Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kerry Trip

• 07-06-2009 12:51pm

Hi all, I'm new to this forum

I'm planning 4 day trip with OH to Kerry in July.
    Anyone have any suggestions on an itinerary? Where would be a good base for us to see as much as possible?

I am open to all suggestions, have not been down to Kerry in about 20 years so its all new to me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,155 ✭✭✭✭Berty

I travel the entirety of Kerry for my living and always use Killarney as a base.

Not only because it is relatively central, also because it has a great nightlife, good restaurants and friendly locals. You also get a large choice of hotels.

What is your budget for accomodation?

You definately need to do the ring of Kerry which will take you an entire day. Google ring of Kerry routes for more information. You can go in either direction but I recommend going clockwise because Coachs and trucks MUST(gentlemans agreement) go anti clockwise so you will not have to slog along behind them. Clockwise will take you out past Muckross house which is always worth a visit. You might even pay for a jaunting car to take you there if you have deep pockets.

Killarney national park is not actually a park its actually a massive portion of Kerry itself.

You should go to the Gap of Dunloe and again take a jaunting car tour. I drive this route but not soo much in summer because the jaunting cars are a law unto themselves and refuse to move and its only a tiny road. Here is a picture even.

Beautiful area even for a walk.

Kerry27196.jpg

Dingle is also worth a visit. Head through Killorglin over to Castlemaine and onwards to Dingle.

There is a cave in Castleisland not far from Killarney. You might be into that thing.

You can visit the outlying beach's of Kerry. Inch, Ballyheige and Ballybunion. Ballybunion is like "Little Limerick" in high season so its up to you and Ballyheige is a small village which the usual sticky rock, chip shop and ice cream shop with a beach thrown in for good measure.

I would recommend you take a trip from Cahersiveen(along Ring of Kerry) to Valentia Island and back over the bridge to Portmagee, turn right and head up along the cliffs towards St Finian Bay. The views here are amazing. Here is another picture

4317935.jpg

Heading from Dingle you can come back over Conor Pass back towards Castlegregory and back into Tralee which is only 25 minutes from Killarney.

Here are two pictures

ConorPass.jpg

ConorPass2.jpg

So 1 day for the Ring of Kerry.

1 day for exploring Muckross and Killarney National Park

1 day for Tralee - Ballybunion + other beachs

1 day for Gap of Dunloe and relaxing, shopping etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭Famous45

Take Berty's advice, I too asked for the exact same advice a few months ago and thankfully Berty replied and following his every instruction and had a wonderful time apart from getting food poison on the last night and having to travel back in the car as a passenger in a complete mess.

We drove through the gap of dunloe and have to say I savoured every minute of it and had the video camera on record the whole way, beautiful beautiful drive. Enjoy

Famous45 wrote: »
    Take Berty's advice, I too asked for the exact same advice a few months ago and thankfully Berty replied and following his every instruction and had a wonderful time apart from getting food poison on the last night and having to travel back in the car as a passenger in a complete mess.

Oh Jeez. Where did I send you or where did you eat? Ooops. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 stillcrazy

I'd recommend staying one night in Dingle also as it's completely different to Killarney for a night out. Loads of nice restaurants and pubs & great craic. The Dingle penninsula is lovely for a drive - the view around Slea Head is fantastic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭Cruisy

Definitely try to get to the Skelligs (from stunning valentia island) - the time will come when they don't allow people out there anymore as they're worried about the damage being caused by visitors so get out there while you can! There's always a chance you won't get out if the weather's not good, but I think it's worth a try. An amazing spot and if you get fine weather, there's nowhere like it.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 1,928 Mod ✭✭✭✭karltimber

Hi Berty,

thinking of kerry maybe for next week - can you rec a hotel with a pool - 3 kids in tow - somewhere in kerry.

Kilarney is ok but options would be great.
    love Rossbeigh. dingle, inch beach - what a place

thx

k

karltimber wrote: »
    Hi Berty,

thinking of kerry maybe for next week - can you rec a hotel with a pool - 3 kids in tow - somewhere in kerry.

