Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Some players have no manners

• 01-06-2009 2:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,088 ✭✭✭

Bit of a rant.

Played in an open singles yesterday and everyone was out in fourballs.

There was a 3 ball behind us but we were getting held up on most shots so no point in letting them through cause they wouldn't be going anywhere.

A couple of times the group where hitting drives before we had move on after taking our 2nd shots.

One time I was bringing back my divot and I see a golf ball coming rolling up the fairway and stopped about 20 yards shot of me.

The best was on a hole which has a notice please wait till the bell rings before teeing off and once again I was replacing my divot and I hear a tee shot behind me and the funny thing was they rang the bell when they walking up to the green. Practice what you preach.

Nearly hit one of lads walking off the green on another hole.

You do be tempted to tee up there ball and firer it back down towards them because of the crazy behaviour.

groups which are 3 balls in a day which are all 4 balls need adjust there speed accordingly.

Rant over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭stockdam

Agree but I'm not sure what you can really do about it. If you politely ask them to wait then you run the risk of a full blown argument.

I was once putting on a green which had a bell (and the guys behind were right behind us)....... a ball rolled past me on the green but somehow it got "deflected" into a bunker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

why didn't you be a man about it
    go back and ask them politely to ease off and if this doesn't work tell them to ease off or be prepared for a very very long day............. their choice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭neckedit

Should of just let them through as per the rules, by doing this they become some one elses problem and you can enjoy your game with out some idiot hitting in to you all the time, and feeling under pressure to play faster. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭Famous45

Same thing happened to me recently, in a fourball golf classic, the group behind had caught up on us after 2 holes, from that point onwards they continued to shoot right up our a*rses every hole, we didn't want to confront them as I'd no doubt it would get nasty (the people I was with have a short fuse) anyway after golf at the dinner party, who's seated on our table? none other than the idiots behind us, who at the same time playing were calling us the same things, anyway we'd had a cracking night all round and even met up with them last weekend for a few drinks. I suppose we are all just too competitive.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,714 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

neckedit wrote: »
    Should of just let them through as per the rules, by doing this they become some one elses problem and you can enjoy your game with out some idiot hitting in to you all the time, and feeling under pressure to play faster. :p

what rule says to let someone through when there is no gap in front of you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,088 ✭✭✭Trampas

neckedit wrote: »

We would have let them through but they were going nowhere. 4balls all ahead of them so they weren't going to be let through every group.

We had to wait on lots of shots and wasn't a case of us losing a hole which would have meant we would have let them through. Which meant we didn't feel under pressure.

Just play simple of realising that you are on a course with all fourballs and you are a 3ball where someone didn't turn up in your group and you can't expect to be let through for the day unless the group ahead lose ground

copacetic wrote: »

None. But I think he meant just let them through and then relax.....they can annoy the people in front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭neckedit

copacetic wrote: »

Sorry i know its not one of the original rules, I was trying to say it is the Etiquette of the game to let a three ball through a four ball. i was not implying at all that the OP was at fault for the slow play i was just stating that, had he let them through, the pressure to keep a head of them and keeping one eye open for incoming pro V1's would have been lifted.:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Hell, people need to use common sense.

If a 3 ball is behind a 4 ball and the course is full all the way forward, what it the point of trying to get through other than annoying a succession of 4 balls.

Cop on!!

If the majority of players are in 4 balls why be a mindless set of jerks and disrupt the whole competition.

Common sense, that's what it is.

use it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭Sionnachster

Had terrible one playing earlier this week. Popped out for a few on my own after work and I landed behind a 4-Ball on the third. I assumed it was a doubles match so didn't mind really, thought i'd get a shout later on. However, I was waiting on every tee, sometimes even watching them tee off and they ignored the fact I was ready 30 yards behind them. On many holes they were in the rough/woods looking for their balls and I was on the tee's for well over 10 minutes. What infuriated me most was when 5 practice putts were taken after a hole had finished.. :mad:

At this stage I resigned myself to playing just 9 but on the 8th was shocked further when one of them walked back down the fairway past me to replay a shot while 2 of the others had a lie down on the edge of the green. His only comment was for me to skip ahead, no explanation and no eye contact, so I was so annoyed I just lifted my bag and ball and went to the 9th. Cracked a big drive into position A and as I reached my ball, I just looked for the yardage marker and heard someone whistling! Looked back and one of the 'senior' men was waving at me on the tee to move on! I had never been waved at like that, not even as a junior and I just stood there in shock. Held up for over 5 holes, endless opportunities to wave me through and nobody anywhere to worry them and I wasn't allowed the 25 seconds to flick a wedge shot. I felt bullied on a golf course!! Stressed me out for 2 days after and haven't played since, never saw behaviour like it...

