Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ras on RTE

• 24-05-2009 10:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭

Just incase anyone is wondering the Ras is on Rte 2 on Monday at 7.30 pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭ba

nice one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭GlennaMaddy

ba wrote: »
    nice one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

saw this RTE really stretchiing themselves to a full half hour, real dedication to irish sport from rte there. a least they,ve got half an hour i suppose. really disappointed they didnt have daily highlights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭Zorba

saw this RTE really stretchiing themselves to a full half hour, real dedication to irish sport from rte there. a least they,ve got half an hour i suppose. really disappointed they didnt have daily highlights.

Well they did have a couple of seconds on the news every night !

Wonder how much of the half hr wil actually be racing what with ads, talking to some lad from fbd etc etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭smithslist

Zorba wrote: »
    Well they did have a couple of seconds on the news every night !

Wonder how much of the half hr wil actually be racing what with ads, talking to some lad from fbd etc etc.

I reckon its just a collection of their news clips put together adding a few interviews wit sponsors, winner etc and then tv adds = 30mins.

Anyway looking forward to seeing it and fair play to RTE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 253 ✭✭Tackleberry

talking to some lad from fbd etc etc.

The half hour costs FBD an absolute fortune so its fair enough I reckon.

Its a completely separate production to news clips etc and is well made each year, bit rushed but best we can hope for with the clowns in rte, I honestly think Quigs youtube videos are the best coverage you can find!

Rte only put in the tape and press play - fbd have to pay for a camera crew for the whole week, plus post-production and 30 mins air-time, ridiculous but dunno why we're surprised - was looking for it on the schedule and noticed such high-quality Irish programming as great british food and an hour long documentary on the history of the Irish fashion industry.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

Watching it now, those guys are fast and raced in some awful conditions. Some great views though, good showcase for irish cycling.

Where is Quigs? Should be doing the commentary ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,359 ✭✭✭cyclopath2001

smithslist wrote: »
    I reckon its just a collection of their news clips put together adding a few interviews wit sponsors, winner etc and then tv adds = 30mins. Anyway looking forward to seeing it and fair play to RTE
    It's not RTE. (Thank God), they're clueless about cycling. They'd probably call them 'cyclers'.

The commentary is intelligent and insightful and given the limited resources (two cameras I think), they did well to capture so many important moves. The interviews help tell a story of a much-revered event.

The Tour de France uses about 60 personnel in the TV production, not counting air-crew for the fixed wing live signal relay, the helicopter pilots etc. ($$$)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭72hundred

I missed it :(. Is it going to be shown again or on RTE Player?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭SACH Central

It's not RTE. (Thank God), they're clueless about cycling. They'd probably call them 'cyclers'.

The commentary is intelligent and insightful and given the limited resources (two cameras I think), they did well to capture so many important moves. The interviews help tell a story of a much-revered event.

The Tour de France uses about 60 personnel in the TV production, not counting air-crew for the fixed wing live signal relay, the helicopter pilots etc. ($$$)

The commentary is intelligent and insightful....

It was, according to the credits, written by Shane Stokes. Shane O'Donoghue, the 'narrator' was just reading a 'script'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭Quigs Snr

I thought the quality of the coverage was good (half hour every night would have been better and would have showcased more riders / encouraged more into the sport maybe). Still great the actually see the finishes etc... didn't see any in the team car and didn't see the news once during the week. Or a TV for that matter. Hopefully someone recorded it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

i think shane stokes did that show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭michaelm

It was produced by Telegael, based in Spiddal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,238 ✭✭✭Junior

i think shane stokes did that show.

Shane wrote the script for Shane O'Donohue to read ..

Good coverage, would have like to have seen more to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭OuterBombie

I agree, it was a great production but a pity it was so short, there must have been about 90 secs devoted to each stage.

Fair play to Shane and Quigs and whoever else posted daily updates on the web. It really gives you a feeling on how the race is going and just how tough it is. The lads that pour their hearts and souls into the race, coming back day after day, enduring pain, crashes and near exhaustion. Jaysus, its inspirational stuff, merits more that the 90 secs a stage too me thinks.

A fly on the wall documentary of one of the county teams would be legend (or is there one out there already)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

I really enjoyed the coverage. Would be nice if we got a half hour show after each stage for next year. I don't recall there being any TV coverage last year?

actually a very good show (shame the labour canvassers came round at 7:30pm precisely) the production guys got some great moves which with 2 cameras is impressive, i guess without more cameras it would have been difficult to produce a longer show, although at bit more exposure for the club teams wouldnt have gone amiss and a bit more post race interview stuff (just trying to think within the limitations of the cameras), and where was yer man saying "and here are todays men of the ras" ?.

(shame the labour canvassers came round at 7:30pm precisely) and where was yer man saying "and here are todays men of the ras" ?.

Have u not learned the trick of how to avoid them ? Don't answer the door ! :D
    "and here are todays men of the ras" ?.

Would that be Gaybo Howard your talking about ?

think so they interviewed him on the show ( i think) 28 years hes been doing it. mind just sounded so cheesy when we had a stage finish in donegal town a few years ago. vbut a bit of a tradition from what i hear

unfortunately i knew the canvassers

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Not Gaybo it's Ray Kennedy the announcer who calls that out at the end of each presentation.

Gaybo drives the neutral service car and is the driving force behind Stamullen RC.

Also put's on at least 3 good quality races a year

RobFowl wrote: »
    Not Gaybo it's Ray Kennedy the announcer who calls that out at the end of each presentation.

Gaybo drives the neutral service car and is the driving force behind Stamullen RC.

Also put's on at least 3 good quality races a year

Yep that's the man i was thinking of, my old team manager