Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Carney leaves Munster

• 02-06-2009 2:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,686 ✭✭✭EdgarAllenPoo

Taken from planet-rugby.com;
    Munster winger Brian Carney has decided to leave rugby union and return to the league code after signing for Warrington Wolves.

The Irish finisher, who is soon to turn 33-years-old, spent the last two years at the Magners League outfit but found first-team starts ahead of Ian Dowling and Doug Howlett hard to come by.

"I'm really looking forward to a new challenge with Warrington and hope I can add something to their game," he said.

"I'd like to thank the players and everyone involved in Munster for their time and efforts. I enjoyed my time there."

Carney will officially depart the province when his contract with the Irish Rugby Union expires at the end of the month

To be honest I'm surprised he hasn't made the move before now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

GDM wrote: »
    Taken from planet-rugby.com;

To be honest I'm surprised he hasn't made the move before now.

Nah me either i suggested he was going back to League during the thread about the 10 or so players Munster are releasing this year, surprised it's Warrignton though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

Why didn't they ever play Carney?

More like he never wanted to play.

Stev_o wrote: »
    More like he never wanted to play.

Yeah, heard about the last game of the season...

But like, why not? Clearly a great player, what's the deal with the whole not playing lark? Can't have been too cheap...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Injured at the start of the season but after that I don't know why they never played him.

He was doing a lot of rugby league for TV this season.

Yeah, heard about the last game of the season...

But like, why not? Clearly a great player, what's the deal with the whole not playing lark? Can't have been too cheap...

If he wanted to play rugby and impress he could of continued playing with Garryowen or whatever club he was affiliated once in Munster be he didn't. He'll go back to what he is best at and that's league.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Ridiculous to think he made the RWC07 squad! (and looking back there's a few more)

zAbbo wrote: »
    Ridiculous to think he made the RWC07 holiday! (and looking back there's a few more)

Fixed

Brian Carney is interviewed on the Munster View.

http://www.munsterrugby.ie/

Size of Carneys arms jaysus

9uspid.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,023 ✭✭✭Tim Robbins

Stev_o wrote: »
    If he wanted to play rugby and impress he could of continued playing with Garryowen or whatever club he was affiliated once in Munster be he didn't. He'll go back to what he is best at and that's league.
    I think he was offiliated to one of the Cork clubs, Dolphin if memory is correct. But I agree with you. Absolutely shocking waste of money on Carney. He had potential to be a reasonable decent player, Rugby league wingers tend to, and he just never played.

Reminds me a bit of Graham Geraty, couldn't even get in the bucc's 1st team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭toomevara

An RL legend, great to see him back where he belongs and is appreciated..looking forward to catching him play proper rugby next season. More of this please Brian, just less at Headingley thanks....

toomevara wrote: »
    An RL legend, great to see him back where he belongs and is appreciated..looking forward to catching him play proper rugby next season. More of this please Brian, just less at Headingley thanks....

His second was even better:p

Good.

Hopefully he can get back to playing some top class league,Munster really ****ed him around imo.How the hell did they play Dowling ahaed of him is beyond me.
    Rumour had it he was unfit but Warrington have had no problem with him.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭Nemesis

Man what a forward pass in that first try.

The crowd really make plenty of noise at league matches.

Nemesis wrote: »

The crowd really make plenty of noise at league matches.

Nuthin' like it, much more adversarial than union...a sort of a halfway house between football and RU...generally much more raucous, but without the nasty side of soccer (generally), though there are things that would shock the average union supporter but are completely acceptable , indeed expected in League...i.e. you ALWAYS boo the opposing team on and off the pitch, you ALWAYS boo the opposition kicker and you ALWAYS have a number of amusingly insulting ditties about the opposing team/town and key players..all in good spirit though....

Who'd be bigger, Leeds Carnegie or the (Tykes?) Rugby league lads?

League's the only game in town in Leeds. Union's not rated at all. Your average Leeds RU attendance is around 1-2000 max, and those folk don't tend to come from Leeds proper (its very much an upper middle class pursuit in Yorkshire). Its 15,000+ for the Rhinos (best supported rugby team in either code in the UK based on attendances). Although, Neil back's done wonders with the union team this year and they'll be back in the GP next season...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭Serenity Now!

League's the only game in town in Leeds. Union's not rated at all. Your average Leeds RU attendance is around 1-2000 max, and those folk don't tend to come from Leeds proper (its very much an upper middle class pursuit in Yorkshire). Its 15,000+ for the Rhinos (best supported rugby team in either code in the UK based on attendances). Although, Neil back's done wonders with the union team this year and they'll be back in the GP next season...
    Super League bores the head off me, personally. Have no interest in any of the teams in it even with Aussie/Islander retirees/fringe players present. The panel and commentary team on Sky (the two alkies, Eddie and Stevo) are simply unbearable. I feel sorry for Phil Clarke and Big Bad Bazza suffering those two idiots weekly. At least I can change the channel lol
    I'd even prefer listening to Laurie Daley on NRL on Fox drone on in his chippy usual way.