Anyway, rant over, now someone is going to tell me a single player had
    no rights out there!!?!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭arg

Had terrible one playing earlier this week. Popped out for a few on my own after work and I landed behind a 4-Ball on the third. I assumed it was a doubles match so didn't mind really, thought i'd get a shout later on. However, I was waiting on every tee, sometimes even watching them tee off and they ignored the fact I was ready 30 yards behind them. On many holes they were in the rough/woods looking for their balls and I was on the tee's for well over 10 minutes. What infuriated me most was when 5 practice putts were taken after a hole had finished.. :mad:

At this stage I resigned myself to playing just 9 but on the 8th was shocked further when one of them walked back down the fairway past me to replay a shot while 2 of the others had a lie down on the edge of the green. His only comment was for me to skip ahead, no explanation and no eye contact, so I was so annoyed I just lifted my bag and ball and went to the 9th. Cracked a big drive into position A and as I reached my ball, I just looked for the yardage marker and heard someone whistling! Looked back and one of the 'senior' men was waving at me on the tee to move on! I had never been waved at like that, not even as a junior and I just stood there in shock. Held up for over 5 holes, endless opportunities to wave me through and nobody anywhere to worry them and I wasn't allowed the 25 seconds to flick a wedge shot. I felt bullied on a golf course!! Stressed me out for 2 days after and haven't played since, never saw behaviour like it...

Anyway, rant over, now someone is going to tell me a single player had
    no rights out there!!?!?
    It seems that lot of golfers still feel that a single player has no standing on the course - this was a daft rule when it was in place and it's extremely frustrating that the updated rule is often not recognised.

arg wrote: »
    It seems that lot of golfers still feel that a single player has no standing on the course - this was a daft rule when it was in place and it's extremely frustrating that the updated rule is often not recognised.

I don't agree with that rule and ignore single players.

load of b****x.

some guys are just born pr1cks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Oliverdog

An old friend of mine who wasn't too hot on the etiquette had this trick for getting let through a slow match in front.
    When we got the chance, he'd say to one of them "When you catch up with the game in front of you, tell them to get a f*cking move on !"
    Everyone usually had a good laugh and no offence was taken, usually.

load of b****x.

What do you mean......do you mean that you think that single players shouldn't be on the course or have I read your reply incorrectly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭Sionnachster

Yeah, please explain! Are people saying there is no time for a single player these days?

Sometimes that's what I crave more than any other format, don't take that away!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 367 ✭✭Blunder

We were on the other end of this on Sunday. We were a 3 ball behind a 4 ball. One of the lads in front of us is renowned as a slow player but we couldnt complain as it was the luck of the draw that had us out behind them. Anyway, 1st hole, they were searching for 2 balls in the rough on the left of the hole for slightly more than the 5 mins allowed. They hit their second shots and we teed off. 3 of us down the middle of the fairway and low and behold the lads are searching again, this time to the right of the green. Anyway one of the lads was about to wave us through until the ball was found and play continued. By the time the lads had left the 1st green the group in front of them were coming off the par 5 second green....full hole lost already.

This trend continued for the rest of the round. We were waiting on maybe 9 of the next 13 tees and on every approach shot of the next 13. On the 5th hole there is a bit of a blind tee shot. So we waited on the brough of the hill so as to catch their attention in the hope of being called through. They just kept on searching even though they had seen us. On the 12th hole the lads had lost 4 full holes to the group that started 8 mins before them. The final straw came on the 15th. We came off the 14th green as the lads were coming off the 15th tee. Once again it was straight into the rough and searching again. This time one of them began talking to a guy playing a different hole. On seeing this we tried to get their attention and ask to be let through which they finally did. 2 of the lads were apologetic for the delays while the other 2 lads acted like we were after insulting their mother.

