Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

D4 satire serialised online

• 24-05-2009 3:54pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 10

hi again,
    since this was deemed not to belong to the "literature" section, maybe this ought to go the "creative writing" one?
    introducing "You Know Yourself 2.0" which is being serialised on Uma's blog; starting with the intro "an anglo-irish dictionary of love"

-question: can I insert the link here then, or maybe should I quote excerpts on this post?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 umaogil

and so I will, then
    ...I guess this is what this forum is about, right?

After my conferences, during airflights, or simply standing in line for a toilet stall, people flock up to me and ask. They say: "Oh Uma Uma Uma so nice to see you mwwwwuah -looking good babe looking hot!-, love your shoes too –very street!, Uma may I just say this: how much I absolutely adooored your last opus -read it in two tabs of acid- but, say... pray tell, I didn't quite get all the lingo like. In fact I couldn't make sense of any expression your (naturally so expertly sketched and wonderfully rounded) characters use.
    Like "AMG" yeah -WTF is that supposed to mean?! "Your man" -how dare you cast aspersions on me fella and where do you know him from in the first place?!! "That yoke" -what yoke, that's crazy talk that, it don't make no thudding sense?!!!
    They then usually proceed to emit doubts as to how realistic the descriptions are (do I even know the town I'm talking about? huh??), offer better one-liners, pick holes in the excuse of a plot, rewrite the third act and the middle eight, suggest a guitar solo and a car chase in the middle, pass strongly worded judgement on the masterful resolution, cackle about how they nicked their copy off the shelf at the hospital waiting room and leave loudly promising never to bother reading the sequel to Bridget's adventures now that's she shacked up with her dreamboat.
    While sighing a -er...- sigh of relief that once more, they've got my baby confused with inferior competition, I still can't help wondering whether adding a lexicon is not such a bad idea after all... The thing is, I not only love my audience me (mmwwwuah back to yous!), but I may well want to pacify and nurture them if I want to see them again the day I run out of royalties and have to spin out an exploitative spin-off to this little yarn.
    So there it is esteemed readers, your guide to Lily's crazy linguistic world! Exhaustive, authoritative and nicked straight off the Net, it will be of great help to these readers who've never set foot in Dublin like this author –er…, unlike this author I mean yeah? unlike this author (ahem).
    OK then…

