Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway Boys at it again !

• 25-05-2009 10:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭

I know were going to get flack for bragging and that it will no doubt blow up in my face but feck it !!!!! our boys did well again :D

14 players from The Club traveled to play in the Munster Open this weekend in Killarney and 3 made it to the final table of 9, with 1 more, Eugene Corley just missing out when finishing in 10 place. The 3 Eglinton players at the final Table were Conor Ainsworth, Paul O Donnell and Pat O Callaghan, and all 3 had very different experiences getting there.

Conor had been up and down like a fiddlers elbow throughout the 2 days, going as low as 2000 in chips at one stage late in day 2, but he keep plugging away to make it to the final table with just over 150000, which was still below the average of 250000 but he was right in there with a chance.

Paul got to the final table with above average stack and had never allowed himself to get into real trouble at any stage, either picking up a hand or making the right move whenever he needed to. Outwardly a least his navagation to the final table seemed effortless

Pat on the other hand came out of the stalls like a rocket, playing a lot of hands at the early levels he got his starting stack of 15K up to 25k and then flopped a set of 2's and got it all-in against the queens and with 50k now he never looked back, a series of well played hands, some suck outs and a few outright mongings and he was the massive chip leaders at the end of day 1, with 190K when the average was 30K. When I talked to him after day 1 he told me he was playing the poker of his life, he felt it was nearly up to the standard of Fintans play in Reno 4 years ago.

All 3 Egs, (hardboiled by now) made it down to the final 4, but Conor was still short stacked as he had been throughout and when he pushed his 120K all in Pat felt he had the price to call with pocket 4's which held up against Conors AK.

With the stack being as good as level between Pat, Paul and Martin Noonan from Cork and with 13 hour of play already behind them on Day 2, the 3 reached across the table, shook hands and divided the spoils.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭cuterob

Pat o'C announced at the tournament that he was from cork

good piece aswell, would read again!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭Davewolf

cuterob wrote: »
    Pat o'C announced at the tournament that he was from cork

good piece aswell, would read again!!

True very true ,I should really have said the Eglinton boys , but he lives in Galway and plays his poker in the club and as we all know he's very willing to jump on whatever bandwagon suits him :P
    Mind you I'm delighted as I had 10% of him .... so comon Cork !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭Dave147

That ad is hilarious! Well done to the lads, wasn't many lads from Cork there was there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 82 ✭✭Davewolf

cooker3 wrote: »

lol ... ya but im about 4 stone heavier now ..... guna keep this as our theme song