Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Not happy with 20 week scan

• 26-05-2009 9:15pm
    Registered Users Posts: 12

Hi

I Had my 20 week scan semi private in the coombe today and everything seemed very rushed.
    It was very quick and he only measured the babys head, the way the baby was lying we did not see face etc.
    Is this normal? I was expecting a longer scan with more detail measurements legs, arms etc.

Zed

• Registered Users Posts: 186 ✭✭lalalulu

Yes that definitely seemed rushed!
    At my 20 week scan, it was a midwife scanning me and she took at least 20 minutes taking pictures from loads of different angles. I was able to see my daughter's heart filling up with blood and how it then made it's way to the lungs it was amazing. I could see the baby's finger's and toes and i could make out a nose and mouth! You could talk to your gp at your next visit and see what they can do for you. I know you can go to a private clinic to have a detailed scan done, nearly sure it costs 300 euro..

• Registered Users Posts: 506 ✭✭✭gowayouttadat

zedster unfortunately it seems to completely depend on what hospital you attend and who you get on the day. The exact same thing happened me with my 20 week scan in CUMH and I found out afterwards that the hospital don't do in depth 20 week scans. I had read on here and on other boards that you get an in depth scan at 20 weeks and that's what I was expecting.
    I was so disappointed when it wasn't like that. Mine lasted a grand total of about 60 seconds!! That was back in March and since then I've read on other boards that it's apparently down to the hospital. Some hospitals do in depth scans as normal and some don't.

• Registered Users Posts: 12 zedster

Thanks guys, I think i will call my gp 2morrow and see what she says.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,953 Mod ✭✭✭✭Moonbeam

Aww:(
    Mine was really detailed and amazing too,it was with a sonographer in Holles Street.They went out of their way to try and get some good pictures too as my mother was in South America.
    You are paying for a service so do not be afraid to say that you are unhappy with it.
    DId they take pictures for you?

A private non hospital scan is 100 euro +

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,865 ✭✭✭✭January

Moonbeam wrote: »
    Aww:(
    Mine was really detailed and amazing too,it was with a sonographer in Holles Street.They went out of their way to try and get some good pictures too as my mother was in South America.
    You are paying for a service so do not be afraid to say that you are unhappy with it.
    DId they take pictures for you?

A private non hospital scan is 100 euro +

Just to touch on that, when I went for my private scan they didn't take any measurements or anything... just literally showed me the heartbeat and where baby was and printed some pictures. They told me in no way do they do anomoly scans. If I were you I'd go to your GP.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭irishgrover

.... from a medical point of view, it would seem that if there were any issues then the scan would last a lot longer.
    I'm in now way attempting to minimize your disappointment that the scan was shorter than expected, and did not involve all the measurements and views you had hoped for. Rather I'm suggesting that from a 'is everything okay' view point it seemed to go well, and not to worry too much about it from a baby welfare point of view...........very best of luck with the next twenty weeks, months and years :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭KittenCaboodle

So is it only a 20 week scan you get when you go public?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

Just to touch on that, when I went for my private scan they didn't take any measurements or anything... just literally showed me the heartbeat and where baby was and printed some pictures. They told me in no way do they do anomoly scans. If I were you I'd go to your GP.

Same here. As a private patient though i did recieve regular scans, but the consultant himself did them. Literally jelly on the belly, "see the heart beat, everything looks fine, see you in 4 weeks". I went public on my first pregnancy and can say without doubt the twenty week scan was much more detailed.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭shenanigans1982

It seems to be, my OH got an appointment for the end of june but we will be away so she got another one which was a month later.

We both felt that was too late so decided to go for a private scan (won't name the place incase it's deemed as advertising). When we got there we found out she was four weeks further along than she thought and the woman doing the scan took extra time to do all the measurements get good photos and make sure everything was ok.

All this would have meant she would be nearly 30 weeks by the time her scan came around. I would reccomend going for the private scan if you have a bit of extra cash because it really helps to put your mind at ease.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭KittenCaboodle

It seems to be, my OH got an appointment for the end of june but we will be away so she got another one which was a month later.

We both felt that was too late so decided to go for a private scan (won't name the place incase it's deemed as advertising). When we got there we found out she was four weeks further along than she thought and the woman doing the scan took extra time to do all the measurements get good photos and make sure everything was ok.

All this would have meant she would be nearly 30 weeks by the time her scan came around. I would reccomend going for the private scan if you have a bit of extra cash because it really helps to put your mind at ease.