-"Absolutely" = "yes". I once explained that "absolutely" was the new "actually". Talking of which...
    -"Actually". I postulated somewhere by "actually" reveals a deep-seated anxiety on the speaker's part: it seems like everyone is nowadays desperate to be believed and therefore engages in some sort of escalating mania for redundancy.
    -Alliance Francaise = French cultural centre offering "the best coffee in Dublin" according to Irvine Welsh who used to take lessons there. Haunting place of various luminaries.
    -"AMG" = "AhMyGahd". Possible variation by squares: "Oh. My. God. (you won't believe who I've just seen etc.)"
    -"Aul’ wan" = old woman.
    -"Away with the fairies" = to be a bird brain, to be mad.
    -"Back in the land of the living" = back in Dublin …usually from the countryside.
    -Ballyfermot = Dublin area like Kilmainham, Donnybrook, Crumlin, Tallaght, Clondalkin...
    -"Bertie" = the godfather. Irish Prime Minister Bertie Ahern.
    -"The black stuff" = Guinness.
    -Bold = naughty. ""Oh Ramon, but you are being awfully bold here", whimpered Lucinda, aglow with embarrassment and not a little shiver of excitement."
    -"Bollix" = bollocks. The legend that is Roy Keane once famously invited his then national manager to "stick it up (his) bollix!", an anatomically inventive feat if there ever was one.
    -"The Brits" = the subjects of Her Britannic Majesty.
    -"(by) the Bono!" = (taking a sacred name in vain) interjection denoting either pleasure or displeasure. Refers to Bono Vox (aka Paul Hewson), rock singer with U2 at night, cigar smoker / future President of Ireland (25/1 as I type) / ideal Pope / perennial Nobel Peace Prize nominee / hotelier by day.
    -"Brutal" = not brutal per se but terrible, serious, hardcore.
    -"Celtic Tiger" = that probably unique period in Irish history of financial prominence. No actual tiger is involved.
    -Charlie Haughey = eighties Prime Minister whose, er, colourful personality and -cough cough- flamboyant finances did not meet with everybody's approval. The so-called "father of the Celtic Tiger", abolished taxes for artists and granted free transport to pensioners.
    -"C’m here till I tell ya" = an invitation to come forth, the speaker being in a talkative mood.
    -"Craic" = fun; the essence of which is often the vexed subject of many an opening address, namely "What’s the craic?!"
    -Croker = Croke Park, one of the biggest stadiums in the whole of Europe, home of GAA and -until 2007- forbidden to "Anglo" sports such as soccer and rugby after the 1920 massacre.
    -"(a) Culchie" = derogatory term meaning someone from outside Dublin. In the interest of balance, one must also mention the reverse insult aimed at Dubliners: "the Jackeens".
    -"Cute" = clever. "See this Loig7, he’s awfully cute!"
    -"Dear" = expensive.
    -"Deco" = short for Declan. Guy who usually goes out with a girl named Sinead (-hey, some of my very best friends are called Deco!)
    -"D 4" = postcode to the posh part of Dublin (as are Dun Laoghaire and Blackrock).
    -"The Dail" = the Parliament.
    -"Deadly" = great (appreciative).
    -"Dub" = Dubliner (name and adjective); the salt of the earth; fecking useless at GAA since the eighties.
    -Eamon Dunphy = ex-footballer turned media pundit never in lack of an opinion or ten. "Rabble-rouser" and "unmissable" are two adequate adjectives to describe Eamon Dunphy.
    -"Eejit" = idiot.
    -"(to) Feak" = to kiss, to snog –one step short of to ****.
    -"A filum" = a film.
    -FAI = Football Association of Ireland. Organism that appointed Stan "Steve" Staunton manager of the national team.
    -"Fair play to you" = well done, good for you.
    -"Fecking" (and also "focken", but this one is infinitely more brutal) = clever roundabout way not to utter another interjection whose correct spelling I'll leave to your imagination.
    -"Fella" = boyfriend.
    -"(to) Fret" = to worry.
    -"Frog's Legs" = a potent supersweet cocktail of dubious colour aimed at young ladies in quest of a good time. Cf. also a "screaming orgasm", "sex on the beach" etc. -yous get the general idea.
    -GAA = a man's game (in fact, several); All-Ireland Gaelic games involve for instance batting a ball -and sometimes an opponent- with a great fecking wooden spoon.
    -"Gas ticket" = somebody fun, providing joy and a good laugh. "Baby Aibhin is such a gas ticket", exclaimed her mum "-it’s like having a new telly!"
    -"Gaybo" = the venerable Gay Byrne, lifelong host of "The Late Late Show" and amateur motorcyclist.
    -"Gedda out of the park!" = you are having a laugh, my dear boy/girl.
    -"Gee" = lady’s part (rude).
    -The George = gay drinking establishment. Hosts jazz sessions on Sunday afternoons (no, this is not a euphemism for something else).
    -"(to) Give out" = to moan, whine, and generally let it all out for a refreshing frank and open.
    -Gerry Ryan = inexplicable presence on the radio.
    Moving on to
    -"Gob****e" = idiot.
    -"Good for the goose" = susceptible of sexual conduct as in "Hey dude here comes Aoife -ay caramba!- do you reckon she’s good for the goose?"
    -"Good luck!" = goodbye!
    -"Good man yourself!" = well done!
    -"Goodbye!" = good luck! ...only joking ;-)
    -"Grand" = that which is good, fine, and even great.
    -Grainne Seoilge = the gods’ gift to TV viewers; Bambi faced newsreader blessed with a peachy complexion and capped with perfect teeth.
    And, oh, what an unfortunate juxtaposition we have here with the next term:
    -"Ham shanking" = the practice of self-pollution.
    -Haughey = see Charlie Haughey.
    -"Holiers" = holidays.
    -George Hook = mountain of a man who doesn’t half-like pontificating on rugby and presents various programs. Blessed with a sandpapering voice which, once heard, is never forgotten. Everybody loves George Hook.
    -"GSOH" = "Going Soft Or Homo" as in "Hey dude, ripped the remake of "Cannibal Holocaust" last night, the one made with children and fluffy little kittens. Huh. Didn't exactly enjoy it, must be GSOH."
    -"Hoor" = alarmingly affectionate accolade …made up after the word "whore". "See (insert your name of choice) –what a cute little hoor!"
    -"How's she cutting?" = how do you do. Cf. also "How's she hanging?", "What's the story (bud')!!", "Ah there you are".
    -"Howsa." = how do you do, what’s up bitches?
    -"(((((hug)))))" = sending good wishes to someone over the World Wide Web. IMHO, men just love to receive such messages -and talk about getting them to write one themselves!
    -"IMHO" = "In My Humble Orifice" -I mean opinion! In My Humble Opinion!
    -"It’s all good" = probably appreciative judgement.
    -"Jaysus" = Jesus.
    -Sinead Jennings = Olympian athlete and trainee nurse from county Donegal who does her country proud.
    -Joanne Cantwell = beguiling TV presenter with a little side-smile, a studiously repressed glitter in the eye and an accent that would melt butter at twenty paces.
    -"Kecks" = trousers.
    -"(we) Know how to enjoy ourselves" = we get piss*d a lot.
    -"Know-what-I-mean" = like "actually" and "like", a mandatory part of any Dubliner sentence.
    -Liffey = river which, as the saying goes, separates civilisation from the wilderness (please note I am not saying which side’s which).
    -"(the) Lights are on but there’s nobody home" = someone not much endowed with powers of reflection. A footballer maybe, or a model?
    -"Like." ...Yous may just have heard it uttered occasionally by da-yout-of-today. Pillar of any sentence, never used as a term of comparison. Makes for a nice glottal stop at the end of any proposition like.
    -"Like I said" = as I said (Americanism).
    -Lillie’s Bordello = select hang-out de rigiour for bad boy types like Colin Farrell or Enya. …Would also benefit from the patronage of wild wacky and wonderful novelists (cough cough).
    -LOL = "lots of laughs" or "laughing out loud"; expression of amusement used by texters.
    -LOLnot = "laughing out loud -not"; expression of distinct non amusement used by texters.
    -"LUAS" = the circular electric tramway.
    -"Ma" = Mum.
    -"Me" = my. Unless when it means "me".
    -M50 = parking space masquerading as circular motorway.
    -"Morto" = mortified. "Dude, Eimear gave me the evil eye for whatever reason and I was like, morto!"
    -"Mot" = girlfriend.
    -Munter = a young lady not blessed with good looks.
    -"Muppet" = idiot.
    -"Myself" = more often than not, me. An extraordinary amount of people don’t seem to know the difference between "myself" (reflexive) and "me" (accusative) and one gets to see sentences such as "he looked at myself" in newspapers.
    -"The NLI" = the National Library of Ireland -fair play to the NLI!
    -"Nice little ride" = young person whose pleasing appearance and overall genial demeanour elicit thoughts of a sexual nature. Good in the sack. "Check out Aoife dude, she looks like a nice little ride know-what-I-mean!"
    -"Noddies" = female breasts. As in "Gee dude, check the noddies on that little ride! Wouldn’t kick her out of bed if she farted!"
    -"NOF" = "Not Office Friendly"; clearly someone who doesn't like offices ...probably someone who prefers working on his/her own. A freelancer.
    -"The North Side" = the half of Dublin, a town cut in two by the Liffey river, which is generally considered to be more working-class. This being said, personalities such as Bertie Ahern and The Bono In Person are native Northsiders.
    -(Senator) David Norris = flamboyant –well, gay- representative, human rights activist, Joyce scholar and radio personality whose main historic legacy will have been the decriminalisation of homosexuality in the Republic of Ireland.
    -"Now then." Warning before any course of action, usually stated when the person sits down.
    -"Off The Rails" = the, like, most totally awesome show on the telly which Lily should -by rights!- be fronting (even though it's not very good) instead of that old ******* of ****** ****** ***.
    -"On me todd" = on my own.
    -"OPW" = Office of Public Works.
    -"Pal" = mate.
    -Panti Hose = superlative drag-queen (at least seven feet tall) who would have dear-old-Oscar running for the hills. She traditionally hosts the highlight of Dublin’s social calendar: the election of "alternative miss Ireland".
    -Pat Kenny = inexplicable presence on the radio and the television.
    -"Plastic Paddy" = accusation levelled at celtic brethren residing abroad daring to be proud of their heritage. The likes of the Pogues, James Joyce or Sinead O'Connor must have all been labelled "plastic Paddies" at some stage.
    -Podge and Rodge = foul-mouthed TV puppets beloved of children of all ages. "Talk to me sack!"
    -"Poxy" = that which is of inferior quality. ****e.
    -"Pulling the devil by the tail" = to be in top form.
    -"Rashers" = meat-based product beloved of non-vegetarians.
    -(the) Roses of Tralee = talent show for young Celtic ladies selected the world over, the alpha and omega of Irishness. This here chronicler is still waiting for a commission to get there and write the definitive account of it. Takes place in Tralee.
    -"ROFL" = Retching On the Floor, Legless -or for the less poetically inclined, Rolling On the Floor Laughing.
    -"RTE" = Radio Television Eireann; you could say that the BBC is the UK's RTE.
    -"Sambo" = a sandwich. Ouch! Now here is a local expression that would travel badly. The "o" suffix is often used for spoken abbreviations.
    -"Scratcher" = bed.
    -"(a) Scoby" = some stuff, dat ting.
    -Scouldy = rather lacking in cleanliness, one might say. Fecking ****e like.
    -"Shaking hands with the unemployed" = the act of micturating. "Splashing one’s boots."
    -"a Skanger" = derogatory description of a disreputable young person usually dressed in tracksuit bottoms and a baseball cap.
    -"(to) Slag someone" = to slag them off.
    "The South Side" = the more opulent and touristic half of Dublin.
    -"Spanner" = politically incorrect questioning of someone’s mental ability. Yet another idiot.
    -Sprog = a wee little bairn, oh aye. (an infant, not always legitimate)
    -"Spuds" = potatoes. The main course of "breakfast" "tea" and "supper" along with MEAT of course (cf. rashers).
    -Steaming = intoxicated with alcoholic beverages.
    -(a) Straightener = a "hair of the dog" drink ...or a punch administered to the face, the choice is yours.
    -"(to be) Sucking diesel" = to be on a roll.
    -"Talk-to-Joe" = popular radio program (real name "Liveline") hosted by Joe Duffy, a man whose voice makes Eamon Dunphy sound like Enya. Ideal for the days when your local newsagent has run out of copies of "The Sun".
    -"Talk to me brown!" = (extremely vulgar) indication of a lack of interest for someone’s forthcoming opinion.
    -"(go) Take a long walk off a short pier!" = an invitation to off eff.
    -"Tea" = lunch. And tea.
    -TCD = Trinity College Dublin.
    -TD = Teachta Dala (member of Parliament).
    -Temple Bar = drinking district for foreign tourists. Site of cultural institutions such as the IFI (Irish Film Institute), the National Photographic Archive, the Olympia theatre, as well as the organic market (yum!) on Saturdays.
    -"Thanks a million" = thank you (no smaller amount will do).
    -"That yoke" = anything, really. Anything.
    -"The man himself" = your man.
    -"To be perfectly honest wid cha" = a Dubliner's start to any sentence.
    -"Toodleeoh!" = goodbye.
    -"Trinners" = Trinity College for short.
    -UCD = University College Dublin.
    -UK, the = mysterious neighbouring country less economically advanced whence revellers (male and female) arrive every weekend to drink in Temple Bar.
    -"Up the Dubs!" = local exhortation aimed at encouraging the GAA team to go and actually win some fecking thing after twenty-odd years of frustration.
    -U2 = popular beat combo.
    -VPL = visible panty line. "AMG, "whale tails" are like so last year's VPLs!"
    -Louis Walsh = pop music manager responsible for Johnny Logan, "The X Factor", Westlife, Boyzone and Girls Aloud …and it is sometimes claimed that Aleister Crowley was "the world’s most evil man"!
    -"(do you want to) Wake up with a crowd around you?" = do you want to have a go big man? huh? do you? An invitation to engage in fisticuffs and get properly out knocked.
    -"(to) Wreck someone’s bonce" = to get on someone’s top bollix, to do their head in.
    -XXX = signatory "love and kisses" sign-off. Or, alternatively, hardcore porn.
    -"Young Wan" = young woman.
    -"Your man" = anyone really, anyone -except your actual man. Who is being talked about, the man on the street, etc..

All expressions personally penned by Uma o'Gil (all rights reserved, oh aye).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,941 ✭✭✭MojoMaker

Paul Howard has this genre wrapped up to a certain degree. Dublin is too small for another posh v trash opus.

