Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car Burnt out Dublin 3

• 26-05-2009 4:06pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭

Hi folks,

My car was recently burnt out parked on a residential street in Dublin 3 (Charleville Avenue) Apparently its been the third car done in recent weeks. The car was an 08 red mazda 3 comfort SE, loved the car and am obviously very pissed off, still paying finance and dealing with the insurance has been a nightmare. Basically Im wondering if anyone else has had a simular experience and what can I expect to get from the insurance?

So far ive been chasing them even though Im the one whos the victim of a random act of arson. I have been told by others that they will pay the market value which is about 10 grand less than I paid and obviously less than my loan is... plus ive looked everywhere online and there isnt one the same colour and model for sale. The colour was one of the reasons I bought it, I just want my car back! Can I say to the insurance company (axa) that I just want them to replace the car?

http://www.flickr.com/photos/38822337@N06/3566516755/! :-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Was the car less than a year old? If so, I think most ins cos replace with a brand new one. If not, it's market value i'm afraid. The market value is amenable to discussion, though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭mle1324

its is at these time where you wish you could break the persons neck who did that if you found them but then again its you who would be in more trouble:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭starlight07

mle1324 wrote: »
    its is at these time where you wish you could break the persons neck who did that if you found them but then again its you who would be in more trouble:mad:

You'd think that, the guards didnt give a crap, no one asked me to make a statement even though residendents of the street have an idea whos doing it. As I said to them who's to stop anybody heading across the street and burning out a car?? They replied "Its a rough area, contact your insurance" Fair enough had I parked on the side of a motorway with the keys in and abandoned it, but I didnt, I was spending the night in my mates, which I am entitled to do!! Would the guards say "its a rough area" if theyre necks did get broken?

Anan1 wrote: »
    Was the car less than a year old? If so, I think most ins cos replace with a brand new one. If not, it's market value i'm afraid. The market value is amenable to discussion, though.

Crapbags, its 13 months old. Ok now my blood is boiling even more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭Yakuza

Unfortunately, these days, I understand the insurance companies to be investigating claims for arson / theft etc to new / nearly new cars, as owners lose their jobs and can't afford to make the repayments.

I'm not for one minute suggesting that this is the case here, but there is a fair degree of statistical evidence to suggest that fraudulent claims are on the rise, (here, here, here and here), which causes the companies to investigate all such claims with a jaundiced eye.

I'm sorry to hear of your trouble, OP.

If you do end up getting a cheque for the market value, maybe you could just use that to buy a similar car (I know, it won't the the same), and continue to make your finance payments. I've no idea how it works with making repayments on an asset that doesn't exist any more, mind. If you could, then at least you'll still have a car, more or less being in the same position as you were before the fire (which is all the insurance company have to do, in their eyes ("indemnification"). The fact that the ar5e has dropped out of the value of early '08 cars is, unfortunately, not relevant to the insurance companies. Hopefully, you'll be able to get the same car or better with your settlement cheque.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭mle1324

You'd think that, the guards didnt give a crap, no one asked me to make a statement even though residendents of the street have an idea whos doing it. As I said to them who's to stop anybody heading across the street and burning out a car?? They replied "Its a rough area, contact your insurance" Fair enough had I parked on the side of a motorway with the keys in and abandoned it, but I didnt, I was spending the night in my mates, which I am entitled to do!! Would the guards say "its a rough area" if theyre necks did get broken?

oh well thats nothing new the guards dont give a F**k what so ever,and as for not been asked to make a statement just tippacal 'we dont give a s**t' that you recieve from the Garda.

Sorry about your car

• Closed Accounts Posts: 232 ✭✭ji

Sorry to hear bout that..

Mike o dwyer mazda dealer has a red mazda 3 not sure what year..

Yakuza wrote: »
    Unfortunately, these days, I understand the insurance companies to be investigating claims for arson / theft etc to new / nearly new cars, as owners lose their jobs and can't afford to make the repayments.

I'm not for one minute suggesting that this is the case here, but there is a fair degree of statistical evidence to suggest that fraudulent claims are on the rise, (here, here, here and here), which causes the companies to investigate all such claims with a jaundiced eye.

I understand that completly, the insurance really have been very thorough in their investigations, a hell of a lot more than the guards!!! It just makes it all the more annoying, I was happy enough making my repayments and never once missed a payment. Even though I was aware the market value had dropped substantially my logic was well I'll have the car another 3 years or so anyway to get my monies worth. There are plenty people who want this done to their cars, could the f*ckers who did it not find them!