Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Busiest Stations

• 28-05-2009 9:03pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭

Just curious what are the busiest stations in Ireland for
    Gardai
    Fire Brigade
    Ambulance
    Lifeboat
    Coastguard
    Mountain Rescue

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

It's all relative surely?

20 people in a 2 man station is just as busy as 200 people in a 20 man station..
    Plus, It would change the whole time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭BizPost

Ok so not so easy for Garda but other stations numbers of callouts.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

In dublin, Tallaght (crazy) and blanchardstown would be two of the busiest for the gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭999/112

Coast Guard; I think the Doolin Coast Guard unit are the busiest boat/cliff team in the country. They don't do much "letter opening" stuff, mostly high profile calls.
    I was at VOR in Galway today, seen the Doolin boat there, WOW! They also had a '09 Toyota 4WD, nice jeep. Spoke to a few of the crew, nice chaps!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

999/112 wrote: »
    Coast Guard; I think the Doolin Coast Guard unit are the busiest boat/cliff team in the country. They don't do much "letter opening" stuff, mostly high profile calls.
    I was at VOR in Galway today, seen the Doolin boat there, WOW! They also had a '09 Toyota 4WD, nice jeep. Spoke to a few of the crew, nice chaps!

Doolin are the busiest by far. (Although Howth would like everyone to think they are:rolleyes:)

As stated all of Doolins calls are life at risk calls. Great bunch of lads and always a pleasure to work with

After that it would be Dingle, Ballybunion, Killaloe, Howth and Costello Bay.

Lifeboats stats are available on their website (but know to add a few so dont take as gospel). Arran Island are the busiest (or at least were) due to Patient Transfer and long haul shouts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 barry-

Chief--- wrote: »
    In dublin, Tallaght (crazy) and blanchardstown would be two of the busiest for the gardai.

spend a day in my station and u will think tallaght is a godsend. dont want to say where i am but lets just say if you are here you are probably tryin for a transfer like every1 else!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭BizPost

Doolin are the busiest by far. (Although Howth would like everyone to think they are:rolleyes:)

As stated all of Doolins calls are life at risk calls. Great bunch of lads and always a pleasure to work with

After that it would be Dingle, Ballybunion, Killaloe, Howth and Costello Bay.

Lifeboats stats are available on their website (but know to add a few so dont take as gospel). Arran Island are the busiest (or at least were) due to Patient Transfer and long haul shouts.

How many calls are you talking a year? Looking at Dolins website it looks like Howth have the most number of calls this year.

BizPost wrote: »
    How many calls are you talking a year? Looking at Dolins website it looks like Howth have the most number of calls this year.

Compare Doolins calls with all of Howths flares seen, cars stuck, stood down after 10-15 minutes. Howth are dispatched to everything they can due to the fact they are the only unit in Dublin.

Doolin the busiest with most persons saved/recovered and operate a cliff/boat rescue team. Howth only have a cliff rescue team (their boat is a store boat used for seaonal lifejacket compliance monitoring only).

Ask any IrCG member and they'll tell you Doolin....mention Howth and they'll laugh:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 Diverman

Ask any Howth member and they'll laugh too. Laugh at how people who should know better in the emergency services slag off the work of a fellow first response rescue team.

All the units in the Coast Guard would tend to be have incidents which are broadly similar but certain units due to their location might have more flare calls, body recoveries, boat incidents, towing etc. so it's very hard to say which one is the busiest without actually categorizing the type of call. The Coast Guard supplies quite a broad service but not every station carry the same equipment or manning level. We in Howth get a lot of urban type incidents due to our location in a large population area and the fact that we have the RNLI station in the harbour with us covering at sea and close to shore incidents means our boat is not first response so we have very few boat incidents(only six last year). Howth volunteers gave 4893 logged hrs to the CG last year. Many more are not logged.

