Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tesco caught on the hop again

• 29-05-2009 3:42pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭

Tesco have just been found out trying to keep their shaft the Irish supplier policy under wraps. Not that we didn't know or anything but now it's official.

Full Story http://www.independent.ie/business/irish/memo-shows-tesco-kept-switch-to-uk-suppliers-secret-1754805.html
    BRITISH supermarket chain Tesco tried to hide its new policy of buying directly from UK suppliers from Irish customers.

An internal report, seen by the Irish Independent, said that ensuring its policy of taking deliveries directly from UK suppliers went unnoticed was a key objective.

The Tesco policy document said the objective of its new policy was "to deliver an efficient value chain on key categories, that is invisible to the Irish customer and the UK Commercial team, but allows Tesco Ireland to utilise Tesco UK scale in terms of its customer offer and trading terms".

According to the document, which was presented to suppliers, 40pc of Irish consumers were "actively shopping" in Northern Ireland.

Tell ya, it'd never of happened in Maurice Pratt's day :eek:

Cue more red faced farmers shaking spuds at them next week :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

Just shop in supervalu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭rotinaj

F*ck Tesco and their manky stores. Most of the sh1t they sell is out of date anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭big b

Damn them & their attempts to bring us cheaper shopping.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Where does it say they are shafting their suppliers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

big b wrote: »
    Damn them & their attempts to bring us cheaper shopping.

Their focus is on higher profits, the consumer appears to be a low priortity for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭Quint

The times had a better story about them a while back. Tesco announced 22% price drop, when it was really only an 8% drop. And a couple of months before they actually raised their prices 10%! All this while demanding a 20% cut from irish suppliers or they wouldn't stock their stuff!
    All this while they biggest markups are in ireland! Feel free to shop there! I'm off to Lidl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭big b

TheZohan wrote: »
    Their focus is on higher profits, the consumer appears to be a low priortity for them.

I don't want them to care about me.
    I want them to offer quality produce at the best price they can.
    If they do that, and I buy it, they're entitled to make a profit on the deal.

If I feel they haven't done it, I'll buy elsewhere & zero profit for them.

OP seemed to be making a point about Irish producers being squeezed out.
    Quite simply, if they can't get the price right, they won't sell their produce, unless they go for niche market "better than the average" angle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

I'm off to Lidl

Meh. Aldi ftw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭bobmalooka

Trying to screw over suppliers in the south andsupporting bigotry in the north.....every little helps as they say

I cant understand why people shop there

FVCK TESCO

**bob goes for a brisk walk**

TheZohan wrote: »

This is the problem, really. Cheaper shopping? Don't make me laugh. They've been shafting us for years and if you're still stupid enough to shop there after all of the news stories from the last few months then go ahead. It's your money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

d3mon24 wrote: »
    F*ck Tesco and their manky stores. Most of the sh1t they sell is out of date anyway

I can confirm this. I bought a Chicken Arrabiata there yesterday. When I got home I noticed the sell-by-date was the 27th of May 2009.

Of course, it's a miracle that they even had any in stock, as you can go for months without seeing them.

I can imagine that their poor restocking ability will suffer greatly from this change and we'll be seeing long lines of empty shelves shortly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 371 ✭✭chrism2007

the fruit and veg section is s*ite

Lidl for the win every time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Perhaps only for the sake of not sparking of a patriotic debacle they wanted to keep it quiet. God forbid they'd want to do business with the cheapest supplier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭jdivision

RATM wrote: »
    Tesco have just been found out trying to keep their shaft the Irish supplier policy under wraps. Not that we didn't know or anything but now it's official.
    That document's been in all the other papers already over the last five weeks.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Un noticed can mean anything. It could refer to things like trying to avoid stocking issues or pricing inaccuracies. The fact that they say "that is invisible to the Irish customer and the UK Commercial team" says to me that they weren't trying to hoodwink (love that word :)) the irish consumer. If that statement was meant to show how they were planning to hide this changeover from consumers why would they include the commercial team in it?

So the word invisible in the statement is being taken a little too literally in my opinion. Also I could have sworn tesco were the ones who said they were switching to uk suppliers, I might be wrong though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

Confab wrote: »
    Meh. Aldi ftw.

ahhhh, in fairness there's little difference between Aldi and Lidl.:rolleyes:

and Re; Tesco - they are just an english shower of spiv's who rode us all for years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 371 ✭✭chrism2007

i think it depends on what part of the country your in. theres a huge difference in Waterford but ive seen elsewhere that theres f*ck all

id rather give ze germans my money to be honest :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I love how people get all up in arms about Irish suppliers like tesco have some obligation to support Ireland as much as possible. They are a British company, if anything they should be supporting as many British jobs as they can.