Thanks for that. Will definitely do that once I get my first antenatal visit sorted. Feel free to PM me the place you got yours done if it's in the West. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 506 ✭✭✭gowayouttadat

No it seems to totally depend on the hospital.
    I'm public in Cork and after going to my GP to confirm the pregnancy I got a letter from the hospital with a date for both a 12 week and 20 week scan.
    I think the problem is that the process isn't streamlined and that every hospital is different so it totally depends on where you are going.
    Same problem with the 20 week scans, some are in depth anomoly scans and some, like mine, are a very quick check with the doctor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,865 ✭✭✭✭January

Totally different, originally I was going to go to the Coombe as it was giving me an early appointment (12 weeks and 19 weeks) with scans at both. Decided to go to the Rotunda and was only getting the scan at 19 weeks. So went for the private scan. Got two more scans later on in pregnancy as they were worried about baby being a bit on the small side.

• Registered Users Posts: 1 sarahbelle

Hi All,

i was looking for info on 20wk scans and found this thread... It has helped to make my mind up about paying privately for an anomaly scan, next thursday in the beacon. I have been attending the coombe as a public patient and have been really disappointed about the scans, don't want to sound ungrateful as i know some people might not even get a scan but at what was to be our 'Big Scan' the sonographer spent no longer than 30 seconds locating our little one, pointing out the heartbeat then that was it!! There was no indepth analysis or any assessment, such a let down. Its funny as a friend of mine is two weeks ahead of me in her pregnancy and is attending the naas clinic where the midwife spent nearly 45mins looking at everything and being really thorough. I guess it depends where you go and who you see.

Anyway, i'm really looking forward to next week, its €195, maybe a bit excessive but i probably would have spent that out boozing in a weekend before i was pregnant!!

I'll post how it goes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 minnie moi

I had a scan in the Coombe at 13 weeks and it was great.It took about 20 mins.Then I had a mini scan on my first visit with the doc 2 weeks later.I have another scan in 6 weeks time when I'll be 24 weeks pregnant.I'm semi private.

• Registered Users Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

agree with how rushed it was. we were in for about 2 mins. as others posted - jelly on the belly, look - see the flicker, thats that heart, cheers, thanks , see you in 2 more months.
    It was shocking that non eof our questions were answered and that we had to submit a written request for a more detailed scan that they said would probably be rejected anyway!! wtf?!?! Is is against the law in this country to try to see how your baby is doing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭pushki

Im sorry you weren't happy with your 20 week scan, you are right to get one done privately just to put your mind at ease, My 20 week anomaly scan was rescheduled for a month later than was organised because my consultant was on holidays and when i went for the scan it wasn't even the consultant herself that did it. as i was lying down i did not see any pics of baby even though my oh did. We didn't get any pics to take home and when i asked the reg if everything was ok he said yes only he couldn't see something ( some organ or artery) because of the babys position and he said they would re scan the following week at my check up.
    When i went to my check up the following week it was a different Dr and she was really rude she refused to check on what the other reg couldn't see even though it was ordered on the notes.
    I've another app. at the end of the month and if i meet the same doc i will completely lose it!!!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,436 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

pushki wrote: »
    We didn't get any pics to take home and when i asked the reg if everything was ok he said yes only he couldn't see something ( some organ or artery) because of the babys position and he said they would re scan the following week at my check up.
    When i went to my check up the following week it was a different Dr and she was really rude she refused to check on what the other reg couldn't see even though it was ordered on the notes.
    I've another app. at the end of the month and if i meet the same doc i will completely lose it!!!

Jesus that's terrible :eek:

I have to say, I went public in the Rotunda and I have no complaints whatsoever.. I was scanned on most of my visits, wasn't expecting half of the scans I got and we got a set of pics from the 10 week EPU scan (Early Pregnancy Unit) 14 week scan and the 22 week scan.. and each time I was given any information I requested and can't say I ever felt rushed.

I had a history of miscarriages though so maybe that played some part.

Also, it's 2 years since I was pregnant so maybe the baby boom has had an impact on the level of care that's given now..

• Registered Users Posts: 2,260 ✭✭✭Mink

I had a 12 wk scan & 22 wk scan at Rotunda and they were good.
    The sonographer doing the 22 wk scan did move at a fast pace but she checked loads of stuff and let us see things on the screen before going to the next thing. Printed off some great pics of baby's face profile etc.

They are mega busy in there but Rotunda still seem to be best for scans and I've not found the waiting time to be overly long (mind you I've not started going in for the regular "near the end" checks yet).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

Some docs have a terrible attitude and try to rush you. We asked to switched from one female doctor in Holles because of it. At our first check up with her, I'd say she took less than 20 secs in the room. We thought she was coming back, and kinda shocked we realised that was it. Never had that experience with the other docs though.

A decent doc will not have an objection for you asking for a 2nd opinion either. They'll probably suggest it if you are not happy or theres some thing thats not certain.

