Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

silver marked traffic car

• 20-06-2009 12:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭

i was driving past the garda station in Dundalk yesterday evening and i saw a silver marked traffic corps vectra estate and the funny thing is it was a covert car last week has anyone else seen anything similar in the country and is AGS trying to save a few euro by putting markings and lightbars on covert vehicles or is it the same as i the uk to help with resale value ??? ill try and get a pic of it later

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

Monaghan used to have an unmarked traffic corps mondeo, which was white, and had the yellow stripe garda badge, "GARDA" and the freefone number on each side..
    But nothing else.

Just a magnetic rotating beacon and windscreen strobe..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Trojan911

pingu2008 wrote: »
    is AGS trying to save a few euro by putting markings and lightbars on covert vehicles or is it the same as i the uk to help with resale value ???

It could be possible that they might be rolling out the silver cars to save on having them painted the standard white.

The Met did it some time ago for these same reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,042 ✭✭✭kaizersoze

Trojan911 wrote: »
    It could be possible that they might be rolling out the silver cars to save on having them painted the standard white.

The Met did it some time ago for these same reasons.

Sorry if these are stoopid questions....

Can they not just buy white cars?
    pingu2008 wrote:
    save a few euro by putting markings and lightbars on covert vehicles or is it the same as i the uk to help with resale value ???

How does putting on livery and light bars help the resale value?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭Alpha Papa

You be surprised to know most cars don't come in white as a standard list colour as white is not a popular colour on the side of the continent cause of Irelands lovely year round weather.

Usually cars are sprayed from there original colour to become white motors we all know and love!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

Hate to burst your bubbles lads, but any vehicles can be ordered from the factory in white, even if its not in the brochure. Its the easiest colour to paint a car afaik.

To suggest that AGS buy a silver car and spray it white is the dumbest suggestion i've ever heard!!

Those of you who are members, next time your near a patrol car, lift the bonnet and you'll see that everything is white such as chassis legs, etc. which would be extremely difficult to do if repainting the car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭Terrontress

Hate to burst your bubbles lads, but any vehicles can be ordered from the factory in white, even if its not in the brochure. Its the easiest colour to paint a car afaik.

To suggest that AGS buy a silver car and spray it white is the dumbest suggestion i've ever heard!!

Those of you who are members, next time your near a patrol car, lift the bonnet and you'll see that everything is white such as chassis legs, etc. which would be extremely difficult to do if repainting the car

I was in a Volvo S80 taxi in Munich. All taxis in Germany are the same colour. When I opened the door to get in, everything except the exterior panels was navy! They had resprayed the outside of the car but nothing much beyond that.

I'd say you are right and I don't think any sane body in the world would order a metallic coloured car and then repaint them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,042 ✭✭✭kaizersoze

That would be my reasoning as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭Irish_polizei

Monaghan used to have an unmarked traffic corps mondeo, which was white, and had the yellow stripe garda badge, "GARDA" and the freefone number on each side..
    But nothing else.

How long ago was this??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

How long ago was this??

Would this be due to the blue lights being knocked off?????

It regularly happens in bad public order situations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭sdanseo

i was driving past the garda station in Dundalk yesterday evening and i saw a silver marked traffic corps vectra estate and the funny thing is it was a covert car last week has anyone else seen anything similar in the country and is AGS trying to save a few euro by putting markings and lightbars on covert vehicles or is it the same as i the uk to help with resale value ??? ill try and get a pic of it later

Did it have battenburgs/stripe/wording etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭pingu2008

sdonn wrote: »
    Did it have battenburgs/stripe/wording etc?
    yeah fully marked only difference was it was a silver car and its defo the unmarked car that has been here since december same reg plate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭DubMedic

Would this be due to the blue lights being knocked off?????

It regularly happens in bad public order situations.

At least there is cages on the windows of the Transits for the safety of the crew , the blue light can be replaced if damaged. Members cannot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Trojan911

kaizersoze wrote: »
    Sorry if these are stoopid questions....

Can they not just buy white cars?

Apparently, white cars are harder to sell at a later stage so they opt for the silver, to save money.
    wrote:
    A growing number of police fleets are shunning traditional white cars in favour of coloured cars in an effort to increase the residual value of the cars when they are sold on. Some forces started introducing silver cars three years ago. Cambridgeshire, Kent and Hampshire constabularies all seem to favour coloured cars. Dark blue Volvo police cars can be spotted on several motorways and silver BMWs in the Metropolitan Police area.

Source

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

How long ago was this??

It was never fitted with roof lights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭pingu2008

But nothing else.

8892797153a11083670592l.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭1922

Trojan911 wrote: »
    Apparently, white cars are harder to sell at a later stage so they opt for the silver, to save money.

that was my understanding of the situation too...honest, how many white cars do you see on the road that are not AGS cars?

not really a popular colour

silver is more desireable to people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭ScubaDave

Who says marked cars need lightbars?

The yanks have loads of these! Marked cars with lights inside! Less drag too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

ScubaDave wrote: »
    Who says marked cars need lightbars?

The yanks have loads of these! Marked cars with lights inside! Less drag too!

Less drag and less chance of oncomming (and indeed vehicles travelling further up the road in the same direction) offending vehicles seeing the vehicle as it is the light bar that gives the car away first.

Should be more with no light bars, but with proper LEDs in grill and more on back window

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭Terrontress

1922 wrote: »
    that was my understanding of the situation too...honest, how many white cars do you see on the road that are not AGS cars?

not really a popular colour

silver is more desireable to people

My brother lives in Brighton and drives a white Volvo V70.

On the motorway, people slam on the brakes when they see him in the rear view mirror!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭1922

On the motorway, people slam on the brakes when they see him in the rear view mirror!

he he he. he should wear a flourescent jacket too!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭dingding

I had a white D vectra in the late 90's as a company car.

The amount of times I nearly crashed up the rear end of a car because they immediately slowed down on seeing me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

dingding wrote: »
    I had a white D vectra in the late 90's as a company car.

The amount of times I nearly crashed up the rear end of a car because they immediately slowed down on seeing me.

Both of ye are very much going off topic and I will infract ye but only after my tale.

Driving my very first car a red Almera I began to notice that no one would overtake me. I couldnt figure out why not. I even slowed down to 60-70kph in the 80 and had huge amount of traffic behind me. Eventually noticed my sons blue lunch box glued to the back window :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

8892797153a11083670592l.jpg
    Does the band follow them, playing "Neew-Naaw" for high speed pursuits too?

Fit lads!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

Sorry, couldnt help but post this -
    http://www.ford.ie/Cars/Mondeo/ColoursAndTrim

I've picked the Mondeo, as it seems to be the most common car used by AGS, but the Focus, Vectra, and Avensis are all available in white as an option from the factory. There shouldnt be any reason to have to respray a car to white!

On the residual side of things, most AGS cars when retired will have fairly high miles on them, and will have been driven hard, so they are not really worth much anyway. Even in a more desirable colour, they may only be worth €200-€300 more than a white car. As silver is usually a metallic colour, it will cost an extra €460 (for the Mondeo) for a metallic colour, so its lose lose really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭FGR

Personally I think AGS should not only introduce silver Modeos but also upgrade them to Ghia X spec.

Just so they can put in the paper 'Hi Spec Low Price' alongside 'First to see will buy' and 'Driven by 200 Garda Members, several of which are careful lady drivers!'