Does everyone check to make sure Dunnes in the North and Spain are only buying local produce?

chrism2007 wrote: »
    id rather give ze germans my money to be honest :D

Agreed........:)

And of course lidl and aldi only but Irish products. Tesco have always been cheaper than dunnes and superquin, so surely they are riding the Irish consumer more? Anyone know how much markup Dunnes makes? More than Tesco I bet.

Stekelly wrote: »
    I love how people get all up in arms about Irish suppliers like tesco have some abligation to support Ireland as much as possible. They are a British company, if anything they should be supporting as many British jobs as they can.

Does everyone check to make sure Dunnes in the North and Spain are only buying local produce?

Their customers are Irish here in Ireland, not british. Not too hard to figure out.

What difference does that make? Should every online company selling into Ireland source their products through Irish suppliers? Or is that ok cos your getting stuff cheaper than if you bought it from an Irish company here?

Tesco have no oligation to use Irish suppliers in the first place, let alone when they are more expensive than UK ones.

I assume some of the poeple giving out here head up to Newry for their shopping now and again?

LOL at the people who are happy to buy in the UK because it is cheaper but get pissed off when Tesco do it. Tbh, you'd be better off praying sterling gets back up off it arse then Tesco will start buying in Ireland again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

LOL at the people who are happy to buy in the UK because it is cheaper but get pissed off when Tesco do it. Tbh, you'd be better off praying sterling gets back up off it arse then Tesco will start buying in Ireland again.

YEP, Damn Tesco screwing Irish industry while 40% of Irish consumers "actively shop" in NI.

What's active shopping?

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,978 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

K-9 wrote: »
    What's active shopping?

It's the opposite to inactive shopping where you got up, have a look around and come back without buying anything.

I've never liked tesco shops and I try to avoid shopping there as much as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Stekelly wrote: »
    I love how people get all up in arms about Irish suppliers like tesco have some abligation to support Ireland as much as possible. They are a British company, if anything they should be supporting as many British jobs as they can.

and the same people holiday abroad rather than staying in Ireland supporting Irish jobs.

As for Tesco, I have just saved over 5 Euro on my Persil washing powder, can't knock those savings.

OPENROAD wrote: »
    and the same people holiday abroad rather than staying in Ireland supporting Irish jobs.

As for Tesco, I have just saved over 5 Euro on my Persil washing powder, can't knock those savings.

Loss leader I reckon. Was Persil the only thing you bought or did you make up those profits by buying other stuff too?

Rojomcdojo wrote: »
    Loss leader I reckon. Was Persil the only thing you bought or did you make up those profits by buying other stuff too?

I also bought some wash up liquid that was cheaper than the other supermarkets, I try and buy items based on price so am not loyal to any supermarket, I will buy my shopping in several supermarkets taking advantage of price savings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

YEP, Damn Tesco screwing Irish industry while 40% of Irish consumers "actively shop" in NI.

What's active shopping?

And screw that Jacob Fruitfield Group for closing down the Kimberley factory and moving production out of the country.:mad: Surely they can't really be an Irish company?:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

Bring back Quinsworth I'd say

Mrmoe wrote: »
    Bring back Quinsworth I'd say

They were quite expensive if memory serves me correct.

OPENROAD wrote: »
    They were quite expensive if memory serves me correct.

Yeah but they were Irish, isnt that all that matters? Or is that just when it suites people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,657 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Nothing particularly cheap about Tesco imo. Considering they have such huge buying power and that, you definitely would not think it walking around their shops.

Much prefer Superquinn myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Overheal wrote: »
    Perhaps only for the sake of not sparking of a patriotic debacle they wanted to keep it quiet. God forbid they'd want to do business with the cheapest supplier.

