Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Recommendations for a Prodigy fan

• 25-05-2009 6:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭

Ive been a fan of the Prodigy most of my life and have generally loved everything they have done. I was just listening to "Invaders must die" again recently (Think its brilliant) and was thinking are their any other bands out there you would recommend to somebody who likes the Prodigy?

The thing is normally Im not into dance/electronic music at all, Id be much more into guitar bands, but there's got to be stuff out there similar to the Prodigy that I would like and I wouldnt mind giving it a listen. So any recommendations are much appreciated.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭nah_biy!

Without trying to be rude, you have heard Music For the Jilted Generation right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭Four-Percent

I don't know if you'd call it similar to the Prodigy, but Proxy has always claimed to be influenced by them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

nah_biy! wrote: »
    Without trying to be rude, you have heard Music For the Jilted Generation right?

Yes, why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

i'd recommend:::

noisia
    pitchshifter
    pendulum
    death in vegas

for starters...

• Subscribers Posts: 8,325 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭Beaucoupfish

The Prodigy haven't moved musically in 15 years. first 2 albums great, the rest really really awful. Really Really Awful. I used to follow them 93 - 95 but since firestarter it's been downhill into some pit of electric punk ****. But they are back now entertaining pissed 16 year olds at festivals so i salute thei staying power. Maxim looks in great shape but for how long can these 40 somethings jump around a stage screaming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭Beaucoupfish

oh and stick them in lastFm.com radio and see what comes up. I honestly don't think there is much like them now. Maybe im getting old or you could listen to mid 90s dance music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭TygerKrash

Bigtime prodigy fan myself. theres nothing like the real thing.. but Here's a couple of albums I found over the years that whetted my appetite for something similar..

Chemical Brothers - Exit Planet Dust
    Pop Will Eat Itself - Dos Dedos Mes Amigos
    Senser - Asylum
    Pitchshifter - www.pitchshifter.com
    Junkie XL - Saturday Teenage kick
    Front 242 - 05:22:09:12 Off

Yeah Exit Planet Dust is a gem, only album that I really loved by the Chemical Brothers. In a similar vein, another amazing album from around that time is 'This Films Crap Lets Slash the Seats' by David Holmes...

http://www.discogs.com/David-Holmes-This-Films-Crap-Lets-Slash-The-Seats/release/28004

I had forgotten about this album for years and stuck it on again recently, very happy I did...

This next track was always a nice soothing tune after a long night out...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭Photojoe

I'd reccomend not to listen to anything past Fat of the Land or even Jilted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭TygerKrash

The Prodigy haven't moved musically in 15 years. first 2 albums great, the rest really really awful. Really Really Awful. I used to follow them 93 - 95 but since firestarter it's been downhill into some pit of electric punk ****. But they are back now entertaining pissed 16 year olds at festivals so i salute thei staying power. Maxim looks in great shape but for how long can these 40 somethings jump around a stage screaming.

Don't know if I'd go quite so far as to say they've been awful..
    Experience, Jilted and FOTL are great albums, admittedly FOTL has a number of weak tracks but you've also got Firestarter , Mindfields and Smack My Bitch Up on there, well solid tunes. AONO wasn't great but I think invaders must die is a return to form... they're better live now then they have been for years. I'm looking forward to the next album.

TygerKrash wrote: »
    Don't know if I'd go quite so far as to say they've been awful..
    Experience, Jilted and FOTL are great albums, admittedly FOTL has a number of weak tracks but you've also got Firestarter , Mindfields and Smack My Bitch Up on there, well solid tunes. AONO wasn't great but I think invaders must die is a return to form... they're better live now then they have been for years. I'm looking forward to the next album.

Agree with this. AONO was definitely the low point (still has its moments) but I think invaders must die is a cracking album, so many quality songs on it. Fat of the Land was brilliant as well imo and I think we're all in agreement about the quality of experience and MFTJG.

Going to see them at Slane and I cant wait. Will be the first time I have ever seen them live.

Some good recommendations in this thread, should keep me busy for a while:D

Yes, why?

