Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Us Open

• 12-06-2009 9:57am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭

Anyone any thoughts on the US open next week?

Mickelson is 11/1, might be good for an each way bet, he's had a good few 2nd places in the us open and might be due a win especially as the crowd should be behind cause of the personnal problems he has at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭RocketRonnie

I know its the obvious choice, but Tiger @ 2/1 still seems the best bet to me, getting back to his best just before a major starts and on a course he likes.....
    Of the bigger priced players Paul Casey @ 33/1 seems good value for a player in form!!!

I know its the obvious choice, but Tiger @ 2/1 still seems the best bet to me, getting back to his best just before a major starts and on a course he likes.....
    Of the bigger priced players Paul Casey @ 33/1 seems good value for a player in form!!!

Woods at that price is lay of the tournament imo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭Famous45

Steve Stricker 40/1
    Vijay Singh 50/1

Outside Picks
    Ryan Moore 250/1
    Stuart Appleby 150/1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Adam Scott each way at 135\1 with Stan James

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭prendy

fonda wrote: »
    Anyone any thoughts on the US open next week?

Mickelson is 11/1, might be good for an each way bet, he's had a good few 2nd places in the us open and might be due a win especially as the crowd should be behind cause of the personnal problems he has at the moment.

dont think i'd take mickelson, his mind might be elsewhere with his wife being sick and all.
    woods is too short.
    casey for me e/w.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,989 ✭✭✭Trampas

2/1 is pure crazy odds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭Browney7

Jim Furyk @ 20/1 and Ross Fisher @ 100/1 . 1/2 point each way on these 2 for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

Mickelson @ 16s represents far greater value than Woods at 2s imo.

Harrington may be in poor form but 40/1 is very good value for a player of his ability

I also like Goosen at 40/1, very steady and has a good record at the US Open.

Other prices i'm liking are

Stenson @ 50s
    Cabrera @ 66s
    Sabbatini @ 80s
    Romero @ 150/1:eek: (Probably not suited to this course but is a player capable of anything)

Scott as Orourkeda said is a good bet at 125s... he's not a former world number 3 for nothing.

Will probably back 4 or 5 of the above and also a sentimental bet on Clarke @ 225s and Duval @ 500s!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭fonda

Yeah was gonna back Mickelson at 11's the other day but now he's gone out to 16's i will definitly put an e/w on him, tempted to do Casey as well!

Of the outside bets
    Westwood is 90/1 on pp!
    Villegas is about 50/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,427 ✭✭✭✭8-10

Famous45 wrote: »
    Stuart Appleby 150/1

I took this bet too. Also liked a few long odds on leading after 1st round (e/w 1-2):

Casey @33/1
    Stenson @50/1
    Cink @50/1

fonda wrote: »
    Yeah was gonna back Mickelson at 11's the other day but now he's gone out to 16's i will definitly put an e/w on him, tempted to do Casey as well!

Of the outside bets
    Westwood is 90/1 on pp!
    Villegas is about 50/1

Yeah Westwood's a good price. I don't think Villegas is suited to Bethpage. I would have backed him if he was a longer price. (A bit like Romero, i couldn't turn him down at 150s after being 45/1 for the masters)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,632 ✭✭✭✭okidoki987

Woods at 2/1 9as alreayd stated) is a deffo lay.
    For those E/W punters, Boyles & PP are going 6 places, not sure if there are any others out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭d-gal

Harrington at 45/1 with Paddy Power, surely a good e/w bet especially with them offering a extra place, 6places in total

Lucas Glover was tipped by the guy from World Golf Radio on Newstalk tonight (Bob something?).

I've looked up Glover and he's never made the cut at the US Open but this guy claims to have picked Cabrera for the Masters the week before so figure it's worth a tiny bit e/w at 175/1 (pp).

d-gal wrote: »
    Harrington at 145/1 with Paddy Power, might be a good e/w bet especially with them offering a extra place, 6places in total
    FYP.

Wouldn't go near him at 45/1. He's playing ****e atm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭Stacksey

villegas 45/1. this lad is going to win a major no one who knows about golf disputes that, could it be this one well it's possible. has been chugging along nicely this year and i think this price has great value especially each way.

tim clark 75/1. this is a massive price, far too big for a golfer of his ability, has a solid all round game and has a very respectable record in the US majors, definatley a each way here, for me .

retief goosen 33/1. twice he has won this previously and both those victories were well deserved, especially the one where he went shot for shot with mickelson, on farcical greens ( think it was Shinnicock hills), So he knows how to play on the glass greens that the US open is famous for. has'nt been in contention in a major of late but his class is not in doubt and i think this price is real value.

sergio garcia 33/1.i admit perhaps a wee bit heart ruling head here, but he HAS to win a major soon and the threeevents across the pond are the ones he should be in contention for.

i'm going to finish with a mention of Paul Casey, i'm not a fan of him very arrogant, has a great love of himself, and i've noticed he is not a good chaser, i.e when he is in the lead of tournaments he has the game to stay there, however if he is chasing a leader he is very ordinary and i cant recall him winning from behind.

