Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Speed Traps - Do they have to pull you over?

• 01-06-2009 10:28am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭

Sorry if there is a thread made regarding this before, but I cannot find one about it.

When Gardai are doing their speed checks on the side of the road with a speed gun, do they have to pull you over before you receive a ticket/penalty points, or can they just send them to you in the post like the fixed speed cameras?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,154 ✭✭✭✭Berty

If the Garda has a hair dryer hanging out the window of his car or standing there holding it then she/he MUST pull you over because it only gives a reading and cannot give an image.

If there is a Garda with a tripod and does not stop you. You WILL receive something in the post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭FedFrank2

Thanks,

There were two Garda there and only one motorcycle, they were leaning with the speed gun over the back of the bike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

FedFrank2 wrote: »
    Sorry if there is a thread made regarding this before, but I cannot find one about it.

When Gardai are doing their speed checks on the side of the road with a speed gun, do they have to pull you over before you receive a ticket/penalty points, or can they just send them to you in the post like the fixed speed cameras?
    They'd normally pull you over in that scenario tbh. Close shave eh ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭blahblah06

berty i think your wrong there. asked a guard family member of mine and he said you have to be pulled in both case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

blahblah06 wrote: »
    berty i think your wrong there. asked a guard family member of mine and he said you have to be pulled in both case.

AGS has 2 mobile ''GATSO'' type tripod cameras. These are reserved and used by traffic members only. It is tripod mounted and has a screen attached that takes the photo, prints and you get a nice FCPS in the post!:)

Oh I didn't k ow that. I shall expect 2 points in the post so (blanch by-pass saturday morning) thought it was unusual they were in middle of the grass verge with car on other side of barrier

Dont expect it until you see the letter buddie. It mightnt have been the automatic one. It could have just been the bigger speed gun which is also tripod mounted!:)
    Best of luck (dont like Gatso camera!)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Real B-man

Half the time you dont even see the Gards when they are hiding in a ditch catching people i hate them ones! i think they should be well visable and a [FONT=&quot]Deterren t[/FONT]not sneaky!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭cianclarke

Berty wrote: »
    If the Garda has a hair dryer hanging out the window of his car or standing there holding it then she/he MUST pull you over because it only gives a reading and cannot give an image.

If there is a Garda with a tripod and does not stop you. You WILL receive something in the post.
    Thank feck for that, bit of a close one at the weekend.

Dont expect it until you see the letter buddie. It mightnt have been the automatic one. It could have just been the bigger speed gun which is also tripod mounted!:)
    Best of luck (dont like Gatso camera!)

I hope your right but by the sounds of it it would have to have been a proper gatso camera because as i said the guard was standing on one side of the barrier and his car was the other side facing the other way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 935 ✭✭✭samsemtex

Berty wrote: »

Sorry to bump an old thread but its not that old and i dont think we need a new thread on this topic? Im sure everyone who sees this thread again will complain but the paranoia that takes over when you see guards wont let it rest!

I was driving down from Dublin and I think i was doing about 140kph on the M8 according to the clock outside Cahir. The garda was at his car and he had the door open and he appeared to be leaning on it with a camera. I didnt see a tripod and i dont think one of them could be hidden behind a door could it? Should i expect anything?

samsemtex wrote: »
    Sorry to bump an old thread but its not that old and i dont think we need a new thread on this topic? Im sure everyone who sees this thread again will complain but the paranoia that takes over when you see guards wont let it rest!

I was driving down from Dublin and I think i was doing about 140kph on the M8 according to the clock outside Cahir. The garda was at his car and he had the door open and he appeared to be leaning on it with a camera. I didnt see a tripod and i dont think one of them could be hidden behind a door could it? Should i expect anything?

Should be fine. Dont worry about it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 awww_yeeeaaa

im new to this whole boards thingy buuut ive kinda gotten the jist that this forum may be too old..but here's to hoping someone will help me :)

My old precious car kicked the bucket so to speak last week so i upgraded (only by a year) to a newer one..basically it is much easier to drive and get from 0 to 60 way faster than the old reliable did! so i was driving on my road today..pretty sure i was going slightly over 50...maybe 55 (:/ i hope!) and there was a sneaky garda hidden behind the bus stop with a hair dryer style camera...i drove by and started slowing just as we hit him as there was traffic lights right there...there was another garda and the car in this turn just right beside the bus stop so.............would i be pulled in orrrrr should i be expecting a letter in the post??

im so paranoid about all this.....didnt plan on trading in the old reliable so struggling to get by, already had a letter from the insurance company today saying my premium has gone up cos of the new car and my tax is now due in september instead of march...so a speeding fine would break me at this stage :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭gu10

so if its not tripod mounted then there is no chance you will get something in the post?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 350 ✭✭rubensni

im new to this whole boards thingy buuut ive kinda gotten the jist that this forum may be too old..but here's to hoping someone will help me :)