Not sure why but I immediately thought Katy French when I read it first. You have a tough fight on your hands but stick with it!

Interesting you should mention Katy French; I'm -like- a huge fan of her "work"!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 Richy165

I especially like how she died like a coke worm. She'll have a tough time topping that one.

-a c*ck worm? eh??
    she wasn't that kind of girl!

oh, coke worm, right right... er...

Butseriously, I've heard through someone who knows someone who parties with someone who reads gossip about someone that when she died, one of the scene "it girls" declared that her death... was like their 9/11!

Aw shucks... god love 'er.

another xcrpt:

chapter 5

"Stone The Crows"

"Fackin' ell mate if I ain't already bladdered!"
    -"Must be all that Guinness you ligged at their brewery ya muppet! I did tell you to go easy dinn' I!"
    -"Yeah yeah whatever... -was well worth it though was it!"
    -"Too fackin' right it was! Now THAT, my son, is the kind of museum I can well tolerate! If all culcha was always that sweet, we'd be sorted! Now fill your boots son: game of two halves! Set your stall early, we jus' getting started here, Dublin is ours -back of the net!"

Brooding my way back to the car, I get suddenly awakened by two more foreign voices. The two characters are some distance behind me but the cold clean air carries their exchange.

"Now check this joint mate... what do you think? Looks a bit of alright does it?"
    -"Sure looks decent... a bit poncey though... Check out the wallpaper and the penguins serving: I ain't feel it!"
    -"Whatcha on about you ain't "feel it" ya big pikey? It's just a fackin' boozer! It'll do the job! "Buswell's" eh... well eat my goal Mr. Buswell, we're gain' in! Bunch of arse -we'll show 'em who's who! Bring a bit of class an' all, now stop moaning and get in there!"
    -"Alright alright! Just gizzas a sec' will ya -need to take a leak... aaaah that's better..."

They are behind me and for some reason I don't fancy turning round to take a look.

Now the thing is, I sort of recognise their voice I know this accent, heard it before: theirs is the one you hear every weekend in the heart of Temple Bar, reverberating on the windows of Fitzsimons and echoing through kebab shops; it's usually multiplied a dozen times and invariably male. ...It's also always liberally adorned with expletives -"I'll tell you wot", these visitors to our shore, you hear them from a distance! They usually ask A) where this "Guinness factory" is and B) where they can "watch the football". Now when you tell them that it's best enjoyed at Croke Park in a passionate crowd of ninety thousand souls, they have a tendency to go all uncomprehending and quite annoyed: "No no I mean like, football yeah? The real one you know! Not some kind of... folkloric game -no offense mate- but praper football yeah? Foot - Ball!" The volume usually increases as they ar-ti-cu-late for the benefit of the native -It's always great craic winding them up.

Not that these guys would realise they're being teased. They roam the streets, ten at a time, gloriously convinced of their invincibility and boasting of their unique attribute: their license to paaarty -Fair play to them, like.

These two are a case in point: they're "up for it". Lots of supping has audibly already got done and they want more. The only thing not quite right here is the fact this ain't Thursday or Friday night (when their lot usually turns up), this is the start of a working week for crying out loud! Did they get lost behind? Do they want to make a full six days of it? I just don't know. I just can't tell. Right now, I sort of have someone else very much on my mind and these two gentlemen don't exactly hold any interest for me. Would Mathieu ever behave like that? Would he speak to his pals like so? Most surely not; I simply refuse to believe it. After all he's a... literature lover, in his own right; he's a cultural adventurer, not a tourist; he's a... -oh I don't know, I don't know him enough to tell.

"Blahdy 'ell mate, lost your marbles or wot? You're avin’ a larf! This is a fackin' street here! You fackin' chav, you can't hold it for five minutes can ya?"
    -"Gizzas a break will ya... what's the big deal here? Who gives a fack?"
    -"Who gives a fack? I fackin' do! I give a fack! I can't take you nowhere can I?! Ya fackin' chav, embarrassing me in public"
    -"You wot? Who you callin' a chav??"
    -"I'll tell you wot, I ain't copping for you if you get done by the rozzers!"
    -"Who you callin' a chav?"
    -"Eh? It's YOU I am calling' a chav you pikey cahnt! You deaf as well??"
    -"Eh? What's your problem mate? You wanna a slap? You wanna a piece of me, 'sthat it?"
    -"A piece of you? A piece of you? You watch your marf my son or I'll fackin' ave you you hear?"
    -"Oh yeah?"
    -"Oh yeah!"
    -"Well cahm' on then, let's fackin' ave it ya fackin' ponce, you 'ave a go if you're so tough
    "

I am not sure I want to stick around too long -even in this most respectable of respectable streets. Who would have thought that the seat of our national Parliament and State ministries would attract such unsavoury alcoholics? Eh? Yikes! The temptation of turning round and checking what's going on is dead unbearable though. The two characters are probably clashing antlers by now or else stripping to their waist, chasing each other around a lamppost.

-"Oh yeah?"
    -"Hell yeah!"
    -"Make me then!"
    -"You make me!"

In fact, the saddest thing about it is... their behaviour fails to surprise me. It fails to surprise me entirely. This is like, so predictable -as opposed to the wacky Frenchman earlier. It's the old story isn't it? Fellows get lashed, fellows lash out. Sooo predictable. These two behind me clearly operate under this weird set of rules usually found around football stadiums or in soaps like "EastEnders".

"EastEnders"!!

This is it! That's the one! This is what they reminded me of all along, the attitude and all -Isn't there a pair of baldies in that programme, always giving out and slagging everyone? I'm pretty sure there is, in any case this is what our duo's voices sounded like. Still sound like in fact.

-"Blimey, you 'got some fackin' lip for a Spuds fan ain'cha? Don't think I won't will I!"
    -"OK then, let the dog see the rabbit, you 'ave a go! I ain't got all day!"

"EastEnders" eh...
    Now I like "EastEnders" as much as the next man (i.e. not much) ...but it's surely not a patch on the aul' "Fair City"! No contest here! Where is the picturesque and quirky charm? The milk of human kindness in all of its wonderousness? The pregnant pauses at the end of every episode? You answer that, Sherlock Holmes!

I wonder which one came first... (may need to look this up) "EastEnders" or "Fair City"? Grew up with "Fairs" me. It's part of my cultural heritage, alongside "Father Ted", Boyzone or Gaybo on "The Late Late Show". I guess if you were to pick the brains of your man on the street, most folks would call "EastEnders" a pale copy ...if there was anything pale about it that is; for the truth is, I don't actually remember any greenery in "EE", I don't recall any swan populated central park, I don't see one single bridge glistening in the golden sunshine there... Do they have parks in that mysterious "EastEnd"? Nobody knows. Do they celebrate Assumption? No idea either. That mythical place seems to be immune from any geographical or historical consideration. One thing is sure though, it's always pub-time in "EastEnders".

Another thing that always bugged me about it is the characters' lingo -they're worse than Cork! Worse than Limerick! Now call me thick as two planks, but I only understand half of what they're saying. Listening to them, it's almost as if the characters had developed a language of their own... a micro-culture!
    I don't get it.

Try as I might, I don't recognise their slang, I am baffled. It's like, when they greet each other, I don't hear them go "how's she cooking?", "how 'you keeping?" or "what's the craic?". What's going on here? Not even a poxy "what's the story bud?" to embellish the day -I be dreaming!?! Manners eh, manners don't seem to rule in that queer Albert Square! (And where's this Albert Square to start with -is it the one in Drumcondra?? Another mystery.) Truly I wonder. Whenever I come across an episode, I hear them jabber, jabber away, "blah blah blah", and not once -not once- do I hear them address my concerns or echo my mind ...it's almost like we've got nothing in common. Where are our lovely turns of phrase "I'll tell you a story about Johnny McGory", "she'll be apples" or "I'd say you danced at your mother's wedding" huh? Whatever happened to "do you want to wake up with a crowd round ya?", "my moongoose stole my penguin", "the face of that and the price of fish" or just "that's beyond the Pale"? In fact, have these people even heard of the Pale?? Oh yes it's a mystery and no mistake. A right riddle. Why don't they thank each other "a million"? What's wrong with a polite "fair play to you?"