Kilarney is ok but options would be great.
    love Rossbeigh. dingle, inch beach - what a place

thx

k

Right so.

Kenmare is a beautiful place and the

Kenmare Bay Hotel is exceptional. They have holiday homes and lodges as well a leisure centre and kids pool/entertainment.

http://www.kenmarebayhotel.com/

Beautiful place, beautiful town and at the beginning/start of the journey around the Ring of Kerry.

The Dingle Skellig in Dingle(go figure) is also very nice and very family orientated. Pool, kids pool, other services as well and Dingle is really nice if a little touristy. You are not far then from Conor Pass right on through to Casltegregory and the beach.

http://www.dingleskellig.com/leisure.html

I will avoid the whole Tralee, Killarney thing because unless you are American the whole appeal is lost.

They are the two that spring to mind with a pool straight away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 linx

Dont miss valentia island we were camping in cahirsiveen last year and went over twice. Went to the slate mine which wasnt the best idea as it was very misty and you couldnt see the sides of the very narrow road. There are also the tetrapod tracks which was worth seeing, views are amazing

Thanks berty,

appreciate it.

k

linx wrote: »
    Dont miss valentia island we were camping in cahirsiveen last year and went over twice. Went to the slate mine which wasnt the best idea as it was very misty and you couldnt see the sides of the very narrow road. There are also the tetrapod tracks which was worth seeing, views are amazing

20359286.jpg

Not much of an Island any more mind you due to the bridge at the other side of the Island. Its a con, I tells ya. :)

Tell you what Karltimber I will be in Ballybunion, Listowel, Ballyheigue, Inch area tomorrow. I will keep my eyes pealed for anything new to do.

When are you going?

am free from sunday morning til next saturday :)
    Hopefully Sunday or Monday for 4 days.
    No availability in Kenmare or Dingle hotels you mentioned.

Have to try Maritime Hotel (bantry), Valley Suites (killarney), Manor west (tralee), the brehon (killarney)- for starters.

let me know if you come across anything.
    My dad is from Killorglin so not going too far away - bantry is pushing it.

3 kids in tow so needs to have a pool and the oh wants 4* - it's not easy :D

thanks again,

k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭flanree

if you don't find one with a pool, the new Killarney Sports & Leisure centre has a pay as you go pool by the way.

Well then,

How about this?

http://www.bannabeachhotel.net/

Kind of ticks all the box's. You have a hotel, self catering, pool and you can walk to Banna beach. The nearest town is Ballyheigue(sitting her right now borrowing somebodys internet connection shhhh) which if you know it or Google it will tell you its a holiday retreat with lots of mobile homes parks, takeaways, bars etc.

You are near Ballybunion and within driving distance of Tralee(20min) which has shopping for herself

The Aquadome for the kids

http://www.discoverkerry.com/aquadome/

A Multiplex next door with tennis and Tralee with the following

http://www.tralee.ie/activities.htm

If you are feeling adventurous you can drive from here to Tarbert and catch the short ferry to Killimer in Clare and visit the sights of west clare before returning for the day.

If your kids and driving do not mix well then avoid this.

went ahead and booked this hotel - the Manor West in Tralee.

Is newish, has a pool,has the rooms available and is a great deal.
    Not the best of locations (scenic wise) but there are not many hotels available this week due to the horse racing on wed onwards (didn't know about that) in Kilarney -25mins away.
    Will be spending most days out so not a bad base. Day around Dingle, kilorglin, rossbeigh/glenbeigh.

2 interconnecting rooms for the 5 of us. 4 nights b&B plus 2 dinners for e496.
    Thats not a bad deal at all.

anuhoos -thanks folks, esp Berty for taking the time to reply, appreciate it.

enjoy,
    k

I like the Manor West. I had my usual Carvery lunch there today and do EVERY time I am in Tralee for Lunch.

The retail park is behind it so if its raining you can be entertained. Tralee is an ok town but is a good base. Watch out though, there is a McDonalds outside the front of the building. :mad:

Im in Ballybunion right now which is only 40 minutes away from Tralee.

