Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Senior government member flies to GAA game in state helicopter

• 17-06-2009 11:59am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭

Apparently its the Tanasite but thats open to correction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭Mr.David

I'm hurling with discust :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭Mr.David

Maybe Harney had to be airlifted into croker?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

Have you seen traffic on a match day?

Fair fcuks to her if she can get away with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭enniscorthy

OH HEY LISTEN DONT EVEN GET ME STARTED PROBABLY MARTIN CULLEN AGAIN

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Schism

Did I hear it wrong or are they claiming that the helicopter was going that way anyway?

Ha! It's not a feicin minibus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

I think next time I see the state helicopter I will shot it down with a long puck with my sliotar and hurley. Hurleys make good rat killing tools so FF TD/Rat no difference to me, actually I have more respect for the rat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭Captain-America

Mary Harney isn't Táiniste anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭mathie

OH HEY LISTEN DONT EVEN GET ME STARTED PROBABLY MARTIN CULLEN AGAIN

I'm in full agreement.

If you're willing to shout and not use punctuation it must be pretty damned important.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

netwhizkid wrote: »
    I think next time I see the state helicopter I will shot it down with a long puck with my sliotar and hurley. Hurleys make good rat killing tools so FF TD/Rat no difference to me, actually I have more respect for the rat.

Or you could try shooting it down.
    A rifle might work a bit better too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

I heard it was a gold helicopter filled with hospital beds stuffed with our pension money.

Anyone confirm this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Earthhorse wrote: »
    I heard it was a gold helicopter filled with hospital beds stuffed with our pension money.

Anyone confirm this?
    I can, I read it in an online article or something. Here's the link.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 707 ✭✭✭seabee

It was the president - she attended the connacht football final last year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭Ardscoil Ris

My word, how dull.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

humanji wrote: »
    I can, I read it in an online article or something. Here's the link.

Cheers.

Why can't I thank that guy's post though? He seems to know what's what.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

seabee wrote: »
    It was the president - she attended the connacht football final last year

El presidente? I know she's a nationalist and all but she never struck me as a GAA head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭Quint

Disgrace. Joe Duffy will hear about this.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

What do ya honestly expect when folk still vote the schisters back again and again!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Euro_Kraut

Who does she think she is?? The President??

She presents the cup at the Connacht final every year as far as I know. Michael Ring may be a bit embarrassed by this. She is not a 'senior member of the government' and more than anyone else I can think of should be able to use to state helicopter on offical business.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 Gaillimh Abu!!

What a tool, the least he could have done is have a wee bit of research done.... Not hard to do either, as everybody at the match knew it was Our President.

If our President cant use our Helicopters, it dosent say much for our nation...

Thats whats wrong with this country to many government bashers, and moaning. Nothing to do with the fact that to many silly people on inadequate wages thought that they were entitlet to huge morgages, loans and holidays because Mr & Mrs Jones next door were getting them.

People have to accept responsibility for their own situation and their own dept......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Biggins wrote: »
    What do ya honestly expect when folk still vote the schisters back again and again!

She wasn't voted in for her second term (but yeah I see your point!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Thats whats wrong with this country to many government bashers, and moaning. Nothing to do with the fact that to many silly people on inadequate wages thought that they were entitlet to huge morgages, loans and holidays because Mr & Mrs Jones next door were getting them.

Totally OT but "silly people on inadequate wages" always wanted mortgages loans etc but the banks were stricter...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

mike65 wrote: »
    El presidente? I know she's a nationalist and all but she never struck me as a GAA head.

Yeah, the shame of it. An Irish woman, watching an Irish sport. Crazy stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

What a bitch. How dare she use a helicopter!

she should have rode a bike down to it to keep that commie j higgins and his mob happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

dlofnep wrote: »
    [a]n Irish woman

Isn't she from the North?

/runs away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

snyper wrote: »
    What a bitch. How dare she use a helicopter!

she should have rode a bike down to it to keep that commie j higgins and his mob happy.

Though realistically I can see why Bono would use a helicopter. I wouldn't even recognise most of our "leaders". They can use the train. While Bertie was in power he wandered into the cafe in the botanic gardens for lunch with 2 big looking lads. I'm sure some heavies could clear out some space for el presidente. She'd be able to use it for political banter about being green and all that...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Biggins wrote: »

The schisters of mercy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 Gaillimh Abu!!

obl wrote: »

/runs away

Every person born on the island of Ireland before 1 January, 2005 is entitled to be an Irish citizen.