And what do they go on about in the first place? What they actually go on about I don't get either: it's like a different kettle of fish altogether. All they seem to be doing is argue over a pint -and not even one of the black stuff! How queer, how dead queer... As true as I'm riding a bicycle, these people appear to have drifted off from normal language and grown their own subculture; it's like they have sprouted their own codes and stick by them with no consideration -no consideration whatsoever- for their fellow viewers. I'd say they inhabit a parallel universe, a queer auld landscape... it's all dead spooky. Huh. A right gas ticket they may be -hearing them constantly giving out about whatever and their mother-, but they sure don't make much sense to me!

Every time I switch on, it goes something like this:

Baldie with tattoos all over the place: "Oi! Geezer! Whass gain' on? Cahm' ere!"
    Other baldie: "You wot? Whazzthat you want? Want some? Huh? Huh? Whatcha sayin'?"
    First baldie: "Oi! Ain't meant nuffin', dinn'I"
    Second: "Dunnit."
    First baldie: "Aincha!"
    Second: "Watchit!"
    First one: "Tell you wot tho: less go dahrn the pub!"
    Second: "Too fackin' right I will! Watch me!"
    Builder: "Blahdy 'ell mate... Can't have a bo''le of wa'er in peace these days or wot! I luv' me old Mum dunn I, godda problem with that?"
    Smoking lady coming out of launderette: "Oi! You yes you! That's no praper way talk to your bruvver! Show some fackin' res-peck will ya! Fat cahnt. (I'll tell you wot, some people round 'ere, they ain't half taking liberties dunn' they...)"
    Red faced publican on a fag break: "Ah leave it aht now! Knock it on thee 'ead son! He ain't worf it!"
    Passing Jamaican: "Gotcha! Wicked! They juss' aving a larf ain't they?"
    Lady eating chips and jellied eels in the caf', smoking: "Kids messin' about innit?"
    Old lady selling DVDs out of a suitcase: "Sure wasn't like that in them days, when Reggie 'n Ronnie woz around..."
    Up pops young man in tracksuit and trainers: "Never 'urt but their ahrn!"
    Car dealer round the corner: "Luved their muvver"
    Old lady: "and you could leave yer door open at night -take the Queen Muvver ya cahnt: Gawd bless 'er! Deserved every penny she got!"
    Unemployed single mother: "And luv'd 'er drink dinnshe! Such character wonnsha!"
    Alcoholic bum: "Always 'ad a smile for everyone, even a wave..."
    Fat man slaps hand on Scotsman's shoulder: "You're nicked, sunshine!"
    Wife beater: "Cripes! The rozzers! It's a fair cop."
    Fat man takes hand off cautiously, surveys it and wipes it on his trousers.
    Unidentified character: "Top of the morning, to be sure"
    Paper boy in flatcap: "I luv' West 'Am dunn'I: Who are ya? Who are ya?"
    Asian street trader: "Cor, blimey"
    Jamaican: "Strike a light, guv"
    Asian street trader: "...if that bird ain't a right piece of skirt aincha?"
    Young woman -for it is she- passing by, pushing a pram: "Oi! You watch yer mahrth! Show some manners wantcha? We 'got some fackin' kids liss'nin' avn I!"
    Jamaican, laughing: "Ha ha, you is just been told my son!"
    Credible gay character, passing by on his -sorry: 'is- way to The Bucket Of Blood: "Aincha! Too fackin' right me old china!"
    Man in tinted shades, sheepskin: "Me old mo'or for sale, picture of 'ealth: twin engine, chrome plated plates, drives like a beauty -yars for a donkey! Cam' on! I'm slashing me own throat 'ere!"
    Unemployed barber: "Is all you 'got? Ain't got nuffin' else?"
    Man in tinted shades: "Whazzat you is after? This is Lahrndahrn Tahrn 'ere son: I 'got it all! Luverly jubberly! Genuine Champers -bottled in Barking! Gold rings, gold medallions, gold knackledasters -three for a fiiiver!"
    Fat man in suit: "Lemme 'ave a butcher's first, need to see a man abaht a dawg"
    Kid with earrings: "Sorted!"
    Smoking grandmother: "Ssssafe."
    Indian grocerer: "Stone the crows aincha dunnit innit Sid James me old mugger watchit Babs Windsor you slaaag blimey knahck me dahrn geezer bird cahnt too fackin right wonncha!"
    Gentle narrator employed to give the moral of the story at the end of each episode: "I say... why don't we all less go dahrn the pub!"

Ah yes, they inhabit a strange world in "EastEnders"... a strange world with arcane topics of conversation. It's true though, have you noticed? This Albert Square yoke, it's a dead weird place uninterested with what goes on, for instance you never hear its regulars discuss the latest financial oddities of our very own Bertie -he must be loving it there, being given a break from these pesky financial auditors! The Old Vic... surely the only pub where the regulars don't seem any bothered by the new Civil War debate (namely: did Roy Keane walk out on his country or did he not?), the oasis of sanity where the very existence of Glenda Gilson has gone unnoticed! Truly we are baffled.

Finally, I can't resist the temptation anymore. Lost in my thoughts, I kinda lost track of the mini-drama being enacted right behind me. What are they up to? Methinks their tone of voice has changed somewhat... Feeling dead spontaneous, I take the chance of turning round and checking what's going on like.

-"Ya fackin' wanker, how could ya ever doubt me? You're my best friend!"
    -"No YOU're my best friend!"
    -"No YOU're my besht friend -hic!"
    -"I lahrv you man, ya big wanker!"
    -"Ah fack that ****, cam 'ere n gizzas a hug! Less go get wrecked!"
    -"Too right we will ya big pikey!"
    -"Less go get wre-you WOT? Who you callin' pikey??"

chapter 6

"At the end of the day, tomorrow is another day"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 692 ✭✭✭i-digress

As another poster said the Ross O'Carroll Kelly books saturated that market. I think you'd have to have a more unique angle to make it work. The layout makes it read a bit like a play too, which I found a little hard to read. I think if you lost some of the dialogue or interspersed it with narrative it would be better tbh.

Hi i-digress, thanks for the remark!
    Well don't worry though: I have just quoted some of the most, er, demonstrative pieces-de-resistance here; the rest of the novel is much more balanced with a plot going on, scenes, subplots, progression, etc.
    I don't feel I need to bore you with the story here for what it's worth.

Comin up next, I may include one of the scenes taking place at the NLI, and to be more precise, at one of its "Library Late" evenings, an event which I may or may not be very familiar with and which I take some of yous will have attended...:)

Another little extravaganza
    past the middle as the 2nd act comes to a crescendo before the full crisis and the ensuing resolution 3rd part; as told by the shellshocked narrator hitting the skids.
    Some people would say "enjoy!":confused:

On Getting One's License's Worth.... aka "Zap Zap Zap!"
    Can't exactly say the remote hasn't been put to good use today oh no. Whether it was American blue-eyed melos or Australian soaps, homemade talk-shows or badly dubbed ads, no brainers or no brains at all, herself's been dead busy lapping up the visual wallpaper masquerading as daytime programming -I've dug them all! Hardcore's my middle name and, if I want to be sincere, it's been quite a rollercoaster in terms of on-the-edge-of-me-seat white-knuckle-rides...