I thought it was extremely bad manners as there wasnt anyone ahead of them and very few groups behind us so the chances of them being put under pressure again was small. Also we werent being pr!cks about it either even though we could have been. We eventually finished 18 just as they were coming off the 16th green. It took us 4 and a half hours to play a round that shold have taken no more than 3 and a half. Thank god the weather was nice and not wet and windy like the last few weeks!

In relation to the OP. It is extremely bad manners, especially if there was nowhere for them to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

Christ lads, would you not just have a friendly word with the culprits? Seems to me that the main problem in each instance came through a lack of communication. If somebody was firing a ball up your arse on more than one occassion, say something. Reading this thread you'd think the only way any of you can speak to another golfer in a seperate group is in an aggressive manner.

Similarly, if someone is holding you up continuously, speak to them about it. Doesn't have to be aggressive, just say keep it moving or let us through. In my opinion, you've nobody to blame but yourselves.

load of b****x.

What's the problem with single players?

No problem with them,but golf is a game designed for at least two to play.

A succession of single players can screw up a golf course and while I can accommodate an odd singleton a wave of them is just not on.

It usually breaks down to common sense and manners.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Graeme1982 wrote: »
    Christ lads, would you not just have a friendly word with the culprits? Seems to me that the main problem in each instance came through a lack of communication. If somebody was firing a ball up your arse on more than one occassion, say something. Reading this thread you'd think the only way any of you can speak to another golfer in a seperate group is in an aggressive manner.

Similarly, if someone is holding you up continuously, speak to them about it. Doesn't have to be aggressive, just say keep it moving or let us through. In my opinion, you've nobody to blame but yourselves.

On more than one occassion I have had people firing balls directly at me from the tee. On many occassions I have wanted to fire them straight back at their heads. But on one occassion when I said it to the group behind they started laughing and told me to cop on(Tourny of 4 balls ahead of my 3 ball). :( I was livid, so I set the play slower just to get at them. They eventually got annoyed and left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

A succession of single players can screw up a golf course and while I can accommodate an odd singleton a wave of them is just not on.

That's utter horse **** and may i say a very obnoxious opinion. Golf is a game designed for one person to play. In fact it's the only sport i can think of that's like that. It's me against the course. I can't stand it when groups look down their nose at a single player on the course, because they are in a group themselves. Give me a single player out there rather than a fourball that's for sure.

Blunder wrote: »
    We were on the other end of this on Sunday. We were a 3 ball behind a 4 ball. One of the lads in front of us is renowned as a slow player but we couldnt complain as it was the luck of the draw that had us out behind them. Anyway, 1st hole, they were searching for 2 balls in the rough on the left of the hole for slightly more than the 5 mins allowed. They hit their second shots and we teed off. 3 of us down the middle of the fairway and low and behold the lads are searching again, this time to the right of the green. Anyway one of the lads was about to wave us through until the ball was found and play continued. By the time the lads had left the 1st green the group in front of them were coming off the par 5 second green....full hole lost already.

This trend continued for the rest of the round. We were waiting on maybe 9 of the next 13 tees and on every approach shot of the next 13. On the 5th hole there is a bit of a blind tee shot. So we waited on the brough of the hill so as to catch their attention in the hope of being called through. They just kept on searching even though they had seen us. On the 12th hole the lads had lost 4 full holes to the group that started 8 mins before them. The final straw came on the 15th. We came off the 14th green as the lads were coming off the 15th tee. Once again it was straight into the rough and searching again. This time one of them began talking to a guy playing a different hole. On seeing this we tried to get their attention and ask to be let through which they finally did. 2 of the lads were apologetic for the delays while the other 2 lads acted like we were after insulting their mother.

I thought it was extremely bad manners as there wasnt anyone ahead of them and very few groups behind us so the chances of them being put under pressure again was small. Also we werent being pr!cks about it either even though we could have been. We eventually finished 18 just as they were coming off the 16th green. It took us 4 and a half hours to play a round that shold have taken no more than 3 and a half. Thank god the weather was nice and not wet and windy like the last few weeks!

