Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin Graded Meets

• 26-05-2009 8:00am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 47

Lads, Dublin Graded meets are in full swing and as an athlete, have to say they are brilliant!! They are normally on a Wed evening and cater for all grades, national to novice (A,B,C & D). They host different races each time, normally every two weeks. 800m-5k. Have been watching the development of these races over the past few years have to say, the organisers are doing an excellent job in developing the sport! Check out
    http://www.dublinathletics.com/resFix/fixtures.asp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭thirtyfoot

jimbojambo wrote: »
    Lads, Dublin Graded meets are in full swing and as an athlete, have to say they are brilliant!! They are normally on a Wed evening and cater for all grades, national to novice (A,B,C & D). They host different races each time, normally every two weeks. 800m-5k. Have been watching the development of these races over the past few years have to say, the organisers are doing an excellent job in developing the sport! Check out

They also have 100-200-400 and a raft of field events too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭silverside

Next meet: 3rd June
    100,800,discus, long jump, shot
    Mens and Womens

full details click here

I have to say, I find the dublinathletics.com site a little hard to navigate

Well-run and friendly events though - well recommended

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 jimbojambo

Yeah, goood shout!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

silverside wrote: »
    Next meet: 3rd June
    100,800,discus, long jump, shot
    Mens and Womens

full details click here

I have to say, I find the dublinathletics.com site a little hard to navigate

Yeah its a nightmare, always takes me about 10 minutes to find the schedule for the graded meets. Last time I just saved it to my computer to save the hassle:p

Really looking forward to giving one of them a go. My main focus will be the mile but Ill race a few 800's too and I might even try a 400 (the 400 seems pretty intimidating to me though:D).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

Yeah its a nightmare, always takes me about 10 minutes to find the schedule for the graded meets. Last time I just saved it to my computer to save the hassle:p

Really looking forward to giving one of them a go. My main focus will be the mile but Ill race a few 800's too and I might even try a 400 (the 400 seems pretty intimidating to me though:D).
    400's are hard ,only ever ran them as part of a relay would much rather 800m anyday.

shels4ever wrote: »
    400's are hard ,only ever ran them as part of a relay would much rather 800m anyday.

Yeah I imagine your hurting for a while after the race. I reckon I would be quicker at the 400 than the 800 though but the fields look more competitive than a lot of the other distances (I imagine people would be less likely to try a 400 having no idea what their doing:P).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭silverside

I'm also concentrating on the mile this year (for the first time), my training the last week has been really bad , zero actually (laziness/rain/overtraining etc) but I'm gonna get back into it and maybe do the graded meet next week.

Anybody know do you have to be there before the first event kicks off to register or are they flexible?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

not before the first race however you do gotta be there in plenty of time as the close reg good bit before races especially if there good turn out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭RoyMcC

Some good racing at Irishtown this evening, the numbers boosted by a gang from Togher AC from down the country. Spotted a Boards AC vest but not sure of the wearer (Running Bing?).

But another sad night for Dublin field eventing with two long jumpers and NO javelin or discus entries :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭DJS

Yes it was great seeing the young lads from togher coming down. Steven macklin is doing a fnatastic job there and good to see him out of his cast aswel.

I was really suprised with the Mile races i thought there wasnt goin to be many people doing them but I came away with a huge pb so happy days. If only there were more photographers at these it would nearly make it the perfect race

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭Stupid_Private

DJS wrote: »
    If only there were more photographers at these it would nearly make it the perfect race

I've managed to get out to 4 races in the past week with my camera but sometimes, like last night, I race instead. One lad who asked me if I taking photos was shocked when he heard I was racing for a change! No official photographers are really needed - anyone with a digital camera will do a decent job.

Well done on your PB by the way.

RoyMcC wrote: »
    Some good racing at Irishtown this evening, the numbers boosted by a gang from Togher AC from down the country. Spotted a Boards AC vest but not sure of the wearer (Running Bing?).

Yeah that was me alright. Thought I spotted you (were you near stairs leading to the registration area?) but was'nt sure it was you:P

Was really pleasantly surprised last night. It was my first one of these and thought it was an excellent event, great atmosphere and some fantastic racing. Looking forward to the next one already:D

Managed to catch Dave McCarthy in the 400m. He's a big fella but fvck me he can move. The power he generates with his stride is unreal, he's like a gazelle and coming around the final bend he was just devouring the track (He didnt win though, some lad from Donore beat him who was also very classy).

