Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

[Z-Day] Merge

• 07-06-2009 12:22am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 40

It is known by many names, Z-Day, WW-Z er, well yeah thats it AFAIK, but the point is it is quite a possible thing to happen.

I have in some sense fantized about it with two of my mates, not in a sick way rather in the sense of writing our own manga based around just this.

The scenario is this. Whatever has infected the rest of the world, only a hand ful of the worlds population have been rendered either immune or just uninfected by this virus or whatever it may be. We have just hand picked a list of several people or so for our contingent and thats it.

[B][COLOR="RoyalBlue"]The list is as follows:[/COLOR][/B]

[COLOR="DeepSkyBlue"][LIST=1]
    [*]Me (Obviously) Computer Expert and Electrical Wizard.
    [*]Keith (Best buddy) Amazing architect for designing fortresses etc
    [*]Dave (Other best buddy) Hilarious and not a bad shooter
    [*]Jade (Fiancee) I <3 Her
    [*]Keiths Dad (Engineer of 20~years) Good engineer and morale booster
    [*]Dave's Dad (Taxi man and handy man) Great for locating resources.
    [*]My father (Great worker, handy man and taxi man of 35 years) Good leadership, motivater and great worker.
    [*]Keith's Brother Alan, (Great musician-need entertainment of somesort) Need some sort of recreational activity. Not bad on the computer either.
    [*]Keith's Brother Mark, (Very funny, great singer and good sports wise)
    [*]Good electrician, bit of a comedian, help people keep fit to an extent.
    [*]My Mother, Great gardener, great hospitality, great cook.
        13-20 Random females from between 18-30 for breeding and company and balance.
    [/LIST][/COLOR]

This Scenario is under the precursor that we are the only group of people (as far as we are aware) that are still alive in Dublin if not, Ireland.

There is a local church , St.Gabriels which would be excellent once barricaded with large crates from trucks from the port, greased down on one side and placed on all sides of the church. Then use the pews from inside to barricade up the windows as a precaution.

There is also from what I have heard, a sewer passage to the bay under the church (I may be wrong though) which is a great escape hatch after it has had some maintenance.

We would commandeer several buses, convert them into large camper vans for emergency evacuation and relocation. Several small trucks for transporting goods and rations from resource runs.

In terms of defence, We have designed a gun turret that would work using IR thermometers to detect the difference between humans and zombies (assuming without a live digestive system, their metabolisim is quite slow and therefore their body temperatures is not close to humans)

The idea would be this;
    [COLOR="RoyalBlue"]
    1. Sensors scans back and forth using several thermometers to scan the area.
    2. If the sensors pick up temperatures outside the range of human body heat, (lets say 36C to 41C to account for variations due to fevers) it will then start tracking it using several IR lasers and thermal imaging to locate the target.
    3. If the target is in the ''hit list'' then it will start to fire and track the object until movement stops completley. 
    4. rinse and repeat.[/COLOR]

The guns would be mounted inside the cargo containers providing a safe zone to reload.

The entire perimeter on the outside would be covered in grease covered razor wire except for a bottle neck the width of a dublin bus (slightly wider) to allow transport in and out.

The gates would be steel welded with gun points throughout.

I am proud to announce my Safety System that I have designed.

Each member of this contingent would have RFID tags placed on a dog tag/watch or shoes which will deactive the locks on the defence system although if the gun turrets are on alert the RFID becomes useless.
    (Essentially if there is a zombie in close proximity to the front of the fortress, the place is locked down)

The door and all the railings will be electrified and greased (I know the whole painles thing, but it would still seize their muscles and cause them to drop off or even fry)

More to come on teh Safety System.

We would only stockpile certain foods; Dryed goods, perserves and then a lot of substitutions for vitamins, minerals etc, freeze packing seeds and other bits and bobs to grow plants in the future.

Water would be recycled though a filtering system and we would stock pile bottled water safe within the fortress.

Showering would be everyday for our resource team who would be outside everyday gathering resources (food, electronics, books, water & scouting and creep control) considering they deserve that benefit for being on the front line.

Everyone else would only shower every two days.

Showering is limited to 4 minutes per person, enough to do your hair & body and rince.