Super League bores the head off me, personally.

Each to his own serenity, but I cant agree...some of the rugby this season has been the best in years. Did you watch the challenge cup games last weekend? Great rugby from all the SL teams. I love the NRL too and watch it whenever setanta deign to show us a game , but hand on heart I prefer the SL, it faster and more attack based...less eejitry around the tackle.

Have no interest in any of the teams in it even with Aussie/Islander retirees/fringe players present.

Ah now!! some of the stuff Saints. KR , Wigan and Leeds have been playing this year has been great. Pick one of these guys and follow them for the rest of the season and I guarantee you won't be disappointed. Although I've got to say the standard in the championship this year is absolutely amazing with teams like featherstone, Halifax, whitehaven, Widnes,and fantastically, Toulouse, playing some brilliant rugby. If we can get another French team in the SL.....
    . I feel sorry for Phil Clarke and Big Bad Bazza suffering those two idiots weekly. At least I can change the channel lol

Totally agree, just do what virtually everyone I know does...stick on BBC radio 5 live on your DAB or laptop and turn those two colossal bell-ends down!!
    I'd even prefer listening to Laurie Daley on NRL on Fox drone on in his chippy usual way.

you've taken leave of your senses!!!:) Seriously though, if you haven't taken a look in a while, check out a few of the games this weekend....you never know!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭Tomtom364

Ah ill have to go to a warrington woves game the next time over there now. For the craic.

(completly off topic) theres a tesco across the road from the wolves stadium... It is bigger then the stadium...

Carney was interviewed on Sky's Boots'n'All regarding the transfer last night if anyone's interested...his response to the question "would you consider playing for England" hilarious...

:D:D:D:D

He was basically saying "**** off with that". :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

Its 15,000+ for the Rhinos (best supported rugby team in either code in the UK based on attendances).

Leicester average more than 15k a game.

Any chance it's on youtube?

I've always had a soft spot for him for pissing off the Sun for not wearing a Union Jack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭corigi

Any chance it's on youtube?

I've always had a soft spot for him for pissing off the Sun for not wearing a Union Jack.

+1 :D

When was this? And what union flag was he supposed to wear?

He played for the GB rugby league team and was asked to pose with the union jack,he refused saying it would be disrespectful.

http://www.independent.co.uk/sport/general/rugby-league/carney-proud-to-fly-irish-flag-on-the-wing-for-great-britain-734865.html

He played for the GB rugby league team and was asked to pose with the union jack,he refused saying it would be disrespectful.

Hmmm...don't remember that. I call bollocks. Especially since you mention one of the British tabbies in the proceedings.

You goddam idiot,click the link in my post lol
    You dont remember much do you,I never mentioned the sun that was anon joe.

"I call Bollocks":rolleyes:

You goddam idiot,click the link in my post lol
    You dont remember much do you,I never mentioned the sun that was anon joe.

"I call Bollocks":rolleyes:

Didn't see the link. I tend not to believe tabbies so apols if somebody else mentioned it.

Calm down with the insults, fella.

Didn't see the link. I tend not to believe tabbies so apols if somebody else mentioned it.

Calm down with the insults, fella.

Sorry only saw the way that looked bad now,I meant it light heartedly.

danthefan wrote: »
    Leicester average more than 15k a game.

Yep, fair enough, I meant you never get less at a rhinos game....average game attendance is 17,400...and when you get games like the world club challenge at Elland Road 33,000 turn up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

Yep, fair enough, I meant you never get less at a rhinos game....average game attendance is 17,400...and when you get games like the world club challenge at Elland Road 33,000 turn up.

Fair enough. On the other hand though a lot of GP clubs (like Gloucester, Leicester, Quins, Bath) are sellouts virtually every week and only limited by their stadium size. As for big days out there are plenty of those in rugby too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭ch2008

http://www.independent.co.uk/sport/g...in-734865.html

According to Carney's remarks the GB represents Ireland too? Is this correct or is it, eh, Ireland via Norn Ireland?

ch2008 wrote: »

According to Carney's remarks the GB represents Ireland too? Is this correct or is it, eh, Ireland via Norn Ireland?

The GB RL team represents Ireland, Scotland, Wales and England. Its largely been shelved in favour of specific national teams....though there will hopefully be another GB, OZ, NZ series again in the next couple of years.

This is a misnomer.
    A little quarter of a logo has never been enough to represent Ireland. Heaven Help Lizzie was their anthem. The media always and always will refer to them as 'Great Britain'.

This is a misnomer.
    A little quarter of a logo has never been enough to represent Ireland. Heaven Help Lizzie was their anthem. The media always and always will refer to them as 'Great Britain'.

Oh yeah, agree..I remember going to see GB play France in
    Headingley two years ago, and when GSTQ booms out as the 'national' anthem, feeling more than a little uncomfortable! Just trying to explain the difference. At least, though it is only a fig leaf admittedly, it allows guys like Carney, Jonathan Davies, Iestyn Harris et al make an impact at the highest level of RL internationally....