Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Beggars are driving me nuts!!

• 21-06-2009 5:11pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 496 ✭✭

Today, I had to go to the chemist on the quay. From where i live I have to pass through city square and down towards the quay. FOUR times I was hassled by beggars, all of whom were irish. Its just crazy. One girl, bout 30 was well dressed and sitting outside city quare just a few feet away from another guy begging.

Is it getting worse or is it just me? Between that and Big issue sellers, its just getting out of control! :mad:...Ya can't even walk down the street without being harrassed and i hate having to ignore people like that....

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 9,079 Mod ✭✭✭✭Aquos76

There was even one right outside the chruch doors in ferrybank this morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 669 ✭✭✭Photi

Aquos76 wrote: »
    There was even one right outside the chruch doors in ferrybank this morning.

They're handing out collection baskets outside now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

i'm afraid to say it but get used too it. With businesses going the way they are going "normal" people are loosing everything get a drug/drink problem and hey presto we have moore josie's and her crew floating around begging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭stick-dan

renraw wrote: »
    Today, I had to go to the chemist on the quay. From where i live I have to pass through city square and down towards the quay. FOUR times I was hassled by beggars, all of whom were irish. Its just crazy. One girl, bout 30 was well dressed and sitting outside city quare just a few feet away from another guy begging.

Is it getting worse or is it just me? Between that and Big issue sellers, its just getting out of control! :mad:...Ya can't even walk down the street without being harrassed and i hate having to ignore people like that....

You must have a habit of looking really wealthy or something because i walked through the city all weekend over a dozen times i'd say and not once was i approached. Now maybe that's a reflection on me but thats another story :P:P

Beggars are everywhere, it's nothing new to you or any of us, for anyone who has been to dublin they nearly operate like toll booths at the foot of every bridge, entrance to shops, in alleys, we just seem to overlook it because well they are in dublin and not close to home. Did they actively go up to you and ask for money or did they just hold out their hat/cup/etc and sit there?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

lol I would imagine Dan, most people have went to Dublin at some stage in their life! Its not like its a long way from us! :p

Waterford doesn't have a big begging problem. The Guards tend to move on beggers fairly quickly anyway. Sometimes there are days when its very busy and you get hassled by everyone. From the big issue sellers, concern, charities in general, and people begging in general!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,657 ✭✭✭trishw78

I got harrassed is the best word to describe it, in the car park at the back of Supermacs I saw a car pulling out of a space, indicated and began to pull in when a big issue guy stood in front of me with his hand out looking for money. Another man getting into his car nearby told him to feck off, so he did when I went to get a ticket he was standing by the ticket machine trying to flog me a Big Issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭Kotek Besar

Feel free to beat me down with a stick, but..

Why do they have to be beggers? I mean, is it something they choose?

Are they not entitled to Jobseeker's Allowance like everyone else, if they are without a job and are seeking one? If they have applied for JA but it has not been processed yet due to backlog, and in the mean time they have no income, are they not entitled to claim Supplementary Welfare Allowance, which is payable almost immediately?

In this day and age, why is there a need to beg on the street?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 496 ✭✭renraw

stick-dan wrote: »
    You must have a habit of looking really wealthy or something because i walked through the city all weekend over a dozen times i'd say and not once was i approached. Now maybe that's a reflection on me but thats another story :P:P

Beggars are everywhere, it's nothing new to you or any of us, for anyone who has been to dublin they nearly operate like toll booths at the foot of every bridge, entrance to shops, in alleys, we just seem to overlook it because well they are in dublin and not close to home. Did they actively go up to you and ask for money or did they just hold out their hat/cup/etc and sit there?

