Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

only fools and horses

• 06-06-2009 10:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭

hi, i dont know if this is the right place, but i just wanted to talk about only fools and horses, cos i never really like them until now, u see my bf and i moved and we have no channels yet, and he has the box set, and we sat that one day and watched the whole lot of them, AND I LOVE THEM SO MUCH NOW, there are brilliant, just want to think what ye think of them.:):):)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭Wacker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,330 ✭✭✭niallon

In before the move! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭tony1kenobi

It's one of the greats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 Michael.Knight

They were alright until the Racquel character appeared. Became boring after that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

They were alright until the Racquel character appeared. Became boring after that.
    Hell no, some of the best episodes ever after she appeared! Gween gween gwass of home anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 flyingbassman1

My favourite episode was the one where Boycie and Del played poker. "I always knew Del had something up his sleeve" - Grandad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

The scene where Del suggests a book idea for Rodney to write called 'There Is A Rhino Loose In The City' cracks me up every time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,698 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Only fools is one of my favourite shows ever. I have the box set and can quote passages.

Favourite episodes are the chandelier episode, the one with the escaped mental patient when the lads are doing some "fishing" in a storm.

The one where triggers Grandad dies and they try to get rid of his ashes badly.

To hull and back is another good one.

The 150 gold chains episode with the con man.

The Wendy house line episode where Rodney goes it alone.

The Spanish holiday where grandad gets arrested for him gun running during the Spanish civil war in the 1930s

The one where they paint the Chinese take away luminous yellow paint.

There are just so many good episodes and moments from only fools.

monkey9 wrote: »
    The scene where Del suggests a book idea for Rodney to write called 'There Is A Rhino Loose In The City' cracks me up every time.

Ah yeah and mickey Pearce uses the video camera Rodney gets for some extra "cirricular activities" and the rhino that no one knows is missing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭cnoc

Very funny series.

Some of the characters you never or very rarely see are brilliant.

Sunglasses Ron
    Paddy the Greek
    Italian Louis.
    Young touser.
    Alfie flowers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

Friday The 14th ftw.

Rodney: I saw some moment in the trees.
    Del: of course you saw movement in the trees there's a ruddy typhoid blowing out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,486 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Jolly boys outing episode was good. The bus driver pissed before anyone else lol

Always watch that episode and a few others religiously around Xmas time.

Although it is a bit outdated nowadays it's still miles ahead of another UK sitcom. The actors were so natural in there roles, storylines very realistic and really showcased cockney culture

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 Coleman316

It's perfect midday TV to have on in the background when there's people in the house as you can turn away and chat to people but then turn back and watch it without needing to worry about storylines. It's pure genius.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭BrianBoru00

Ahh just watched this clip for the at least the 200th time. . .
    Still cracks me up after 20 years..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Best UK sitcom ever and maybe the best one ever, full stop.

I love the one where Uncle Albert unwittingly eats the dog's pills and winds up in hospital but Del and Rodney decide not to tell him. And then Del at the end: 'Come on boy, come on.' :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,402 ✭✭✭ger664

best ever

"I think were on a winner trig"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 Coleman316

It's mad how the laughter track enhances it though. There was a special when Del got mistaken for a mob boss on holiday and they didn't have a laughter track. It wasn't as good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭johnruns

Coleman316 wrote: »
    It's mad how the laughter track enhances it though. There was a special when Del got mistaken for a mob boss on holiday and they didn't have a laughter track. It wasn't as good.

It was rubbish and is best avoided as it tarnishes all other episodes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,810 ✭✭✭take everything

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    Rodney: I saw some moment in the trees.
    Del: of course you saw movement in the trees there's a ruddy typhoid blowing out there.

David Jason is a special talent. Del boy is an iconic character and he embodied him. The storylines in Only Fools were great and the humour could be so sharp with a lot of humanity. One of the best shows ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,909 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Dave is great in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭SimonTemplar

I agree, an absolute classic.

It had some of the best ending lines ever. Always loved the end of Chain Gang where they catch some swindler who scams people by pretending to have a heart attack. When he is caught by Del and the gang, the guy looks very nervous, and Del says "It looks like you're going to have a heart attack".

However, they absolutely should not have returned for the specials after the series finished with them becoming millionaires. Firstly, the special weren't as funny as the rest of the series. Secondly, the ending of Time on Our Hands was a perfect farewell for the characters who finally got their dream after us as an audience watched for 15 years; and they literally walked off into the sunset. Perfect finish. Also, a thread throughout the series was Rodney wanting to make a successful career for himself, but seeing him as a 50 something man still flogging Del's crap is kinda depressing.

A rewatch is on my to do list, but I don't think I'll watch past Time on Our Hands

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

The nuclear bunker episode my fave

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

I agree, an absolute classic.

It had some of the best ending lines ever. Always loved the end of Chain Gang where they catch some swindler who scams people by pretending to have a heart attack. When he is caught by Del and the gang, the guy looks very nervous, and Del says "It looks like you're going to have a heart attack".

However, they absolutely should not have returned for the specials after the series finished with them becoming millionaires. Firstly, the special weren't as funny as the rest of the series. Secondly, the ending of Time on Our Hands was a perfect farewell for the characters who finally got their dream after us as an audience watched for 15 years; and they literally walked off into the sunset. Perfect finish. Also, a thread throughout the series was Rodney wanting to make a successful career for himself, but seeing him as a 50 something man still flogging Del's crap is kinda depressing.