You can head out to Dingle which is around 50 minutes from Tralee and come back over Conor pass and through Castlegregory.

Head from Tralee towards Killorglin through Castlemaine and start the ring of Kerry this way. Its the fastest way to start but very annoying way to start because all the coach's and trucks MUST travel anti clockwise so if you want(or hate being stuck behind them) you can head into Killarney and up from Ladys View into Sneem and start that way.

Bantry BTW is a long way away from Kenmare although the Maritime is really nice. I had a suite - see attached picture. I bet you were suggested to it by the Brehon or Gleneagle because their group own that as well.

I cannot link picture of sitting room/dining room/kitchen because the OH is in it.

PICT0303.jpg

Im glad your sorted out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 FenderJazz

http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h97/quirke/Kerry27196.jpg

I can hear the rally cars screaming through this valley!!!:D

FenderJazz wrote: »
    http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h97/quirke/Kerry27196.jpg

I can hear the rally cars screaming through this valley!!!:D

More like horses and carts.

That is the Gap of Dunloe. During high tourist season its plagued with jaunting cars full of tourists.

I normally drive it during the winter months when it is nice and quiet but only as a shortcut around the mountains.

I will be in that neck of the woods this weekend because come rain hail or shine Im climbing Carraunthohill mountain.

Hi Berty,

where exactly is Inch beach - very fond memories from my youth so would love to bring the lads there.

Probably do a day at dingle (boat to see fungi - other ideas ?) and out to the coastline past dingle town -have noted to bring binoculars. Any particular places to get great views of Atlantic sea/cliffs/light houses ?
    Another day at Kilorglin to see the in-laws - and out to Glen/rossbeigh.
    Another to Killarney -Muckross house and National Park and/or drop to see cousin in Kenmare.

Is this meant to be a relaxing holiday :D

thx

k

You should head out of Tralee into Castlemaine(South basically) and from Castlemain head head West taking the singposted turn to Dingle/Inch and keep going until you hit Inch.

Its not very big but has more stupid houses that have been built since the housing boom. Its more like a ghost town in the winter months.

Heading out of Inch in the direction of Fungi(Without Googling, is Fungi not dead?) and Dingle you will get amazing bay peninsula views across the bay and out to the Atlantic. Pull over anywhere you can. Its well worth it.

If you are heading to Dingle keep going to Slee head. You will get amazing views of the Blaskets.

blaskets.jpg

Kerry Trip

Well, stayed in the Manor West Hotel just outside Tralee -lovely 4* hotel with everything very clean and new. Pool was lovely, so was food and staff.
    Spent a day around the Dingle peninsula - Inch beach (wow), Dingle for an ice cream and aquarium for the kids (ok), Out around Dingle coast line - just friggin amazing views - and dinner in ventry town.
    Another day at Rossbeigh beach (windy but super), with wet suits on the kids a must. Sand dunes were great fun and onto Kilorglin for dinner in relatives but a lovely town.
    Tralee aqua-dome is only around the corner from hotel also but is very old now. needs a refurb.

all-in-all a great break and a class hotel in a beautiful county.
    Thx to Berty et all for all the info and help.

