Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

WANTED - cheap estate or similar

• 17-06-2009 10:34am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 312 ✭✭

Hi can anyone recommend anywhere for a cheap estate (e.g Opel Astra) or similar vehicle 98 - 01

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 312 ✭✭cloudy day

Thanks.

I have a Nissan Primera 98 which is a good car but now there's a few bits need doing and I'm wondering if rather than spend money getting stuff done for NCT and then taxing, I may just be better off buying something else for around 2 -2,500.

I want an est anyway, but a neat one not a monster. Like the opal astra's.

Saw a Free lander but folk reckon they are a chancy buy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,002 ✭✭✭Cionád

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

Might be worth checking out a Ford Focus estate. Or if you fancy something bigger, a Mondeo. Should be cheap as chips for that age.

Cionád wrote: »
    The OP's looking for something like an Astra...

Although I do like the way that car's badged as a 2.0!

Anan1 wrote: »

:D Worth a try!

Thanks guys. I don't want a tank of a thing. Would love a 4x4 with seats in back, but budget is v small.

Saw a subaru forester. what are they like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

saw this in Loais

http://www.cbg.ie/Car_Detail.aspx?ID=3220234

98 opel astra est 1.9 L diesel € 1,500

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

cloudy day wrote: »
    saw this in Loais

http://www.cbg.ie/Car_Detail.aspx?ID=3220234

98 opel astra est 1.9 L diesel € 1,500

If you're happy with your current car, why not pay the tax and get the few jobs done. Better the devil you know and all that. Buying a car with 181k miles you *could* just be buying someone else's problem.

+1 on a Mondeo estate though - probably the best of the lot for your money

Plus that Astra's a 1.7d

• Closed Accounts Posts: 629 ✭✭✭cashmni1

+1 on the 181,000 miles.
    I don't care what anyone tells you about how good certain diesel engines are, 181k is end of life for that motor. Yes you could get another 100k out of it but what condition is the rest of the running gear in?
    Emissions for the NCT could be an issue later on.

Thanks for that on the mileage. my head is wrecked looking at cars all day.

I know it best to be spending bout 5k for something. kinda do really need an estate though.

Going to look at a 2000 Mit spacewagon 2.0 110 k miles. nct to 4/2010, € 2,000. It's not far away from us.

So, have ye any pointers on one of them lads.

thanks v much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭martydunf

one of my friends is selling a 98 escort estate. I can PM you his number if you wish. He's pretty handy with regards working on the cars and does all the work himself. Think his looking for bout a grand for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭Woodey

Anan1 wrote: »

Although I do like the way that car's badged as a 2.0!

Ha, thats actually my car. Put the badge on to put the scum off, but you can tell if its a T-5 if you know what your looking for.

By the way, its a great car, huge space & it does 150 mph!!!!

Dave

Woodey wrote: »
    Ha, thats actually my car. Put the badge on to put the scum off, but you can tell if its a T-5 if you know what your looking for.
    Like a square tailpipe?;)

Dave
    Looks lovely, best of luck with the sale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,375 ✭✭✭Redsoxfan

Might be interested in something similar myself-for weekend work only.

Not really interested in an Astra, Corolla, Escort or Golf. Am looking at the 156 Sportwagon (especially if I can get it with the 2.4JTD), a Mondeo or Focus, Forester, or even a Volvo. Saw a thread recently on the Forester, which also looks good. My budget would stretch to €2,500, but that's really the upper end as this was be purely a 'luxury'. Any further recommendations?

Dave

I'd snap that up if I could afford the insurance! I'll have to stick with my 135bhp for now :(

Good luck selling it. :)

Saw the sub forester, dead sexy. been told they brill cars that last forever. At 2 litre petrol, don't think I can afford running costs.

Saw ad for Renault Scenic 00. €1, 350

Dead sexy too ( us girls are all about looks, ha) No test on it though. he said bushes are gone but will fly test. should one chance a gamble. anyone know much about them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭junkyard

I've got a Focus 1.4 estate for 1800 euros, no test but a good tidy car, 106k miles, sunroof and alloys.

Nice car. It's over priced though. Wouldn't buy without test on.

Thats a fair price if you buy on basis that it passes a test. Apart from missing fog light it looks clean. A test is only €50 squid and if it shows up nothing...

Sure, if there was a test on it. It looks a lovely car. It's also only a 1.4.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,413 ✭✭✭HashSlinging

Jezz no pleasing some people 2.0 to big 1.4 too small.. there wouldnt be a huge difference in performance in a 1.4 and 1.6 ...cars exactly what your looking for.. 1800 euros! bargain.

inallinanyways

it looks a great car. But we won't chance one without test. only for that we'd prob look at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

I know a guy with a perfect 00 Citroen Xsara 1.4 estate, with test, for 1600 iirc.

One like this:

xsarahdiestate.jpg

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭Gonzales

Hi can anyone recommend anywhere for a cheap estate

try here :D;)

it looks a great car. But we won't chance one without test. only for that we'd prob look at it.

Look at it and make it a condition of sale if possible that it will pass a test. Simple - if that cars sound its got a lot of life left in it and has a decent spec on it too

EPM wrote: »
    Look at it and make it a condition of sale if possible that it will pass a test. Simple - if that cars sound its got a lot of life left in it and has a decent spec on it too

Thanks EPM, good idea. You know yourself how careful you have to be with used cars.