Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Shameless Adulation of BOD Thread. Register the Level of Your Worship Here!

• 23-05-2009 6:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭toomevara

This has been Irelands season, Leinster's season but more than anything its been Brian O Driscoll's season.....feel free to quantify the precise level of your worship/obeisance in the above poll...

BOD is..... 17 votes

The Living Rugby Incarnation of the Hindu God of Destruction,Kali..
    0% 0 votes
    A Serene, Sublime Rugby Buddha...Nirvana made flesh
    52% 9 votes
    Jesus, the rugby Messiah....eat of him and attain salvation (oh-er missus)
    11% 2 votes
    Rabbi BOD, of the new rugby Jerusalem.....Oy Veh!!!
    29% 5 votes
    The Greatest Rugby player we've ever produced. Full feckin' stop!!!
    5% 1 vote

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭Spore

my BODometer goes to 11. Met the guy in a bar a few years ago, lovely chap. This really has been his annus mirabilis and if he doesn't get IRB player of the year then the award is a sham and a joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭ollieo

I'm delighted that BODs won the Grand Slam and Heineken Cup, a player of his quality deserves to win these Cups.

I hope he helps lead the Lions to a Tour Victory in SA it might help and make up for the 2005 tour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭themont85

I would happily reproduce with him right now. Too far? Nah, leave it to him and the missus to create the perfect child!

Round 2 of 3 for 'BOD's Triple Crown'(well I know Fitz, Kearney and Heaslip are on for it too but we'll name it after the great one) complete.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Euro_Kraut

World Class. Great ambassador for Ireland and for Rugby generally. Even before this year he was probably Ireland greatest ever. Now with the 6 nation and Heineken Cup as well as a 3rd Lions tours there can be no doubt.

Walk in the light of BOD!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

He's welcome to my wife any day. I would even 'high-five' him as he did the biz. :D

........ aaahh screw it.... he's welcome to me to!

Rugby jesus!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭toomevara

He's welcome to my wife any day. I would even 'high-five' him as he did the biz. :D

ROFLMAO...brilliant!!!!....oh the humanity...!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Rugby jesus!

lol :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 693 ✭✭✭slippy wicket

He is the man! He is a great ambassador for leinster and ireland. He seems to be an all-round nice guy and all he needs now is a cracking lions tour to finish of his best season ever.:):):)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

He's good but he's no.....................................
    2023955913_2df1b66a26.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,700 ✭✭✭✭holly1

Oh!! My BOD!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭Hyperbullet

Where's the Rocky Elsom appreciation poll?? Think he deserves the adulation more than BOD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

Where's the Rocky Elsom appreciation poll?? Think he deserves the adulation more than BOD

We can worship both. Leinster's not a monotheistic faith.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭thehighground

Have to agree with this post. Rocky has made the real difference to Leinster. I think BOD would not like this thread himself. Anyone see BOD's interview straight after the match - his thoughts were with the Denis Hickies, Victors Costelloes, Reggie Corrigans who had gone before him, even though he must have been over the moon for himself & his team to at have at last won the HCup.

Anyone forgetting Leo Cullen as well .... since he has come back to Leinster and become captain, Leinster have actually started winning trophies.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,161 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

I'd go gay for BOD. Absolute hero.

I have never seen someone cement themselves as a legend with a team as quickly as Elsom either. Leinster ****ing hero.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

Have to agree with this post. Rocky has made the real difference to Leinster. I think BOD would not like this thread himself. Anyone see BOD's interview straight after the match - his thoughts were with the Denis Hickies, Victors Costelloes, Reggie Corrigans who had gone before him, even though he must have been over the moon for himself & his team to at have at last won the HCup.

Anyone forgetting Leo Cullen as well .... since he has come back to Leinster and become captain, Leinster have actually started winning trophies.

Very few Leinster fans are unaware of how much those guys mean to us.

Contepomi, Elsom, Cullen, Mal, Stan, Jennings, et al have contributed so much to this team, as have guys like Brennan, Costelloe, etc, the older generation, and yet O'Driscoll just stands head and shoulders above all else.

It's not his fault, it's just that he embodies everything I as a fan love about rugby. He's insanely skilled, cheeky, but also strong, defensively superb and has a determination and passion for his team(s) that I would safely say is beyond that of most.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 484 ✭✭Shan75

Best Irish player I've ever seen or am likely to see and I'd say one of the best if not the best centre ever.

For much of the early part of this decade he was the best player in the world and I find it astonishing that he has never been honoured with IRB player of the year, especially when you see the likes of Shane Williams getting it just for being fast.If he doesn't get it this year then that award is not worthy of being mentioned in the same sentence as BOD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭themont85

BOD reminds me a bit of a american footballer Peyton Manning. He too is an incredible player and was the greatest current player to never win the big one, the super bowl. Every year nearly the New England Patriots, a team arguably with equal or less talent would beat them. Until 2007, when Manning finally beat the Patriots in the semi finals and went on to win the superbowl. O'Driscoll this year, finally got by Munster and has won the 2 major blots on his CV to make him the greatest/one of the most succesful player in Irish rugby history imo.

themont85 wrote: »
    BOD reminds me a bit of a american footballer Peyton Manning. He too is an incredible player and was the greatest current player to never win the big one, the super bowl. Every year nearly the New England Patriots, a team arguably with equal or less talent would beat them. Until 2007, when Manning finally beat the Patriots in the semi finals and went on to win the superbowl. O'Driscoll this year, finally got by Munster and has won the 2 major blots on his CV to make him the greatest/one of the most succesful player in Irish rugby history imo.