My only gripe was the races being put ahead without much notice. I dont mind races being moved earlier but surely a board showing the adjusted times of races would make life easier?

Yeah that was me alright. Thought I spotted you (were you near stairs leading to the registration area?) but was'nt sure it was you:P

Was really pleasantly surprised last night. It was my first one of these and thought it was an excellent event, great atmosphere and some fantastic racing. Looking forward to the next one already:D

Managed to catch Dave McCarthy in the 400m. He's a big fella but fvck me he can move. The power he generates with his stride is unreal, he's like a gazelle and coming around the final bend he was just devouring the track (He didnt win though, some lad from Donore beat him who was also very classy).

My only gripe was the races being put ahead without much notice. I dont mind races being moved earlier but surely a board showing the adjusted times of races would make life easier?

Are the results correct in saying that he ran the 400m and the mile?

ecoli wrote: »
    Are the results correct in saying that he ran the 400m and the mile?

Yeah he seemed to struggle in the mile a bit I think:confused:

no suprised he was an 8 guy dropped to four and then doubled with a mile fair play to the guy

ecoli wrote: »
    no suprised he was an 8 guy dropped to four and then doubled with a mile fair play to the guy

Yeah was surprised to see him run the mile myself because the 400 looked quite a tough race.

He also struggled in the 400. That time for him is very poor. He may have been using as a training run considering he also did the mile. Both times were dreadfull so he must have been using as training in which case fair play to him and very 'big picture' attitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭epo addict

The Graded Meets this year have been well down on athletes taking part compared to previous years. Not as enjoyable as they used to be and wouldn't come close to the all action Irish Milers races.. They lack the life that comes from a real commentator with some energy and passion! Nick Davis is dull, dry and never smiles. He never motivates or encourages the athletes on the night. Father Stone out of the tv series Father Ted would do a better job:)

Last year at the Dublin International Liam Moggan was in fantastic form and not lagging far behind is the BHAA and Irish Milers Club's Susan Walsh who gives it loads at the races. They update the spectators on changes to races, mention athletes who are warming up and stretching... "It excites the crowd that a good race is on the cards"..This is how it should be done and at the weekend it's the IAAF Cork City Sports and i'd gladly bet my Ham & Chesse sambo that i'm eating right now that "Nick Davis won't be doing this":)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭DangerMouse27

Ive missed a few through a heel injury but i just had to give kudos on the father stone comparison...ive tea all down my puma t shirt! :)
    Who did trackside commentary before...he used to encourage.He was some guy with a beard?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭paddylast

just noticed this thread:

Do you have to be a member of a club to take part in the Dublin graded meets?

when does round one start each year?

how do you know what grade to run?

thanks!

paddylast wrote: »
    just noticed this thread:

Do you have to be a member of a club to take part in the Dublin graded meets?

when does round one start each year?

how do you know what grade to run?

thanks!

You can run unattached alright. as for round you can just do any of them you dont have to take them as a race series. dublinathletics site puts up the fixture list well in advance. In terms of grades they on the entry list they have times as a general guideline of what grade to run. other way is to check the results and see where you think you would fit in. Last one this year is on start of august

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭bren74

epo addict wrote: »
    The Graded Meets this year have been well down on athletes taking part compared to previous years. Not as enjoyable as they used to be and wouldn't come close to the all action Irish Milers races.. They lack the life that comes from a real commentator with some energy and passion! Nick Davis is dull, dry and never smiles. He never motivates or encourages the athletes on the night. Father Stone out of the tv series Father Ted would do a better job:)

Last year at the Dublin International Liam Moggan was in fantastic form and not lagging far behind is the BHAA and Irish Milers Club's Susan Walsh who gives it loads at the races. They update the spectators on changes to races, mention athletes who are warming up and stretching... "It excites the crowd that a good race is on the cards"..This is how it should be done and at the weekend it's the IAAF Cork City Sports and i'd gladly bet my Ham & Chesse sambo that i'm eating right now that "Nick Davis won't be doing this":)

I think this assessment is somewhat unfair both in terms of the graded meetings and Nick Davis contribution. This is my first year participating in the gradeds and feel I have improved immensly from participating - yes It may not come close to the all action provided by the IMC but the standard varies at the Graded meets because thats what its all about - giving athlethes of different standards the oppurtunity to race.