Commending Invaders Must Die and using the words fan & prodigy in the same sentence, I don't get it. :/

Music for the jilted generation was the first album I ever bought when I was about 8 and Ive liked everything they have done since...is invaders must die as good as their early stuff? No, but they have progressed as a band and moved on instead of just making the same album over and over like a lot of other bands and thats why their still relevant imo.

I think invaders is a lot closer to their earlier stuff (sound wise) than FOTL or AONO too. Bands will never recapture that great album moment late in their career, it just doesnt happen, but as long as their making stuff of the quality of Invaders Im happy.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭jimi_t

I'm a MASSIVE Prodigy fan, but I consider them to have broken up post-FOTL. ''Babys got a Temper'' was the sure sign of the end.

Comments like 'they're better live than they've been for years' are completely irrelevant; The Prodigy = Liam Howlett in a studio; the rest of the 'band' are little more than dancers. I'd even be happy with a Dirtchambers LP or something, but now they just seem to be turning into Pendulum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,033 ✭✭✭thebullkf

Ive been a fan of the Prodigy most of my life and have generally loved everything they have done. I was just listening to "Invaders must die" again recently (Think its brilliant) and was thinking are their any other bands out there you would recommend to somebody who likes the Prodigy?

The thing is normally Im not into dance/electronic music at all, Id be much more into guitar bands, but there's got to be stuff out there similar to the Prodigy that I would like and I wouldnt mind giving it a listen. So any recommendations are much appreciated.:D

justice.

laurent garnier

autechre

aphex twin

orbital.

daft punk-specifically rollin an scratching
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yEsw2uWXYeI&feature=related

dadadaddumdeda!!!:D:D:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Yeah, don't listen to the new album.

Not a fan, not since about 1994. Hated FOTL and MFTJG. Thought AONO had it's moments, in fact 'Girls' was the first Prodigy tune in years I really liked. Can't say I like the latest stuff. Not sure I would put them in the same planet, let alone the same ball park, as acts like Autechre, Orbital, The Aphex Twin, Laurent Garnier and a good few others I see listed above. I suspect at least two or three of those acts would be horrified by the comparison. In terms of commercial appeal (if not in terms of music), would have thought bands like the Chemical Brothers and Basement Jaxx might be more comparable, but can't claim to be an expert on any of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Just like to say that I think the latest album is mostly sh1t. Older stuff was much better.

You should look up the Prodigy Vs Beck tracks, I know of two, great stuff:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 rexx le gaff

crystal method

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

Fluke

Orbital

Early Chemical Brothers

Crystal Method

Pendulum

Oldschool - Hedrock Valley Beats (Not the sileage Decky Hedrock is producing these days)

Junkie XL

and the irish band Noise Control (or whatever theyre called)

Mostly prodigy imitators but thats what your looking for isnt it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭fish fingers

Not a fan, not since about 1994. Hated FOTL and MFTJG. Thought AONO had it's moments, in fact 'Girls' was the first Prodigy tune in years I really liked. Can't say I like the latest stuff. Not sure I would put them in the same planet, let alone the same ball park, as acts like Autechre, Orbital, The Aphex Twin, Laurent Garnier and a good few others I see listed above. I suspect at least two or three of those acts would be horrified by the comparison. In terms of commercial appeal (if not in terms of music), would have thought bands like the Chemical Brothers and Basement Jaxx might be more comparable, but can't claim to be an expert on any of them.

Great tune

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

They owe their sound to this band: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z6ULvuqv7jQ

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭empirix

while i realise a lot of rubbish is said on this forum this has by far, out stretched any other comment by a monumental margin. Aphex twin and Autechre would vomit and die at this comparison, as would Orbital, they are all pioneers of ground breaking intelligent electronica and without doubt strive to steer well clear of the prodigy - i feel insulted for them!!
    thebullkf wrote: »
    justice.

laurent garnier

autechre

aphex twin

orbital.

daft punk-specifically rollin an scratching
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yEsw2uWXYeI&feature=related

dadadaddumdeda!!!:D:D:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 110 ✭✭RKDus

I don't know if you'd call it similar to the Prodigy, but Proxy has always claimed to be influenced by them

Most definitely similar!

empirix wrote: »
    while i realise a lot of rubbish is said on this forum this has by far, out stretched any other comment by a monumental margin. Aphex twin and Autechre would vomit and die at this comparison, as would Orbital, they are all pioneers of ground breaking intelligent electronica and without doubt strive to steer well clear of the prodigy - i feel insulted for them!!

