Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Webcam Darts TV Channel

• 09-06-2009 7:35pm
    Registered Users Posts: 4,329 ✭✭✭

Hi guys,
    I had an idea a few weeks about how to play darts against each other using the webcam. I contacted Ratinakeg to try and get it set up and organised to have a go at it but as luck would have it his webcam broke today so he cant do it.

Anyway, if anyone is online tonight for the next hour or so and would like a game i'll show ye how this thing works if ye'r interested. Its not perfect but its something to play around with and have a laugh while practising. The link below will take you to the channel page and i'll be there for the next hour or so.

You'll have to register a username but that should only take 2 mins, so hopefully i'll see ye there. Once you see how it operates you can play away yourselves without having to use the channel

http://www.ustream.tv/channel/dartsonboards

All the best ,
    Daroxtar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭ratinakeg

I've got me old camera, try it now if you can mate

• Registered Users Posts: 4,329 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

Well, it'll work ok and fair play to ratinakeg for spending his evening trying to get it going with me. Shame his webcam wasnt working but he's seen the layout when it is operating so he can give his judgement. Personally, i think it looks gand. I'll be away for a few days but maybe this weekend i'll try and get it up and running properly for anyone who is interested. Again, a big thanks to Rat who's head i thoroughly wrecked but fair play to you for the support.

Daroxtar wrote: »
    Well, it'll work ok and fair play to ratinakeg for spending his evening trying to get it going with me. Shame his webcam wasnt working but he's seen the layout when it is operating so he can give his judgement. Personally, i think it looks gand. I'll be away for a few days but maybe this weekend i'll try and get it up and running properly for anyone who is interested. Again, a big thanks to Rat who's head i thoroughly wrecked but fair play to you for the support.

Cheers Daroxtar! This could be great for the next boards tournie lads, the two way camera looks great. Talk to you soon mate.

i'm just running a demo of this again for a few mins if anyone wants a look

http://www.ustream.tv/channel/dartsonboards#

Me and Daroxtar will be trying to get this going at about 3pm today, if and when we set this up it will be good for the next online tournament!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 245 ✭✭matty84

Is there any software on the net that you can do the split screen like it has with every dart match, where you can see the dartboard and player throwing, using 2 webcams???

matty84 wrote: »
    Is there any software on the net that you can do the split screen like it has with every dart match, where you can see the dartboard and player throwing, using 2 webcams???

I'm not sure Matty, I'd say Daroxtar would be able to answer that one. That would be agreat idea, just like the darts on TV!:D

i haven't figured that one out yet but gimme time...:D

http://www.ustream.tv/channel/dartsonboards#

• Closed Accounts Posts: 245 ✭✭matty84

Check this out lads i think this does the split screen and its free to download too

http://vidblaster.com/

Sorry I'm no help, my laptop powered itself for some reason!:mad:
    I'm gonna throw that poxy camera out the window!!:mad:

matty84 wrote: »
    Check this out lads i think this does the split screen and its free to download too

http://vidblaster.com/

I checked that out but its only a free trial. I might have a mess around with some other streaming sites like justin tv or morpheus to see whats the best. Havin said that, Ustream is usually fairly good and its pretty user friendly. I'll plug away with this for a while anyway and see if i can fine tune it a bit