Like everyone involved on Wednesday nights in Santry and Irishtown they give their time for the sake of athletics. To be honest the tone and contribution of the MC (and whether he is smiling or not) is the least of my worries before a race. I think Nick does a fine job, like all who give up their free time to make the gradeds what they are

bren74 wrote: »
    I think this assessment is somewhat unfair both in terms of the graded meetings and Nick Davis contribution. This is my first year participating in the gradeds and feel I have improved immensly from participating - yes It may not come close to the all action provided by the IMC but the standard varies at the Graded meets because thats what its all about - giving athlethes of different standards the oppurtunity to race.

Like everyone involved on Wednesday nights in Santry and Irishtown they give their time for the sake of athletics. To be honest the tone and contribution of the MC (and whether he is smiling or not) is the least of my worries before a race. I think Nick does a fine job, like all who give up their free time to make the gradeds what they are

I think Nick Davis does ok too as he is the most knowledgable of all those who do the mic and thats important. There are not many alternatives. Susan Walsh is great and full of energy but her lack of knowledge outside of the IMC athletes lets her down. If she got more educated about all athletes and clubs I think she would be great at something like the Nationals. The worst I've heard was the guy on the mic at the AAI Games in Athlone. I don't know who he was but he was very, very bad. Didn't know any athlete, didn't know any club, looked like they pulled him from the back of the church at midnight mass on xmas eve and pushed a mic in his face, D'Unbelievables do Track and Field.

Tingle wrote: »
    I think Nick Davis does ok too as he is the most knowledgable of all those who do the mic and thats important. There are not many alternatives. Susan Walsh is great and full of energy but her lack of knowledge outside of the IMC athletes lets her down. If she got more educated about all athletes and clubs I think she would be great at something like the Nationals. The worst I've heard was the guy on the mic at the AAI Games in Athlone. I don't know who he was but he was very, very bad. Didn't know any athlete, didn't know any club, looked like they pulled him from the back of the church at midnight mass on xmas eve and pushed a mic in his face, D'Unbelievables do Track and Field.

At the last graded meet in Santry Nick Davis never mentioned once there was delay in the race program. The development races took place after the Morton Mile but on the timetable that athletes were given it was before it. The delays were a disgrace and not once were athletes warming up for a race told of delays to the schedule..Nick Davis was commentating on one race when a guy in a Tallaght singlet went by and Nick looking said "and now we have Joe Bloggs from Rathfarnham AC"..The guy went by again and guess what "knowledgable Nick" got the guys club wrong AGAIN..Now enough of my rant and i'll admit the night was still the best of this years graded meets to date. Big turnout in athletes and a minute silence for Sheila Brennan which was a very nice tribute...

Dont think that was fair as i heard him three times announce the delays and over the night

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭bren74

Delays/schedules are always announced - its typically the case athletes are on their warm up or otherwise engaged before the races. My race was put out by 25 mins which I heard Nick announce twice.
    I can't vouch for what Nick Davies said about your team mate as I didn't hear it but I take it from your tone and " " that you have an issue with the guy.

Likewise I thought Wednesday week ago was a fantastic night of athletics for both athletes and spectators alike.

Get over it! Nick Davis has been doing this voulunarily for years and does a great job. Count yourself lucky there is someone willing to continuiously give their free time so people like us can have an enjoyable evening.

This p*sses me off a bit. There seems to be a Dublin Board vs IMC battle. I talk to IMC guys and they put down the Dublin Board meets all the time. Don't have any affiliation with Dublin Board but the Gradeds are a good meet. The IMC are a good meet too. The fact they seem to be competing against each other is good as they are trying to raise the bar of the type of competition they deliver. Dublin Board probably win out as they have sprints and field (although nobody competes in these unless its the PV:() but both are good. Dublin Board then put obstacles in IMC way with permits etc etc. Its hilarious but in a funny way leads to the two meets competing to see which is best.