My old precious car kicked the bucket so to speak last week so i upgraded (only by a year) to a newer one..basically it is much easier to drive and get from 0 to 60 way faster than the old reliable did! so i was driving on my road today..pretty sure i was going slightly over 50...maybe 55 (:/ i hope!) and there was a sneaky garda hidden behind the bus stop with a hair dryer style camera...i drove by and started slowing just as we hit him as there was traffic lights right there...there was another garda and the car in this turn just right beside the bus stop so.............would i be pulled in orrrrr should i be expecting a letter in the post??

im so paranoid about all this.....didnt plan on trading in the old reliable so struggling to get by, already had a letter from the insurance company today saying my premium has gone up cos of the new car and my tax is now due in september instead of march...so a speeding fine would break me at this stage :/

You're grand, hairdryer means guard has to pull you over and take your details.

Anyway the fine takes weeks to come, and then the points are added at a later stage, so you wouldn't have to worry about the insurance company for months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭Jenna69

Last friday i was coming down pinnock hill heading home to swords and a lorry driver coming the other way flashed us so i knew what was coming (they were hiding behind the hedge just up from the bus stop, half a mile away) but what i'm wondering is: the speed limit on this road is 60kph, i think i was doing about 65 coming down the top of pinnock hill but when i got flashed i dropped my speed, would i have been clocked doing 65? Do they allow you 5kph over? I wasn't stopped but have been worrying about it ever since. I'm only driving a couple of months (i'd hate to get points already) and have realised sometimes you don't even realise you are going over the speed limit.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,630 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Ah zombie thread...

Anyway, I dont think theres much point blaming the car's "quicker accleration/speed" for you going over the limit. What speed were you going? Im more concerned that you "think" you were going over the speed limit. You should have a fair idea of what speed you were travelling.

If it was a Garda with a "hairdryer" you should be ok. What road was it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭Jenna69

antodeco wrote: »
    Ah zombie thread...

Anyway, I dont think theres much point blaming the car's "quicker accleration/speed" for you going over the limit. What speed were you going? Im more concerned that you "think" you were going over the speed limit. You should have a fair idea of what speed you were travelling.

If it was a Garda with a "hairdryer" you should be ok. What road was it?

I'm not blaming anything, i know i was just over the limit but my car's speedometer looks like the one underneath so although i was just over the 60 mark i don't know exactly what speed i was going. It was on the M1 on the road just after the roundabout at the Coachman's heading for Swords.

It was a Garda with a "hairdryer".

car_speedometer.jpg&t=1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭Johnny Derpp

Hate to dig up an old thread but a new doesn't seem necessary.

I was pulled this evening by a Garda with a hair drier. I was doing sixty in a fifty zone so he pulled me. He informed me, showed me the gun etc... and took details and asked for my license. As a poxy twist I didn't even have my license on me so he told me I had ten days to bring license and insurance details to local Garda station, then sent me on my way, making some remark about a potential court summons for driving without my license.

I've asked around and some are giving me conflicting info, one reckons the points and fine are a sure thing, another says not to bother showing face at station as if there was any action to be done, he would have done it there and then.
    Other thing is that this Garda was completely on his own, and one person reckons they need two for a prosecution or whatever.

I assume that if there was anything to be done to me he would have done it there and then? Am I wrong?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

You could be done for failure to produce. You will get the speeding points but he could also do you for not having your licence with. Take the hit, pay the fine and produce.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Hate to dig up an old thread but a new doesn't seem necessary.

I was pulled this evening by a Garda with a hair drier. I was doing sixty in a fifty zone so he pulled me. He informed me, showed me the gun etc... and took details and asked for my license. As a poxy twist I didn't even have my license on me so he told me I had ten days to bring license and insurance details to local Garda station, then sent me on my way, making some remark about a potential court summons for driving without my license.

I've asked around and some are giving me conflicting info, one reckons the points and fine are a sure thing, another says not to bother showing face at station as if there was any action to be done, he would have done it there and then.
    Other thing is that this Garda was completely on his own, and one person reckons they need two for a prosecution or whatever.

I assume that if there was anything to be done to me he would have done it there and then? Am I wrong?
    1. Please don't open old threads.
    2. The garda appears to have followed the book regardless of what you were told.
    3. Call into your lo al station with a your licence unless you want to get done for not producing them as instructed.
    4. Gardai are adults and don't require babysitters despite your friends views.
    5. Stop getting advice from your friends!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Closed