Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Random acts of kindness

• 02-06-2009 8:46pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭

Too many depressing and terrible news stories and recession talk in AH these days.

So why not a thread of who you helped today. Or who you helped?

To start anyway, our car battery is dodgy and it'll be replaced soon. Anyway, car wouldn't start so I asked a guy in a car park to park by me and let me just the leads to get a jump start.
    Now I could have done some damage if I messed it you, so fair play sir, you helped me out and gave up a few minutes of your day for nothing more then a thank you.

Anyone got some good experiences today :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Some guy punched me in the face when I asked him the time, then I saw him kick a puppy.

It was a pretty good day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,963 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Train station, Longford

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 502 ✭✭✭itsallaboutme!!

weird i had the exact opposite happen to a friend of mine today!!car battery dead when returned to car asked guy at security hut to give a push he refused!!he then informs that he has jump leads but would not give a lend of them!!!!

thanks for that mate!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

One of my mates found 2 fifty euro notes on the ground in Galway last saturday and bought me lots of beer out of it.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,220 ✭✭✭✭Loopy

Some creep at the fuel station next door to where I work filled up his van with petrol instead of diesel and asked us to empty his tank, gave him a price and he said fcuk off, Ill do it myself and he stormed out cursing and shouting.

He then proceeds to empty fuel tank at side of the road 5 feet away from fuel station. My act of kindness was to ring the fire brigade and report him and give his reg, they then had to come down and clear it up. He should get a bill of about €600, they tell me. Deserves it imo, complete disregard for anyone else's safety around him.

GALWAYRUSH YOU FOUND MY MONEY

Give it back, I need to pay my loan shark

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

phasers wrote: »
    GALWAYRUSH YOU FOUND MY MONEY

Give it back, I need to pay my loan shark

Mate found it,he's a big fecker, don't worry i'll get him to sort out your loan shark.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

When my car needed pushing from my driveway (really steep) down and onto a car trailer, 4 lads up the road who were working on the building up there (after my dad asked would they mind giving a hand) did, all pushed n steered and got it on the trailer (all 6 of us pushing). I thought twas really nice of them.
    Then around the corner the car jutted forward so we had to move it back and so we stopped and whilst trying to move it back a chap in his garden in his car offered a hand, along with the woman at the door (offered to get her husband out to help).

Just thought twas really nice that so many people are kind out there.
    (this was a couple of months ago)

galwayrush wrote: »
    Mate found it,he's a big fecker, don't worry i'll get him to sort out your loan shark.;)

Tell him to be careful, he's pretty tough.

And he has a reverse scuba outfit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Loopy wrote: »
    He then proceeds to empty fuel tank at side of the road 5 feet away from fuel station. My act of kindness was to ring the fire brigade and report him and give his reg, they then had to come down and clear it up. He should get a bill of about €600, they tell me. Deserves it imo, complete disregard for anyone else's safety around him.

Please tell me he did this down a drain.
    Surely nobody would spill diesel on the road.
    As a biker ( well moped :o) I know how treacherous fuel on the road can be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭shenanigans1982

Parked the car outside the garden instead of in it to stop the neighbour from blocking up the gate.

It made me feel good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,220 ✭✭✭✭Loopy

mikemac wrote: »
    Please tell me he did this down a drain.
    Surely nobody would spill diesel on the road.
    As a biker ( well moped :o) I know how treacherous fuel on the road can be

Nope.
    Side of the road - no drains near him.
    Muppet.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Random guy gave me and my frined a lift from the bus stop cos he happened to be going to the same match as us.

Sure he could've been a rapist, but it worked out good in the end.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

Random guy gave me and my frined a lift from the bus stop cos he happened to be going to the same match as us.

Sure he could've been a rapist, but it worked out good in the end.

you had a threesome after the game?

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

you had a threesome after the game?
    Actually he had his son in the car aswell

And continuing the joke any further on that note is going too far.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭bigeasyeah

I saw the phrase 'practice random acts of kindness' on a wall.It was too high to vomit on so tomo Im heading back and bringing a ladder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭Red_Marauder

This is recently, not today.. but,

A friend and I were in Venice, where after a few jars (bottles of wine) street markings and maps mean even less than usual in that city. We couldn't find our way back to the hotel, and at 4am decided just to camp out by a canal. Anyway a stranger came along who was working along the street where we were, and walked us back the whole way. It was at least twenty minutes walking, totally out of his way, but very appreciated.

