Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why do they call that politician...

• 02-06-2009 09:05PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭

....Pat "the cope" Gallagher.

What an arse. Does he think of himself as so well known in his area that he can permanently fix that extra bit to his name?

I bet you he is either a publican, a Gaa enthusiast, a former teacher or a farmer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

What a mucksavage. And what the **** is a "cope"?

Presume he doesn't even have the dignity to get rid of it while running in the European election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

a publican, a Gaa enthusiast, a former teacher or a farmer.

That's the entire Irish population

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

It isn't unusual.
    Remember in some areas you have many families with the same surname.

For example, if you're from Tipperary there's a good chance your surname is Ryan or Gleeson.
    So to add something to your name doesn't suprise me at all
    And with no house numbers your post office needs something to find distinguish ye all

You're spot on with your list of jobs though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭like clockwork!

Dudess wrote: »

Presume he doesn't even have the dignity to get rid of it while running in the European election.

Yeah. I'm cringing in my seat just thinking of him sitting amongst all those civilised europeans! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

I asked a guy that a few days ago, apparently back in his father's time, there w as a co-operative movement organised in Donegal and like any true F F'er, he added co-op or coop to his name to remind everyone he was claiming all the credit for the co-op. So in the proud tradition of political dynasties , junior decided it was important to remind the good people of the area what his daddy might have done in a time long long ago.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭ayapatrick

define a mucksavage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

Just asked my mum..she's from donegal.
    He's called that because he used to run the local co-op.
    They tend to pronounce it 'cope'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Dumb

I think he or his father owned a store called the co-operative or something like that in Gweedore or wherever the F¦_¦CK he is from.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭like clockwork!

galwayrush wrote: »
    I asked a guy that a few days ago, apparently back in his father's time, there w as a co-operative movement organised in Donegal and like any true F F'er, he added co-op or coop to his name to remind everyone he was claiming all the credit for the co-op. So in the proud tradition of political dynasties , junior decided it was important to remind the good people of the area what his daddy might have done in a time long long ago.;)

Arghh. I hate politicians in this country so so much, arghh...!!!

ayapatrick wrote: »
    define a mucksavage?
    Anyone at all from the country.

ayapatrick wrote: »
    define a mucksavage?

David ""Muck Savage"!

Nah, I was only being facetious. My definition of a mucksavage is someone who is an uber bogger, like Jackie Healy-Rae - NOT just anyone from the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

There are a few local candidates in North Cork with similar nicknames. There's Marie "The Shamrock" Murphy (FF) in Kanturk and Johnny "Bottles" Griffin (IND) in Mallow. God bless culchies! :D

Yeah there's a Johnny "Porridge" O'Connor down in Kerry. Classy.

What about Dessie "Burned his bollix" Larkin!!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dessie_Larkin#Sues_FAI

...Also in Donegal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭CommieBaz

Fellow Mallonian Knife-WREEENCH beat me to the punch by posting the good ol' boy (and girl) from Mallow!

But yes, the downright odd nicknames of Irish politicians wind me up. Especially nonsensical ones like "Bottles".....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,259 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

And Bertie Amnesia Ahern.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

Any politician that uses a nickname on their poster automatically makes me put them on my "Utter Gob****e" list.

Cope the dope tops it presently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

....Pat "the cope" Gallagher.

What an arse. Does he think of himself as so well known in his area that he can permanently fix that extra bit to his name?

I bet you he is either a publican, a Gaa enthusiast, a former teacher or a farmer.

Nah, fishing is his background.

It refers to the local Co-operative movement, his father was a founder of it.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

David 'takes it in the ass' Norris is my favourite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭tech77

Has he done time or something?
    Going after crucial the ex-con vote i take it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

Its because he "copes" with anything thrown at him,thats why he is such a good politician.:pac:

Its the Co-op thing,and yes he is that well known that he can keep that in his name.

Ahh,aul Dessie "lopsy" Larkin!My CSPE project in JC was him giving us a talk,while all the other classes got to go to mountjoy for a tour.He lost my vote on that day forever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,997 ✭✭✭Degag

Lol he's my local councilor!