Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Idea for a New TV Show

• 18-06-2009 2:06pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭

Junkie Island.

Junkies are rounded up from the city centre and are shipped out to Lambay Island. Once on the Island, Helicopters will fly in at night to drop off bags of smack somewhere on the Island and the junkies have to try to find them. Once there they will be stalked by Londis security guards attempting to get them kicked out and they will have to overcome daily irritants such as lighters with no lighter fluid in them, packets of smokes that turn out to be chocolate cigarettes and cans of dutch gold that are filled with Kaliber.

Its the Running Man meets Lost meets the Magic Roundabout.

I think its a winner. Im considering ringing RTE and pitching it to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭johnny_knoxvile

Pimp My Nan's Wheel Chair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭GlindaGale

Genius, they can show it just after "Scanger me Banger".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Which city centre? rabblerabble disgruntled culchie

OP I wouldn't watch your show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭johnny_knoxvile

GlindaGale wrote: »
    Genius, they can show it just after "Scanger me Banger".

yeah, Pat Kenny hooking up old people with 30"plasma screen, low profiles and hydrolics on their wheel chairs.

How about the After Hours tv chat show, celeb guests such as Mary Harney and Fritzel?

Depends on who you get to host it.

I vote for Terry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

phasers wrote: »
    Depends on who you get to host it.

I vote for Terry

Zigmund Ambrose Zogly and Zagnatius Hillery Zogly

(otherwise known as Zig and Zag)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

or give them tools to make weapons and create 4 factions..... and then drop the smack in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭TheTubes

can we send the homeless alcoholics as well?
    There is one of them dropping a log on the street across the road from my office at the moment, maybe I'll record it and he can use it on his intro video for the show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Do we really need another "reality" TV show?

Just feck them out there and forget about them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭LouOB

Help, Im in the 'resessh' get me outta here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

every time i see a thread like this on boards i think of some tv/radio person trying to come up with new ideas, from posts here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,283 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

every time i see a thread like this on boards i think of some tv/radio person trying to come up with new ideas, from posts here.
    That'd be a great idea for the reality TV show -- follow some RTÉ head around as he tries to come up the next big thing...

"I'm told I'm a big shot in Montrose..."

Cut to a canteen shot, where he gets adulation and thumbs up from passers-by as he chows down on his egg salad sandwich

"... I normally start the day by Googling my name. It helps me focus. After that, I browse this one site, Boards.ie. I get great ideas from there. I check out After Hours and Personal Issues in particular... The TV forum? Nah, I stay away from there...those guys are really mean *sniffs*"

"The bulk of my ideas only come when I've had time to contemplate, at home..."

Cuts to him watching ITV/BBC/C4

"Heh heh heh - dats brilliant! Let's do that, but with farmers!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

How about tying the makers of The Roaring 20s to chairs in front of PCs with net access and tell them the only way they can get food and toilet breaks is if they try to justify their show in AH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭cock robin

Monkey Tennis :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Celebrity execution island. The name speaks for itself, Roman politicians often funded the games for political ends, and there is no doubt that our leaders are an even bigger bag of utter fu<kwits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭Pop's Diner

Didn't they try this format on Spike Island back in 1985? The 'contestents' tore up the 'studio'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭builttospill

ThunderCat wrote: »
    Junkie Island.

Junkies are rounded up from the city centre and are shipped out to Lambay Island. Once on the Island, Helicopters will fly in at night to drop off bags of smack somewhere on the Island and the junkies have to try to find them. Once there they will be stalked by Londis security guards attempting to get them kicked out and they will have to overcome daily irritants such as lighters with no lighter fluid in them, packets of smokes that turn out to be chocolate cigarettes and cans of dutch gold that are filled with Kaliber.

Its the Running Man meets Lost meets the Magic Roundabout.

I think its a winner. Im considering ringing RTE and pitching it to them.

I can't believe this just got thanked. It completely plagiarizes a joke from Brass Eye or some other TV show. I can't remember which but I remember laughing to the tune of it many moons ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

cock robin wrote: »
    Monkey Tennis :D

With knives :D:D

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭ThunderCat

I can't believe this just got thanked. It completely plagiarizes a joke from Brass Eye or some other TV show. I can't remember which but I remember laughing to the tune of it many moons ago.

Ive never seen brass eye before so im claiming this one. :D
    I also want to include a quickfire round where employees from the methodone clinics chase them around the place trying to get them off the junk.

Wasn't in Brass Eye, it's just what half the poplulation of Ireland always say we should do with scumbags/junkies/knackers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

ThunderCat wrote: »
    im claiming this one. :D

Looks oddly close to what I suggested in the things that should be an olympic sport thread..

Bah.. I cant figure out how to link to a single post