"Win an electric toaster! Win a bin of recyclable compound! Watch more TV and improve your lifestyle! Enter our lottery for pensioners with barely disposable pension -One time only, special offer until the month end" (don't folks talk funny nowadays, they can't say "the 5th of June" anymore, it has become "June 5")
    "JumboBurger: buy one, waste one!"
    "A cruise along the canals of Clondalkin in the Republic of Ireland for our fiftieth anniversary?? That sounds lovely! Oh Cecil, really you shouldn't have..."
    "and it's all for you sugarcheeks, a new disposable dishwasher that plays MP3s on its plasma screen, thanks to my new Maxx credit card -MaxxKreditKard, the card that max you out!"
    -"I would like a large one Carol
    " (snort snort) "and four smalls.
    -R, A, S, E, H, E, L, O -the clock starts now!"
    -"And did you notice anything about your attacker, any distinctive sign?
    -Er nothing Inspector no, I was so scared ...except maybe, oh yes except a striking looking tattoo right on his hand*! ...Apart from that nothing Inspector no..." (
    *As actually used in the Nicholas Cage vehicle "8 MM" ha ha!)
    -"I say old sport, the plot thickens! We are clearly dealing with a determined fiend here. This investigation is certainly promising to be tricky -and this, only two days before I take early retirement due to colour blindness ...Ah well, let us just hope my disability won't play against me at the most crucial of times!"
    "Now don't you be being so boring my friend: treat yourself, you deserve it! Live a little! Live a little and call this number (human interaction may not be guaranteed at the other end of the line / foreign tariffs may apply)"
    -"Now numerous studies have shown that chocolate is good for your health and here is our resident expert, dr. Thing to tell us more; dr. Thing... is chocolate good for our health?
    -Hello Szcyntia
    (sic) hello everyone, yes numerous studies have shown that chocolate IS good for your health, and therefore you should eat more of it, particularly of this delicious kind.
    -Why thank you dr. Thing, this certainly clarifies the matter and casts new light on this fascinating subject!"
    "I lost twelve pounds in five days! Shat them away! And grew an inch as well!! I shed twelve pounds so why don't YOU, loser?"
    "Exclusive to "The Irish Independent", in this weekend's issue Glenda Gilson shows you how to gain an extra size in bust size -and this without resorting to surgery. Only in this weekend's "Indo", Ireland's only quality broadsheet: "The Indo -yous lovin' us!"
    -"But but Dario... When I accepted -under duress, naturally- to marry rich sleazy billionaire Hermann von Fritz, I was convinced that you were dead!
    -I was! -but I came back for you, Sue-Maria -and nothing can stop us now!
    -Oh Dario sweet Dario, let's make crazy and passionate love in our underwear under a sheet!"
    "Dario and Sue-Maria are right viewers, love-making is a natural thing to do -if you're not a poofter that is- but our lovebirds may find out, after a couple of years, that they need a helping hand; they may discover they need the new Viagra ersatz "Goldcock (TM)"! Did you know that 67,103% of men experience penile dysfunction in their lifetime huh? Well... did you? "Goldcock (TM)" is the real thing -in fact, it's even better than the real thing! (not for poofters though, 'bunch of pervs) "
    -"...and here is J-Lo's pad in Miami like hellllllo I mean: how vulgar can it get right? It's like ahmygod -quick quick, let's have a look!- like soooo conspicuous yeah? complete with two swimming pools, one helipad, another swimming pool in the helipad, Greek columns in the swimming pool, television on every wall including the Greek columns
    -Far-OUT yeah!?! Like -ahmygod- this is like, so totally!!?!
    -So totally, yo -I'm already there!?!?!! -and here is Gordon Brown's bedsit in Woodcut Lane"
    "I can't believe it's not OGM! I feel terrific! Now where's me incontinent pad
    ?"
    And it goes on.

As could have been easily forecast, the ****e goes on.

"Need a mortgage? Want to buy that flat of your dreams for that special lady in your life? (wink wink) Pick up your phone! 75% mortgages, 100% mortgages, 150% mortgages -we 'got them all. Getting a mortgage has never been so easy! Just pick up your phone! Pick-up-your-phone dot com and our team of dedicated experts will study your case. Our promise is your guarantee: contact us and we'll get back to you within an hour! Just pick up your phone! Pick-up-your-phone dot com (terms-and-conditions-apply, rates may go up as well as down, offer not available to minors under thirteen)."
    -"Quick, there is no time to waste! Not one minute, not one second, otherwise the electro-demagnetiser will blow up the entire planet and bring an end to our civilisation!
    -Bring an end to our civilisation??
    -That's right, and extinguish all life forms!
    -But that's monstrous!
    -It is!
    -My God, but we are doomed!
    -We are!
    -If only we still had him with us! Goddamm where is Charlie Haughey when you need him?"
    "W, N, A, K, E, R, S, S and... start the clock!"
    "McFriup (TM) is it! Made up of delicious fried cheese crust covering tasty pork scratchings dipped in rashers fat topped with succulent black pudding, it's served on a bed of roasted potatoes and lard inside a flame grilled bun! McFriup (TM): give it the finger and lick it good! McFriup (TM): gives me a boner like a truncheon!"
    -"Yes Quentin?
    -Only four I'm afraid.
    -Lucinda?
    -Ahem, four as well...
    -Quentin it is then:
    -"wake"."
    "Now with added pseudo-atoms. The subcutaneous agent penetrates your skin firmly, it proto-rearranges the sun-seeking aerophobic ersatzparticles nimbly and leaves your hide shining like a leather wallet!"
    -"A lot of people contact us daily they say, they want to know, are wheat-based cookies ...good for our health? With me to ponder this grave question I have noted international media adviser dr. Thing. Dr. Thing... are wheat-based cookies good for our health?
    -Good evening Kcklara
    (sic), good evening everyone. Yes I would say, in my expert opinion, wheat-based cookies can indeed be good for our health -when consumed in moderation naturally.
    -Naturally.
    -Let's say you would be starving to death right?, you haven't eaten for ten days, you come across a box of these tasty wheat-based cookies -well I would recommend that you eat them. The whole box even.
    -That certainly makes sense.
    -Not at all.
    -Thank you for taking the trouble...
    -You betcha."
    "Your nan died, your godparents passed away, now your Ma's just snuffed it -could you be next? Have you made preparations for that all important event yet? Well, have you??"
    "...and then you get yourself down the beach guess what? All them sunloungers 'been already taken by the Krauts!!
    (laughter) Them sunloungers...: the Krauts! (laughter) -Tell you what though, tell you what to do right?: think clever. Think clever is what. Sprinkle some itchy BEEPin' powder on them towels next time you come back from the pub during the night -problem solved! (laughter) Sprinkle some itchy BEEPin' powder and you'll have the beach to yourself!!" (applause)

...Lamb a Jaysus, isn't this like, exhausting?

then you have an analysis of TV's hypnotic soul destroying energy sapping power.

one of the NLI (National Library of Ireland eh) "Library Late" scenes (with apols to, er, some people mentioned there):

?! (Just when you thought it was safe...)

-Director of the NLI: "Good evening everyone and welcome back to a special edition of "Library Late".
    I must admit -to be perfectly honest with yous- to being not a little surprised at appearing here -this is highly irregular, highly irregular indeed- but hey, stiff upper lip, little brown envelope and all ...let's just go with the flow! And so we are gathered here tonight... for a barely credible occasion. Barely credible not to say, like, totally unrealistic. Indeed, who would have thought (apart from a deranged mind naturally) that during my tenure at the helm, I would ever find myself pronouncing these words: "Ladies and gentlemen, let me welcome yous all to another edition of "Library Late" with the multi-million selling Uma o'Gil"! Yes, Uma o'Gil -and in the flesh too!

Uma -I think is fair to say- has been nothing short of an enigma wrapped up in a mystery. Quid est? Vulgus pecum? Nobody knows. In fact -and therein lays the mystery- nobody actually remembers ever meeting her, famously nobody knows who she is, and really we have to wonder here, we have to address the fundamental question...: how could this ghost of an ectoplasm manage to sound so lively? How did she ever succeed in conveying such realism in her descriptions of Dublin? What must be her terrible secret? Why, it's almost as if she was more than a pastime for rainy Sundays! It's as if she had been secretly residing amongst us all along! It's as if Adam had raised a Cain thinking he was Onan!
    Many are the readers of the "You Know Yourself" blog-slash-novel who have been asking themselves these very questions -as well as occasionally wiping coffee off their VDU screen. Uma's true identity has long aroused curiosity as well as provoked controversy: was she Seamus Heaney in disguise? Did she really attend UCD, TCD and KGB? Was she or was she not as a matter of fact a mere computer programme designed to rehash every possible tiresome literary cliché? ...Paddypower have been having a field day putting about all sorts of hypotheses ever since (and no, I don't buy the "it's a word-for-word translation of a foreign novel transposed in Ireland")!

Well the time has come. The time is now.

To answer all these questions and probably many many more, what better guest can there be with us tonight but ...Uma herself/himself/themselves/itself!"
    -Crowd reaction: "Gasp!
    "Bring her on!
    At long last!
    Hurry up already I'm bursting!
    Promises promises!
    I've got a monkey here 'says it's Mary Harney!
    Let the dog see the rabbit!
    I think I'm gonna faint!"

-Director of NLI, raising his arm majestically: "Oh yes oh yes, fret yourselves no more yous gentle Dub folklings, do stop torturing yourselves for I say unto yous: the wait is over, the moment of truth is afoot -alleluia! I tell thees truly: she's coming, she's already in the building!"
    -Crowd goes: "Gasp!
    Squeal!
    Come the feck on then!
    Hurry up already I'm (etc.)"
    -Director: "Oh yes oh yes, I know how yous feel -I myself feel more funny than Steve Martin in his first five filums! And how did we achieve this scoop, yous might ask?
    Well... I'll tell yous how.

