Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Longboard Selection

Options
  • 16-06-2009 8:36pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1

Guys,
    I am a beginner surfer.
    I have a 7'10" NSP which I really enjoy.
    I live in Dublin and so can only get west on weekends and take whats there..
    I can stand up in waves of up to about 4 -5'.
    I have not mastered turning and am usually happy to ride to the shore (though I do want to get better with practice..)..
    I have decided to buy a longboard to try catch more summer waves as I miss lots with my current board..
    I am 5'8" tall and weigh 70kg.
    Is there much difference between longboards of different brands (same length and epoxy)?
    How do you find out what the differences are likely to be?
    Are certain brands easier to stand up on, faster, more stable?
    Could you recommend one for a beginner like me?

Thanks.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 295 ✭✭OuterBombie

Young30+ wrote: »
    Guys,
    I can stand up in waves of up to about 4 -5'.
    I have not mastered turning and am usually happy to ride to the shore (though I do want to get better with practice..)..
    I have decided to buy a longboard to try catch more summer waves as I miss lots with my current board..
    I am 5'8" tall and weigh 70kg.

For someone your weight a longboard will probably not make much more of a difference, especially if your problem is turning. Sure it will glide more and let you into a wave slightly earlier but it will be tougher to control and require more skill to turn.