Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

SWB Jeep or recommendations

• 09-06-2009 8:13am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 367 ✭✭

Hi Guys

I'm moving to the country side in the UK so I am looking at a 4x4 for the wife to use daily. I've showed her pics of L200's and that size vehicles but she says they may be too big for her.
    I am looking at maybe a SWB jeep in that case. Any recommendations. I was looking at something like the below. Any experiences?

http://www.pistonheads.com/sales/962313.htm

Sneaky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

Unless you need a 4x4 for actual field work or pulling a big trailer, your wife might be happier with a Subaru or Audi quattro estate and unless you're going to live up some dirt track or in an area that regularly gets snowed in/flooded any regular car will do just fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 367 ✭✭sneakyST

Thanks peasant - have thought about an estate alright but we will be going into the nearby forest reguarly and would need a bit more ground clearance. Plus I will be buying a horse as well in the future so will need to be able to tow him,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,884 ✭✭✭101sean

Check what it's rated to tow, a box and a couple of horses is pretty heavy, but otherwise it would suit.

What about a Discovery, prices a low at the moment. The only SWB worth a light is a Defender 90 but they hold a premium price over Discos (newish or old as they are bit of an icon), any Land Rover (except Freelander) is rated to tow 4 tons as well

Don't try asking for a jeep in the UK, you'll be pointed to the nearest Jeep dealer, it's only in Ireland that 4x4s are refered to as jeeps (neither of mine are feckin jeeps!!:mad:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

A SWB Toyota landcruiser will pull a horsebox no problem, The 90 series (Colorado) in the UK can be bought very reasonably now.
    They are also much nicer on the motorway at 60mph than the defender SWB.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

Sneaky, whats your budget?
    How many seats do you need etc?

Hi Irishfella

Budget will be up to around 12k, 5 seats at minimum - dont really need any more than that but space for the dogs too. Budget is a limit but I dont mind cheap and high mileage if its a reliable yoke.
    Would also have to be able to accomadate car seats so a defender is out.

Thanks for the suggestions above lads- is there anywhere is can check for 4x4's as autotrader isnt showing up much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,884 ✭✭✭101sean

Some links here http://4x4.blue10.co.uk/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭Bitten & Hisses

sneakyST wrote: »
    5 seats at minimum - dont really need any more than that but space for the dogs too

Space for the dogs + 5 seats at the same time isn't going to happen in a SWB 4x4.

Thanks for the replies. I've decided to spend an extra few grand and go for a Range Rover

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

I thought she said that an L200 was too big, how is she going to park a battlebus:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,523 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

SWB Land Cruiser or Pajero won't seat 5 comfortably. wheelarches eat into rear seat space.

CJhaughey wrote: »
    I thought she said that an L200 was too big, how is she going to park a battlebus:eek:

The mysteries of the female brain CJ :D.......all that went out the window when she saw the interior I suspect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

sneakyST wrote: »
    The mysteries of the female brain CJ :D.......all that went out the window when she saw the interior I suspect.

Can't say I blame her.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭dlambirl

no SWB jeep is gonna accommodate all you want OP!!

The pajero/shogun you were looking at are lovely jeeps but if you want to accommodate 5 people/shipping/dog, your better off with LWB