Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Journey/Whitesnake/Def Leppard

• 08-06-2009 10:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 574 ✭✭✭

Any one heading to this?

wonder what the story and order of line up etc is?

cant wait myself :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,169 ✭✭✭rednik

A couple of us are going to what should be a great night of music. The line up is as you have on the thread. Journey to open followed by Whitesnake and Def Leppard to close the show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,585 ✭✭✭honru

Tesla: 18:00-18:30
    Journey: 19:00-19:45
    Whitesnake: 20:15-21:15
    Def Leppard: 21:45

Doors open at 17:00, times subject to change!

I got an email reminder from tktmaster but have you not noticed on both MCD and tktmaster websites theres no mention of Tesla playing although they were on the bill at the time I bought the tkts. The doors opening is still 5pm so maybe the other bands will have longer sets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,376 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Tesla: 18:00-18:30
    Journey: 19:00-19:45
    Whitesnake: 20:15-21:15
    Def Leppard: 21:45

Doors open at 17:00, times subject to change!

TM emailed yday

slightly different

Doors Open: 17:00
    Tesla: 17:45
    Journey: 18:45
    Whitesnake: 20:00
    Def Leppard: 22:00

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭Ceekay

I'm slightly confused. Can anyone confirm if Tesla are playing or not??

Passed the 02 on the way home Tesla are on the sign outside so I take it they are. It is confusing they are not mentioned on the tickets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Is the ozone layer under threat above East Wall?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭HorseRadish

Saw them in Belfast w/Whitesnake,super gig. Cant wait for tonight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭Ceekay

This is a longshot, but it may suit somebody. My wife has developed a sore back and would prefer to sit at tonights gig. So if their is a party of THREE with seated tickets (together) willing to swop for THREE standing tickets please let me know!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,550 ✭✭✭NIBBS

Ceekay wrote: »
    I'm slightly confused. Can anyone confirm if Tesla are playing or not??

they are down on all advertisements, their own website, promoters website, ticketmaster and the ad outside the O2 - they played Belfast last night - so you can be pretty much assured they are playing tonight.....they better be anyway, otherwise I'd be wasting my time heading down early.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 100 ✭✭Jabcity

GONNA BE THE BEST GIG EVER!

Saw Journey last year and it was by far the best gig I ever went to, was skeptical about Arnel Pineda takin over from Perry, but he absolutely brought the house down. I cant even imagine what Def Leppard are going to be like, one of my favourite bands! And then Whitesnake playing as well! Brilliant!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 875 ✭✭✭triseke

id love to be going missed out on a standing ticket and dont wanna be seated for it :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭blastman

Jabcity wrote: »
    GONNA BE THE BEST GIG EVER!

Saw Journey last year and it was by far the best gig I ever went to, was skeptical about Arnel Pineda takin over from Perry, but he absolutely brought the house down. I cant even imagine what Def Leppard are going to be like, one of my favourite bands! And then Whitesnake playing as well! Brilliant!!
    You know that there have been at least two vocalists between Perry and Pineda, don't you?

Anyway, just back from this, three excellent sets, and I unfortunately missed Tesla (the only band I haven't already seen live) because I didn't get out of work in time. :( Whitesnake's sound was terrible to start with but they eventually got going and finished strongly. Journey were excellent although they made some odd song choices from the latest album in my opinion. Def Leppard were unbelievably slick for the opening gig of a tour, but I suppose that's what they've made a career of being. They played all the favourites and I doubt anyone went home disappointed (including me).

One note of disquiet, all t-shirts were €30 (yes, three zero Euro). This is raising the benchmark alarmingly and a complete rip. The latter is not opinion, it actually IS a complete rip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 706 ✭✭✭dolittle

thats the usual price for t shirts now
    i`m sorry i missed that gig now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Left this gig early for two reasons, I have a strong dislike of Def Leppard (only went for Journey and Whitesnake anyways) and Def were playing the same set they played in Belfast (Whitesnake played a new one, as far as I know).

Disliked:
    - That sh*tty guitar solo in Whitesnakes set. Didn't need it. (Maybe Coverdale had to go back for some medicay!)
    - Some idiot with his gf (wearing a guinness rugby jersey) wouldn't let anyone get by them. I witnessed one person excusing themselves past her, she looks at him as if to say "will I let this guy go" and he shook his head. Grrr, how can people be so cnutish?
    - The fact my OH and I got there a little late (to miss Tesla) and thought they were the ones on stage....."Oh, wait that's effin journey!"
    - 30 quid for t-shirts? Feck off!

Liked
    - Journeys set (what I caught of it)
    - Whitesnakes set (even with the solos)
    - Leaving early after seeing the British flag in the Irish colours.
    - Chuckling to my sick sense of humour at Def's drummer (fair play to him though!)