The greatest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

continuing on in the worship, a little story:

a mate of mine who knows nothing (and i mean nothing) about rugby was installing a kitchen in the BOD's house.
    Only reason he knew he was BOD was that his boss had attempted to explain how great the BOD was the morning of the first day of work and even pulled out the morning paper to show him a picture to see if he recognised him.

Sadly my friend still couldn't say he was familiar with the BOD's work (this was about two years ago btw).

Anywho they arrived to the place late, BOD made them tea, helped them move all the stuff out of the van, even made a few sandwiches, and chatted to them for the whole time while they were working, eagerly helping out wherever he could.

Apparently he was adamant that the lads took as long as they wanted, and could make themselves at home.

My friend (who tbh wouldn't be the type to take any notice of any sporting personality no matter how humble or BODlike) couldn't speak highly enough of the mighty one when he came home that day.

I remember I convinced this friend to watch a one of the 6 nations matches, and he was a little taken back by how this sound, helpful, unassuming guy who had made their long tedious day of hard aul labour a lot more bearable was such a megastar genius rugby God on the pitch.

Anywho, thought I'd share that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭keystone

jtsuited wrote: »

a mate of mine who knows nothing (and i mean nothing) about rugby was installing a kitchen in the BOD's house.
    Only reason he knew he was BOD was that his boss had attempted to explain how great the BOD was the morning of the first day of work and even pulled out the morning paper to show him a picture to see if he recognised him.

Sadly my friend still couldn't say he was familiar with the BOD's work (this was about two years ago btw).

Anywho they arrived to the place late, BOD made them tea, helped them move all the stuff out of the van, even made a few sandwiches, and chatted to them for the whole time while they were working, eagerly helping out wherever he could.

Apparently he was adamant that the lads took as long as they wanted, and could make themselves at home.

My friend (who tbh wouldn't be the type to take any notice of any sporting personality no matter how humble or BODlike) couldn't speak highly enough of the mighty one when he came home that day.

I remember I convinced this friend to watch a one of the 6 nations matches, and he was a little taken back by how this sound, helpful, unassuming guy who had made their long tedious day of hard aul labour a lot more bearable was such a megastar genius rugby God on the pitch.

Cracking......say no more.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,088 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

jtsuited wrote: »

Nice story, he always struck me as a bloke who had a hell of alot of class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭rmchmufc

The guy is a genius. I am delighted that he has finally won the trophies his talent so richly deserves. Hopefully he will add a successful lions tour to an already brilliant year.

I think BOD would not like this thread himself.

Ummmm, sigh,.....obviously, it's all just a bit of a laugh. Let me make it clear to those of you with an, ahem shall we say, 'american' understanding of humour/irony...I am not imputing any actual divine attributes to BOD. Prick him does he not bleed! I am also more than aware of the contributions (outstanding in many cases) by other players....

There's the health and safety warning for those with a sense of humour deficit, can we just get back to having a lark now....please?....pretty please...??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 785 ✭✭✭ALH-06

Never! Rocky's a great, great player and obviously instrumental to our HC win. But he's only over here for a bit of cash at the end of the day aint he?

But BOD is the BOD. Passion, work ethic, talent, leadership, loyalty, dedication...

I demand that the ancient Irish monarchy be reintroduced so we can crown the BOD high king of Ireland for life. I think democracy is rubbish compared to BOD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭Peter B

I don't really like the guy. Great player though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭Spore

Peter B wrote: »
    I don't really like the guy

Blasphemy! Bannnnned for life!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,372 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Had BOD retired after scoring those three tries in France in 2000, he'd be an all time
    great. Now, he has just went on and on and on and to be almost ten years
    at the top is simply awesome. He'll be spoke about for many years to come.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭NickNolte

RWC 2011 or GTFO :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

Peter B wrote: »
    I don't really like the guy. Great player though!

You know him personally?

As I have said before it is impossible to tell if he is the greatest ever Irish player but he is the outstanding player of an outstanding generation of irish players not just for his skill but for his work ethic and passion for the game he loves and the jersey he wears. In an era of professionalism he has maintained a huge amount of the dignity and the idealism of the amateur game while matching the dedication levels required for the pro game. He is a one off unfortunately!

Thank god! At last, one for the Jews. Well done that man!.I thought you were all a bunch of anti-semites on here...:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 833 ✭✭✭pisslips

I have a strange feeling he'll be playing first centre in the next world cup, I wouldn't put it past him....though the way he plays and his commitment, he could be in a wheel chair at that stage. It's shocking that he has such levels of fitness and strength and has taken(continues to take) that level of physical abuse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

I'm looking into gettin a sex change so I can have his babies...a medical first...I've already been working on the man boobs over the last few years for this moment....

Maybe wouldn't want to jinx myself or him by comparing him to jesus or some god like being...but when god made bod, it was certainly in his own image!!!

By a country mile, the greatest player Ireland has ever and probably will ever produce. I have been privilleged to have seen him play in the flesh countless times, and when the rugby Maradonnas and Peles are talked of in the future, I can say I was there, I saw it all!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭corigi

pisslips wrote: »
    I have a strange feeling he'll be playing first centre in the next world cup, I wouldn't put it past him....though the way he plays and his commitment, he could be in a wheel chair at that stage. It's shocking that he has such levels of fitness and strength and has taken(continues to take) that level of physical abuse.