Meals would be strict and controlled

• Breakfast: tea, crackers & cereal with RDA of vitamins & minerals in teh form of supplements.
    • Lunch: Noodles/Pasta/Rice with vegetables(from frozen) and protein supplement(Dried meats, Frozen meats, Peanuts)
    • Dinner: Same as Lunch with some variation.
    • Snacking would be: 200 Grams of chocolate a day MAX! & 100 grams of crisps to keep people happy & sane.

Cigarettes would be very expensive and would be worked for. Alcohol would be saved for any celebration or similar event (Birthdays, Christmas, NewYears and the likes) and drunk in moderation.

First AID would be at highest priority and would be available to ANYONE who requires it. Certain members would be in charge of medication.

Living quaters would be partitioned spaces in the church back rooms. The main congregational area of the church would be used for general happenings, building, down time, The area where the Organ and Choir seats are would be stripped and turned into the Communications center for hosting any form of websites available, even through direct connections, radio center for analysis and tranmition of emergency beacons. It would also house our security center's mainframe and control center which would be manned 24/7 by two members

Weapons would be taken in any form. Everyone would be trained to a degree with weaponary and have daily 2 hour training sessions to keep fit and sharp.

Weapons devised so far are as such:

[COLOR="RoyalBlue"][LIST]
    [*]Sledgehammers,
    [*]Modified chainsaw with a longer reach.
    [*]Swords
    [*]Spears
    [*]Cross Bows
    [*]IED's [Improvised Explosive Devices]
    [*]Guns from wherever they can be attained.
    [/LIST][/COLOR]

There is a lot more to add. Just very tired :D

Regards,

Alex-Face

PS: I love the google maps thing. AWESOME!

• Registered Users Posts: 783 ✭✭✭Kromdar

dibs being on your team.

i hope you added this church to the map :)

safety system sounds pretty awesome. one thing though, should say, one of your team fall victim to the z's, while out on a raid, say; what happens if they turn up on site wearing the rfid tag? all the gates open? i realise rfid's have to be pretty close to the scanner, and in a horde situation (s)he might not get that close. but still, its a though you might not have considered.

that said i'd rather have a turret gun system based on rfid's than thermal sensors: the recently-zombified may still be warm enough to be ignored, although on the other hand it won't shoot friendly survivors [of which, as this board has proven, there will be many]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭X AcT X EviL

Sounds like a pretty fool-proof plan to me, although you could encounter problems with your gun turret in the possible case that the gun jams and must be repaired. Also as Kromdar suggested, what if a person who is with you gets zombified, as they will still have their rfid tag on, thus allowing them to get inside. Also be careful as to where you acquire your water supplies for showering and such, as the water could easily become infected should the zombie virus come in the form of an airborne virus or if a zombie falls into the water as it would release bodily fluid into the water.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭davej

You seem to have planned well for any zombie attack, but if the movies have taught me anything it is that the main problem will be from within. That is one of the key messages of Romero's movies. When people are under stressful situations they can behave irrationally. Even your closest, most trusted buddies might change their personalities and turn into psychos. A lot of the times it's the people who end up killing each other and the zombies just clean up at the end..

davej

• Registered Users Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Nice plan, If I am there can I trade my 100g of crisps for smokes or liquor?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 Alex-Face

Wow great feedback :)

1stly the RFID problem will have to be addressed. Sadly if ANYONE decided to turn psycho they would be put into an isolated part of the facility (not a prison, just isolated from the main group, they would have access to DVDs, computers, Television, food and drinks and showers just in an isolated part of the church to ensure the safty of others. If their psychosis persists they will have to be put under anaesthetic and then a chemical coma until we have resources to deal with them.

2nd, There would be many gun turrets. None of which are overly difficult to make with a bit of engineering skills, welding and electrical skills. The heat issue will need to be address, although I need to find the EXACT range for RFID tags aswell as develop a secondary precaution. I know body heat is not enough to go on alone.

One solution is to have the RFID tags only ID the person in question and whoever is at the command center can then interface with them through live video feed/intercom such as what are in apartment complexes. 24/7 through shifts people would man the command station. It would be manned by three people. One person on survailance and detection using whatever we can get our hands on, CCTV, Motion sensors, Heat sensors, Inertia sensors on the railings and windows, gates etc. Another person on radio analysis to keep communications with other communities that are around because being able to communicate between fortresses would give us all a better idea of the bigger picture and situations around Ireland/Dublin. The other person would be working between the too as you can imagine both jobs need to be high alert and you could use the extra hand.

