Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

speedtrap

• 31-05-2009 5:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,972 ✭✭✭

watch out guys and girls, twice in the the last 2 weeks, the gardai have been on that stretch of road before the roundabout where you join the motorway before castledermot, on the good staright stretch there.

they were in an 07 trooper today and a focus the last day both unmarked.

think me will be getting 4 points soon..

so watch out...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 621 ✭✭✭Peadar06

Thanks for the heads up!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 910 ✭✭✭tombull82

Great Thread.

I was getting so out of control I had to sell off my Passat and buy a large 4x4 just to calm myself down, (hoping the cost of fuel would sort me out)

My last knock on the door contained 9 summons all at the same time.:eek:

Got them looked after thankfully

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭xeroshero

Sorry P{athrickC - where exactly are you talking about? Goign towards C'dermot if coming from Carlow? I can't picture it... Oh wait - yea - I think I know where you're talking about now... Just before there two ot three roundsabouts there together (if going into Carlow)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,602 ✭✭✭ShayK1

xeroshero wrote: »
    Sorry P{athrickC - where exactly are you talking about? Goign towards C'dermot if coming from Carlow? I can't picture it... Oh wait - yea - I think I know where you're talking about now... Just before there two ot three roundsabouts there together (if going into Carlow)?

AFAIK, he's talking about closer to Castledermot, around here:
    http://maps.google.com/maps?f=d&source=s_d&saddr=&daddr=52.885768,-6.867056&hl=en&geocode=&mra=mi&mrsp=0&sz=14&sll=52.884256,-6.865511&sspn=0.023203,0.055275&ie=UTF8&z=14

Google map links FTW :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 677 ✭✭✭darc

patrickc wrote: »
    watch out guys and girls, twice in the the last 2 weeks, the gardai have been on that stretch of road before the roundabout where you join the motorway before castledermot, on the good staright stretch there.

they were in an 07 trooper today and a focus the last day both unmarked.

think me will be getting 4 points soon..

so watch out...

1, - There have been several accidents in that area, so I think its great that the speed traps are there - it might save a life!

2. - These garda vehicles have laser speed analysers not photographic speed cameras, so unless you were stopped and given a ticket / details taken, you will not have points on your license.

3. the speed limits are reasonable around carlow - keep to them and you won't have any problems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

hopefully many speeding motorists will be put off the road and fined for putting everyone else in danger! there should be dozens more checkpoints and "speedtraps" around carlow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,972 ✭✭✭patrickc

both times i was doing a 100k where it used to be that, and was reduced to 80k....

and its a perfectly straight strectch so accidents there cant see how really..

darc wrote: »
    1, - There have been several accidents in that area, so I think its great that the speed traps are there - it might save a life!

2. - These garda vehicles have laser speed analysers not photographic speed cameras, so unless you were stopped and given a ticket / details taken, you will not have points on your license.

3. the speed limits are reasonable around carlow - keep to them and you won't have any problems.

2... thye new ones dont have to stop you they have the anpr technology
    foggy_lad wrote: »
    hopefully many speeding motorists will be put off the road and fined for putting everyone else in danger! there should be dozens more checkpoints and "speedtraps" around carlow!

in appropriate places yes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

foggy_lad wrote: »
    hopefully many speeding motorists will be put off the road and fined for putting everyone else in danger!

Oh please.
    Get down off your high horse and learn a thing or two about road safety and the fact it's not all down to speeding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭Fishtits

The "old road" was 100Kph, they widened it, smoothed the bumps, took out the nasties... then reduced the limit to 80 Kph because its now technically an "R" road...

Something seriously wrong with the system here IMHO...

Fishtits wrote: »
    The "old road" was 100Kph, they widened it, smoothed the bumps, took out the nasties... then reduced the limit to 80 Kph because its now technically an "R" road...

Something seriously wrong with the system here IMHO...

yeh thats my thoughts exactly, and thats why i warned people... ffs shhoting ducks in a barrel

xeroshero wrote: »

coming from carlow, just before the roundabout where u join the roundabout theres 2 together

• Closed Accounts Posts: 677 ✭✭✭darc

here's the list of accident hotspots around carlow county - http://www.garda.ie/sez/Carlow.aspx
    its also where garda speed checks take place.

No shooting fish in barrells - open information on where you may be checked for speed and where accidents occur. The gardai would prefer to catch no-one as then they would have a lot less doors to call to saying that son / daughter / parent is dead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,956 ✭✭✭✭Villain

Does anyone else find it hilarious that the Gardai tell you where they are or only ever use the same places, I used to pass them on a regular basis just after Killerig slow down to 80kph and them speed straight back up again.

