Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Flight sim centre for Dublin Airport

• 25-05-2009 7:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭

Pretty cool news....would love an hour in one though!:D

A new flight simulator will touch down in Dublin to train pilots from all over the world, it emerged today.

Simtech has announced a multi-million euro investment to build Ireland’s first Aviation Centre of Excellence near Dublin Airport.

The company, which currently employs 24 people, provides aviation flight simulation and aviation training for airlines and helicopter companies including City Jet, Tiger Airways in Singapore and Aer Arann.

It expects to create 16 new jobs over the next five years.

Fergal Keogh, founder of Simtech, said the multi-million euro investment by Simtech signals confidence in Ireland’s ability to play a significant part in world aviation training and support services.

Taoiseach Brian Cowen marked the announcement with a tree-planting ceremony at the site of the new centre at Dublin Airport Logistics Park.

Source: Breakingnews.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭thesweeney

It's goina be smashing. New building looks deadly. Simtech are on the up and up. Is the new sim the atr Ive heard about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,133 ✭✭✭View Profile

I only recently had a go in our Mechtronix 737-NG. It was already set up for a Dublin departure (R/W10), did a 180 after passsing Howth for an ILS back onto 28. Was great craic. Nice modern machine. Visuals wernt too bad either. Could even make out my road where my gaff is! :D

Surprisingly easy to fly manually!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,941 ✭✭✭pclancy

Excellent news.