Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best camera for Planespotting???

• 25-05-2009 8:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭

I do alot of planespotting around Cork airport and occassionly Shannon. I'd like to start taking pics of the planes and would obviously like to take good ones. Tried using my girlfriends Panasonics Lumix but wasn't any good for the quick moving planes.
    Was looking at the Canon EOS 450D but would want to make sure it was worth before i spend €600.
    What do ye think or what cameras do ye use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭silverside

i reckon you'd want a good zoom lens (pricey) with the 450d ,you're looking at well over a grand for cam + decent 70-200 lens.

think about a bridge camera like the fuji s9600 ... 15x zoom and a bit quicker to focus than the lumix . maybe ask in the arts->photography forum ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭jod1983

Thanks for the quick reply silverside. Just checked the price on one of those lens($1099)way to much.
    Not fascinated with the 450d but would it be good enough to start out with (eg 18-55 lens) and build up from their over time. Seen a few other plane spotters with these cameras.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

I use a Nikon D40, which is an entry level Dslr (Approx €500 for the camera) and I bought a Sigma 70-300mm Lens for taking pictures of planes at Dublin airport. The lens was €220. This is an expensive setup for just planes though, but worth it. I do use the camera a lot for work too.

You may be able to buy a second hand camera body, without a lens. The €500 price above includes a 'kit lens' which is 18-55mm, doesnt have any great reach for planes at all.

The sigma zoom lens auto focus's quick enough and you can get right into the pictures and really see the detail, nice and sharp too. You'll probably get people on here saying its not a sharp lens, but planespotting is a just a hobby, you dont need to go into mad money buying proffesional lenses.

The pics below are taken with the D40 and Sigma 70-300 AF lens (make sure you get the autofocus one too, planes dont stick around waiting for you to focus...)

76689.jpg

80897.jpg

80896.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭jod1983

Bloodly hell
    They are brillant, will diffintly check out this camera. Thanks for the reply

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

Great shots Stee. Love the one of the ATR.

Thanks lads, there is some photoshopping done to these, but the lens + camera setup is great, and very easy to use even without camera experience.

Make sure you post your pictures in the Aviaiton pics thread when you get the camera... If you've any other questions drop me a PM or post back here....
    Stee wrote: »
    You'll probably get people on here saying its not a sharp lens, but planespotting is a just a hobby, you dont need to go into mad money buying proffesional lenses.

Oh, and ignore this statement, I assumed this thread was in the photography forum for some reason, that lot will only recommend cameras that require a re-mortgage!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

but planespotting is a just a hobby, you dont need to go into mad money buying proffesional lenses.

Those shots are absolutely amazing, But DO NOT say the above to any members of www.ukar.co.uk :-)

Steyr wrote: »
    Those shots are absolutely amazing, But DO NOT say the above to any members of www.ukar.co.uk :-)

:D Sorry!! I meant to say IF planespotting is just a hobby...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭peter1892

I assumed this thread was in the photography forum for some reason, that lot will only recommend cameras that require a re-mortgage!!

Surely not! ;)

A Canon 450D might be a good choice - Canon have replaced this model with the 500D so it may be possible to pick up a 450D at a cheaper price as stocks begin to run out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭GBX

I use a Nikon D40, which is an entry level Dslr (Approx €500 for the camera) and I bought a Sigma 70-300mm Lens for taking pictures of planes at Dublin airport. The lens was €220. This is an expensive setup for just planes though, but worth it. I do use the camera a lot for work too.

There was a bargain alert here recently http://www.blah.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=346 for the D40. I was looking ast getting this camera. Im getting it shipped to a friend up north through amazon. currently £259 with free shipping to Newry, which is great value. You can get it shipped to Cork for a reasonable price through amazon now as they ship electronics to the republic now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,924 ✭✭✭Nforce

I've just bought a Nikon D300 to go with my 70-300mm VR lens. Hope to get a nikon 70-200vr at some point in the future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,091 ✭✭✭Biro

jod1983 wrote: »
    Thanks for the quick reply silverside. Just checked the price on one of those lens($1099)way to much.
    Not fascinated with the 450d but would it be good enough to start out with (eg 18-55 lens) and build up from their over time. Seen a few other plane spotters with these cameras.

Nikon and Canon are the two leaders in the SLR market. Once you buy either one or the other you kind of buy into the system. The reason is that once you have a few accessories and lenses, they're only good for that brand.
    Either way though, both are excellent, and as per any rival company when a new model is launched one brand may be slightly ahead of the other until the other counteracts with their latest and greatest. In reality though the difference between them is minimal enough.
    What is important though is the fact that a camera can't take a good picture. That part is up to you. A good picture can be taken with any camera, better cameras make it easier and makes your picture taking more flexible. No matter what though if you want good pictures you're going to have to prepare to learn a bit! It is fun though, and a very interesting hobby!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,472 ✭✭✭highlydebased

I got the Canon Eos 1000D- its the model in between the 400d and 450d, got it with a 70-300mm lense for around 450 euro from Jessops

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 irishflyingkid

Anyone know any lenses for finepix s5700

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,777 ✭✭✭flyingsnail

Anyone know any lenses for finepix s5700

As far as I know the s5700 is a bridge camera, you cannot change the lens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭Reoil

This really is better suited to the photography forum, btw.
    OP, it's really more about the lens rather than the camera.
    I use a Nikon D300 and the Nikon 70-200mm 2.8 lens. But I live near Aldergrove, which is ****e for spotting!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭Deep Thought

holy moley..this has to be the oldest thread revival ever....

3.5 years since last post

The narrower a man’s mind, the broader his statements.