Really enjoyed all the bands. The Whitesnake set was ruined for me by two stupid bit**es sitting behind me constantly shouting into their phones and they could be heard even when the music was at its loudest. Thank heavens neither of them returned for the Leppard set. Why do morons like that go to concerts.
    Whitesnake and Doug Aldrich always perform a guitar solo and I'm not surprised as Coverdale puts so much into the show he's entitled to a breather.
    Leppard were brilliant even if Joe can't reach the heights any more they can still rock. The union jack in green was weird considering Rick Savage didn'tchange his bass colours.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭peter1892

Enjoyable gig - I'm glad I got there early for Tesla as I was really looking forward to seeing them & they were great, it'd be nice to see them again in a smaller venue doing a longer set.

Journey - admittedly, I'm not a fan but they put on a great show, got the crowd going & were pretty good.

Whitesnake - great band, I'd never seen them before and while David Coverdale may now resemble Stan Boardman he still knows how to work the crowd and can occasionally hit the high notes.

Leppard - decent set, a few surprises (Switch 625!) and a few 'hits' I could do without hearing again. Still, nice to see them in concert again after a long time (10 years since my last Leppard gig).

Next time I go to a long show like that I'm getting seats, my legs are killing me this morning! My band of the night? Whitesnake.

here's my twocents......

Tesla - excellent, just wasn't long enough - but yeah really didn't understand them leaving Cumin Atcha Live out of the set, short as it was ?????
    Still was great to finally catch them live, and with the responses in Belfast and Dublin hopefully they'll be back for a longer set soon...........

I've seen the three main bands 3 times in the last 12 months, so I'll try to ignore the other show experiences.......

Journey - just a great band, and with Arnel being a wound up rubber ball they just know how to do their job perfectly, love them, just a great live band. I really wish there was a bit more banter from them though (although with the shortish set last night I don't mind just running through the songs).......biggest crowd I've seen turning up for a band 3rd on the bill anywhere.....surely they'll include Dublin next time they're touring Europe....

Whitesnake - a bit patchy to start with - I just wish he'd turn down the use of delay on the vocals - it's just overdone. The set itself was a little up and down, but towards the end they just blew the roof off, of course it's hard to go wrong with some of their anthems, but yeah for a 57 year old man I think Coverdale still has a hell of a lot to give, maybe his big problem is he still wants to be a 30 year old, he certainly can't hit notes that he used to hit, and his voice is a tiny bit shot......certainly strains a lot more now than he used to but still a great frontman, and at times hit's the big ones when it matters.......I on the overdone guitar solos, they did seem to go on a bit, and although I don't mind solos at all I think they threw them together to close as much as anything else.....

Def Leppard - I don't know where to start really, don't get me wrong I enjoyed a lot of it, but again was pretty disappointed with them, first thing that really annoyed me was the bass level for what 4 songs - just really stupidly high and when you have a bass on ballads and it's drowning out the rest of the band - surely the soundman should notice ????
    There's no doubt that Joe's voice just doesn't cut it on the older songs, the Leppard songs that I really like - but he's certainly putting the effort into it, so you can't question that, the band are always solid, and I thought he sang Rock of Ages very well last night, he can't hit or hold the high notes anymore, but I guess that's just life............the set itself - so so, same as Belfast last year from what I could tell, after Whitesnake leaving the place with a great atmosphere I thought the first part of the set was a bit wet, but they kicked in some energy and played a decent gig........

Overall - great way to spend a Friday night, had a ball and loved seeing a packed O2 for Hard Rock bands in Dublin, people and bands keep saying they couldn't make any money or cover costs coming over to Dublin - well I don't know there would appear to be an audience for it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭HorseRadish

Good show,very impressed with Tesla and Journey,some of the people around me just sat on their hands for the night though:mad: Lady beside me just sat there with hands on her handbag saying nothing,anybody see someone getting thrown out around 4 songs in? Top right of the arena I think,there was a load of security swarming there at one stage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭blastman

NIBBS wrote: »
    Overall - great way to spend a Friday night, had a ball and loved seeing a packed O2 for Hard Rock bands in Dublin, people and bands keep saying they couldn't make any money or cover costs coming over to Dublin - well I don't know there would appear to be an audience for it...
    Good summation there, Nibbs, I have to say I was pleasantly surprised at the size of the crowd even for Journey. It seems there is a rock audience out there after all.

I'd also agree with the bass in Leppard's set, it was ridiculous in places. That coupled with the fact that there was no guitar in the first couple of Whitesnake songs, well, let's be charitable and say the sound guy didn't play his A game.

Regarding t-shirt prices, AC/DC shirts were €25 in the Point a couple of months ago, still pricey enough but €30 is just robbery. I bought a shirt AND a double live CD for €18 at a Billy Bragg gig in Vicar St about six months ago.

Oh, and due to the good reviews in this thread, I'm even more annoyed I missed Tesla now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Mark#1

Anyone catch the name of the "Dublin" guitarist? Even better, can anyone tell me the full current line-up?