It recently transpired that the celebrated author had genuine connections within the NLI -who would have thinked!- and that she might be persuaded to make a public appearance. Emissaries were dispatched, emails were exchanged, bribes were offered with the view to secure an actual presentation -which we did finally secure. Fair play to ourselves like, I think yous will agree! In fact it was no later than three days ago when I received confirmation of Uma's gracious acceptance through the Library's very own "Deep Throat": the meeting was on! As agreed upon, we set about organising this event on the hop so as to limit traffic-jams outside and pre-empt sniper attacks and here she is, finally in person, waiting behind the door: please join me in having the infinite honour of welcoming Uma o'Gil!
    Lights out stage-hands! Door open! Ladies 'n gentlemen we give yous... Uma o'Gil!"

The lights go out, the crowd turn on their seats as one and do themselves a nasty cervical injury craning their neck towards the back:

enter Uma o'Gil.

Sporting a classy little ensemble with a red and blue tripe (tripe? stripe!) reading "O" and "L", shoes by Valentino, beret by LeCoqEmotif, swinging around a PogoMo(t)hOin handbag, the celebrated even-though-hitherto-never-witnessed author makes her grand entrance. "Well you can tell by the way I use my walk I'm a woman's man" (the Bee Gees-"Staying Alive" 1983).

Smuggled cameras drop to the floor, jaws do too. A-wheezing and a-wincing, she hoists herself up onto the podium ("Ooh my goodness, won't nofeckinbody help a poor genius around here? It's like these feckin' stairs are getting harder to climb every day!"). Three feet higher, Uma manoeuvres round and surveys the scene. Grunt of approval. She addresses a benevolent wave to the gobsmacked chosen few who managed to commandeer the available seats inside the amphitheatre at dawn this morning, thereby beating the crowd arriving through the day and now left to growl outside.

-Director of the NLI: "H'u'h?!? Fancy that... You!"
    -Uma: "Me."
    -Director of the NLI: "I say!?!"
    -Uma: "You don't."
    -Director of the NLI: "I can hardly believe this, I must be dreaming! This is just not cricket! So it was you all along then..."
    -Uma: "It was."
    -Director: "Well then... alright. Alright then; so be it; let's be professional about it shall we? Huh. So that's the way it is then? Very well, that's the way it's gonna be (...Uma o'Gil a mere earthling me backside!). I'll tell you what though, let us remember the sacred words instead: "Christ will come like a thief in the night."
    -Uma wipes the contractually provided chocolate mousse off her face: "Amen to that!"

-Director: "Now then dear audience, let me tell yous, let me tell yous quite frankly: may I just confide what a -like- total lack of surprise it is for me to discover Uma's true identity -no **** Sherlock! I had long suspected foul play yous see, foul play and heavy players -well my suspicions are totally vindicated then: I was right again! For this is well... this is really taking the biscuit and no mistake.
    Huh, still I suppose in a way... in a way you have to give credit where credit's due, fair fecks and all -so fair play to you "Uma o'Gil"!"
    Sniggers Uma. Out takes she a handkerchief and her nose blows she ("POOOOOMMM!").

-Director: "So here "she" is then, ladies and gentlemen, exclusively live for the National Library of Ireland and ready to answer all your questions -as well as those from our esteemed RTE journalist guest- Uma o'Gil in person. Over to you Shay!"

-Shay Keehy (for it is he!): "Why thank you Gavin, you're very welcome. Hello and good evening everyone, it truly is a special occasion to find ourselves in the presence of the mysterious and hitherto unmasked Uma o'Gil..."
    -Uma, leaning over, tapping Shay on the knee: "Oh stop it now, stop it!"
    -Shay Keehy: "...and be able to converse with her in the flesh, we're much obliged.
    First of all Uma, if you don't mind I would like to maybe pick on a few details of your mysterious life. As Gavin just mentioned, much has been written and conjectured about your background -some said you came from the stars, some wrote you were raised by wolves, some even claimed that you pretended to master English- but at the end of the day, nothing was ever actually substantiated, any guess was as good as mine... Now your welcome presence tonight might just help us decipher the so-called "Uma mystery"...
    That will be for my first point.
    Secondly I suppose really, I ought to let you answer direct a few questions from our privileged audience tonight, admirers who waited long and fought hard their need to go to the washroom in order to meet with you at last."
    -Uma, all magnanimous: "I suppose you can yes, why not... -you may proceed, Shay."
    -Shay Keehy: "Oh you're too good.
    Right. First of all, Uma o'Gil..." (pregnant pause) "is that your real name? Are you taking the Mickey, do you think we were born yesterday?"
    -Uma: "It is."
    -Shay Keehy: "Oh."
    -Uma o'Gil: "You see Shay, the o'Gils come from a long dynasty, a long dynasty of -how shall I put it- urine artists who've left their mark as it were in innumerable dead-end avenues: we've been known up and down the land the world over since the beginning of time!
    We've plied our craft and poured our hearts out in roneotyped college magazines, manuscripts "slush piles", unshootable screenplays, cellar-bound diaries, science-fiction forums, laughed at handwritten letters, jail cells, religious denominations' indexes, little black books, drinking establishments, detox clinics, psychoanalysts' sofas -and so on and so forth. We were the ones banned from having any contact with clay and cave walls when dinosaurs roamed the earth! ...We usually end up alone and bitter.
    Now if there's one funny thing though, we are generally "remembered" by alumni -not that they want to stay in touch let alone meet again- but they certainly "remember" us oh aye. That's who we are: we are the o'Gils! Admittedly we are a bit of an acquired taste but... -why, only recently we were immortalised in the Urban Dictionary itself!"
    -Shay Keehy: "Is that so?"
    -Uma o'Gil: "That is so."
    -Shay Keehy: "How remarkable; and... are there many o'Gils about?"
    -Uma: "Oh yes. Oh yes." (voice drops an octave) "For we are legion."
    -Shay Keehy, gathering his cardigan around him: (gulp) "Er... right you are! Hmm Uma, you were just mentioning making it onto the Urban Dictionary. Surely this has to be yet another achievement to your already not inconsiderable bow, another remarkable mark of recognition -any idea who may have come up with the o'Gil definition?"
    -Uma: "Sorry? Huh? Can't hear you babes -next question!"
    -Shay Keehy: "I saiiid: do you have any idea who may hav"
    Feels the glare of Uma's eyes.
    "Oh. Moving on swiftly. So Uma, even yourself must have been baffled -even though nothing must baffle you much- by the triumphant success of "You Know Yourself". "The Guardian" called it -and here I quote- "a neo-post-deconstructionist smorgasbord for the Z-generation.0", "The Sun" said it was "an enthralling and at times deeply affecting double-take on idiosyncrasies", "The Irish Independent" "like plunging your snout in a barrel -and coming up trumps with the apple", The "Osservatore Romano" "a welcome spanking of political incorrectness" and so on.
    Is it something you expected at all? Such reception? Such critical acclaim?"
    -Uma: "Oh not at all. Not at all Shay. I never dreeeamed of reaching such heights, I never thought -to think that I would ever find myself here that's just... that's just too good. That's like well sweet. Like proper cool know what'm saying?
    As I set "You Know Yourself" to paper, as it unfolded on me laptop screen, I naturally knew that it was good -but not that good. It's a bit like when I sing you know? -I love singing me- well I like to think that I'm not half-bad, but me Ma, me Ma she disagrees: she says I've got a lovely singing voice. Says I should enter "The X Factor", would pass it no sweat! ...These gifts are natural, you see... talent. You can't legislate against that. So it was only normal that me little effort got recognised. It's just the scale of it, the scale of the reaction which was well sweet."
    -Shay Keehy: "How wonderful. You clearly lead a charmed life, underneath your er... assumed identity. And what about your work ethic Uma? Your modus operandi? How easy does it come to you, putting on paper all these wonderful wonderful tales of public humiliation and sexual frustration?"
    -Uma: "Aha you see Shay... the truth is it all comes naturally to me. The story, the style, the dialogues... I hardly ever correct myself, it all flows out of me trusted little pen. I switch it on and... off it goes. I can write for hours me! I produce novels like people produce gas after eating lentils!"
    -Shay: "(?!) And pray tell Uma, how many novels have you produced so far then, in the last five years?"
    -Uma: "One."
    -Shay: "Right. And -oh, but I can see some people in our audience are already raising their hands; why not take a few questions from the floor already, and then we'll come back to our fascinating discussion? Would you like that Uma?"
    Uma drains her pint glass and belches politely behind her fist ("RROOOOOO!"). She would like that.