I don't have a habit of looking wealthy, far from it. I've lived in waterford all my life and have never seen it this bad. They physically approach ya or the usual "any spare change" or some fookers actually say "any spare euros". Its always on the tip of my tongue to ask them about the dole or work. I can guarantee ya, some of them are making a killing and probably take home more than most of us make in wages! :mad: and prob get the dole, rent allowance, medical card and whatever else is going and they dont get taxed on their proceeds

• Closed Accounts Posts: 744 ✭✭✭angry_fox

trishw78 wrote: »
    I got harrassed is the best word to describe it, in the car park at the back of Supermacs I saw a car pulling out of a space, indicated and began to pull in when a big issue guy stood in front of me with his hand out looking for money. Another man getting into his car nearby told him to feck off, so he did when I went to get a ticket he was standing by the ticket machine trying to flog me a Big Issue.

my sister got harrassed at the same spot, she was very upset over it because he was right up in her face, when i went down the bugger was gone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,649 ✭✭✭Not The Real Scarecrow

Best thing to do is ignore them, if you get techy, from my experience,they just get worse.JUst smile or laugh at them and keep walking but never ever start talking to them or they think they've spotted an in and will drive you mental.Not in around town much thee days but have noticed a number of people on the outskirts selling the big issue or begging at traffic lights.The only reason they keep at it is cause at least 1 out of 10 people will give them something so if you think about it if you get even a euro every few minutes you probably end up getting more then working a minimum wage job on top of your dole.
    Used to live in Scotland and by christ the beggars over here havent a patch on some of the lads over there.The usual was a group of em hanging around the atm's on the usual tourist strips and then you'd have the heroin addicts dong the same, pretending to have fits, so when some one with a bit of decency in them would bend down to check on them, out would come a needle with blood in it and they'd treathen to give you aids unless you'd hand over a couple of quid.I just pray we never see that kind of ****e here , but the way things are going...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭anon11

A load of romanians robbed the subway shop on parnell street over the weekend, at half 7 in the evening and from what i heard hit out at the people working in the shop:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Math Coke

I don't give to people on the street but I do think that it is important to give. I always used to feel guilty when I passed by people begging but then I thought about it and came to the conclusion that it is right to feel guilty if you are not giving at all! If you give to a charity they might also benefit from the gift aid so there is an extra bonus so it is strategic. Charities like SVP try their best to meet the great need that is very real for many out there and anybody who can give is blessed simply because they can.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,821 ✭✭✭RxQueen

ack!!!!!! that concern guys really annoy me , i work in the city, and cant even walk to the post office without em annoying me, then you got the big issue people, and the kids playing various music stuff....

bugs the life out of me... feel sorry for the lil kids tho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,245 ✭✭✭old gregg

anon11 wrote: »
    A bus load of romanians robbed the subway shop on parnell street over the weekend

fixed that for you :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,626 ✭✭✭wmpdd3

trishw78 wrote: »

Me too really put me off parking up there. I just smiled and shook my head. He followed me back to the car. Same guy used to hang around Railway square a few years ago.Looks a little but like Harry H Corbet!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 134 ✭✭well butty

It looks like to entire family is involved in selling the big issue, washing windscreens etc. Their strategy is to catch you when vulnerable (stopped at traffic lights or taking out money to pay for a parking ticket). It is not right and should be stopped by the Gards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭echosound

well butty wrote: »
    It looks like to entire family is involved in selling the big issue, washing windscreens etc. Their strategy is to catch you when vulnerable (stopped at traffic lights or taking out money to pay for a parking ticket). It is not right and should be stopped by the Gards.

They often are stopped, and rightly so.
    I've had run-ins with a particular windscreen-washer at the junction of poleberry and manor st. as he refuses to lay off even when you tell him not to touch the windows. He hasn't been there in a while now though as far as I can see, thankfully. Maybe he got moved on once too often and gave up.

I used never mind the aul wino lads who hung around peter st (back entrance to city sq) a few years back as they were polite and friendly for the most part, you'd often have a bit of a chat with them, but the more aggressive ones now seem to target women (maybe they think women are a softer touch or something) and only back off if you get very firm with them or a male intervenes and tells them to back off.

The most persistent beggar I ever encountered was when I was living in Dublin a few years back though - waiting at the bustops on aston quay, a romanian chap used to walk up to you in the queue, and pull his top up to show you some horrific scar/disease he had on his deformed torso, blocking you from moving away - people used to throw money at him to just get him to bugger off and leave them alone and stop thrusting his gut in their face :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭Asmodean

Alright I'll probably get banned for this but ill say it as politely as possibly. Every single one of those romanian refugees should be thrown out of the country. I see everyone is having problem with them in the car park behind supermacs. They did the EXACT same thing to my mother one day last week and it really aggrevated her too, up in her face begging with the big issue. She hasn't any money herself let alone give it away to them. Was walking through there one evening and there was a fairly large congregation of them hanging around. That's just acting the maggot now as far as I'm concerned. I honestly don't know why they are allowed get up to such behaviour. It's not fair on decent Irish tax paying citizens to be harassedlike that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Adyx

Is there anyone in Waterford who knows the difference between Romanians and Roma/Romani? :rolleyes:

Adyx wrote: »
    Is there anyone in Waterford who knows the difference between Romanians and Roma/Romani? :rolleyes:

Yes, the former is a nationality, the latter is an ethnic group. But that's not really the issue..