Interms of the cargo barricades to prevent any zombies from scaling them (such as ''I am Legend'' style zombies) the would be stacked in such a way to create an overhang and also be 3-4 crates high, all trees, lamposts or any uneccisary large poles or climbing aides would be removed or greased down. The cargo crates would also be greased down making scaling them the little bit more difficult. They would again, also be electrified and using the Faraday's Cage idea, anyone inside the crates working on or using the fire points or gun turrets would be insulated :)

Have a look at the church actually. Its quite huge and would be perfect if fortified properly.

Church_Picture02.jpg

615651_0dd1c95b.jpg

a_IMG_church-aisle.gif

So you can see why it is a prime choice.

Plus there is a community center beside it which can be exanded onto.

There is also a cul de sac beside that (my parents live there) which could be barricaded off in time with enough people and used for expanding living quaters. Although more people would be required to operate bulldozers, and other demolition equipment for taking down walls to make room for crates.

Also need someway to lift them, hmmm. I know you need pretty big cranes :\.

Anyone who has been bitten by a zombie will be brought back for quarenteen. They will be under surveilance and offered food and water in an isolation chamber. They will be under the gaze of our now famous gun turrets which will obliterate them as soon as they go Zombie. I do feel a bit sad when I think of my fiancee being in that position, but I would never allow her to go out on the front line. I wouldn't be able to loose her and wouldn't put her at risk.
    Anyways, enough of that. I have posted on the Zombie survivor map Gmap with teh location and planned area of our site.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭SmileyPaul

Alex-Face wrote: »
    Anyone who has been bitten by a zombie will be brought back for quarenteen. They will be under surveilance and offered food and water in an isolation chamber. They will be under the gaze of our now famous gun turrets which will obliterate them as soon as they go Zombie. I do feel a bit sad when I think of my fiancee being in that position, but I would never allow her to go out on the front line. I wouldn't be able to loose her and wouldn't put her at risk.
    Anyways, enough of that. I have posted on the Zombie survivor map Gmap with teh location and planned area of our site.

and there's your down fall, this means that you'll have to let every person have one person that isn't allowed go onto the "frontline" halving your force. you my friend have a fatal flaw of love. others will use it just to use it

St. Gabriels Santcuary, The Irish 1st Z-Day Resistance

So far I have a list of 13 People who are permited residence in Sanctuary.

That means there are 107 more places.

Required

• Doctors; Surgeons, Pharmacists, Nurses
    • Teachers; Professors of English/Math/Psychology prefarbly
    • Engineers; Mechanics, Electricians, Carpenters, Plumbers
    • Sport Personel; Football, Rugby, Basketball (Just for keeping the community active and reasonably healthy)
    • Martial Personel; Boxers, ExMilitary, Gardai/ExGardai, Karate Ka, Ju Jitsu, Wing Chun, Kung Fu, Tai Chi.
    • Therapists; Psychologists, Councelers
    • IT Specialists; Radio Enthusiasts, IT Security Personel, Programmers, Hardware specialists

If you fit into any of those profiles with atleast 10 years experience in any you will be high priority for entry. Anyone less that 10 years experience will be higher priority than people without those skills. If you have any skills you feel useful or needed that aren't covered in the above then let me know.

I would like to have an idea of what we would need.

This is quite fun :D

St. Gabriels Santcuary, The Irish 1st Z-Day Resistance

So far I have a list of 13 People who are permited residence in Sanctuary.

That means there are 107 more places.

Required

• Doctors; Surgeons, Pharmacists, Nurses
    • Teachers; Professors of English/Math/Psychology prefarbly
    • Engineers; Mechanics, Electricians, Carpenters, Plumbers
    • Sport Personel; Football, Rugby, Basketball (Just for keeping the community active and reasonably healthy)
    • Martial Personel; Boxers, ExMilitary, Gardai/ExGardai, Karate Ka, Ju Jitsu, Wing Chun, Kung Fu, Tai Chi.
    • Therapists; Psychologists, Councelers
    • IT Specialists; Radio Enthusiasts, IT Security Personel, Programmers, Hardware specialists

If you fit into any of those profiles with atleast 10 years experience in any you will be high priority for entry. Anyone less that 10 years experience will be higher priority than people without those skills. If you have any skills you feel useful or needed that aren't covered in the above then let me know.

I would like to have an idea of what we would need.