-Shay half-turns to the audience. "Yes? Young man in the front row with the anorak? ...I see you've been trying to get our attention for some time..."
    -Noel Stapleton: "That's right."
    -Shay, laughing: "You sure look like you're simply dying to ask Uma something, now here's your chance big boy -you go ahead."
    -Noel Stapleton: "Gee, thanks a million Shay.
    Uma. Long time no see...; so nice of you to finally come out eh. I have a wee confession to make here everyone: I've known Uma's identity for quite some time, in fact I've known herself full-time ...and yous know what? It still doesn't diminish my admiration for her writings! Every time I read Uma I find a new reason to laugh."
    -Uma: "Now then, now then Noel Stapleton"
    -Noel Stapleton: "Oh yes I mean it, every time I read your stuff Uma I find something like, totally gas -know what I mean? Some little gem, some observation, some picturesque details hidden away underneath the morass of page-fillers -in fact I'll tell you what right?, many of your -naturally so elegantly crafted like- anecdotes actually remind me of some of mine, like stuff I would have told you..."
    -Uma: "??"
    -Noel Stapleton: "...stuff I may have just explained to your thick culchie head once upon a time: funny little sayings maybe... local expressions... even whole scenes yeah?, and I guess my question here, my question is this:
    Uma, in the light of your borrowings -for which I am deeply honoured, deeply honoured indeed make no bones about it- shouldn't I be entitled to a share of your royalties like? Eh? How do you feel about that? Just a few thousands to pay off me mortgage, that'd do me fine."
    -Uma: "I, I... oh but you always had a wicked sense of humour Noel Stapleton, that's what I always liked in you, you are very bold! Isn't he being very bold here Shay eh? Very bold?"
    -Shay: "Well I... I'm not quite sure I'm the right person to"
    -Uma: "He's a very bold man is Noel Stapleton -please everyone, let's give it up for Noel, big round of applause!"
    Everybody looks at each other like someone's farted at a funeral and some start to clap tentatively. Uma leads the way energetically and soon enough, Noel's protestations are drowned in sound.
    -Noel: "Wait wait / No / Don't give me that / Don't fudge the issue / Don't"
    -Uma fixes Shay: "And I suppose, really, we should move on to the next question, what d'you reckon Shay?"
    -Shay: "Er yes I guess if you say so..."

-Uma shields her eyes from the spotlight: "And who do I spot here but this elegant gentleman in the second row with a newspaper under his arm (oh no it's the third or fourth, whatever) yes Sir you meaning you: do you have a question for me?"
    -Kevin Whyte: "Oh hello there. Yes. Yes I have a question for Uma. First of all, may I just say what a pleasure it is -a pleasure as well as a joy- to have Uma with us at the National Library. I honestly feel that Uma's contribution to modern Irish literature will leave noone unmoved (for all sorts of reasons) and -pretty much like "Ulysses" or "PS I Love You"- will keep scholars and critics in employ for a long long while."
    -Audience: "Hear! Hear!"
    -Kevin Whyte: "And now to my question. There I was, just the other night in the old cottage, reading "You Know Yourself" by the fire with my pipe and slippers, twirling my moustache, stroking the dog absent-mindedly, I had me a nice twelve-year old Scotch"
    -Audience: "Get on with it!"
    -Kevin Whyte: "and was enjoying it tremendously ("You Know Yourself" as well as the Scotch, oh aye) when suddenly I found myself wondering. I asked myself / my question's this: I would like to ask Uma... it is a matter of record that every writer develops their own routine -some get drunk first, some only use typewriters, some beat it out of their children, some come here to the Library to do some actual feckin' research- now when you yourself get down to it Uma, do you give your beaver away
    (Eh?!? This can't be right, surely this is not right, must have jumped a line here, the thing is I can hardly read this appalling handwriting -ah here we are)
    When you get down to it Uma, do you give yourself plenty of time and proceed by small instalments ...or wait until deadline day and beaver away?"

to be continued...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭monellia

I liked it, but if I may be honest the writing seemed slightly adolescent at times. No biggie, maybe just needs another draft job. I definitely think that there is room on the market for Ross O'Carroll Kelly rivalry, and the fact that you're writing it in blog format rather than typical prose gives your work some distinction. But as another poster said, you're going to be slated if you don't find a more unique angle. Do you have a link to the blog?

Hi Monellia, and many thanks for your comment.

I'll be totally honest with you: in the course of my preparation for the book as I was, er, "immobilised for a while", I only read 1 (ONE) "chicklit" novel (an English one in fact which title I don't remember) and that's it

...which means that I have simply never heard of these people you and other posters here have compared me to!:pac:

Now, I would never pretend to have invented any -like- ground-breaking genre so it comes as no surprise to hear that other people are operating in the same area. Well..., so be it. Surely there is space for all of us, with our own specifics?
    For one thing, I can assure you that I will certainly not go and check them out!

During the actual drafting and redrafting of "my novel" the only stuff I allowed myself to read was non-fiction, mainly scientific presentations -fact (even though I guess this sounds terribly pompous ...but that's how it went). The last thing I wanted was to get influenced, consciously or (even worse) unconsciously by anyone.

The blog can be found at http://umaogil.blogspot.com/ and features stuff such as Big Brother Bingo (of course) or a review of "Prom Night". As you can imagine, the tone is not exactly serious... I only aim to entertain! For the time being, I have no plan to publicise any other (way more head-scratching and less entertaining) stuff of mine; maybe later, much much later...

And so: on to the 2nd part of the 3rd Library Late scene then!

Thanks again for your comments.

-Uma claps her hands excitedly, sending crumbs flying in all directions: "Oh what a tremendously interesting question! How so very insightful!" (pause)

"Well. Young man. Since you're so keen to know, let me tell you about my writing habits.
    I usually get up at the crack of dawn. Two mugs of strong coffee, four semi-skinned croissants, two fried eggs (ketchup on the side, peanut butter), jam. Then thirty quick minutes on the stepmachine -can't run anymore alas-, fifty press-ups, a hundred sit-ups, a strong brandy and here we go. I"
    (she goes on for a while)
    "then I"
    (goes on some more)
    "I don't mean to blow me own trumpet here -oh no- but"
    (...)
    "in fact some of my very best friends"
    (...)
    "he took one look at it -one- and went: "what a complete shower of""
    (...)
    "Salman was like a total gas ticket though, he kept tickling me and"
    (...)
    "-you want to make a metaphorical omelette, you have to crack egos!"
    (...)
    "-the lord Buddha himself would have raised an eyebrow"
    (...)
    "and let me tell you: it's bloody hard work so it is!"
    (...)
    "in all honesty if you ask me I will say "yes". "Yes" and no false modesty -it's the last refuge of the coward as my dear dear friend and true mentor Albert Einstein once said."
    -Shay, picking the crumbs off his scarf: "Really? Wasn't he referring to"
    -Uma: "Heloise Paul Fernando Barbara Etienne Daniel -all the money in the world couldn't buy back those days..."
    (...)
    "I..."
    (...)
    "I"
    (...)
    "We're doomed! I tell thee: we're doomed!"
    (...)
    "It's like your man said though: when the going gets though, the"
    (...)
    "the thrill of the chase! the texture of the skin! the girth of the"
    (...)
    "it's all a mental process you know, how you de-theorise it and bring it down to the common man, how you recycle the old Gestalt models and serve them up as fresh, I personally think that"
    (...)
    "I..."
    (...)
    "du hast mich gefragt, ich habe nichts gesagt -these immortal verses"
    (...)
    "Spinoza, Kierkegaard and Kylie Minogue -nothing less."
    (...)
    "finally I flip them over and then it's down to the wire -prudence be damned!"

-Shay Keehy, sitting up with a jerk: "Wow, how most instructive, how simply fascinating! That was utterly deliiightful Uma, thank you so much for sharing with us; I am sure your man must have appreciated..."
    (looks for Kevin Whyte's approval)
    (doesn't locate Kevin Whyte's approval)

"but let me check my watch again (you may have seen me check my watch a few times already!), it appears that with this one reply, we have been seriously running the clock down if we want to get more contributions from our lovely audience. Our lovely audience, once more I turn to yous esteemed listeners, does anyone else have any"

-Young lady's voice at the back, interrupting: "'Yes. Yes I have one."
    -Shay with a sigh: "Well I suppose -go right ahead then, just don't mind me!"