k

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭adamski8

hey guys, four of us with me driving are gonna head down to kerry for one nights stay in august on a saturday. do ye think staying in killarney for the night is a good idea, maybe driving through the gap of dunloe on the saturday and exploring killarney in the evening? then on the sunday driving around the ring of kerry. kinda wanna get dingle in as well but dont think we'll have time. Ill be driving from dublin sat morning and headin back sunday night so dont have alot of time. two friends have never been to ireland so they'll like the touristy stuff. Also will be stopping to see the blarney stone and kilkenny on the way to kerry!!!
    Does this sound like a good/feasible not too hurried plan?
    Also anyone have recommendations for a nice B&B in killarney?
    sat morning: dublin to killarney
    http://maps.google.com/maps?f=d&source=s_d&saddr=Dublin+DUBLIN,+Republic+of+Ireland&daddr=Kilkenny,+Co.+Kilkenny,+Republic+of+Ireland+to:Blarney+Stone,+Co.+Cork,+Republic+of+Ireland+to:Killarney,+County+Kerry,+Republic+of+Ireland&hl=en&geocode=%3B%3BFTlfGAMdLzh9_w%3BFYpeGgMdie9u_w&mra=ls&sll=52.619725,-7.888184&sspn=1.64409,4.938354&ie=UTF8&z=8
    saturday evening: gap odf dunloe
    http://maps.google.com/maps?f=d&source=s_d&saddr=Killarney,+Co.+Kerry,+Republic+of+Ireland&daddr=Gap+Of+Dunloe,+Co.+Kerry,+Republic+of+Ireland+to:51.945111,-9.64222+to:Unknown+road&hl=en&geocode=FYpeGgMdie9u_w%3B%3B%3BFY5eGgMdrvJu_w&mra=dpe&mrcr=1&mrsp=2&sz=12&via=2&sll=51.968596,-9.51828&sspn=0.104279,0.308647&ie=UTF8&ll=52.00771,-9.560852&spn=0.208375,0.617294&z=11
    sunday:ring of kerry
    http://maps.google.com/maps?f=d&source=s_d&saddr=Killarney,+Co.+Kerry,+Republic+of+Ireland&daddr=51.818803,-10.167847+to:Dublin+DUBLIN,+Republic+of+Ireland&hl=en&geocode=FYpeGgMdie9u_w%3B%3B&mra=dpe&mrcr=0&mrsp=1&sz=8&via=1&sll=52.082882,-8.366089&sspn=1.664177,4.938354&ie=UTF8&z=8

Well well. I was in Kerry yesterday and arrived into Kenmare & Killarney from the Cork side, through Glengariff over from Bantry.

This is the N71

Here are some pictures of the route. I am blatant. I actually stop in the middle of the road and take pictures. Screw everybody else. ;)

This is a picture taken after leaving Glengarrif heading towards Kenmare overlooking the Bay and Peninsula.

PICT0643-1.jpg

PICT0644-1.jpg

Further along heading West

PICT0645-1.jpg

PICT0646-1.jpg

This is a picture of the tunnel(one of many) by Inishfoyle along the route. Its very dark in the centre of the tunnel. Other picture below.

PICT0647.jpg

PICT0648-1.jpg

PICT0650.jpg

So adamski8,

Your itererary. Not possible realistically. Its is possible feasably but only if you do not look at anything, walk through Kilkenny jump in the car, hope there are no queues in Blarney, manage to get along the long route to Killarney, stay overnight, do the Gap of Dunloe the next day and then drive through Limerick back up to Dublin the next day.

YOU WOULD BE EXHAUSTED and your friends would hate you for it. You need at least 2 nights away for that itinerary, sorry to tell you. :o

Skip Kilkenny. Its not all its cracked up to be and if you only have one night then Kerry wins every single time.

Drive from Dublin to Killarney through Limerick. It is the fastest route and there are no tolls(YET).

Stop off in Adare for the "touristy" stuff.

Head down to Killarney and turn right for Beaufort and on into the Gap of Dunloe. Drive through the Gap of Dunloe(slowly because of jaunting cars - see note at end about jaunting cars). Come out the other side and link back onto the Ring of Kerry at ladies view. Head back into Killarney from here enjoying the amazing views along the way. Here is one from Ladies view.

Have a night out. I was in Killarney yesterday and it was MENTAL. It was packed with tourists and Irish holiday makers alike. Traffic was crazy BUT the hotels were NOT full and nearly all had signs outside saying "Rooms available" so good rates should be easy to get. I stayed in a beautiful room in a 4* hotel in Bantry for €70 including breakfast. If you look hard enough you will find them.

BTW, Dingle and you wanting to do it. You havent a hope. You will not even be able to do all the other things along the way.

When you are leaving Killarney the next day head East towards Cork and turn off in Ballincollig(just off motorway) for Blarney. Kiss the stone and head back into Dublin. You could head through Kilkenny from Cork but I again emplore you to consider your timing. Kilkenny is a medieval city and nothing more. It has a nice castle.

