Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Near Misses

• 09-06-2009 2:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭

Had a near miss there about 20 mins ago. Was out in an XKR on country roads, behind a glanza muppet who in turn was behind a bin lorry. Was waiting for a clear stretch to overtake (and waiting about 5 car lengths behind Mr. Glanza for a good view).

Got a chance, indicated, pulled out and boot in.....was about 1/2 a car length behind the glanza (but on the RHS of the road) and he goes to pull out. At this stage I was probably doing 20-30mph more than him so slammed on the brakes - big ABS moment and narrowly avoided arriving in his back seat. :eek:

Really annoyed so landed on the horn and next thing he starts giving me the finger!! Unbelievable!! I mean it was a matter of inches between us when I slammed on.

Thank God for good brakes!:cool:

Oh....and I took his ass out on the next straight but beeped whilst indicating and pulling out just to be safe!

Anyway, what near misses have you guys had recently?:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭MSporty

Mr D,

Prepare to be slated by the politically correct brigade on here for trying to overtake a Glanza in a fast car!! Just highlights the fact that muppets drive Glanzas :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

That Muppet in the glanza was totally in the wrong, you always have to check your mirrors before starting to overtake, that why I hate doing bunny hop overtaking, you never know if the person in front will check behind them. Usually I beep the horn if I start a overtaking manoeuvre like that.

The guy in the glanza may have got a fright, hence his actions, sometimes people get defencive even when in the wrong when they get a fright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

and I am sure the glanza driver is telling the same story too his mates about this muppet of a driver in a big flash car who drove up his arse as he was preforming an overtaking maneouvre nearly crashing into him .....
    every story has two sides... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭Mr.David

robtri wrote: »
    and I am sure the glanza driver is telling the same story too his mates about this muppet of a driver in a big flash car who drove up his arse as he was preforming an overtaking maneouvre nearly crashing into him .....

Im sure he probably is.....but it would be pure fiction. I'd say I had been on the RHS of the road for 2-3 secs with indicator on for about 5secs and was practically beside him by the time he started to pull out.

You know sometimes you can sense when someones going to do something stupid? I kind of had a feeling he would pull out and thankfully was ready to brake. Had I assumed that he would check his mirrors I would probably have been squashed in the middle of a Glanza-XKR hybrid :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Usually I beep the horn if I start a overtaking manoeuvre like that.
    +1, or at least have it closely covered. The Glanza driver was 100% wrong, but the whole thing wasn't completely unpredictable.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭pauld

am i reading this correctly. you were trying to overtake six cars and a bin truck in one maneouvre? sweet jesus! you were already on the wrong side of the road for 5 seconds and had still to overtake the glanza and the bin lorry!! unreal

pauld wrote: »
    am i reading this correctly. you were trying to overtake six cars and a bin truck in one maneouvre? sweet jesus! you were already on the wrong side of the road for 5 seconds and had still to overtake the glanza and the bin lorry!! unreal

One car and a bin lorry.

No your not reading it correctly :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭evogirl

no, just the glanza and the lorry. he said he was 5 car lenghts behind to get a clear view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

am i reading this correctly.

Nope.
    you were trying to overtake six cars and a bin truck in one maneouvre?

As above, 1 bin lorry, 1 Glanza 5 car lengths in front of the XKR.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,795 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

What are ya on about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

From my reading of the post the O/P stated he was 5 car Lengths behind the Glanza. Not 5 cars behind him. The O/P attempted to complete a totally legal overtake and the Glanza pulled out in front of his.

O/P i hope you reported the vehicle to you local AGS station. People with this disregard for motoring should not be on the road. Also the Glanza driver has no right to stick a finger up at you. Shows the maturity on his part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,795 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

It is just that situation that is making me consider buying an in car video recorder. Its unreal the number of times that happens. Glanza was totally wrong and very dangerous.

I was driving home from work a few week ago and I was behind a van(a). We came to a cross roads and the van(a) indicated right, the road was wide so as he stopped to make the turn I indicated left and drove up the inside to continue on straight.