Really:confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused:

thats why they've shared billing on tons of gigs.

thats why they use each others riffs-n-beats??

GTFO. :pac::pac::pac::pac:

basscadet???

you're a spacecadet:p

Really:confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused:

thats why they've shared billing on tons of gigs.

thats why they use each others riffs-n-beats??

GTFO. :pac::pac::pac::pac:

basscadet???

you're a spacecadet:p

Aphex and Autechre most certainly dont use prodigy "beats" and just to set the record straight, Howlet is a sample merchant for "beats" as you call em.but he and others would call them "breaks" he uses Jungle warfare. They(aphex & autechre) do not share billing with prodigy or for that matter with each other, your probably referring to the fact they have appeared at the same festival, which is true but on most occasions on different nights! i can also confirm aphex twin helped Howlett out on a tune for the prodigys debut lp but has since then given them a very wide birth. anyway, i am not getting involved in an argument, i should of known better than to comment on a prodigy thread!

Ah Autechre have no talent, as for Aphex, you only have to listen to this track to hear he has no talent either...

Jaysus, joking aside, that track always takes my breath away, literally!

yes very prodigy sounding - he must of got them "beats" off firestarter:p

Aphex and Autechre most certainly dont use prodigy "beats" and just to set the record straight, Howlet is a sample merchant for "beats" as you call em.but he and others would call them "breaks" he uses Jungle warfare. They(aphex & autechre) do not share billing with prodigy or for that matter with each other, your probably referring to the fact they have appeared at the same festival, which is true but on most occasions on different nights! i can also confirm aphex twin helped Howlett out on a tune for the prodigys debut lp but has since then given them a very wide birth. anyway, i am not getting involved in an argument, i should of known better than to comment on a prodigy thread!

glad you're insulted:p

what about orbital??

have seen both inthe same night in the same venue..one after another

both sampling ea other smart arse..

whens the last time you saw autechre???

saw him last year in dublin...mixed in a howlett tune...:eek::eek::eek::eek:

then he vomited;);););)

glad you're insulted:p

what about orbital??

have seen both inthe same night in the same venue..one after another

both sampling ea other smart arse..

whens the last time you saw autechre???

saw him last year in dublin...mixed in a howlett tune...:eek::eek::eek::eek:

then he vomited;);););)

i dont believe i mentioned Orbital in my last post, and Autechre are two!! not one who on their last tour played solely with elektrons which did not include a Dublin date and i would be surprised they mixed in any tune as its not what they do - their all about the frequencies bud. bye now

eh...you did mention orbital....:rolleyes:

autechre did dj set last year in dublin..:P

eh wrong again.......:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

adios,slan,byedebye yourself.

thimk you're on the wrong frequency-bud.

tune in next time

same bat channel:P:P:P:P:P:P

Did they do the whole video in a tunnel with chains and crocodiles for the MTV generation too?!

Anyway, Motorhead and Johnny Hates Jazz, how different can they be with a singer, a drumkit, and bass and lead guitars? Discuss.

Felixdhc wrote: »
    Ah Autechre have no talent, as for Aphex, you only have to listen to this track to hear he has no talent either...

Jaysus, joking aside, that track always takes my breath away, literally!

Agreed 100% I regularly lose it over that. Definitely my favourite track off Live in Cornwall 1991

Yeah its a great track, possibly my favourite of all his work. Only possibly though!

eh...you did mention orbital....:rolleyes:

autechre did dj set last year in dublin..:P

eh wrong again.......:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

adios,slan,byedebye yourself.

thimk you're on the wrong frequency-bud.

tune in next time

same bat channel:P:P:P:P:P:P

i mentioned Orbital as somewhat might be insulted in my FIRST post but not the SECOND post which i was refering to as my last post. I am aware that one of the Autechre lads done a dj set here last year - however - this is not an Autechre performance is it!bye now