Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

IN&M

• 03-06-2009 5:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭

Anyone holding in&m shares, ifso how do they see company managing its debt and comming to some kind of agreement at june deadline, O,brien quoted to have said Less than 50/50 chance of deal with bondholders and any reports of him paying with his own cash must be comming from people who smoke the weed.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭ranger4

ranger4 wrote: »
    Anyone holding in&m shares, ifso how do they see company managing its debt and comming to some kind of agreement at june deadline, O,brien quoted to have said Less than 50/50 chance of deal with bondholders and any reports of him paying with his own cash must be comming from people who smoke the weed.:eek:

Small upside with sp today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭EyesLeft

Now that's what I'm talking about: 17% up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭ranger4

EyesLeft wrote: »
    Now that's what I'm talking about: 17% up!

News has gone down well, Deal is on the cards, its in bond&shareholders interest, question is now how Long before we see 0.75c-1.00e range, Sept-october this year!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭royaler83

ranger4 wrote: »
    News has gone down well, Deal is on the cards, its in bond&shareholders interest, question is now how Long before we see 0.75c-1.00e range, Sept-october this year!!:D

0.75c-1.00e seems a bit excessive. If indeed a deal is reached, i'd be thinking a bit more like 40c-50c at best come sept.

Latest predicted operating profits are based on "no further deterioration in advertising conditions", no guarantee of that i'm afraid.

Hope your right and i'm wrong thou:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭rugbyman

Either of ye being right will do me.

I GAMBLED a grand on these two months ago. When they rose to 1392 ,i decided to sell at 1400, what an ass i was., to wait. Not even greed ,stupidity.

back to par and again up to sub 1300 and failed to sell.

So , roll on either of you being right.

regards, Rugbyman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭royaler83

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

rugbyman wrote: »
    Either of ye being right will do me.

I GAMBLED a grand on these two months ago. When they rose to 1392 ,i decided to sell at 1400, what an ass i was., to wait. Not even greed ,stupidity.

back to par and again up to sub 1300 and failed to sell.

So , roll on either of you being right.

regards, Rugbyman

I'm jealous of ya.... at least you're putting your money where your mouth is.

I remember reading this in market wizards... http://dinosaurtrader.blogspot.com/2007/04/turkey-trap.html

Quite pertinent, and probably a hell of a lot easier if you don't have actual money in the game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭rugbyman

Yes HANLEY, that guy with the turkeys and I could be the one person, story of my life.

they are now back worth 1400 approx. perhaps i will sell my original stake and let the profit run.

regards, Rugbyman

• Closed Accounts Posts: 562 ✭✭✭Comordha

I bought in quite low and am pleased with the way this has been going. I was considering topping up further a few weeks ago when O'Brien put the refinancing at 50/50. Still reluctant to top up further for now but will be keeping a very watchful eye on this one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Lord Jester

So it looks like it is down to the wire between IN&M and Bond Holders ... what the papers are calling Financial Chicken. Share price in Dublin dropped yesterday to 20c and today (briefly) to 17c before closing at 19c.

My Dad told me never to invest in a Company where the O'Reillys were involved but I'm tempted. The upside could see the share price reach 35c as it did only a few short weeks ago. Of course bad news could see it go to 9c or worse the collapse of the company.

Hmmm what to do. I'm willing to take a hit but the reward for the risk has got to be decent - enought to buy a decent motor as my own on is banjaxed :D

So a quick question to the knowledgeable out there. If all parties reach agreement but part of that agreement is a €60million rights issue - what will that do to the share price?

LJ

Rights issue would probably deflate share price but at same time agreement on the debt position would probably lead to some buying so a double edged sword really. I would remind you that this is a HIGH risk stock, it doesn't get much riskier than this (Except for Anglo).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭JTMan

Agreed that this is a very high risk stock.

According to The Sunday Business Post, The Times and The Guardian - Deloitte are on stand by for IN&M to go into examinership.

If this happens, equity holders will get zero.
    If they reach an agreement with bond holders for the 200 million EUR, then there will be short time stock upside but then the focus will move to the further 500 million EUR due to be paid in November !!!

Personally, I think it is a case of when and not if IN&M goes into examinership.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Lord Jester

Darn It! Ye guys are right of course but I nearly had myself convinved to go 'all in' with money I was prepared to loose in order to collect big.

I still think O'Reilly (Gavin) and O'Brien are playing out a good cop/bad cop routine to frighten the bond holders into submission and my hunch is a deal will be struck. So potentially some upside to the share price but the risk is too great me thinks :(. And then there is the matter (as mentioned) of their next debt payment - €500million. Oh dear.

They all just took the dividends in the good times and piled on the debt and now IN&M is another Waterford. Doh!

Thanks, LJ

I just can't see the newspaper industry as a whole recovering for a very long time. And unlike other industries there's not much that can be done to increase revenues. Still though I do hope they get out of this mess as I don't like seeing any Irish success stories going to the wall.

This recession has really brought on a whole new trading environment. Anybody wishing to learn about trading and the many complexities attached to it now have themselves a very good opportunity.