Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Traffic corps - good job!

• 22-06-2009 11:27am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭

Just a little statement or story - for once, in all my years here, I have seen the Garda Traffic corps in action, and doing a great job!

Coming from Dublin on Saturday, some little sh*thead in a tiny Micra decided to overtake our car while I was overtaking a truck - and met oncoming traffic - so he had to use the layby lane on the other side of the road to avoid hitting a car travelling towards Dublin, scaring the sh*te out of that driver, and everyone around. Extremely dangerous behaviour, that could have gone badly wrong.

A couple of miles down the road, a tractor that was using the layby moved into the normal lane again, because there was a crossroad/left turn coming up, slowing traffic behind him down a little. Your man in the Micra then decided that that wasn't good enough for him, and overtook a couple of cars and the tractor on the left-hand side on the layby (!) - across the crossroads. Dangerous again, to say the least.

After that, he decided to tailgate, and speed like a maniac, including some crazy overtaking manouvres.

I don't know who called the guards (I was still shocked from the previous incident, and didn't get his number plate) - but shortly before Loughrea, we got overtaken by two unmarked patrol cars, and there was a traffic corps car waiting to pull your man out. I hope he lost his license for being a complete d*ckhead, putting other drivers in danger, and not only once but at least 3 times on a strecth of maybe 20 miles.

Fair play to the traffic corps for responding, and thanks to the person who alerted them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭irishgrover

would you consider phoning them and giving them a statement, the fact that he overtook you as you were overtaking and ended up on the completely wrong side of road on hard shoulder, should elevate this into dangerous driving / driving ban situation. They might have enough witness statement for this to happen, but your evident might be critical...?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

Sorry, i was late for my tea.

What does this have to do with Galway City?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 481 ✭✭coldwood92

Yeach Fair play as Ronan from gift grub would say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭irishgrover

padi89 wrote: »
    Sorry, i was late for my tea.

What does this have to do with Galway City?

maybe OP or other drivers would not have reached Galway city if that prick wasn't stopped :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭galah

sorry, it happened in Co. Galway, and it was the Galway traffic corps, I guess. You can move it somewhere more appropiate if you want (it's just that I post here regularly, so it's natural to put anything here...)

Apologies if it's the wrong place.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

The traffic corps around Loughrea is based in the Liosbaun industrial estate in Galway City , they will need a few more statements no doubt .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 606 ✭✭✭pencil

galah wrote: »
    sorry, it happened in Co. Galway, and it was the Galway traffic corps, I guess. You can move it somewhere more appropiate if you want (it's just that I post here regularly, so it's natural to put anything here...)

Ring the Cops & give your statement. It's just a matter of time before this little gimp kills someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭onemorechance

No need to apologise. Some people just love to complain and make s##t attempts at humour. You should give a call though in case your witness statement could help the guards in teaching this fool a lesson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭lightening

Coming from Dublin on Saturday, some little sh*thead in a tiny Micra decided to overtake our car while I was overtaking a truck

Did you check your mirrors before indicating and maneuvering.

cheers ;-)

I'll ring the gardai and give them a statement!

lightening wrote: »
    Did you check your mirrors before indicating and maneuvering.

Yes, I did. I even checked over my shoulder for the blind spot (always do that).

Sounds like he was nuts. Did you get a look at him? Young, old?

yes, completely nuts. At first I thought maybe he didnt realise that I had indicated and pulled out to overtake (I was absolutely shocked to see him beside me and then swerving onto the layby on the other side) - but even then there wouldn't have been enough time for him to complete the manouevre (overtaking me and the truck before the car approached on the other side of the road), and the fact that he tried to complete the manouevre regardless means he was just a dickhead.

When he overtook that line of cars on the left hand side lateron, I knew he was a complete moron.

Just got a half-look in when his car was stopped, looked like he was in his late 20ies (not a boy racer type as such), and, I hate to say it, he looked foreign. (square jaw, really, really short hair), but that's just the impression I had, i could be wrong, and wouldn't be able to pick him out of a lineup, obviously...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,065 ✭✭✭✭Malice

I for one am delighted to hear that story. We have probably all got similar stories which don't end with the dangerous driver getting pulled over by the traffic corps.

Believe me, when i saw the guards stopping your man, I was delighted, too.

For once, justice was done! ('Schadenfreude' describes it well).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Nice one. Exact same thing happened me on that stretch of road before, car overtook me at high speed, as I was overtaking an artic lorry... scared the sh1te outta me! Managed to get his reg number and reported him later, the guards investigated but couldn't find him to serve a summons - he was foreign and must have moved address.

Are you checking your mirrors? I went to overtake a car and a truck once. Checked my mirrors, dropped a gear, indicated and started to overtake when the car in front of me decided to overtake the truck, I ended up in the hard shoulder on the opposite side of the road, he ended up behind me roaring abuse, flashing and shaking his fist at me.

He obviously got a fright, but it was completely his fault.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

No need to apologise. Some people just love to complain and make s##t attempts at humour. You should give a call though in case your witness statement could help the guards in teaching this fool a lesson.