The North is Irish....;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

obl wrote: »

/runs away

of Ireland, why yes she is. Don't stop running..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭DubMedic

Let's not give her hassle if she took a ride in a DF Helicopter to go to a game.
    If we need McAleese in the future to Dilute the Dáil ( which she has the power to do , correct if wrong ) , then we had better stop hassling her.

This helicopter fiasco is the first wrong thing she has came under the spotlight for in a number of years, and she has even displayed her disgust at the abuse scandal.

Give the woman a break, she is probably the only politician in this country that's not taking backhanders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭upmeath

Are there any reliable published articles citing McAleese as the "culprit"? Because Mickey Ring seemed to be playing with his cards close to his chest yesterday, he wasn't saying much and named nobody.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,276 ✭✭✭sdanseo

RTÉ are saying it was the President.

If so, leave off the crap for the love of god. If the president of a country isn't allowed travel by helicopter in exercise of her duties (and apparently this chopper was on its way back anyway), then we are seriously overdosing on PC brigade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

She must have had some set of big leathery balls on her to do that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

DubMedic wrote: »
    This helicopter fiasco is the first wrong thing she has came under the spotlight for in a number of years, and she has even displayed her disgust at the abuse scandal.

I wouldn't say that, she's had a few cock-ups in her time in office. But the president using the helicopter is hardly wrong, ffs builder were using them during the bubble to beat the traffic:rolleyes: its a helicopter not a fecking nuclear sub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭Delta Kilo

sdonn wrote: »
    If so, leave off the crap for the love of god. If the president of a country isn't allowed travel by helicopter in exercise of her duties (and apparently this chopper was on its way back anyway), then we are seriously overdosing on PC brigade.

I agree. What a lot of people don't realise is that it costs pretty much the same to have that helicopter sitting there on the ramp as it does to have it in the air. The air corps jocks are going to be paid the same whether or not they actually fly, it still has to be maintained whether it is being flown or not. We should be encouraging them to use it to get the value out if it!

Btw, when Obama travels by helicopter, they use 3 helicopters, 2 decoy ones in case anyone tries to shoot him down. Thats 3 helicopters to bring 1 person, yet ye don't here anyone whinging about Obama. Come off it ye nitpickers!

Delta Kilo wrote: »
    I agree. What a lot of people don't realise is that it costs pretty much the same to have that helicopter sitting there on the ramp as it does to have it in the air. The air corps jocks are going to be paid the same whether or not they actually fly, it still has to be maintained whether it is being flown or not. We should be encouraging them to use it to get the value out if it!

Btw, when Obama travels by helicopter, they use 3 helicopters, 2 decoy ones in case anyone tries to shoot him down. Thats 3 helicopters to bring 1 person, yet ye don't here anyone whinging about Obama. Come off it ye nitpickers!

Ah, good point.

We're forgetting something though.

America uses excess, Ireland tries to, but has no money to do so.

So instead starves her citizens of some well earned money in the name of buying Mercedes to sit their asses in on the way home from a busy day in the Dáil. ( Most of which said TD's don't stay awake for!. )

I know I know , politics is that way --->
    but it had to be said.

Senna wrote: »
    I wouldn't say that, she's had a few cock-ups in her time in office. But the president using the helicopter is hardly wrong, ffs builder were using them during the bubble to beat the traffic:rolleyes: its a helicopter not a fecking nuclear sub.

Maybe she has had the bad, but who hasn't? She's the longest serving female head of state in the world if i'm not wrong.

She must be doing something to be still in office.

Shall we mention Mr O Leary & his use of a taxi license to beat rush hour traffic?.

OT, i know, but this IS AH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,257 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

All this government bashing is getting fvcking boring.

Rabies wrote: »
    All this government bashing is getting fvcking boring.
    Getting boring?

It's boring before it even starts, depending on where it's posted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

I'm almost certain I've heard that it costs as much to keep a helicopter on the ground in this country as it does to fly it. If so, meh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,061 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

DubMedic wrote: »
    Maybe she has had the bad, but who hasn't? She's the longest serving female head of state in the world if i'm not wrong.

She must be doing something to be still in office.

Yeh, dodging elections.

They even have them in Iran. :rolleyes:

Anyway one day, one of those choppers'll go down and save the taxpayer a fortune in pension payments. ;)

Where are you Sam????