• Registered Users Posts: 161 ✭✭Annabananna

Hey i went to mount Carmel for both of mine the last a year ago and i can highly recommend there 20wks scan it cost 160 to 180e and we were in there for a good 30 to 45mins on both and we felt such happiness coming out that the baby was healthy as far as a scan can tell also got lovely pics as well as report for doc. I suggest if you not happy to to the hospital authories and demand to be rescanned been busy is no excuse for rudeness or rushing mums every child is precious so been busy is no excuse for this behaviour

• Registered Users Posts: 9,624 ✭✭✭wmpdd3

For both my 20 week scans, I was in for atleast 30 mins. Everything was checked from position of placenta to cleft lip etc. There was a check list that the midwife was filling in, in my file and the sonographer had to find that information on screen. I got 9 pics of my baby's foot the last time as it was the only thing recognisable! This was in Waterford RH. The machine was old but I was very happy that everything had been checked. What do they call it in England, Post Code lottery?!

I was also scanned at 12 weeks and 38 and 39 to check fluid. I was a normal pregnancy, no issues at all.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 13,425 ✭✭✭✭Ginny

I'm going to the Rotunda, had a mini scan at my 12 week appt. to check heartbeat got one picture. At my 20 week scan it was a very detailed scan went on for about 25-30 minutes, had a screen on the wall so we could both see everything, and we got about 5 pictures. There was one thing the sonographer couldn't check, so I had a rescan at 25 weeks and she checked the issue and then rechecked everything else, and I got 3 more pictures. At my 28 week appointment I got another mini scan, but it was better then the 12 week one, got no pictures. This is all with the Rotunda and going public, and with no complications.

• Registered Users Posts: 774 ✭✭✭notsobusy

zedster wrote: »
    Hi

I Had my 20 week scan semi private in the coombe today and everything seemed very rushed.
    It was very quick and he only measured the babys head, the way the baby was lying we did not see face etc.
    Is this normal? I was expecting a longer scan with more detail measurements legs, arms etc.

Zed

Zedster we had a similar experience in Drogheda. I didn't even know I was getting a 20 week scan so had booked one privately in Newry. The lourdes rang me on a friday and asked if I could come in on a Sun. I was in for 5 mins and very disappointed.

Whereas Newry was fab, I was in there for about 35mins and saw a massive close up of the heart and that it was functioning etc etc. She also said that it ruled out 50% of conditions the baby could have. So very reassuring. If you're not happy go for a private one elsewhere.

• Registered Users Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

i am going public in the coombe, and am really happy with care so far. i am a doctor myself.

the routine practice for public patients in the coombe is to have two "official" scans, which are performed in the ultrasound suite by either very experienced sonographers or midwives with a specialist interest in imaging.
    the 12 week scan is basically to check the pregnancy is viable, whether there is a multiple pregnancy, accurate dating of the pregnancy, position of placenta, and check for major anomalies.
    the 20 week scan is the "anomaly scan". this should be a detailed assesment of anatomy and assesses for several different congenital abnormalities. they will also check the baby is growing properly etc. every patient is offered this scan, and it is optional for the mum to attend or not (we all get a leaflet on the scan at the booking in appointment offering the scan...

if all goes well and those 2 scans are normal, and you are attending the midwife clinic, no further scans are performed. if there is an issue with the pregnancy, further scans will be organised for you.
    if you are attending the public consultants clinic, they have a small ultrasound scanner in the OPD rooms, and will have a quick look at the baby when you attend for routine appts. it will be a quick look just to check size, position, heartbeat, volume of amniotic fluid, and the placenta. the machines they have are old and don't give great detail. if they have any detailed questions they will arrange for you to have a proper scan be done for you in the USS department.

now, if you are a private patient in the coombe i have no idea how things work, and whether they still get you to attend for the official 12 and 20 week scans in the actual ultrasound department. if not, and the consultant is just doing it themselves with there small handheld machines in the OPD rooms, then the scan probably won't be as detailed.

• Registered Users Posts: 189 ✭✭NyquistFreak

I'm with Limerick maternity, was scanned at 8 weeks over a suspected ectopic, all was well, scanned very quickly again at 13 weeks to check heartbeat, and only cos I pretty much begged them for it so I knew the pregnancy was viable so I could start telling people, and was not scanned again until 32 weeks. Every hospital seems to have its own policies on these things, to be honest I think they could be a little clearer earlier on about what you can expect from them, nearly every appointment I had I was hoping for a scan and came home disappointed, at least if I knew what to expect it wouldn't have been so bad. For a finish we ended up booking in for a private 3D scan in town and I couldn't recommend it highly enough. The quality of the pictures and service compared to what was offered at the hospital was worth the money to me, (and I'm not a rich lady, took a while to save for it like!) but even just to be treated in a semi-decent way made a nice change from what I was used to. Sorry now to anyone reading this working at the MW maternity, but I actually hate going in to ye. </rant>

• Registered Users Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭cyning

In Kerry if your going public it's one scan at between 19-24 weeks depending what consultant your under at your booking appointment: they do give you a letter clearly stating that though... so at least your not hoping for a scan every time you go in.

Saying that I've had 8 scans so far so if there is a need you get more... None of my scans have been anything more than 5 minutes either.