Sorry Mrs Mod :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

What is it about Micra drivers? They're always doing something weird and erratic, although usually its driving too slowly and holding everyone up. I usually don't generalise but I'll make an exception in the case of Micra drivers ;)

I really hope they throw the book at this guy. For every lunatic manouvre that the Gardai see, hundreds will never get caught. The least they can do is properly punish those who do get caught. I would also urge the OP to provide a statement in this case to help the Gardai get a conviction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭Sniipe

Was travelling down from Westport to Galway city. I was going about 120 and I was overtaken by a motorbike which I guess was doing about 180 and overtaking all cars in front of it. Looked like a young lad. He was wearing jeans, t-shirt and a helmet only. He cleverly slowed down as we passed by some guarda station on the main road, but once passed that he accelerated really fast again. I'm just after looking at the garda's webby and I'm noting the traffic watch number: 1890 205 805. I assume it can be used for calling in dangerous driving?

Was a fright for both of us in the car. Accident waiting to happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭onemorechance

padi89 wrote: »
    Sorry Mrs Mod :(

Apology accepted! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭Parser

lightening wrote:
    Are you checking your mirrors? I went to overtake a car and a truck once. Checked my mirrors, dropped a gear, indicated and started to overtake when the car in front of me decided to overtake the truck, I ended up in the hard shoulder on the opposite side of the road, he ended up behind me roaring abuse, flashing and shaking his fist at me.

He obviously got a fright, but it was completely his fault.

Maybe you shouldn't have been so eager to overtake multiple vehicles and wait to make sure the guy in front of you was definitely not going to attempt to overtake the truck before you made your move.

Is it even legal to overtake multiple vehicles? Nothing in the rules of the road about it.

I hate it when I'm waiting behind a slow moving vehicle for an opportunity to overtake, only to have the opportunity snatched away from me when it does arise by the car behind who overtakes me and the vehicle in front of me.

It's not as if I'm taking an age to take the opportunity to overtake, it's just that the cnut behind me is a bullish, dangerous cnut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,290 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

Parser wrote: »
    Maybe you shouldn't have been so eager to overtake multiple vehicles and wait to make sure the guy in front of you was definitely not going to attempt to overtake the truck before you made your move.

Is it even legal to overtake multiple vehicles? Nothing in the rules of the road about it.

I hate it when I'm waiting behind a slow moving vehicle for an opportunity to overtake, only to have the opportunity snatched away from me when it does arise by the car behind who overtakes me and the vehicle in front of me.

It's not as if I'm taking an age to take the opportunity to overtake, it's just that the cnut behind me is a bullish, dangerous cnut.

At a guess I would think that if you are often overtaken when you yourself are about to overtake then the problem lies with you not taking the opportunity quickly enough when it is presented to you. Only suggesting...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,290 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

Sniipe wrote: »
    Was travelling down from Westport to Galway city. I was going about 120 and I was overtaken by a motorbike which I guess was doing about 180 and overtaking all cars in front of it. Looked like a young lad. He was wearing jeans, t-shirt and a helmet only. He cleverly slowed down as we passed by some guarda station on the main road, but once passed that he accelerated really fast again. I'm just after looking at the garda's webby and I'm noting the traffic watch number: 1890 205 805. I assume it can be used for calling in dangerous driving?

Was a fright for both of us in the car. Accident waiting to happen.

What section of that road has a 120km speed limit?

I will as eager to overtake when I feel its safe. I am not going to wait around for the guy in front to make up his mind, if he has, he will be indicating and starting to pull out, then of course I will hang back until he has completed the overtaking maneuver.

Perfectly legal.

If you feel people are reacting quicker than you and overtaking try reading the traffic and pay a bit more attention.

If he/she has indicated and started his maneuver just stay where you are. He is not being a bullish or a dangerous c&nt (nice), he/she is just following the rules of the road and overtaking in a correct manner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭Parser

lightening wrote: »
    If you feel people are reacting quicker than you and overtaking try reading the traffic and pay a bit more attention.

If he/she has indicated and started his maneuver just stay where you are. He is not being a bullish or a dangerous c&nt (nice), he/she is just following the rules of the road and overtaking in a correct manner.

Whenever it has happened to me, it's not because I'm not reading the traffic or my reactions are slow, I'm just waiting to be perfectly sure there is no oncoming traffic.

The person "stealing" my opportunity to pass is doing so without full view or knowledge of the road ahead. I know this because it has only happened to me on bendy roads where straight stretches are rare, and I've barley made it around the bend and seen the open road ahead when yer man behind me is out like a shot, even though it is impossible for him to see any distance ahead because he is still on the bend.

and I've barley made it around the bend and seen the open road ahead when yer man behind me is out like a shot

Well, if this is happening to you much you're reflexes are not what they should be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I got nabbed by a Loughrea Garda today for speeding, but in fairness I was 30 kph over on a 100 stretch. He jumped from out behind a bush with his speed gun and stopped me. Ah well, can't get away with it all the time :o

GC->ES

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭Sniipe

What section of that road has a 120km speed limit?
    my bad, 100km we were going