Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Macau Sporting Club wins Best Poker Tourney Award

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭g.quagmire

Nice one fair play it is some tourney in fairness, hopefully I'll pox a ticket tonight.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭JP Poker

well done lads

• Registered Users Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭Fatboydim

Nice one Ken.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭corkie123

NICE ONE KEN :D:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 442 ✭✭Lplate

Congrats to Ken and his team. Well Done.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,656 ✭✭✭dannydiamond

Nice one Ken, well deserved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭big_iain

Congrats......

• Registered Users Posts: 37,896 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Ok I'm sorry to start and I'm not just trolling or anything like that. I wasn't in the Macau for their main event last year, I did play in the Christmas one and it was well run to be fair.

But

I remember that there was a change made to the structure which was not advertised and there was a horrific pay structure iirc also. So this seems like a total joke of an award.

The only real award that is worth its salt anyways would be one voted on by the players but that will never happen in this country due to us not having any association. I'm am very surprised that this tournament with all that went on in it last year got this award.

eagle eye wrote: »
    Ok I'm sorry to start and I'm not just trolling or anything like that. I wasn't in the Macau for their main event last year, I did play in the Christmas one and it was well run to be fair.

But

I remember that there was a change made to the structure which was not advertised and there was a horrific pay structure iirc also. So this seems like a total joke of an award.

The only real award that is worth its salt anyways would be one voted on by the players but that will never happen in this country due to us not having any association. I'm am very surprised that this tournament with all that went on in it last year got this award.

in all fairness i don,t think that there a tourie thats run as well .
    good dealers , good food , good td , nice place
    and what was suppose to have gone on ?

jealousy is a bad omen

• Registered Users Posts: 3,212 ✭✭✭ITT-Pat

corkie123 wrote: »

jealousy is a bad omen

By any chance Eagle Eye, are you thinking of the IPC in Galway?

Also, I doubt Eagle Eye is making his comments out of jealousy. As far as I know he doesn't run poker tournaments, so I don't think he was expecting the award for himself.

in all fairness i don,t think that there a tourie thats run as well .
    good dealers , good food , good td , nice place

jealousy is a bad omen
    ITT-Pat wrote: »
    By any chance Eagle Eye, are you thinking of the IPC in Galway?

Also, I doubt Eagle Eye is making his comments out of jealousy. As far as I know he doesn't run poker tournaments, so I don't think he was expecting the award for himself.
    Jealousy? What have I to be jealous over? I don't run any tournament, I don't have any involvement with any casino or tournament organiser.

Pat I'm not mixing it up, I'm aware what went on at the IPC.

They removed a blind level without telling anybody who was playing in the tourney. There were also a lot of people unhappy with the huge jumps in prizemoney and saying that the payout should have been flatter than it was.

Just to clarify I'm not giving out about the general standard of tournaments in the Macau its just that last year there were a lot of complaints about those two things.
    As I said above I didn't play in the Irish Poker Classic, its just from reading what respected posters said about it at the time. I played there in November and they ran a great show as I said above.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,212 ✭✭✭ITT-Pat

lol just noticed that those awards are sponsored by Betfair, that explains a bit then
    Pat I'm not mixing it up, I'm aware what went on at the IPC.

Ah ok, anyway there's too many IPC's these days!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

it was definitely my favourite tournament last year, the structure was amazing, the only other tournament to match it structure wise was JPs masters

I think the amount of money you won biases your opinion.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

I think the amount of money you won biases your opinion.:)

oc, from my blog after the event

Finally once again the Macau have produced a brilliant festival, It's my favorite place to play cards and Ken and his staff through hard work have made the Irish Classic one of the top four tournaments in the country. The structure was magnificent and the average bigblinds never dropped below 40 and was over 60 for most of the tournament, it is truly a pleasure for any poker player to play such a fantastic structure.

nicnicnic wrote: »
    oc, from my blog after the event

Finally once again the Macau have produced a brilliant festival, It's my favorite place to play cards and Ken and his staff through hard work have made the Irish Classic one of the top four tournaments in the country. The structure was magnificent and the average bigblinds never dropped below 40 and was over 60 for most of the tournament, it is truly a pleasure for any poker player to play such a fantastic structure.
    Had to do some digging but we had this thread in the aftermath of that tourney.

There were also people unhappy with the level being taken out, that was posted in the update thread. It was not run with all the levels that were advertised before it began. No reason was given either for the change other than to say that its within their rights to change it.

Again I stress I have noting against the Macau as I've made clear here. I've met and I like Ken and I played there and found it a very nice place to play. I just think its odd that they get an award when its clear there were a number of unhappy customers last year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭vag77

jealousy is a bad omen:)

• Registered Users Posts: 36,243 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

• Registered Users Posts: 2,077 ✭✭✭smurph

I don't know but I spotted this a couple of weeks ago and just lol'd

Didn't want to post anything (because of my obvious bias to the Fitzwilliam) but

http://www.herald.ie/sport/soccer/herald-writer-giles-hailed-as-sports-tv-pundit-of-the-year-1780055.html

Friday June 19 2009

YOU already know that he's Ireland's leading columnist, now John Giles has been confirmed as the country's top television pundit.

The Herald writer scooped the top honour of Sports TV Pundit of the Year.

Giles's expertise was deemed far superior to the 'Rent-a-Rant' punditry of Eamon Dunphy and George Hook, which dominates much of RTE's television coverage.

Hook, who predicted that Ireland would not win the Grand Slam or that Leinster would not win the Heineken Cup, and Eamon Dunphy were beaten to the top honour by the Herald's man.

The honours were selected from RTE, TV3 and Setanta combined. At a star-studded bash in Dublin yesterday, the sporting world also hailed Bernard Dunne as Sports Betting Personality of the Year.

The WBA Super Bantamweight champion's mum Angela accepted the award on her son's behalf.

legendary

The voice of racing, Tony O'Hehir, was voted Best Race Commentator beating off the equally legendary Des Scahill.

Attheraces won a special award as Sports Broadcaster of the Year, and Boylesports won the Best Bookmaker award.

# Best National Bookmaker: Boylesports

# Best Online Betting Site: Williamhill.com

# Best Casino Club: The Sporting Emporium

# Best Sports Broadcaster, sponsored by Evolve PR: Attheraces

# Best Racetrack (Greyhound), sponsored by Irish Independent: Shelbourne Park Greyhound Stadium

# Best Racetrack (Horses), sponsored by Irish Independent: Punchestown Racecourse

# Sport Betting Personality of The Year: Bernard Dunne

# Best Pundit: John Giles

# Best commentator:

Tony O'Hehir

hnews@herald

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭HighFinance

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    Who votes or decides on these awards?

The judging panel was http://www.sportbettingawards.ie/judges.php

Couple of journos, Bernard Dunne, Setanta CEO, Irish Greyhound Board director etc....

Oh lol then, I'm not sure the poker awards should be taken too seriously. Thanks.

lol then luckyLloyd should not be taken seriously either :D:D:D:D:D

How many €200+ tournaments around the country do you reckon the members of that panel personally attended over the past 18 months?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭YULETIRED

Yer lifetime winnings in the Macau?

YULETIRED wrote: »
    Yer lifetime winnings in the Macau?

no won a few more 0000000000 :D:D