Anyway, Jaunting cars. They are currently in long winded discussions, arguments and strikes with the local council and tourist boards because they refuse to 1. clean the streets from horse droppings and 2. refuse to put horse nappies on the horses. The tourist board has banned them from entering Muckross house until further notice so I imagine they will be making life hell in the area. The guys at the gates of muckross yesterday just wandered out in front of me to stop traffic so they could let a friend in a jeep out. I did not slow down to their horror. Pr*cks! :mad: (Excuse language - I hate jaunting cars, their riders/owners and their extortion of the tourist trade).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭adamski8

thanks for that berty, well i agree now to skip dingle and maybe drive through the gap and continue to do the ring of kerry the sunday. I've been to kilkenny twice before and totally agree with you about it, but my friends love kilkenny ale and want to drink it in kilkenny(its their no.1 thing to do!!!!) What do you think of this then:
    8am-leave early sat,
    10am-do kilkenny(just lunch and a pint)(think i got this done in two hours last time round including a wee walk around).
    2pm-Go kiss the blanery stone, anyone know roughly how long this would take on any given saturday afternoon.
    6pm-Arrive in kilarney(think we found a nice b&b by killarney bus station).
    then just go out for a few drinks and food.
    5hrs of driving says google maps so lets say 6hrs!
    http://maps.google.com/maps?f=d&source=s_d&saddr=Dublin,+Co.+Dublin,+Republic+of+Ireland&daddr=Kilkenny,+Co.+Kilkenny,+Republic+of+Ireland+to:Blarney+Castle,+Blarney,+Ireland+(Blarney+Castle+and+Stone)+to:Killarney,+Co.+Kerry,+Republic+of+Ireland&geocode=%3BFbpuIwMdkWeR_w%3BFTlfGAMdLzh9_yGELVN-zQGdRw%3B&hl=en&mra=ls&sll=52.628275,-7.419115&sspn=1.643714,4.938354&ie=UTF8&ll=52.619725,-7.888184&spn=1.64409,4.938354&z=8

Sunday drive around the ring of kerry including the gap of dunloe anticlockwise and continue back to dublin passing by limerick. (possible stop in adare for some food)
    http://maps.google.com/maps?f=d&source=s_d&saddr=Dublin,+Co.+Dublin,+Republic+of+Ireland&daddr=Kilkenny,+Co.+Kilkenny,+Republic+of+Ireland+to:Blarney+Castle,+Blarney,+Ireland+(Blarney+Castle+and+Stone)+to:Kenmare+Pl,+Killarney,+Co+Kerry,+Ireland+(Killarney+National+Park)+to:52.026726,-9.63501+to:N70+to:Dublin,+Co.+Dublin,+Republic+of+Ireland&geocode=%3BFbpuIwMdkWeR_w%3BFTlfGAMdLzh9_yGELVN-zQGdRw%3BFdtWGgMdlOxu_yH8M3qok2ZPnA%3B%3BFaShFgMdJvZk_w%3B&hl=en&mra=dpe&mrcr=3&mrsp=4&sz=11&via=4,5&sll=52.027571,-9.580078&sspn=0.208282,0.617294&ie=UTF8&z=11
    I think this is more feasible than my last plan. we have all day to do thing ring of kerry and we can arrive back late sunday night if nessacary.
    My last trip out west i only stayed one night as well, went to kilkenny(2hrs) cashel(1hr), limerick(2hrs), bunratty(30mins), doolin(stayed here arrive around 6pm) next day saw the cliffs of moher(1hr), alliwee caves(2hrs) and father teds house, arrived home around 8pm. It didnt seem rushed at all!

Thats a better plan. Kissing the blarney stone from the car park to the stone with the odd slow pace to complain about the price of the entrance fee, it should take no more than 30-40 minutes gauging on Saturday being a busy day for tourism.

All you need is one or two coachs to arrive before you and you are basically screwed. :rolleyes:

Enjoy.