Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Buying house - possibly need Architect?

• 14-06-2009 2:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 27

Basically i'm just in the process of buying a house, i've a bid in and just waiting to hear back. The house i'm looking at will have to be gutted and i'm also hoping to build a 2 floor extension. It's a small 2 bed house near Rathfarnham.

Would anyone know how much would an architect cost to redesign the house and get it built? roughly at all?

A cousin of mine has a few Polish friends who are builders and said that they could gut the house, plaster, skim, basically anything i want, for about 15 grand. So just wondering if it's worth getting the lads to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 drummer20

I did exactly the same project got the keys may 20th 2008,
    I'm living there a month and its still not finished.

My mate is a brickie, an experienced brickie at that 20 years experience, he convinced me there wouldn't be a whole lot of extra costs in going up two stories. He wouldn't charge for the brick work and there would be the same amount of roof area, just a little extra wood and plaster!

He too knew labourers, plasterers, carpenters ect.

I went up two stories back and side convinced 40-50k would see me through,
    the cost is currently at ~100k.

I knew the plan I wanted exactly but needed architects plans for the planning permission. He drew up the plans for 2.5k put ads in paper submitted planning application.

As it turns out the architect was worth his weight in gold, the extension went up and as it did my neighbour who I had talked to and had no problems with the extension suddenly changed her mind, and for lack of a better way of putting it went nuts.

She wouldn't let me plaster the side of my house (would need access from her garden, this she had said was fine) and it got steadily worse from there. Every inspector she could find was at my door, noise levels, pollution, even the guards were called apparently by fixing roof tiles to my roof, the roofers were trespassing on her property.

She even resorted to filming us coming and going every day.

As it turns out I went out 6 inches more than I should have at the back,
    I dug all my own foundations and I guess mates didn't tell me, or never checked, wasn't their job!

Luckily the architect was amazing, he charged only the cost of putting the notice in the paper and made up new plans at no cost, and advised me on how to have a rebuttal to her objection to retention.

I got my permission for retention and again she hadn't caused enough misery and went to an bord pleanala, he prepared all this for me also at no extra cost.

I really would have been lost if I hadn't had the architect, and meant alot of the more stressful issues around planning I didn't have to worry about as much.