There are plenty of products from dozens of countries in tesco, but they are clearly labelled as such. The goal here was obviously to pass off one countries produce as anothers. People willingly pay a bit extra if they feel national industries are being promoted as I'm sure you are well aware, so Tesco sought to profit from this by lying to the consumer. Also, if Tesco are unable to even label food's origin correctly why should the consumer trust the produce they have is sound? why should Irish producers do business with them if Tesco insist on ****ing them over? Why should British producers do business with them if the chances are good they'll just be undercut by someone else?
    As usual, people who only think about the bottom line fail to see there are significant rammifications to corporate lies beyond how much the goods actually cost. Congratulations.

mfitzy wrote: »
    Nothing particularly cheap about Tesco imo. Considering they have such huge buying power and that, you definitely would not think it walking around their shops.

Much prefer Superquinn myself.

Have noticed big drops in the Letterkenny store and it's busier. It was dead lately, even at Christmas. Supervalue and Eurospar closed too.

Too people who are saying this will lose Irish jobs, Hellloooohhhh, we already are losing them.

When the prices are introduced country wide, people will see the difference.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

+1 K-9.

I'm a regular nordie shopper and once Tesco introduce these 'lower' prices to Dublin, i will shop here.
    I hate them for being dishonest on pricing in the past but if they support my wallet, i can forgive :)

gurramok wrote: »
    +1 K-9.

I'm a regular nordie shopper and once Tesco introduce these 'lower' prices to Dublin, i will shop here.
    I hate them for being dishonest on pricing in the past but if they support my wallet, i can forgive :)

Definitely are lower, good to see it. Not as cheap as NI, but then, that's unrealistic.

There are plenty of products from dozens of countries in tesco, but they are clearly labelled as such. The goal here was obviously to pass off one countries produce as anothers..

I'm not sure that this is the case. We are talking suppliers here not actual products, i.e. before Tesco would buy say Persil from an Irish supplier now they are directly sorcing it themselves rather than the Irish supplier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Definitely are lower, good to see it. Not as cheap as NI, but then, that's unrealistic.

If its a 10% difference after conversion, grand so. As long as its not the 50% difference forcing the likes of me to go up north. (alcohol excluded)

A pity they don't detail those new prices on their website. Its not exactly encouraging for a Drogheda resident to shop online when the prices online are set nationally(dearer) and not locally(cheaper!)

If its a 10% difference after conversion, grand so. As long as its not the 50% difference forcing the likes of me to go up north. (alcohol excluded)

A pity they don't detail those new prices on their website. Its not exactly encouraging for a Drogheda resident to shop online when the prices online are set nationally(dearer) and not locally(cheaper!)

Well they don't do online shopping for Letterkenny so can't comment. Rents are usually higher and VAT, though many food items ave 0% VAT.

Wages are higher, so if you are happy with the ROI worker getting the same wage and paying the same tax and PRSI as the NI worker, fair enough.

10-20% is a fair variation IMO.

• Company Representative Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭Gamesnash.ie: Pat

AFAIK the prices are different on the tesco website depending on what address you use once you have logged in. So the Drogheda resident will see the lower prices from the Drogheda store whilst someone in Dublin or Cork will see their local prices.

There was someone posting may have been in consumer issues a comparison that was a lot cheaper for delivery to Drogheda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Where does it say they are shafting their suppliers?

Just use your imagination.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

Just shop in supervalu

and pay more for your shopping

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,395 ✭✭✭Marksie

Well as the owners of one is the brother of the owner of another..a lot closer :)
    Tesco have always been cheaper than dunnes and superquin, so surely they are riding the Irish consumer more? Anyone know how much markup Dunnes makes? More than Tesco I bet.

Of course they are, they are just as devious..and why? the answer is in their tagline...the difference is.....

ASDA all the way lol. That and a very large car and a credit card. The one in Enniskillen is good but small. When in the UK i look at the flagship stores, savings of up to 60% on equivalent here and a massive selection. With alcohol being very good :D.
    Plus there is COSCO, my bro has a card, which is cheaper in bulk
    Even buying at amazon, you click on the address link and the price changes due to the VAT difference (though their exchange rate is good TBH), plus postage.

So everything i buy is sent home, a little patience and a ferry journey and its massive savings.
    Tough on the economy, but you voted em in again and again, you reap the rewards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

It pisses me off when people moan about Tesco and not using Irish suppliers, especially when I'm confident a large proportion of these people probably go up North to save money. Do they think shops up North use Irish suppliers? No, they use UK suppliers. That's generally why there's such a huge price difference. All Tesco is doing is bringing the shopping prospects of the North down to Dublin and other places in Ireland. Except, now, the tax is going to OUR government and OUR state instead of the UK's.

I really don't see the problem