On a related note, it's always a nice idea to give away your guide book complete with highlighted and underlined notes when you're leaving from the airport at the end of your holiday, especially to travellers of the same age/ type as yourself!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,104 ✭✭✭easyeason3

I decided not to headbutt the girl behind the deli counter even though I asked her about five times for a medium tub of coleslaw. If she was a bit hard of hearing I wouldn't mind. But the fact that she is a lazy b!tch with an attitude bothered me a good bit.
    So, I kept asking for my coleslaw. She kept pretending she couldn't remember what I asked for, she has a memory like a goldfish apparently. Anyway, the sun was shining at the time, I didn't want to spend a few hours in the cop shop making a statement & she got to finish her shift with her nose in tact.
    It worked out really well for the two of us.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

i gave a homeless person my last potato

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭Supermanscat

I was at the ATM the other day and an old lady asked me to check her balance............so i pushed her over:pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,660 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

There's a guy who hogs the overtaking lane in an Audi A2 with that phrase on a bumper sticker. The ironing is delicious.
    As a biker ( well moped :o)

I think the technical term for a man on a moped is : "homosexual".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭steof1984

I was queuing up at the Ice Cream van on Sunday (btw why advertise Jelly Tubs if you don’t fcuking sell them). There was this little girl about 7 who wanted a slush puppy but didn’t have enough money, the ice-cream man took her money and gave her a packet of skips instead and told her to move on.

The poor little kid looked lost and about to cry so I took the skips from her and gave them back to him and got her money back

I asked her what she wanted and she pointed to the slushie machine. So I told the ice cream man she didn’t want skips and wanted a slush puppy and that id pay the difference. So he gave her the slush puppy and off she skipped slush puppy in hand. As I walked off I realised . . . . .

The little fcuker walked off with the slush puppy and her money and I had to pay the whole amount, but I felt good for the rest of the day, even if I was scammed by a 7 yr old evil genius

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

Train station, Longford

Its probably the first time he's ever seen another human being

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

Actually he had his son in the car aswell

And continuing the joke any further on that note is going too far.

One car, three loads and a blank

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Slow Motion

I've told this one before but what the hell it's a good story.

A while back I was upstairs on the bus on the way to work, as we reached the last stop their was a little old lady in front of me really struggling to get down the stairs. So I deciding the decent thing to do was to help I placed my hand squarely between her sholderblades and gave a firm shove! The look on her face as I stepped over her at the bottom of the stairs was worth all the hassle!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭az2wp0sye65487

Too many depressing and terrible news stories and recession talk in AH these days.

So why not a thread of who you helped today. Or who you helped?

To start anyway, our car battery is dodgy and it'll be replaced soon. Anyway, car wouldn't start so I asked a guy in a car park to park by me and let me just the leads to get a jump start.
    Now I could have done some damage if I messed it you, so fair play sir, you helped me out and gave up a few minutes of your day for nothing more then a thank you.

Anyone got some good experiences today :)
    weird i had the exact opposite happen to a friend of mine today!!car battery dead when returned to car asked guy at security hut to give a push he refused!!he then informs that he has jump leads but would not give a lend of them!!!!

thanks for that mate!!!!!!
    star-pants wrote: »
    When my car needed pushing from my driveway (really steep) down and onto a car trailer, 4 lads up the road who were working on the building up there (after my dad asked would they mind giving a hand) did, all pushed n steered and got it on the trailer (all 6 of us pushing). I thought twas really nice of them.
    Then around the corner the car jutted forward so we had to move it back and so we stopped and whilst trying to move it back a chap in his garden in his car offered a hand, along with the woman at the door (offered to get her husband out to help).

Just thought twas really nice that so many people are kind out there.
    (this was a couple of months ago)

These stories got my mind wandering. Something along those lines happened to me a few months back.... actually it was almost a year ago now!

I was parked in the West End Retail Park's carpark in Blanchardstown. When I came back to the car the battery was almost dead, car wouldn't start. I got my jump leads out of the boot, popped and lifted the bonnet. Now all I needed was to find a decent soul to help me....

I'm standing there with the bonnet up, and jump leads in hand, and everyone going back to their cars was trying their best to ignore me. After a minute I started approaching people and saying something along the lines of: "Excuse me, sorry to bother you, but my battery is dead... Could I get a jump start?"

At least 20 people ignored me before one guy agreed to help me. Some people looked away and just walked by! One woman gave me a filthy look, as if I'd just exposed myself to her! She practically ran for her car! Another bloke said "No English" and kept walking... I think it's fairly obvious what I was looking for...

Anyway, to the foreign lad who helped me out, thanks again!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭az2wp0sye65487

Oh yeah, there's another one where I helped someone the other day.

Now, normally I despise children..... But the other evening I heard a lot of banging outside the house. I went to see what happening, and the young lad next door was in his front garden with the bike he'd just bought out of his confirmation money... the back metal mudguard was all twisted & bent, and catching in his wheel.

The poor fella was whacking it with a hammer to try to take it off... he was getting nowhere, but just making noise.

So I took the hammer from him and knocked him out with it and went and got a screw-driver and helped him take it off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

Anyway, to the foreign lad who helped me out, thanks again!

Recently was washing my car in the garage and had sprayed a grease/grime remover over my engine. Washed it off (first time doing this) and used bit too much water, inside of my spark connectors got wet (didn't know this at time).

So I opened the hood and stood idly by my car waiting for the sun to dry it out.

Was there for about 40 minutes with plenty of people passing me by, totally ignoring me and avoiding my gaze like the above poster.

Apart from two foreign lads on to seperate occassions who came over just to see if they could offer a hand in any way, fair play to them.

Take that xenophobic AHer's !

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

ah bloody hell. i got forced to hand over my last rolo.