-Young lady's voice at the back: "'Evening Uma. Uma, I've got this friend of mine right? She's like actually read your book yeah? she read it and she tells me there's this like recurring character called Aoife who keeps getting mentioned -usually with grossly sexual overtones..."

Uma uneasily lifts a buttock off her seat, squints.

-Young lady's voice at the back: "...in an overtly sexual context. Now what was that about? Don't you think you should be like, a little bit more sensitive and respectful yeah? This Aoife character -don't you think you should maybe apologise? Huh?"
    -Uma: "Apologise? absolutely not! what for?? This is simply preposterous -for one thing, I've never even met any Aoife in my life!"
    -Young lady's voice at the back: "Oh no you haven't have you? Are you telling us here and now that you've never met anyone called Aoife? Huh? Methinks the lady doth protest too much -don't you think it's about time you should come clean and maybe apologise yeah? show some manners"
    -Uma: "I have manners -my manners are like, top fecking drawer I'll have you know! I have manners coming out of my ears like I don't know what to do with them! Besides I would never dreeeeam of offending anyone -everybody knows that!"
    -Young lady's voice at the back: "Oh yeah? really? So why do you insist on using that particular name for all your like... totally degrading and completely disrespectful little digs eh? Huh? Think it's funny? You know the ones... in your like, lexicon. 'Seriously imagined noone's noticed your little game? Do you?? Do you want me to quote them back to you? Is that what you want? Here, let me oblige then: definition of nice little ride"

-Uma, leaning forward: "Aoife, is that you? (I can't see **** with these bleeding lights on, can't see at the back)"

-Shay Keehy, starting to look agitated: "Hmm well maybe we should move on already -anybody else 'got any question?"

-Leanne Hart, standing up: "Me me me! Me Mister!"
    -Shay Keehy: "You go ahead."
    -Leanne Hart: "Thank you mister. Yeah (hi), I'd just like to say, Uma's actually name-checked me in the book yeah? for which I'm like totally grateful and all?"
    -Uma, looking relieved: "Ah young Leanne, so nice to see you again, but that's alright really you shouldn't have"
    -Leanne Hart: "...except my name is spelled wrongly throughout. I told you before, is it so hard to remember? It's "Harte", "Harte": it ends with an "e"."
    -Uma: "Oh. Oops. Er... will tell the editors, promised, will be corrected as soon as possible before the next reprint."
    -Leanne Harte: "Thank you kindly."
    -Uma: "...Anything else I may help you with?"
    -Leanne Harte: "That will be all thank you; my album is still available by the way, people can contact me through MySpace: http://www.myspace.com/leannehartemusic. Thanks a million."

-Shay Keehy, now looking lost: "Well that's just grand er... Anyone else with a question for Uma ...or a message?"

-Noel Stapleton: "Funny you should ask Shay, I am still waiting for a clear reply to my question from earlier: what about me royalties Uma? what about them?"

-Uma: "Well I -now wait a second here- what makes you think / I get inspired by all sorts of things me! The beatific smile of a chubby cherub... dew drops on lilac... the smell of a rainbow in the arctic hills of Sligo... -so what makes you think you would be my main source of inspiration! Eh? How do you presume? I get my working material from all sorts of sources so do I!
    I'll let yous in on a big secret here, this is how I actually go about it.... simplicity itself: I listen, and I watch -that's how I work!! That's the secret!?!
    To be perfeckly honest wid chas, I am a dedicated listener of chuckle-worth Pat Kenny and heart-warming Gerry Ryan, there, I admit it! And I feel no shame either! For everyone knows these two are the twin pillocks of Irish culture! -the twin pillars even (oops)!
    Check your man Gezza and your man Paddo next time they're on, see what they come up with -they are a true example to behold so they are! It's like opinion leaders and your Nan have bumped into each other in the Tram's jacks and decided to broadcast the results! With debonair bonhomie to spare!?! And then some!?!?!? ...So there you have it Stapleton man! Me constant stream of inspiration! Like I said, simplicity itself: I listen to radio me! (online that is) and I watch television! (sometime even the Irish one) Then I take notes!"

-Shay, a touch testy: "Don't we all Uma, don't we all"

-Uma: "Like you have no idea my good man!" (slaps Shay's knee triumphantly) "You see, I look at yous, I look at yous all you lovely audience, and I'm thinking. I'm thinking: yes, like yous, I once was young, I once was stupid -then I realised that it's all out there for the taking!?!?!
    Football fans giving out so eloquently in pubs, constructive exchanges in anonymous webforums, Flann o'Brien reprinted articles, dialogue from Hollywood blockbastards, emails at 2 a.m. from my closet "uphill gardener" friend Andy, tips from the Catholic Church "Approved Guide Book To Young Maidens" (1 Euro fifty at the Secret Bookshop on Wicklow Street) -they all matter! they're all helpful! Where did you think I learnt the correct way of greeting Irish people ("Top of the morning to yourself me good squire, begorrah if the Prods aren't getting half-shifty for this time of year wouldn't you say, ourselves the Oirish are divils for the black stuff, ah God bless the Pope cheerio!")? I dug it up the archives! I did me homework!
    I know I know, you po-faced post-9/11 politically-correct elitist bleeding-heart surrendering-monkey philistine probably like to slag Foucauld safe in the knowledge that he's been dead for thirty years -but his methodology concerning the plethora of testaments is still valid! Just like me humble little scribblings, they're all over the place -I mean they're everywhere!"
    Noel Stapleton looks humbled under the assault.

Not for long.

-"So does that mean yes then?"

-Shay: "I'm sorry -what was the question again?"

-Noel Stapleton: "Me royalties! Where are me royalties!"

Uma shrugs her shoulders and instead treats herself to a healthy spray of Snowy Aurora (only E 49.99 at Brown Thomas, provided by the NLI as part of the agreement). Shay rocks under the aroma.

As if roused by the intoxicating flagrance, the audience suddenly starts firing off left right and centre.

-"So is that a yes or is that a no?"
    -"Apologise you swine!"
    -"Hey Miss o'Gil, can you send a massive shout-out to Wazza, Bozzo and Mary-Bernadette from Jezz? That'd be like, pretty kewl!"
    -"Aoifes aren't just for Christmas you know! They have feelings just like yourself!"
    -"How come everybody seems to get a mention but me?"
    -"Uma Uma Uma, just where - did - you - get - these - shoes?"
    -"Free Winona Ryder!"
    -"I've got a question: why aren't you funny anymore?"
    -"Uma dearest, is it true that originally no agent wanted to take you and that no publisher was interested? I'll tell you what darling, let me represent you -would you like me, huh? would you like me to represent you?"
    -"Forgive me but I didn't quite get the ending to your book: so who dunnit then? who cops off with who?"
    -"Hang on but I'm real confused here: is this genealogy department? See, I come from Texas-USA yo 'all and what happened is, my great-great-great-great grandfather shipped out to our great country all the way from Ireland-UK in the"
    -"I'll only take fifteen percent!"
    -"Take me I'm yours (we'll never have this chance again)!"
    -"Ten!"
    -"Me too me too, I read it: when you started, is it true you -like- totally struggled? How many rejection letters did you get Uma? twenty? thirty?"
    -"I'll only take ten percent!"
    -"Excuse me but what has it got to do with anything??"
    -"Fourty? Fifty?"
    -"Me royalties! I want me royalties!"
    -"Harte with an "e" -and you 'better remember numbskull!"
    -"Wait a minute, I thought this was supposed to be a romance -where is the love?"

-Director of the NLI, jumping out of his seat somewhat hurriedly: "Alright alright! Can I have your attention please? I'm afraid it's all we have time for tonight -so thanks again to our special guests Uma o'Gil" (takes a low bow) "and Shay Kheehy" (quick nod here) "-much appreciated; thank yous ever so much for a thoroughly stimulating evening which -I daresay- was most thought-provoking, most thought-provoking indeed, and -huh- not a little memorable oh aye.

Let me invite yous all now to a quick glass upstairs which -I think is fair to say- we can all do with. This interview is now over -it's over, people! No need to insist, Uma is now off-limit see? she's already zipped up ready to go! So out out out, yous do the same -off yous go! That's right, come on, here we go, there's a good girl, good man yourself, get a move on! Quick quick! Or else there won't be any plonk left upstairs for yous stragglers, so off yous go! Yes, all of yous!
    Oh, and you -yes you- don't you ever let me see you darken our frontdoor again or there will be murder why you little" (transcript runs out of tape.)