The commentator debate is a bit picky. Susan Walsh has made many mistakes on the 2 occasions I have heard her commentate on non-IMC races, no big deal and as I said over time if she commentates and gets more into non middle distance stuff she will get to know the clubs and the athletes. She is a great commentator and I love her energy but right now she doesn't have enough knowlegde of the non-Joe Bloggs athletes. I'd try to get her into commentating on more mainstream stuff but to do that you'd probably need a dispensation from the Pope as it would be against the way its always been done and you can't be making changes;)

Listen lads i'm entitled to my opinion it is a discussion board isn't it?? I've watched Nick for years and he needs to be replaced.. Liam Moggan was doing the Adidas 5 miler last week and kept talking for hours on the mic. He is a proper athletics MC and i hope he is doing the Frank duffy 10 miler & Half Marathon because he adds so much to the event. . . His abilty to combine the race, athletes, the crowd, and the athmosphere is a quality which Nick just aint got..Sorry guys !

Yes you are entitled to your opinion... Here's mine...

That is the most redicolious thing I have ever heard. To compare a commercialised setup (Adidas Series) to the Dublin Athletics setup is just plain silly. The fact that you are comparing these two further answers my questions of your actual knowledge..Seriously, think before you speak/write.. Furthermore, you have a choice of not going if it is not your scene.
    Sorry!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 RunToFart

Give them both mics and call them RUN IMC. Nick can be Reverend Run and in between races the two of them can rap "Its Tricky"... problem solved ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 Bugger

im with epo addict on this one.

Knowledgable Nick would put an insomniac to sleep. Furthermore he is consistently announcing incorrect splits in the middle of races. This is a huge distraction - especially if you are in one of these races and you happen to hear his announcement.

''To compare a commercialised setup (Adidas Series) to the Dublin Athletics setup is just plain silly'' - unless im mistake Liam Moggan was on the PA at the cork city sports??

Or was it the guy from the north that does the PA at national indoors??

Both are much better than Nick.

Bugger wrote: »
    im with epo addict on this one.

Knowledgable Nick would put an insomniac to sleep. Furthermore he is consistently announcing incorrect splits in the middle of races. This is a huge distraction - especially if you are in one of these races and you happen to hear his announcement.

''To compare a commercialised setup (Adidas Series) to the Dublin Athletics setup is just plain silly'' - unless im mistake Liam Moggan was on the PA at the cork city sports??

Or was it the guy from the north that does the PA at national indoors??

Both are much better than Nick.

Ah, so you know a bit..
    To be honest, this discussion is putting me to sleep! If you feel as hard done by as epo, (which I know is hugely unfair) try not going again.. Gotta be honest, I love racing in Graded Meets & IMC meets. None are perfect in every aspect but I am very greatful to them for my development. Furthermore, I have a coach shouting out my splits so something as trivial as an announcer call out wrong splits means nothing!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 RunToFart

Ah, so you know a bit..
    To be honest, this discussion is putting me to sleep! If you feel as hard done by as epo, (which I know is hugely unfair) try not going again.. Gotta be honest, I love racing in Graded Meets & IMC meets. None are perfect in every aspect but I am very greatful to them for my development. Furthermore, I have a coach shouting out my splits so something as trivial as an announcer call out wrong splits means nothing!!

Try running a race from the front without your coach there giving you splits and you are tryin to run the legs off your competitors and you think you are running fast and all of a sudden a split is called out 2-3 seconds slower than you thought you were going and you have a queue of people behind you.... i dont think you will find it as trivial then smart hole... then you pick it up cos you think you're running slow..... whats that coming over the hill is it lactic acid... is it lactic aaaaaacid :(

Ah come on! Resorting to name calling? But sshh.. It's ok to have a bad race. Sorry to hear you are having problems with your race tactics!

Furthermore, when I have a bad race the only person I blame is myself!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 run like a fox

Is there any threads left on this board without people arguing with each other?

I'm not partial to the woman at the IMC or the guy at the Dublin graded. I don't feel either of them are any better than the other. The events and the people that are taking part make the evening. The last Dublin Graded meet was top notch from a spectating point of view. The one before that wasn't really up to much but then that was because the athletes weren't there, not because the MC had a bad night. The last IMC was a fantastic evening, great weather and great performances. It was the first time I'd been at one of them and I really enjoyed the evening out. The woman on the MC at one stage called out for the men taking part in the 300m B race to go to the starting line. Not like she's without a few mistakes herself.

I'd also second what jimbo says as well - you can't blame an MC if you mess up your race.

Is there any threads left on this board without people arguing with each other?

Mr Fox I'm starting to wonder why I'm wasting part of my life reading some of the rubbish that has been put up here recently. It used to be a progressive sort of forum with good ideas, good advice, perceptive views. In the last few days it's plumbed some sorry depths. I'm off to Cricket.