A rewatch is on my to do list, but I don't think I'll watch past Time on Our Hands

There were no episodes after Time on their hands. No. It ended then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,909 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

I remember when Trigger when to see the faith healer about his back, but he left because guy ahead of him in a wheelchair got up and walked out .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭FanadMan

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Jolly boys outing episode was good. The bus driver pissed before anyone else lol

Been to the theme park (Margate) in JBO. Mt brother and his gf took me there cos they knew I was a fan of the show. Was on the Mary Rose and a few of the others like the Looping Star that was in that ep. Was out for a walk to the end of the pier as well.......I walked in the footprints of stars :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭FR85

The one scene that reduces me to a wreckage is when Cassy has the miscarriage (not funny) but Del and Rodders are in the corridor outside her room and Del spends about 3 minutes explaining why and how Rodney should be strong and supportive and how there is to be no crying and with that Del loses it. It's so funny!!
    It was the same episode that Del sells Michael the hairdryer that turned out to be an electric paint scraper. Think the name of the episode is modern man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,773 ✭✭✭connemara man

Triggers award for long service is brilliant sitting in the café explaining his medal.

Rodney: “So what exactly is the award for?”

Trig: “For saving the Council money. I happened to mention to her one day that I’ve had the same broom for 20 years She was very impressed and said, ‘Have a medal’.” [Pause] “20 years; that’s a long time, Dave.”

Rodney: “Yeah. Well it’s two decades, innit?”

Trig: “I wouldn’t go that far. But it’s a long time.”

Later … he proudly shows them his broom.

Trig: “I’ve maintained it for 20 years. This old broom has had 17 new heads and 14 new handles in its time.”

Sid: “How the hell can it be the same bloody broom then?”

Trig (indignantly): “Well here’s a picture of it. What more proof do you need?”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,832 ✭✭✭✭DvB

Coleman316 wrote: »

That was Miami Twice, for me easily the weakest of the whole show. I'll watch any of the repeats when they're on but give that one a wide berth.

Never liked To Hull & Back either for some reason, whatever way it was filmed it looked different to the other episodes & for that reason I never took to it. The only other one I wont watch back.

So many great episodes though... that & seinfeld easily my two best sitcoms.
    "I will honour Christmas in my heart, and try to keep it all the year" - Charles Dickens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,810 ✭✭✭take everything

Triggers award for long service is brilliant sitting in the café explaining his medal.

Rodney: “So what exactly is the award for?”

Trig: “For saving the Council money. I happened to mention to her one day that I’ve had the same broom for 20 years She was very impressed and said, ‘Have a medal’.” [Pause] “20 years; that’s a long time, Dave.”

Rodney: “Yeah. Well it’s two decades, innit?”

Trig: “I wouldn’t go that far. But it’s a long time.”

Later … he proudly shows them his broom.

Trig: “I’ve maintained it for 20 years. This old broom has had 17 new heads and 14 new handles in its time.”

Sid: “How the hell can it be the same bloody broom then?”

Trig (indignantly): “Well here’s a picture of it. What more proof do you need?”

That's a great example of the jokes in it that make you think. There's a philosophical flavour to a lot of it. The last line by Trigger is priceless. Just reading it makes me laugh. The way he reduces what is a philosophical argument to nothing. Another brilliant character played perfectly.

I love the episode when uncle Albert falls down the cellar and it appears his knickname is the ferret. That's also the episode when they are in the grip of a cold snap and Rodney bought half of peckhams supply of suncream :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭NedLowry

Del Boy singing "Robin Hood" on the boat in To Hull and Back (and the "Septic Isle" speech).

Rodney whispering to the cafe owner Sid about Del's plan to have a vasectomy.
    Sid out loud to the whole cafe; "Del Boy's having a vasectomy!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭ziggyman17

the first 2 seasons are all time classics, The Uncle Albert half hour episodes were a bit hit and miss for me, but the show got back on track when it went to the 50 minute episodes, like another poster said the show finished for me after the 3 episode special, when they finally became millionaires... but for me personally the first 2 seasons are my favourites, love when Del Boy would go off on a funny rant, what always comes to mind is Del justifying to Rodney about why it is good to buy robbed paint from Trigger that was stolen from British Rail, the episode is The Yellow Peril....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

I'm more of a fan of the Grandad period.Went downhill for me when they brought the two girlfriends into it especially Cassandra,she was a right drip.

ziggyman17 wrote: »
    the first 2 seasons are all time classics, The Uncle Albert half hour episodes were a bit hit and miss for me, but the show got back on track when it went to the 50 minute episodes, like another poster said the show finished for me after the 3 episode special, when they finally became millionaires... but for me personally the first 2 seasons are my favourites, love when Del Boy would go off on a funny rant, what always comes to mind is Del justifying to Rodney about why it is good to buy robbed paint from Trigger that was stolen from British Rail, the episode is The Yellow Peril....

i love that scene. David Jason delivers that scene perfectly.

I also loved the lines of Boycie in the adoption episode at the end when the baby not only isn't a boy but a girl but is also black.

When Marlene suggest they say it a "throwback." Oh boy beautiful stuff.