In relation to the OP. It is extremely bad manners, especially if there was nowhere for them to go.

definately agree on the bad manners and what you said about op's case

but what drives me bonkers is when the likes of yourself and your playing patners cant grow a pair
    why were ye not able to point out to the group ahead of ye that
    1 they had dropped a hole ?
    2 not only were they holding ye up but also everyone else behind ye ?
    3 that a round of golf on that course should take 1 hr. less than it took to play ?
    sounds like a bunch of sheep out there with you

imo players who are afraid(or shy) for whatever reason to man up and speak up are equally to blaim
    don't know how many times i've asked guys why they didn't tell the group in front of them to move on, to get a shrug of the shoulders as an answer or an i dont know
    by the way all i would ever say is something like
    "lads come on ye are down a hole ye are holding us and everyone else up, pick it up will ye please for the next few holes" generally saying this to guy in the group who will get the others to push on if possible
    never had a problem yet........not that it would happen 2-3 times a year equally i've no prob when it's said to me as it has been a few times too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 367 ✭✭Blunder

The course ranger and pro were informed after 6 holes and both had a word with them.
    We did let them know on the 7th hole when our paths crossed that it was slow which they just ignored. I agree that it should have been pointed out that they had lost a few holes but it wasn't.
    There was no others in close proximity behind us that were being held up so that wasnt an issue.

In relation to your acusation of not having ample appendage, I have no problem asking to be let through, I have done on many occassions, however this was just a different situation. I have never experienced something like this happening for 15 holes, I mean its not as if they werent aware that we were behind them, I was merely pointing out the attitude and Bad manners of the group infront.

Graeme1982 wrote: »
    That's utter horse **** and may i say a very obnoxious opinion. Golf is a game designed for one person to play. In fact it's the only sport i can think of that's like that. It's me against the course. I can't stand it when groups look down their nose at a single player on the course, because they are in a group themselves. Give me a single player out there rather than a fourball that's for sure.

Ok .thanks for that.

Blunder wrote: »
    The course ranger and pro were informed after 6 holes and both had a word with them.

We did let them know on the 7th hole when our paths crossed that it was slow which they just ignored. I agree that it should have been pointed out that they had lost a few holes but it wasn't.
    There was no others in close proximity behind us that were being held up so that wasnt an issue.

In relation to your acusation of not having ample appendage, I have no problem asking to be let through, I have done on many occassions, however this was just a different situation. I have never experienced something like this happening for 15 holes, I mean its not as if they werent aware that we were behind them, I was merely pointing out the attitude and Bad manners of the group infront.

good for you
    i must say i never asked to be let through and am sorry to hear whatever ranger and pro are on the course did not tell them to stand aside
    from your initial reply none of this was obvious , hence my reply on what i think is a major issue i.e. guys not opening their gob when it is most important, to avoid slow play

glad to hear you have some pinnacles in your pants!
    wish more people did

I do think that the social aspect is important in golf; everyone gets a lot of enjoyment from meeting new people and meeting up with mates for a round. However it is also a competitive game and, as graeme said, the competition can exist between the single golfer and the course. Competitive golfers also strive to improve their game and sometimes that's best achieved by taking the sticks out for a round on your own. I think that fellow golfers shouldn't look down their noses or ignore someone trying to improve their game by playing a round on their own - after all we're all ultimately trying to improve our game.
    I reckon that ignoring a fellow golfer would fall under the category of bad manners.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭PullOutMethod

A different perspective.
    Was playing in a club competition in which I am a full member.
    It was one of my first comps and was a fourball.
    I was playing with a visitor and the other fourball included a guy far more experienced than me who kept saying "fire away, fire away" when I was on the teebox waiting.
    (I think he was anxious to get in before it got dark, but no excuse)

Anyway coming down the 18th to hit my approach 2 of the guys who were ahead of us walked up the fairway before I hit my shot and gave me a bollocking because we had hit up on them twice.
    Suffice to say I made a balls of my approach shot and my fourball partner and I missed out on featuring by a single shot.
    I realised afterwards of course that we were in the wrong and learnt my lesson.
    However 3 years later I will never, ever forgive or forget those 2 guys for how they approached me.