Thanks,

Mark

Take it you mean Whitesnake
    David Coverdale
    Doug Aldrich Lead guitar & vocals
    Reb Beach Lead Guitar & vocals
    Uriah Duffy Bass & vocals (USA not Irish)
    Chris Frazier Drums
    Timothy Drury Keyboards & vocals (Son of James Drury of The Virginian fame)
    Both Doug Aldrich and Reb Beach have been with the band for around six years which is quite long for Coverdale to keep musicians. I think Drury has been around with the band for the same length of time. Frazier and Duffy are new members, probably in the last year or two.

Which band ????

Tesla - all US from what I remember, latest recruit is American too

If you're talking about Whitesnake - well they've a half Irish bass player Uriah Duffy, and an Irish Keyboard player Timothy (damn surname escapes me)....

Journey - again no Irish

and Def Leppard - well Vivian Campbell is from the North, but no Dublin guitarists.......

that's it Drury.......
    yeah Fraizer is new - and nearly didn't last very long, he had a very public warning at Arrow Rock last year from Mr.Coverdale, basically one more screw up and you're gone....assuming he's the guy that was playing and wasn't brought in after that :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 114 ✭✭whodoo

really enjoyed the show. thought whitesnake were great. don't know much of their stuff but ill look into getting an album or 2. was there to see the leps. they played it safe and played the hits but when its that good i don't care!! thought the acoustic version of 'heartbreak' was great and a bit different.
    always wonder why they play 'make love like a man'. ok song but they've got so much more that are way better.
    great friday night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭peter1892

blastman wrote: »
    Regarding t-shirt prices, AC/DC shirts were €25 in the Point a couple of months ago, still pricey enough but €30 is just robbery.

I was wondering about that - last year a t-shirt at a typical rock gig would have been €35. My guess is that with the drop in the value of Sterling then the prices have chnaged in our favour, but I was suprised that they t-shirts were more expensive last night than at AC/DC less than 2 months ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭Oral Slang

anybody see someone getting thrown out around 4 songs in? Top right of the arena I think,there was a load of security swarming there at one stage

Yeah that was beside us.. Think he was recording songs on his phone. Security were going mad, especially one fella who was really wound up. A bit of pushing & shoving went on & security went to leave after a warning. Fella did it again. More pushing & shoving then & again security went to leave and then the twat started recording a 3rd time, so at this stage they reefed him out. What an idiot, he was really winding them up, but one of the security guards really looked quite dangerous, like he was ready to implode or something!

Oral Slang wrote: »
    Yeah that was beside us.. Think he was recording songs on his phone. Security were going mad, especially one fella who was really would up. A bit of pushing & shoving went on & security went to leave after a warning. Fella did it again. More pushing & shoving then & again security went to leave and then the twat started recording a 3rd time, so at this stage they reefed him out. What an idiot, he was really winding them up, but one of the security guards really looked quite dangerous, like he was ready to implode or something!

To be honest there's stupidity and wrong on both sides there - if I were recording somthing on a phone and was asked to stop - fine, but to be honest the security have obviously picked out this individual for some reason - maybe nothing to do with recording, as there were hundreds if not thousands of people recording parts of the gig (I always take a few snaps and sometimes a vid or two at gigs, nice to have the memories) and I didn't see them asking anyone else to stop - there was one guy with a pro camera up around the seated area and one of the security lads questioned him about the lense (general rule of thumb on any concert allowing cameras is that it mustn't be a changeable lense).......but anyway the reason for picking on this one guy had to be more than just that - maybe he was givin lip to the security,
    but yeah to be told and warned and then continue not once but twice, then you get what you deserve.......but a couple of the security guys seemed a little heavy handed while the majority seem fine, to be honest the guys on the floor always seem a bit more heavy handed for some reason....

Tesla - just watched them at Download (Live Webcast on the Download site) and they played Cumin Atcha Live, and the set length was the same, damn I wish they'd played it Friday night.......

For anyone interested Journey are live on the Webcast at 2:30
    not sure if they're allowed broadcast the Whitesnake or Leppard sets yet, still down as TBC but they showed Tesla, so hopefully the bands won't say no to the broadcasts.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 574 ✭✭✭Caked Karen

Really really enjoyed the gig...i think i am actually still smiling from it!

got there just before Journey...thought they were excellent. very good live and himself can really hit them high notes....i was waiting for Any Way You Want It all evening so hyper!!!!

Whitesnake started abit shakey or something, i thought but they done good. LOL with the guitar solo...def think David deserved a break at some point!!

Loved Def Leppard...albeit Joe does struggle with the notes now but thought they were very together and done well. thought Lets Get Rocked was just class!

Anyone know and get some form of setlist together? I had a "few" carlsberg in my so piecing it all together isnt easy :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Mark#1

Thanks for the line-up answers. It was Whitesnake I needed to know.

Thanks again,

Mark