I wouldn't go near Harrington.

In fact I might lay him ti make the cut, he's missed a few lately and is a shadow of the player who won the majors. This is due of course to the tinkering to his swing.

Michelsons wife has been diagnosed with cancer so I'd suprised if he came close tbh.

Tiger is lay of the year at 2/1 on betfair.

If he's leading on sunday then back him to get your money back !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Think Casey has the long game for this one. It's a monster of a course with some long par 4s and only two par 5s. Casey has a nice long, accurate drive so think this will play to his strengths. 25/1 with Ladbrokes for me and also Allenby at 11/2 with Powers to be top Aus/NZ player. Both each way

Double on Stricker and Zach Johnson to win their first round three balls.

Stricker a good solid player in decent form @ 5/6 to beat Stenson and Andrew Svoboda

Johnson @ 20/23 to beat Westwood and David Erdy (amateur)

Double pays just over 12/5 with Boyles...strangely I was gonna do this with Hills where Johnson is 5/4 but they have him listed as being against Westwood and Katayama who isn't even entered

Added Nick Watney to my bets. Was temtped to leave out Singh due to his poor putting form but the course is set up for big hitters and good accuracy and he has that at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

Famous45 wrote: »
    Added Nick Watney to my bets. Was temtped to leave out Singh due to his poor putting form but the course is set up for big hitters and good accuracy and he has that at least.

I went for Watney this morning too. Got him at 80/1, and then went for Goosen too at 40/1. Both e-w.

Both are at +2 after 5 and 6 holes of 2nd round! So may start picking it up a bit soon!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 Solesurvivor

Im Gonna go for Ross Fisher he has the long game and at 28-1 now and in contention.:o

8-10 wrote: »
    Lucas Glover was tipped by the guy from World Golf Radio on Newstalk tonight (Bob something?).

I've looked up Glover and he's never made the cut at the US Open but this guy claims to have picked Cabrera for the Masters the week before so figure it's worth a tiny bit e/w at 175/1 (pp).

Guess who's in the lead? I have Glover e/w at $2 (175/1) so hopefully he can hold out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,989 ✭✭✭Trampas

I see PP are going 6/1 on Tiger, 100/1 on Padraig.

Terrible odds if you ask me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Guess who's in the lead? I have Glover e/w at $2 (175/1) so hopefully he can hold out.

Yeah I got on @ 45/1 hopefully he can keep it up backed Westwood at 120/1 and he has just started with 3 birdies :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

Trampas wrote: »
    I see PP are going 6/1 on Tiger, 100/1 on Padraig.

Terrible odds if you ask me

pp are the tightest bastards known to man, once they had some team losing 3 nil at 10/1 to win the game with 5 mins to go...

Good pick mate and good luck.

I have Duval at 500/1. top 6 finish would pay 125 quid!

Have the very same bet!

Currently 2nd 3 shots off the lead!

Browney7 wrote: »
    Jim Furyk @ 20/1 and Ross Fisher @ 100/1 . 1/2 point each way on these 2 for me.

FFS. I never did Fisher. He will surely place now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 TURFMAN

Gladly i took that Newstalk tip also.

I have a sneaky €5 e/w on Glover at 175/1.. hopefully he can do the business

Some great after timing on this thread :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭SalthillGuy

I think Glover will win.
    Has a bad day yesterday and still survived to be just one off the lead.
    Barnes was flying, but came back to the pack when he started t osee the line.
    Personally, I would love the see Phil take the title.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

TURFMAN wrote: »
    Gladly i took that Newstalk tip also.

I have a sneaky €5 e/w on Glover at 175/1.. hopefully he can do the business

Was listening to that too and kicking myself I didn't get on. Best price 5/2 at the moment one shot off lead.

How the **** can Tiger only be 12/1?? Think I could make a living laying that man if people are willing to take prices like that

Out of sheer boredom I would be tempted to back Mahan each way at 14/1. He's already in a place position and only four off the lead with a lot of holes to play. Could be a bet to nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Put a tenner on Mickelson at 5-1 just before that great shot out of the rough and the eagle, now he is 5-6.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭ErinGoBrath

Congrats to all the Glover backers, well done!

Very impressed with Glover and Barnes today. Both dropped a few shots on the front 9 but finished well. Thanks to yer man on Newstalk for the tip, I'm sure they'll be on about it tomorrow. And congrats to Degag for the 500/1 e/w on Duval! Nicely done.

Well done lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 886 ✭✭✭randomchild

Lol I will be keeping a close eye on this thread next year!

Thanks to newstalk for the tip!
    Had Glover e/w as my outside bet and Mickelson e/w for my odds on and both came in!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 641 ✭✭✭Gautama

€25 e/w.
    Collected over €5k.

Gautama wrote: »
    €25 e/w.
    Collected over €5k.

really?? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,617 ✭✭✭raheny red

Gautama wrote: »
    €25 e/w.
    Collected over €5k.

I had 5k EW....................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭markpauldunne

Yeah heard the tip on Newstalk had a euro e/w (Not a big gambler btw).
    Did any one loose big on Tiger ??