Howth is indeed a busy unit and probably has the most 'callouts' this year so far but if you break it down into specific duties or maybe hours spent we don't claim to be at the top. I notice Doolin have had two long searches for missing people so in terms of hours spent they've wiped us out easily. We haven't conducted a long search since last year and our area of operation is very small compared to other units. Other teams have conducted long searches for extended periods this year as well but they may have had only a few calls in total.

Our boat is on station twelve months of the year now and we go to sea year round. It is a patrol boat classed as an aid to the unit and we are expected to have a crew available at all times so saying it is only used during the summer is incorrect. It has been launched on incident for searches and recoveries but is not first response as said we have the RNLI on station in Howth.

So asking a question of the services who is the busiest will bring loads of different answers. Everybody will claim to be the busiest in some way.

DM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

Diverman wrote: »
    Everybody will claim to be the busiest in some way.
    Those noxious weeds haven't gone away, you know.

deadwood wrote: »
    Those noxious weeds haven't gone away, you know.

Neither have the obnoxious people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭djtechnics1210

barry- wrote: »
    spend a day in my station and u will think tallaght is a godsend. dont want to say where i am but lets just say if you are here you are probably tryin for a transfer like every1 else!

Why would you want to leave a busy station????? In 2007 command and control logged tallaght with the most calls in the dmr for a year, you only have to look at c&c at any time of the day and you'll see how busy the station is. After that its finglas, blanch and coolock for the amount of calls they have, plus they have a huge amount of criminal gangs and gangland activity which makes for a massive range in the calls recieved . If ya aint in one of those dmr stations then ya aint in one of the busiest in dublin imho.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 barry-

yea im in dmr alright and i know tallaght is the busiest on c+c but at least they have the bodies or so im told. i dont mind workin in a busy station one bit but i do mind when management hang us out to dry for our response times. its more how our station is run with our call volume by management who dont seem to have a clue what theyre doing!
    Why would you want to leave a busy station????? In 2007 command and control logged tallaght with the most calls in the dmr for a year, you only have to look at c&c at any time of the day and you'll see how busy the station is. After that its finglas, blanch and coolock for the amount of calls they have, plus they have a huge amount of criminal gangs and gangland activity which makes for a massive range in the calls recieved . If ya aint in one of those dmr stations then ya aint in one of the busiest in dublin imho.

If you arrived at the call before it even happened management would still be giving out about response times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭ria5000

store street, store street, store street

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭pvt.joker

ria5000 wrote: »
    store street, store street, store street

store street = shoplifters and nothing else.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,601 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

Surely some of the Limerick stations have to be high on the list, Henry Street, Bruff?

happyhappy wrote: »
    not down round sheriff st it aint'. i'm not stationed there but it is a busy station. plenty of shop lifters but a busy fued down the bottom end of the district.

Not near as bad as the feuding in finglas and blanch

Surely some of the Limerick stations have to be high on the list, Henry Street, Bruff?

Henry street was regarded as the busiest station in the country once due to amount of call and man power. Man power is up now. Would still consider them to be busier than a lot of DMR stations.

Bruff?? = Sleepy Hollow:)

happyhappy wrote: »
    true dj i agree. was just clarifying the story that normally goes around when you are leaving the college on phase 4 that store street is only shop lifters!![/quote]

Members in store street lift shops!!!:eek:

God they must be the strong bunch:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭source

Henry street was regarded as the busiest station in the country once due to amount of call and man power. Man power is up now. Would still consider them to be busier than a lot of DMR stations.

Bruff?? = Sleepy Hollow:)

Henry street is busy, but i'd say pearse st would be busier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭ria5000

pvt.joker wrote: »
    store street = shoplifters and nothing else.

nothing else? youre having a laugh. look up some daily incidents on pulse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭FGR

I. Hate. Shoplifters. The most monotonous, painful files that are so frustrating.

Especially when they're after leaving the shop prior to arrival. Give me a Section 3 assault any day..