case, you could simply bring your bike on the train as "hand luggage"? . Claim ignorance about the 8euro bike charge while your at it. Mind you..I'm still driving to Kerry myself.

Yes you can do that. In fact, I think it's encouraged.

Would I be correct in thinking that if you take your baike apart and put it in a Bike bag or case, you could simply bring your bike on the train as "hand luggage"?

AFAIK that is correct.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,314 ✭✭✭Nietzschean

The purpose of the guards van wasn't to carry bikes or freight (as used on fast track). It was used to generate power, the fact that there was enough room to carry other stuff was just a happy coincidence. With the new trains, they don't need a generator van anymore, because there is a small generator with each engine.

It is progress in the grand scheme of things.

Seems they still have guard cars in the new style cork train so don't see any reason that carrage couldn't be used on a direct service ? (just had to put my bike in there)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,414 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

[edited title to reflect current status]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

I also rang customer service and checked to see if there was a charge for the bike and I was told there was a charge of 8 euro per bike. I don't think that would apply if they had a baggage car on the train though.
    The charge is applied when there is a baggage car. In fact if there isn't a baggage car you can't take the bike at all (apart I believe from some trains that have some sort of bike cupboard arrangement.) Either way there is always a charge. Stations outside the major cities you are far more likely to get away without paying it though.

As to the price, yes it is high and that is what it is. There are off-peak internet specials as Penexpers says. You can also get a Weekender card for €7 which gets you a bit of a discount. The discount on a single journey is more than €7 so it is worth it just a bit of a hassle (you need a passport photo and can only get one in certain mainline stations.) "Valid for outward travel Friday, Saturday, Sunday and for return up to the following Tuesday."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

Seems they still have guard cars in the new style cork train so don't see any reason that carrage couldn't be used on a direct service ? (just had to put my bike in there)
    The guard cars on the Cork train are substantially smaller than the old-style ones they used to use (including on last year's ROK.) There is probably room for 100 bikes in the old-style ones. The Cork ones, I thought the official limit might have been eight, but it could well be 6, there just isn't that much room in them.

th_ROK_blorg_IMGP2185.jpg vs th_DSC00120.jpg

blorg wrote: »
    The guard cars on the Cork train are substantially smaller than the old-style ones they used to use (including on last year's ROK.) There is probably room for 100 bikes in the old-style ones. The Cork ones, I thought the official limit might have been eight, but it could well be 6, there just isn't that much room in them.

th_ROK_blorg_IMGP2185.jpg vs th_DSC00120.jpg

Official limit is 6 on Cork train, but it could take much much more IMO.
    I have used the wardrobe thing on Carlow/Dublin line.
    Looks like a wardrobe, in the 1st clas carriage next to toilets.
    You hang the bike on a closeable hhok by the front wheel. The back wheel is in a wheel stay. Pretty neat, and it doesnt take up a whole lot of space. Takes 2/3 bikes.