..the issue is, as citizens of the EU - if indeed they are - their right to reside in Ireland ceases if they fail to exercise a Treaty Right after the first three months of being here. That is, they need to be employed, self-employed, enrolled in a course of study, or financially self-sufficient.

Since they clearly are not exercising a Treaty Right, and hence are begging, their right to reside (assuming they've been here longer than three months) no longer exists and we have a right to deport them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 134 ✭✭well butty

benifa wrote: »
    Yes, the former is a nationality, the latter is an ethnic group. But that's not really the issue..

..the issue is, as citizens of the EU - if indeed they are - their right to reside in Ireland ceases if they fail to exercise a Treaty Right after the first three months of being here. That is, they need to be employed, self-employed, enrolled in a course of study, or financially self-sufficient.

Since they clearly are not exercising a Treaty Right, and hence are begging, their right to reside (assuming they've been here longer than three months) no longer exists and we have a right to deport them.

They are working. Working the streets!

Seriously though, why the f$%^ do we put up with this. We are a soft touch! These people have no shame. Working their wifes and children. Surely that is illigal!!

I remember watching Ross Kemp on Gangs some time ago. It was about Roma gangs in Bulgaria.

This one group of women he interviewed, said that they believe their skill in stealing from people is a gift from God. The better they are at stealing, the more gifted they are and the better wives they make for their husband, as he will be more pleased.

Exactly, I saw this too. Believe it or not they are very proud of this 'heritage.' I have no problem with different nationalities seeking refugee status if it is infact genuine and they make some effort to contribute/ intergrate into our society. If they are not doing that there is abosolutely no reason to let them stay here.ome very interesting facts there benifa. People should never be afraid to speak out about such troublemakers. People in Ireland are scared witless of making any sort of comment about non-irish citizens incase they are branded as racist. The creed I use myself is that I don't care if a person is irish/spanish/polish/black/white/red or green. If I see a particular person doing something nasty I'll call them on it, same as I'd do if I saw an Irish person acting the gob****e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,649 ✭✭✭Not The Real Scarecrow

Isn't there some thing with them as well about superstitions about breaking into certain houses, as in they won't enter houses with dogs or religious stuff on display and they won't rob wedding rings, as well I think they can get the Llamia to drag you to hell

was stopped at the lights on lombard street when a roma man started handing out air freshners to cars stopped at the lights, on it was a note saying that he was poor, blind and would you buy this air freshner to feed his family..... he was running from car to car handing them out for christ sake. Romas are masters at stealing, lying and cheating to get money.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Mod Note: Can we ease up on generalisations please folks? Understand your concerns and stuff but taring everybody with the same brush isn't fair and is against the forum charter.

Thanks.

Was wondering how long we could actually express our opinions before the censorship issue cropped up. Surprised we could talk about it for this long. Most people in this thread aren't generalsing anyway, we're speaking from direct experience. And I've already clarified that I am against generalistions anyway.

Asmodean wrote: »
    Was wondering how long we could actually express our opinions before the censorship issue cropped up. Surprised we could talk about it for this long. Most people in this thread aren't generalsing anyway, we're speaking from direct experience. And I've already clarified that I am against generalistions anyway.

I am not asking you to stop discussing it, I am asking people to stop generalising. Clearly im not the only one seeing it, as I have had a few reported posts. Discussion was always welcome, generalisations and inappropriate comments were never welcome - thats not censorship.

If you have a problem, take it to Help Desk. Otherwise, continue your discussion.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 496 ✭✭renraw

anon11 wrote: »
    A load of romanians robbed the subway shop on parnell street over the weekend, at half 7 in the evening and from what i heard hit out at the people working in the shop:mad:

Never heard about that. They're some c*nts, I know the owners well and was only chatting to Ava this morning. And the staff in there are dead nice...If i was there i swear ta God!