BTW they have been opposite the church in Grange again lately. I love the way they sit on fast straights stretches of road or in 30 and 40 zones, I don't ever remember an accident occuring at the check point locations around Tullow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭Don1

The one at Grange makes sense, as there's a school just after it and a lot of new houses so probably small kids. People tended to bomb along and not slow down at all, myself included. That's where I got my only ever points, which are now gone.
    I completely agree with speed checking in 50kph and 60kph zones as hitting peds at more than 50kph is many times more lethal.
    I have a major issue, however, with the road classification inspired speed limits. The narrow country lane I live on has an 80kph limit and is only a car and a half wide and has mostly blind corners!! That should be 60kph! Then the Hackettstown road has the same limit and is waaaaay better! No sense at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭stick-dan

Probably get slated for this but who cares. Is it right that this thread is here telling people of the patches of road to slow down on to avoid getting caught speeding. People shouldn't speed Full stop and i fully support people blindly getting caught. This thread undo's the hard work of catching people speeding in my opinion. I'm not sure if any of you have been the victim of a family member or friend dying as a result of a road accident or speed and i mean not being behind the wheel, i'm talking about being hit by a speeding car but i have. People don't realise the anguish and hurt such a lose brings to a family and community. You never truly get over it. In my opinion this thread should be deleted.People who speed deserve to be caught and shouldn't be encouraged and helped to get away with it.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Considering the Guards publish their most common spots on the internet and some speed checks have warning signs as you approach them... No, I see no harm in this thread.

Besides, people will probably be stupid enough to break the speed limit anyway!

Sully wrote: »
    Considering the Guards publish their most common spots on the internet and some speed checks have warning signs as you approach them... No, I see no harm in this thread.

Besides, people will probably be stupid enough to break the speed limit anyway!

I highly doubt though people would go to the hassle off continously going onto the internet and checking the updated speeding zones listings.I think it is the principle of the whole thing. Guess you have a different perspective when you see someone being thrown down the road after an impact that occured 30 yards away.

I think the principle of it is wrong. Let the a$$holes get caught.

stick-dan wrote: »
    I highly doubt though people would go to the hassle off continously going onto the internet and checking the updated speeding zones listings.I think it is the principle of the whole thing. Guess you have a different perspective when you see someone being thrown down the road after an impact that occured 30 yards away.

I think the principle of it is wrong. Let the a$$holes get caught.

So why would they come on and check this thing then?

People who speed are assholes now?
    yeah, well done.

Don't mention the bad drivers or anything, they never cause accidents.

I'm sure there are threads over in other forums that talk about bad driving. This thread was started to inform about speeding not bad drivers. So i'm sticking to that topic.

Don't be so sarcastic. People who do speed are assholes. Can you justify speeding,. If you can please elaborate.I'd love to hear it.

i personally believe 100kph on that road is grand, where i said at the beginning, and on the motorway you should be allowed do 150/160kph, good roads no problem speed is fine, bad roads and towns keep to the limit.

stupid slow speed limits on good roads are uncalled for, and if i get points for it so be it.

ill openly admit to do 200kph on the motorway and will do it again,

stick-dan wrote: »
    I'm sure there are threads over in other forums that talk about bad driving. This thread was started to inform about speeding not bad drivers. So i'm sticking to that topic.

Don't be so sarcastic. People who do speed are assholes. Can you justify speeding,. If you can please elaborate.I'd love to hear it.

I can justify speeding.
    It gets me where I need to be faster and I am more than capable of speeding in a safe manner.

I have travelled at 220kph+*and will continue to do so where and when it is possible and safe to do so.

'Speed' is all relative and can not be defined just because you're going faster than what some sign says.

*May or may not be true. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,820 ✭✭✭Bards

SV wrote: »
    I can justify speeding.
    It gets me where I need to be faster and I am more than capable of speeding in a safe manner.

I have travelled at 220kph+*and will continue to do so where and when it is possible and safe to do so.

'Speed' is all relative and can not be defined just because you're going faster than what some sign says.

*May or may not be true. :)

I am sure all of those who have died on our roads due to speed thought the same as you:rolleyes:

Bards wrote: »
    I am sure all of those who have died on our roads due to speed thought the same as you:rolleyes:

and I'm positive that you're wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

Speeding is a subjective thing, generally the speed limits around Ireland are very badly thought out, its like they threw darts at a map to decide the limits.

Also what do you consider speeding? The gardai are generally out to make money with the speed traps not make our roads safer.

They place them in places where it is safe to go over a ridiculously placed speed limit

They place them in places where the roads are extremely safe

I have never once seen a speed trap or camera on a back road or beside an accident black spot, I have only ever seen them on perfectly safe straight stretches of road, the motoring public know this and its the gardai's own fault for blatantly targeting motorists instead of actually making the roads safer and getting the respect of motorists.

Bad road quality, lack of driver education and improper enforcement make our roads far less safe than someone breaking a speed limit in my opinion.

The real ass holes of the roads are the inconsiderate drivers who think they own the roads, they overtake dangerously, they show no respect to other road users, they break lights, they don't indicate properly. They cause accidents not someone going 60kph in a 50kph zone

i started this thread to warn people about that speed trap, i did that not to start a debate on speeding so am locking this thread now...