Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

AG2R's new kit

• 16-06-2009 4:01pm
    Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Hmmm... Bit eighties perhaps?

le-nouveau-maillot-de-l-equipe-ag2-r.jpg

Discuss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

That looks like zoomed in version of that Shacka Bo kit. Xacobo. Whatever it's called.

Naff tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭Ghost Rider

Touch of Guiney's Menswear about that alright...

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

2fullpach09.jpg

I was just having a scoot around for new gear and I came across this, €138 for the lot. For Pro-tour stuff, it's well priced.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Reminds me a little of Paul Kimmage's old RMO kit

rmo872f

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

jerseyeire wrote: »
    I was just having a scoot around for new gear and I came across this, €138 for the lot. For Pro-tour stuff, it's well priced.

Don't do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭lukester

niceonetom wrote: »
    That looks like zoomed in version of that Shacka Bo kit. Xacobo. Whatever it's called.

Naff tbh.

Dang, too slow..was gonna say that, it's like a cheap imitation of the Xacobeo gear (which is staring at me from a postcard on my desk, thanks to Prendas).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

Naff tbh.

The shorts of the unpronouncable kit are really really comfy. Fantastic chamois.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

So far, it looks rank. Will reserve final judgement until I see it on a rider.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Love the liquigas kit. If you are tanned, go for it! If you are more "irish" looking, might not be a good idea.

Not a fan of the AG2R kit, symmetric printing like that makes you look like wallpaper or a pair of curtains, kit should be more like liquigas or slipstream: LOUD!

DirkVoodoo wrote: »
    ...kit should be more like liquigas or slipstream: LOUD!

Liguigas have great kit, but the Slipstream stuff is a fashion disaster. They're riding bikes, not on a golf course.

I've said it before, slipstream kit is the new discovery kit.

I agree on the loud though. I'm still trying to source some ISD kit. Flouro is euro.

el tonto wrote: »
    the Slipstream stuff is a fashion disaster. They're riding bikes, not on a golf course.

I kinda like it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Liguigas have great kit, but the Slipstream stuff is a fashion disaster. They're riding bikes, not on a golf course.

I'll pretend I didn't hear that! I like the argyle pattern, it's even slightly distorted on the jersey which gives it added "funk" factor. More importantly, it's about color, which the AG2R is lacking.

Raam wrote: »
    I kinda like it

crucifix.jpg

I didn't say I'd wear it. I prefer understated gear. Not mad on standing out like Barney the dinosaur.

Raam wrote: »
    I prefer understated gear. Not mad on standing out like Barney the dinosaur.

o_rly.jpg

Yes, in fact, here is a little haiku in dedication to my quest to stay non-descript...

I cycle all day
    On my white bike
    No loud kit here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 546 ✭✭✭quietobserver

id just be worried as to what the shorts will look like? brown?? white??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭sy

Hmmm... Bit eighties perhaps? Discuss.
    Best era in Irish cycling. Both Pro and Amateur!! Also notice the old retro look is very popular with certain members on this forum. Agree it looks a little drab but may look better in the flesh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

Too much white, too hard to clean. Not for me.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Hmmm... Bit eighties perhaps?

le-nouveau-maillot-de-l-equipe-ag2-r.jpg

Discuss.
    Utterly appalling :eek: dull, odd and looks like its covered in plasters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭Quigs Snr

Holy crap, it looks like some sort of 70's wallpaper from a filthy student bedsit. Pass the barf bag. I shudder to think what the bikes will look like. Remember kids there are colors that should NEVER be seen on a bike frame. Brown would be top of the list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭showry

must be something in it though, the azzurri were wearing brown and blue last night too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

ROK ON wrote: »
    The shorts of the unpronouncable kit are really really comfy. Fantastic chamois.
    The Xacobeo kit? 2010 is a holy year, maybe that is why they came in as title sponsors. You get your entire time off purgatory if you do the Camino de Santiago next year. 1/3 only in other years.

AG2R kit = bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭cunavalos

I agree on the loud though. I'm still trying to source some ISD kit. Flouro is euro.

Here you go. Brave man if you do get it, you gotta be fast to justify wearing kit designed by mario
    http://www.all4cycling.com/shop/team-2009-cipollini-pm-7664.html

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

$207, are they having a bath?

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,460 ✭✭✭Slideshowbob

yiz are all bleeding gone mad

just look at the ag2r's website and look at their new logos and all

the cycling gear is only following the new design

wear that one yis bleedin fashionista guru's

get up da yard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,516 ✭✭✭E@gle.

maybe they think the might actually win something wearing it

Dude, you're talking about a lot of bikes I love, including my dear old singlespeed. It's as brown as anything that ever fell out the back of a cow, yet it's the dog's bolloc*s.

Ghost_Rider_2.jpg

By the way, I changed the saddle since that picture was taken. The current one is - yep, you guessed it - brown.
    Quigs Snr wrote: »
    Remember kids there are colors that should NEVER be seen on a bike frame. Brown would be top of the list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,860 ✭✭✭TinyExplosions

cunavalos wrote: »
    Here you go. Brave man if you do get it, you gotta be fast to justify wearing kit designed by mario
    http://www.all4cycling.com/shop/team-2009-cipollini-pm-7664.html

I'm totally getting at least the jersey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

I'm totally getting at least the jersey

copycat ...

copycat ...

Yup, and proud :p

You utter bastard.

pourquoi? You want to be the only eurotrash in the village? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Colmhayden76

That ISD kit is damn good in comparison to the one they released at the start of the year. A buddy of mine owns an Italian restaurant and the company in Italy his father works for sponser ISD so he has a set of the kit waiting for him at home in Rome.........the lucky basket :)

Is it in Dublin? If so, is it Romano's on Capel Street by any chance...?

I saw someone on the Wicklow 200 with a very cool Romano's jersey. If they're for sale, I want to know where...!
    A buddy of mine owns an Italian restaurant...

I saw someone on the Wicklow 200 with a very cool Romano's jersey.

Quite possibly was Romano himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Colmhayden76

Is it in Dublin? If so, is it Romano's on Capel Street by any chance...?

Nahh it's the Harlaquinn cafe in Waterford he actually sponsers our club jersey

AFAIR, this guy was younger than I imagine Romano to be.
    Quite possibly was Romano himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭rflynnr

I met Romano a few years back: he looked about 40-45 then. Must be in his late 40s now.