At the same time there was a van(b) coming towards me on the main road and a car turning out from the junction (same junction the van(a) was turning into. Now the car turning out didnt look/see the van(b) coming from his right and he drove out on the road. The van(b) swerved to miss the car, hit the front of the van(a) hard which was just about to turn right and pushed through and contunied on right across the path I had just taken up the inside of the van(a) about 2 seconds before hand, before comming to a stop on a footpath. To make it even worse I was driving a Fabia as my own ws being serviced so it would not have been good at all for me had I been hit. Van(b) was travelling quite fast and appeared to do a fair bit of damage to van(a) despite not catching it fully head on.

I slowed up the road and looked back everyone looked ok, getting out etc but I couldnt go back as one of the vans was of the Hiace verity and was turning into a dodgy-ish estate and I just could not get involved. There were plenty of people around also and the car that caused it wasnt even touched(and he didnt do a runner) so plenty of people to call guards etc.

It was hard to explain in writing so sorry if its confusing.

EDIT: Very very rough diagram.

nearmiss.bmp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,167 ✭✭✭✭Berty

I have near misses most days due to the amount of driving I do.

The OP's story is old news to people like me.

You learn to anticipate muppets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭MSporty

robtri wrote: »

Glanza driver is prob on muppetglanzadrivers.net saying, some bleeeedin goshiiiite in an jaaag nearly toooook the side outttt a meee bleedin motor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Fozzie Bear

Mr.David wrote: »
    Really annoyed so landed on the horn and next thing he starts giving me the finger!! Unbelievable!! I mean it was a matter of inches between us when I slammed on.

Anyway, what near misses have you guys had recently?:o

I hear ya! I was driving back to Galway from Limerick on Sunday afternoon and had a similar incident. On the dual carriageway maybe 5/6 miles outside Limerick there was a car and trailer in the left lane with a red Passat behind it. I was in the overtaking lane behind a car with a small van in front of us. The van and first car went by and as I came up on the passat (my front bumper level with his back bumper) the muppet just swung out into the O/T lane. No indicator, obviously no mirror checking and missed me by no more then an inch. I could not see his back bumper I was that close to the back of his car. His ball hitch must have rubbed my number plate it was that close. Herself beside me in the passenger seat went pale and screamed and I had visions of us being pushed into the grass median/wire barrier and bouncing off it back into the carriage way and being milled into by a truck further back down the road.

Thank God I copped it quickly and hit the brakes and horn. Absolute clown, even with the horn blowing he still continued to pull out into the OT lane. Anyone else would have naturally pulled back but not this fcuk wit. He stared resolutely ahead when I did pass him a little further up the road as herself glared over at him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 646 ✭✭✭Johnboy Mac

Very common occurrance Mr.David, not much concellation I know but the exact same situation has happened to me several times this year going to or returning from the West :(.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

My closest miss was in the carpark of Total Fitness... Driving along look for a spot at normal car park speeds, slightly to the left of the middle. Car decidedes to come thru 2 spaces (spaces which were surrounded by cars) and into where I was driving. I had literally not time to break, swerved left and then back right to avoid the oncoming pole. Damn near sh!t myself.

And the Auburn Avenue roundabout is the most dangerous thing ever. People are complete and utter retards when it comes to lane choice. Coming from Auburn Ave you can go exit 1 for the M50/Blanch SC, exit 2 for The River Road and exit 3 for the Navan Road heading towards town.

So... which lane should you be in for exit 1?? The left lane right....? The one you'd ALWAYS be in for a roundabout, and the one clearly marked on the road... but noooo because it has traffic lights on there's a load of gobsh!te's who decided the right lane is also a left turner. Nearly lost the side of my car there last month thanks to some muppet trying to go off on exit 1 while I continued on to exit 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Vikings

Mr.David wrote: »
    Was waiting for a clear stretch to overtake (and waiting about 5 car lengths behind Mr. Glanza for a good view).

Got a chance, indicated, pulled out and boot in

Glanza completely in the wrong, 100% agree with ya there. Though had it been me in that situation I would have allowed a second or two to see what the Glanza was doing before making my own overtake.

Think about it, you are stuck behind a slow moving bin truck as is he. Both of you probably want to overtake him and are just waiting for a chance (the glanza driver probably wouldn't recognise a safe chance if it hit him in the face :p) to do so, in a situation like that I always wait to see what the car in front is doing.