This is quite fun :D

10 years? meaning out of college 10 years? meaning in their 30's, reduce it or you'll lose morale, gotta think everything mental :)

other wise your really well planned :)

SmileyPaul wrote: »
    and there's your down fall, this means that you'll have to let every person have one person that isn't allowed go onto the "frontline" halving your force. you my friend have a fatal flaw of love. others will use it just to use it

She would be useless on the front line. She has no real combat expertise and would be a liability. However as part of a raiding team and other tasks would be delegated. Nobody would be exempt from being outside. Just the idea would be to put our strongest into teh combat force.

During raids you need atleast the following:

• Driver
    • Navigator
    • 7-8 Armed Assault Team (AAT)
    • 5-6 Raiders
    • 10-12 Scouts who are paired with a raider/AAT group.

Jade would be in the Raider group.

So while she would be indanger and at risk, she wouldn't be fighting face to face with zombies.

I have seen enough horror movies to know that if you put love first over survival then death ensues :)

10 years? meaning out of college 10 years? meaning in their 30's, reduce it or you'll lose morale, gotta think everything mental :)

other wise your really well planned :)

I was afraid people would think that, no 10 years in anysense. Once you are confident that you have that experience. For example I have 12 years experience with IT and I'm 19. My mam was a Manager of IT so I grew up with that influence :)

And I know myself, that personal experience can outweigh professional tutoring in some cases. Thats the difference between practical knowledge and theoretical knowledge :)

Thanks though Paul.

Do you feel you have any skills needed by the Sanctuary?

I'm positive I have left a lot out.

I love thinking of things like this, just all the little bits and pieces and details of it can be so entertaining to come up with and banter about :)

I was afraid people would think that, no 10 years in anysense. Once you are confident that you have that experience. For example I have 12 years experience with IT and I'm 19.
    And I know myself, that personal experience can outweigh professional tutoring in some cases. Thats the difference between practical knowledge and theoretical knowledge :)

1. relevant experience aside, someone who has prepared for such an eventuality will be relatively more calm than someone who has not, hence doubling their efficiency. anyone from the boards zombie team is welocme in any plan i have, and would be more welcomed regardless of skill due to their preparedness.

2. theoretical knowledge is certainly omissable in a short-term zombie outbreak, however, in the need to rebuild society a larger understanding of academia is needed to construct some of the more complex parts of society, from infrastructure to economics to large-scale engineering. just don't dismiss them!

3. i'm sure you seem intent on recruiting for your sanctuary, however don't forget about our 'dublin city survival plan'! a lot of the boards members will be holding their own turf or rendezvousing at the trinity/museum bases, and certainly your presence at the docks will be key, just don't assume you have the best plan!

also, welcome to the Boards last best hope for mankind!

I was afraid people would think that, no 10 years in anysense. Once you are confident that you have that experience. For example I have 12 years experience with IT and I'm 19. My mam was a Manager of IT so I grew up with that influence :)

Thanks though Paul.

I love thinking of things like this, just all the little bits and pieces and details of it can be so entertaining to come up with and banter about :)
    well I've been a member of the red cross for 7 years and have been able to cope with high pressure and shocking circumstances since the age of 12 because of it :)
    also I can emotionally detach myself from people :D
    brown belt in karate (gave up once i started secondary school :P)
    and I've been in the reserve defence forces for the last two years :)
    I'm prepared for the Z's and I might drop in on you once we get trinity, if people are still up for that, I'm with kromdar all boardies are welcome on board due to all being more prepared than normal people

• Registered Users Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

well I've been a member of the red cross for 7 years and have been able to cope with high pressure and shocking circumstances since the age of 12 because of it :)

also I can emotionally detach myself from people :D

brown belt in karate (gave up once i started secondary school :P)

and I've been in the reserve defence forces for the last two years :)

All these things point to one thing.................Zombie Food :p :pac::pac:

OP, You may want to keep some of your plans top secret, word on the street is, when you get yourself and yours set up a violent take over will ensue. Then you will have to bow before your new overlord, (Probably Kromdar):pac:

All these things point to one thing.................Zombie Food :p :pac::pac:

OP, You may want to keep some of your plans top secret, word on the street is, when you get yourself and yours set up a violent take over will ensue. Then you will have to bow before your new overlord, (Probably Kromdar):pac:
    you'll see micky! and dont come to me if you trip and graze your knee! HA!
    :pac: I'll look after ya really... just you'll have to pay me in cigarettes, ooh! bartering will replace currency! i just realisedc that! sorry this is so off topic :P

Well interms of being useful. Nearly everyone has secondary skills that are usefull. I welcome everyone into the Sanctuary but I would prioritise on usefulness until we expand. I am well aware of the prepairdness of everyone here and again you are welcome to the sanctuary but you do understand why prioritising is important.
    I agree with Trinity being a great place for a rendevouz point and will be there with my AAT in hand. I hope to see you all there in good health. I plan to interface with other colonys and even organise trade routes.

