Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Man Nicks Ferry

• 02-06-2009 9:03pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭

http://www.rte.ie/news/2009/0602/ferry.html
    A man is in custody in Co Donegal after the Arranmore Island fast ferry was stolen this morning.

The ferry was taken from Burtonport and later recovered near Keadue Beach.

The Arranmore Lifeboat boarding dingy was also damaged in the incident when it collided with the ferry.

A forensic and technical examination will be carried out to assess the extent of the damage to the ferry.

Sounds like a good all-nighter on the razz :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Don't ferries go like ten miles an hour? He couldn't have been hard to catch

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

When I read the thread title I assumed he had stolen the QE2, now that would be impressive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭RATM

When I read the thread title I assumed he had stolen the QE2, now that would be impressive.

Not quite as impressive as if he had of nicked the Luisitania :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭landydef

ferry funny

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

I proper lol'd at the thread title :pac:
    landydef wrote: »
    ferry funny

That was terrible..

It gets better, turns out he started ramming the dinghy that was chansing him before he was apprehended by a group of pesky teenagers. I wonder what Scooby and Scrappy made of the incident?
    Mr Boyle's business partner, Martin Gallagher, and two members of the Arranmore lifeboat crew boarded a dinghy and set off after the missing ferry.

"They got to within about 500 yards of the Realt na Maidne and whoever was on board must have spotted them then for he just put the foot down and the ferry disappeared off behind a peninsula," said Louise.

Onlookers then watched as the dinghy gained on the ferry.

"He rammed the pursuing dinghy and then hit a rock while going in and out of rocks before beaching the ferry and making a run for it. But he was caught by some local boys who held him until the gardai arrived," explained Mr Boyle.

A man in his thirties was arrested at the scene and gardai at Glenties have confirmed that a file will be sent to the Director of Public Prosecutions.

The ferry has been damaged and will be out of commission for some time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

Onlookers then watched as the dinghy gained on the ferry.

One ticket to Arranmore via the dinghy please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

"Look! He's very slowly getting away!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭Dardania

Is this a new Father Ted episode, based on Speed 2? I can see the priests now having a good pray on a pedal boat alongside...

Ha! I remember getting that ferry over to the island for the gaelteacht a few times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Grand Thief Maritime?

/gets coat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭Red_Marauder

How did he think this was going to turn out? Sipping Pina Coladas on an East Maui beach with a Bond girl giving him head, talking about the time he outwitted the Arranmore ferryman?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Grand Thief Maritime?

/gets coat

Gran Theft Auto - The Whest.

Maybe yer man is a fan of Somali pirates but was just too pissed to hang around for a handsome ransom

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I thought it was Brian Ferry whom was nicked. :pac:
    I'm having yet another slow day. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Biggins wrote: »
    I thought it was Brian Ferry whom was nicked. :pac:
    I'm having yet another slow day. :(

Thought it was something more like this myself:

Man Nicks Ferry

Johnson Murphy-Oldham, a barber from London's fashionable Soho district, was charged with attempted murder yesterday after allegeding slicing Roxy Music's Bryan Ferry's neck while giving him a hot towel shave.

In his defence, Murphy-Oldham said "Ah c'mon I only nicked him."

Bryan Ferry was unavailable for comment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭hatetherain!

omg! this would only happen in Ireland!!! its hilarious!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

not quite your stereotypical slow moving water craft, this "ferry"
    This boat is a RIB and powered by twin Yamaha ME422 High Output Diesel Sterndrives (275hp), giving a top speed of around 38 knots, cruising around 30 knots. The craft is capable of completing the three mile journey from Burtonport to Arranmore in just over five minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

"You've made an honest mistake officer. My ferry just looks a lot like that one, easy mistake"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 427 ✭✭sneakerfreak

Shes a serious piece of equipment,its not the first time anything like this has happened,Donegal Gaeltacht has always stuff like this goin on,2 lads took a speedbpoat to Tory one time at 4 in the morn steamin,she ran out of petrol a mile off Tory,one lad jumped in and swim to shore to get help,lucky to be alive,the water off Tory is treacherous.

Poitín with a few Es and stealing curraghs was a favourite of ours when teens,until you found out the curragh had been getting fixed up and was actually slowly takin on water.Few narrow escapes lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

What was going to do with it? Sail it to Cuba go to a ferry chopshop? I swear there is one born every minute.