And if anyone tries to wash the windscreen of your car, do what I do. I always make sure the water containers for the windscreens jets is full and if they do it to me in Waterford, Dublin or anywhere, I pull the windscreen washer for as long as needed and the wipers go on. If they break em, I call the cops, but they always leave ya alone because most of them will start spraying washing up liquid and water before asking. And then when you're driving in sunshine ya have bloody smears that hinder your line of sight because of the washing up liquid they use.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭anon11

8 romanian women i heard! They have them on camera though so hopefully some justice will be done!:):)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭paddy smith

renraw wrote: »

those romanians are worse then anyone,
    selling balloons they got in burgerking for free,
    selling big issues,
    hassleing people in their cars at traffic lights,
    playing the same tune over and over again on those bloody squeeze boxs,

= the Status Quo of ethnic music

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Adyx

Once again can I point out Roma/Romni does not equal Romanian. All the Romanian people I've met over the years (a considerable number, but with exception of one) have been very, very hard working and had no inclination to beg or steal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,656 ✭✭✭dannydiamond

Wow there's a fair amount of sh1t being spouted in this thread.

Better to stick to facts, otherwise I can see this thread being locked.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,540 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

benifa wrote: »

Better to stick to facts, otherwise I can see this thread being locked.

Agreed, a hell of alot of pure speculation no backing up of statements and misinformation and confusion about Roma/Romni and Romanian's.

It's the Romulans you really have to fear

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,540 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

old gregg wrote: »
    It's the Romulans you really have to fear

Its easy spot them though

romulan-789281.jpg

Also they don't steal they invade, you haven't a chance against them

romulan_ship.jpg

:p yep those are the culprits

golly I remember once dashing out to clean the windscreen of one of those star ships while stopped at the bottom of bunkers hill. The bastards put on a cloaking device and my bucket of water spilled all over the road :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

I thought everything had changed though since Spock came back in time to stop Nero :D

God I can't help but to geek out every so often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,657 ✭✭✭trishw78

ziedth wrote: »
    I thought everything had changed though since Spock came back in time to stop Nero :D

He came back to stop Nero from destroying the Earth and Vulcan, but failed 'cause Vulcan still got destroyed. pfft concentrate will you Or I'll go Klingon on your ass

Cabaal wrote: »
    Its easy spot them though

romulan-789281.jpg
    ]
    is was him trying to sell me air fresheners that day on lombard street ;)

if people are getting hassled by people begging or selling the big issue call the gardai, if people start making a big enough issue about it something will be done. (and if they are romulans, inform immigration)

Yeah the guards are fairly good at getting rid of them after the clubs let out but I've never see them do much during the day.

From Wikipedia (pinch of salt taken):
    In most countries within or applying to join the European Union, Romani people can lead normal lives and may integrate into the larger society. Nevertheless, the Romanies most visible to the settled community are those that for various reasons, including traditional avoidance of "pollution" by close contact with non-Romanies (cultural standards of cleanliness among the Romanies states that non-Romanies are 'mahrime', or spiritually unclean, and are therefore avoided for purity reasons as well as fear of 'persecution'), still live in shacks (usually built ad hoc, near railways) and beg on the streets, perpetuating the bad image of Romanies overall. The local authorities may try to help such people by improving infrastructure in their settlements and subsidizing families further, but such aid is mostly viewed by the Romanies as 'superficial' and 'insufficient'. Begging with pre-school children is sometimes practiced by the Romanies, despite its illegality in many countries.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Romani_society_and_culture#Moral_values

What was that? Local authorities subsidise families further, but this aid is mostly viewed by the Romanies as insufficient? Sorry Romanies if our social welfare payments aren't enough for you - you much would you prefer?

I'm not generalising, just citing an article and responding. And I've my tongue in my cheek, too.

Asmodean wrote: »
    Yeah the guards are fairly good at getting rid of them after the clubs let out but I've never see them do much during the day.

people arent reporting it, i admit that when the roma man was selling air fresheners to people stopped at the traffic lights i didint bother ringing the garda station. will do the next time ;). Any time ive talked to Romanians about romas they dislike the romas and they hate the fact that Irish people confuse romas with Romanians