Laters,

Hello again Z-Day Boardlings. I have been curious as to know what the situation is. On Z-Day, which will be chaotic, am I right to say we all meet at Trinity College? And where do we go from there. What is the plan?

I would like everyone to post a brief of their plan below:

I will use mine as an example:

Leader Call Sign: iTerrorist [my gamer ID for the last 5 Years]
    Population: *Roughly* 20 to start
    Defences: 1 meter thick stone walls and easily barricaded

Plus in terms of Trinity gathering, how do we know others havn't already been infected and in that case what do we do?

Will anyone have weapons/firearms straight out the gate?

I Will be giving shout outs and recognition to all you guys with plans and confirmed colonies.

Alex-Face

I'm in but you have to refer to the other thread to where people are going because the locations are all over the place, From trinity to the magazine fort to the docklands a lot of people have different agendas. I say we steal the cycling forums "Boardsie" jerseys so we have a way to identify each other when z-day comes. Also I think that the people of the hunting forum could be useful comrades with their guns and such.:D

• Registered Users Posts: 10,523 ✭✭✭✭Nerin

*makes note of where to steal from*

I'm in but you have to refer to the other thread to where people are going because the locations are all over the place, From trinity to the magazine fort to the docklands a lot of people have different agendas. I say we steal the cycling forums "Boardsie" jerseys so we have a way to identify each other when z-day comes. Also I think that the people of the hunting forum could be useful comrades with their guns and such.:D
    carry around a copy of the zombie survival guide wearing a t-shirt saying "we told you so"? :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 303 ✭✭Brunteaphile

Lads, the best way to do it is to fortify your own living area for the main day of chaos, cos this will be the most chaotic day of rampaging, stealing and various other crimes.
    The best thing to do is stay at home with a shortwave radio, and then from there wait about a week before you start venturing outwards.

My plan for when I have to leave is Phibsboro "shopping center". Get as much supplies from Tesco, Hardware shop, charity shops and the off license (not to drink, for medicinal purposes). Climb the stairs to the top 3 floors of the office block, while smashing the stairs.

...while smashing the stairs.

& pray that the stairs are smashable.

also, we have to face the fact that there will be no firearms, unless anyone around dublin is a farmer, or a gangland member; in which case we just won't know til z day.

from what i can see, theres a lot of north east dublin members here. maybe a stronghold out that direction would be better? not to be prejudiced, but all i can see is donaghmede, clontarf, killester, phibsboro and the inner city. maybe some out terenure direction.

not to pry into where everyone lives, but even go by voting areas: central, north east, north west, south east, south west. theres a lot of members in north east and central.

i mean trinity is ideal, but if theres a better option closer to the majority of us, why not that?
    what say ye?

• Registered Users Posts: 303 ✭✭Brunteaphile

Sure trinity is a good spot.

Although it has more negatives than positives.
    1. It's too big, too many buildings. We'd have to try and get a generator working to keep the CCTV working.
    2. It's smack bang in the city center, would be hard to get to, would need a lot of man+firepower to get in.

I believe the only way to safely use trinity would be if we first took control of Clontarf castle and use the series of tunnels the English made underneath Dublin to get to trinity. And I know these tunnels still exist, I was in the one that goes to trinity (in the Geography building, near main entrance) although they are very tight, dark and wet they still could be used.

• Registered Users Posts: 717 ✭✭✭$kilkenny

what about mount joy prison?
    soldiers and civilians can sleep in a cell and if someone is infected it wont spread
    with some modifications to its walls and gates it might be a good place?
    id set up shelters for civilians around the building or extend it because if your driving oround looking for food and you find some people it would be better to bring them back but keep them in quarinteen for a week or 2
    defence wise i think the self propelled machine gun is good but also have a few mounted Mg's around the building incase you get overrun
    anyone i find alive and not infected is welcome!