Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

POLL - Tinnies on the GC - harmless fun or big no-no?

• 09-06-2009 9:08pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭

Hi folks, will be going on a golf outing soon, 3 x 3 balls with buggies on a proper Golf Course. Wanted to get thoughts about whether or not we are likely to cause any hassle or offence on the day.

Each 3 ball will consist of 1 experienced G.U.I. player, 1 non G.U.I. sorta golfer and 1 complete hacker. We will have buggies and will be playing on a Friday earlyish in the day.

The plan is to play Stableford so we won't be holding up the whole course. There will be an experienced player in each group to tell the hacker to pick up or speed up and we will all be mindful of keeping things moving. We are planning on each having a couple of cans of beer on the way around as we play.

Question is - would this be an ultra no-no or just considered a bit non PC but as long as we don't act the bollox completely should be fine? We will only be having a couple each we won't be getting locked or anything!

I guess it probably depends on the course, it aint the K Club but it's a decent course down the west... would be afraid to call to check as I don't want to draw attention to us before we head out.

Tinnies on the golf course for this occasion... 59 votes

Bad form - the 19th is for drinking - don't do it!!
    0% 0 votes
    Hmm - as long as you are discreet should be ok but a bit iffy maybe...
    67% 40 votes
    Go for it - should be no issue!
    32% 19 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭pansoul

Harmless fun IMO. If ye're playing together and only having a few then I don't see how anyone could say ye shouldn't.

Have fun, but just don't drink and drive! ;) :P

hmm, I note 3 people say it's bad form. Why do they think that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

don't drink and drive, don't even putt :P

sorry couldn't resist

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,677 ✭✭✭staker

I voted no,I just think it's a prelude to lower etiquettes on the golf course.
    Nothing against drinking,I just think that's what the 19th is for.....

Sounds like a good set-up OP,enjoy either which way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,571 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Bad form IMO. Have seen people do this before, mostly pub societies. As they drink more, the volume gets louder....and louder until they become a nuicance to other people on the course.
    Surely you can wait a few hours and drink in the bar afterwards...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 supermac

for me---a drinker--it,s a total NO-NO- THE 19TH is the place for that.!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭gripcasey

When I was golfing in Oz it was common to have a drink when playing. Didn't do it myself find it hard enough to play sober.!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭BUACHAILL

when I was playing my course 2 weeks ago when we had the savage weather, every time we got to the next tee box there was 2 empty bottles of budweiser in the bins but they were the new bottles which I think are plastic and just look like a large bottle of coke...very sly ha ha , the guys must have been hammered.

I would not do it but I dont think its any harm provided you aint pissed and disturbing other golfers be it with slow play or extra volumes, I do think its best not to advertise the fact that you are doing it also as this in itself can make some people uneasy playing around you. not a budweiser add either ha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Mr. Larson

OK lads fair enough - so it looks like we ought to be fairly discreet about it as it might cause more than a few raised eyebrows - thanks for the feedback.

Re: empties, according to the rules of this particular outing and in order to ensure fairness, to be eligible to recieve a prize you have to have consumed minumum of 3 cans of beer. So you need to produce 3 empties from your bag on the 18th to qualify for the prizes - so that way we are guaranteed not to be leaving any empties strewn around the course :D

But all joking aside it sounds as if we will need to keep it discreet and keep the noise levels down - which I'm sure we will do on the day. Just need the weather now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭ShriekingSheet

No harm at all IMO but at the same time, you have to do it very discreetly, and if the bulk of your party aren't overly experienced players, and you're all in buggies, you've no chance of being discreet.

But hey, if you're all visitors on the course, what's the worst they can do? Kick you off after 15?

All I'm saying is not to expect a frictionless day - though I hope you have one ;)

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

No problem in the right situation for me.
    Playing a classic in the middle of summer, BBQ burger and cold one after 9 holes is bliss.
    Played Forest of Arden in blistering heat on a corporate day and we had a buggy going around supplying cans pretty much on demand as well as the half-way hut.
    I wouldn't be impressed with drinking during a regular club competition though ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭WillyWonka

I'd say fine as long as its a social game and doesn't affect anyone else. Might even help you relax and play better! And as long as you don't start hacking up the course!

Are there any pros know for having a sip on the course?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 180 ✭✭Dylan69

I think its fine with me as long as they reduce the volume and dont get in the way of any serious golfers during the round.

