Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So... What's everyone doing this summer ('09)?

• 11-06-2009 1:04pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 336 ✭✭

Me, I'm working in Wyeth Biotech for a while. How about the rest of ye?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 469 ✭✭loveissucide

On a placement at the Donegal Democrat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭da_shivsta

**** all...Couldn't get a job :(
    Leaving Galway this Friday for home and waiting for results on 30th June...
    Maybe I'll get a job there :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 336 ✭✭cianl1

You're only leaving Galway now? The exams finished weeks ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭Ardscoil Ris

Study for repeats. (Not a joke)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭the-island-man

On placement just up the road from the college till september!
    Bring on final year can't wait to leave nuig, seeing the same surroundings gets boring after a while!! and that new sports center "for students" is a joke. Whoever gave the place to a shower of c***s like kingfisher would want to bet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 Spanglished

Spending the summer in France, I'm studying French and Spanish and am heading on Erasmus to Spain so NUIG French department said I have to spend at least ten weeks in France.
    Job situation is dire here, so it looks like I'll be doing a summer course!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭apkb

absolutely nothing at the moment

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 Gavine

cianl1 wrote: »
    Me, I'm working in Wyeth Biotech for a while. How about the rest of ye?
    I am interested to know what your job duty was :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭Carsinian Thau

Gavine wrote: »

Would you like to subscribe to the newsletter too?

Simpsons joke. Sorry

Unfortunately all I could manage to get was work experience for a week, and since I wasn't insured by the company I couldn't legally do anything so I just stood there in the labs watching tests get done.

Hopefully though, shoe in the door, sets my up for full placement next summer.;)

Would you like to subscribe to the newsletter too?

Simpsons joke. Sorry
    Maybe I will tell you I love to. XD

Unfortunately all I could manage to get was work experience for a week, and since I wasn't insured by the company I couldn't legally do anything so I just stood there in the labs watching tests get done.

Hopefully though, shoe in the door, sets my up for full placement next summer.;)
    Maybe you can gain good experience in the following weeks.
    Is it good to study Biotechnology in Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 558 ✭✭✭wobbles-grogan

Working in Ericsson athlone, placement thingy! Was interrailling for 3 weeks too tho!

Maybe you can gain good experience in the following weeks.
    Is it good to study Biotechnology in Ireland?

I don't do Biotechnology myself, I'm studying Chemistry from which Biotechnology comes, but I do know some people studying it and are quite happy with it.
    Working in Ericsson athlone, placement thingy! Was interrailling for 3 weeks too tho!

Cool! Where'd you go?

I don't do Biotechnology myself, I'm studying Chemistry from which Biotechnology comes, but I do know some people studying it and are quite happy with it.

Cool! Where'd you go?

Started off in Berlin! Went on to Prague, Vienna, Budapest, Zagreb, Split and the Zadar. Last 3 are in Croatia, Great craic. Beer is 1, maybe 2 quid everywhere ya go, cept vienna, bout 3 or 4. Really gotta ask yourself why we live in Ireland where a beer is €4 and its not even as high quality as ya get over there!:)

Seriously tho, Interrailing is the bees knees, definatly goin again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭dapto1

I'm working in Ringaskiddy in Cork. My god, it's desolate.

Started off in Berlin! Went on to Prague, Vienna, Budapest, Zagreb, Split and the Zadar. Last 3 are in Croatia, Great craic. Beer is 1, maybe 2 quid everywhere ya go, cept vienna, bout 3 or 4. Really gotta ask yourself why we live in Ireland where a beer is €4 and its not even as high quality as ya get over there!:)

Seriously tho, Interrailing is the bees knees, definatly goin again!

Hell if it's that cheap, I'll join ya!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭lasair

This summer was to be my first in Ireland since I started uni... Sent out about 80 CV's and zero job and I am a 1.1 student in 3rd Chem, even dunnes wouldn't accept me :(:(...... So instead I spent most of the summer travelling in New Zealand and came home for a while... Got the exams results so 4th yr is guranteed so heading away again soon after I clock up a few hours working in the local to pay uni fees and stuff in general for uni.

Yeah its been a pretty **** summer for job findin alright! Ah well, nothin ya can do about it now. silly recession....