Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Problem with DVD Driver/Decoder

• 22-06-2009 7:26pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭

Hi folks,

I’m having an issue with my laptop, hopefully someone can help me! A few weeks ago a mate “wiped” my laptop (a Dell Inspiron 1501) and installed Windows XP, as the laptop was giving problems and he diagnosed Vista as the source. When installing XP he said he was having an issue in installing the correct DVD driver (its an Optiarc DVD+ - RW AD5540A)but he then said he had installed one similar enough to work. However, it seems it wasn’t quite similar enough, and now the laptop won’t play DVDs, giving me an error message that no DVD decoder is installed.

He’s away travelling now so I can’t contact him, can anyone rescue me from this?

Cheers

Sam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭karasu

Just go for VideoLan as it has proper codecs.

http://www.videolan.org/

That should fix your problem ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,864 ✭✭✭MunsterCycling

The issue is the DVD codec and not the drive, do as above and you'll be sorted.

MC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

SamuelFox wrote: »
    Hi folks,

I’m having an issue with my laptop, hopefully someone can help me! A few weeks ago a mate “wiped” my laptop (a Dell Inspiron 1501) and installed Windows XP, as the laptop was giving problems and he diagnosed Vista as the source. When installing XP he said he was having an issue in installing the correct DVD driver (its an Optiarc DVD+ - RW AD5540A)but he then said he had installed one similar enough to work. However, it seems it wasn’t quite similar enough, and now the laptop won’t play DVDs, giving me an error message that no DVD decoder is installed.

He’s away travelling now so I can’t contact him, can anyone rescue me from this?

Cheers

Sam
    Your friends an idiot, by the way.

Stupid fecking eejits with their Vista stereotypes.

I'm sure whatever your problem was, changing operating systems was overly dramatic.

Oh yes Im sure he "diagnosed" the hell out of it.

/rant

Now though ye just have a codec issue, thats easy. what #2 suggests, or i usually use the K-lite codec pack (you can google that) - that will support all major file formats and a few youve never even heard of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭SamuelFox

Karasu, that worked a treat! Problem solved, thanks very much!

Thanks guys for the other posts too!

Sam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭thehomeofDob

Next time don't let your mate at your laptop. Check here first. I deal with unneccesary repairs all the time because people dumped vista for XP on a computer that doesn't support XP with proper drivers. Mostly it's their dumb eejit friends who says "VISTA BAAAAD! Here have this illegal copy of XP without any drivers it'll fix all your problems."

Good luck with it anyway mate.