Or they could try take the course seriously and play to the best of their ability and enjoy the enjoyment of playing well at the 19th hole!!!:)

Played in a corporate outing last summer in Druids Heath, fab weather, there was a chef ther doing a bbq with a large container full of cold beers ,on the 10th hole!bliss:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭istaunton

Seems by the voting its a bit of a NO NO.
    I have done it before when on Par 3's or Pitch & Putt where the rules are much more relaxed. Never in my home club. But as long as its discreet i dont see why it should be an issue when just playing casual rounds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 Machman

As mentioned above, having a bottle & a burger at 9th in a classic/corporate day is great. In winter, the old hip flask gets good use, but I personally wouldn't drink beer during round even a society one. If you do, then discretion is the trick, think of others on the course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭thegen

I enjoy a drink as much as the next lad or more if you listen to the missus;)
    But I would not drink on a course. I did it once and could not hit the ball out of my way, hence drawing attention to the fourball.

If you can keep it discreet and not affect the other players on course. why not.

Enjoy the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭stockdam

I think it's a no.

It could just lead to the odd group getting noisy and maybe leading to a fight :eek:

On another extreme, what would happen if somebody got hit by a ball which was hit by somebody who had clearly too much to drink?

It's a nice idea but it's not as if anyone misses a drink on the course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,571 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

If you really want to be discreet, you could fill your driver head and hat with beer and drink from them....really handy places to store stuff. Also buy sweat bands and soak them in beer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭Nemesis

In Portugal it seemed the norm and in Barbados to sell you drink while you played which I always enjoyed :D but it was at most about 3-4 small bottles.

Company days out always had beer on the 9th too.

Don't call the club to see if it's ok as that would be really inviting a no answer or a 'Not really allowed'.

If you all have buggies its easier to be discrete and I'd say fire ahead and enjoy your day but I'd limit it to a few cans and not 10 cans each or a Heineken Keg :)

I voted no btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

fullstop wrote: »
    If you really want to be discreet, you could fill your driver head and hat with beer and drink from them....really handy places to store stuff. Also buy sweat bands and soak them in beer.

golf-dispenser.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭BUACHAILL

brilliant , gotta see if mcguirks have them ha

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

Graeme1982 wrote: »
    golf-dispenser.jpg

home2.jpg
    Don't forget to recycle :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Davidth88

I was playing with my brother on a public course in London ( Haste Hill ).

We were going round pretty quickly , all four of us could play . Anyway we came against a 2 ball in front who were being slow .

One of the guys was slugging Stella like it was going out of fashion.

We were putting on the 12th , the 13th tee was next to the green and the guy was roaring and shouting . One of our group asked him to please be quiet.

Next thing he throws his club on the ground and starts running at us to start a fight !

We stood our ground , all four of us are reasonably big , he saw the error of his ways and picked his clubs up and walked off the course threatening to kill us when we finish our round !

Anyway , in the c/house there was your man , drunk as a skunk , we just ignored him

So ...... to the OP , as long as you are not a pain ... fine ... but personally I wouldn't .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 120 ✭✭PeterJamesDoyle

If its one of these anonymous weekends, then it might be worth the risk. But if you get the wrong lad in the clubhouse, or pro shop after your round getting a wiff of booze off ye, he may lift the phone and ring the fuzz. Plus, it could ruin it for the GUI golfers, if there were any repurcussions that led to them getting suspended from their respective clubs. I think you should give it a miss, enjoy your golf, and go mad afterwards.
    Ask me 15 years ago, and I'd say "do it ya mad yoke".:) Took a sip of brandy from a hip flask one winters morning, but that was just to keep warm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭JCDUB

No bother with having a couple of discreet bevies on the way around, especially if it's a nice relaxed game.

Just be discreet and you're laughing.

I've often had a curer before going out if my head wasn't the best, and on a nice summers day we've been known to run into the bar and grab four pint bottles after the front nine. No worries.

As mentioned earlier, in Spain, Portugal, Thailand etc they come around in buggies selling beer so as long as you're not "tired and emotional" it's no hassle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

I voted no.

I think there is a big difference between having a few on the 9/10th and having them with you on each hole.

Its going to be impossible to "think about other golfers" and "be discrete" if you are halfway through a six pack, out with your mates AND in a cart....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

I voted no also... grabbing a few cans on the spur of the moment halfway round is fair enough, but when it's all planned out with 6 packs in the bag and whatever else it's just gonna get silly.

I certainly wouldn't wanna be anywhere near the course when you guys were out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

ask the golfers in the group if they would drink while at their home course on the odd occasion,wonder what they would say, if they would not drink when at home why do it elsewhere,have to say i noticed a few bottles stuck in bushes the odd time in my home course or caps of bottles by tee boxes or greens, looks sloppy,i know too it could be kids at night but doubt it

p.s. i did go for the middle option,the discreet one
    but if one tool does not get rid of his rubbish ye will all be cast in a bad light

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,655 ✭✭✭kingshankly

9th or 19th ok anywhere else its a no no