Usually happens to me on long journeys too, the car in front might be sitting in behind a campervan or a truck going slower than desired but I don't know if he will overtake as soon as a chance arises so better to delay for a couple of seconds to see what he is going to do. If you done that then you can ignore this post completely :D and sure if not don't worry, glanza was still in the wrong!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭garyegt

ok i hate glanzas theyre the most stupid car on the road, but i hate drivers in big cars like bmws audis and jags like yours, no patience. im sure he was also waiting for hte gap aswell, and you just had to be impatient and overtake 2 things at once, which imo is dangerous driving, no matter how empty the road is.

so all in all if you ever did that to me id prob throw nails out in front of your car:)

(oh and none of this argueing over the internet malark id have no problem saying it to anyones face)

garyegt wrote: »
    ok i hate glanzas theyre the most stupid car on the road, but i hate drivers in big cars like bmws audis and jags like yours, no patience. im sure he was also waiting for hte gap aswell, and you just had to be impatient and overtake 2 things at once, which imo is dangerous driving, no matter how empty the road is.

so all in all if you ever did that to me id prob throw nails out in front of your car:)

(oh and none of this argueing over the internet malark id have no problem saying it to anyones face)
    And get laughed at.

and you just had to be impatient and overtake 2 things at once, which imo is dangerous driving, no matter how empty the road is.

Hope I'm never stuck behind you. Limerick eh? Say no more!

Limerick eh? Say no more!
    This isn't a competition for the silliest post, you know.;)

Anan1 wrote: »
    This isn't a competition for the silliest post, you know.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭bladebrew

something similar happened me before on the link road in cork,i was in the inside lane (douglas east lane for the cork people) and a guy in a starlet pulled out in front of me from the middle lane both of us doing around 60mph, he just missed the front of my car scared the crap outta me!,i beeped at him and he booted it:confused: i went after him,until i cooled off a bit!

in defence of the glanza driver maybe he checked his mirror and didnt see the op`s car in his blind spot,he should have looked over his shoulder first!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,201 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Stuff like this happens every day on the N3...

Only last week I was coming back from Dunboyne and got to the nice clear stretch after the Ratoath/Trim junction and the County Club. Ahead of me is a guy in a Transit who in turn is up the arse of the car in front (that's doing about 70km/h).

Grand.. nothing coming as far as the top of the rise at the County Cub so I look behind me, drop to Sport mode, indicate and pull out in my 2L diesel Passat (which has more than enough power to do a move like this).
    As I do though, Mr Transit decides to go for it too (no indicators either), cuts in front of me, and then takes upwards of 10 seconds to complete the move, THEN gives me dirty looks when I lean on the horn as I put the foot down and get past him.

Moral of the story: As well as looking before you do ANYTHING, don't bother if you're driving at speed and don't have the acceleration to do it quickly. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

How does beeping your horn help? Would that not make some people a bit jumpy and make them more likely to do something stupid while you're overtaking?

Random wrote: »
    How does beeping your horn help? Would that not make some people a bit jumpy and make them more likely to do something stupid while you're overtaking?
    Well he got high beams as he moved out and a long blast of the horn after he'd eventually completed the move and I moved past him. It's a Transit, not a Ferrari.. idiot! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

Kaiser2000 wrote: »
    Well he got high beams as he moved out and a long blast of the horn after he'd eventually completed the move and I moved past him. It's a Transit, not a Ferrari.. idiot! :mad:
    What I mean is those who are suggesting you beep the horn as you're starting the maneuver - I don't see how that serves any good?

Random wrote: »
    What I mean is those who are suggesting you beep the horn as you're starting the maneuver - I don't see how that serves any good?
    Ah sorry. No I'd agree there. Surely distracting the drivers of cars ahead like that isn't a good idea?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭VinnyTGM

Berty wrote: »
    I have near misses most days due to the amount of driving I do.

The OP's story is old news to people like me.

You learn to anticipate muppets.

Advanced driving?

i hate drivers in big cars like bmws audis and jags like yours, no patience.

im sure he was also waiting for hte gap aswell, and you just had to be impatient and overtake 2 things at once, which imo is dangerous driving, no matter how empty the road is.

1. Begrudgery is a terrible thing

2. I cannot read minds and wait forever behind him in case he is also waiting to overtake.

3. I'd have already overtaken you so you'd probably just run over your own nails. Again, begrudgery.

Anyway, its was an interesting encounter. The car isnt mine (to make it more nervy!) it is an engineering car and fitted with carbon ceramic brakes which I was grateful for!